Minimum Wage Law
Minimum wage in Illinois is $8.25 per hour for those individuals who are 18 years and older. Employees who do NOT receive tips may be paid $7.75 for the first 90 days with employer. Those under 18 years of age may be paid at the rate of $7.75 per hour. Employees who qualify as tipped workers may be paid $4.95 per hour after the first 90 days with the employer.
Employers must pay time and one-half of the regular rate, after 40 hours of work in a workweek.
If you were hired to work for the minimum wage and you're being underpaid, the Illinois Department of Labor can help you. You can call their Minimum Wage and Overtime Information Line at Minimum Wage/Overtime Information: 312-793-2804 or visit this Department of Labor website: www.state.il.us/agency/idol/laws/Law105.htm
Workers' compensation is a no-fault system of benefits paid by employers to workers who experience job-related injuries or diseases. Legal aliens and undocumented workers are eligible. The Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission operates the state workers' compensation court system. The Handbook on Workers' Compensation explains your rights and responsibilities under the law. IWCC staff can explain Commission procedures and case status information, but cannot answer specific legal questions regarding a case. Spanish is spoken. For more information, email firstname.lastname@example.org or call toll-free 866/352-3033 Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wage Theft law
Workers must receive their final wages, vacation pay, commissions and bonuses on their next regularly scheduled payday. Employers must not make illegal deductions from a worker’s paycheck. If you are owed wages, the Illinois Department of Labor can help recover your wages. You can call 312-793-2808 or visit this Department of Labor website: www.state.il.us/agency/idol/laws/Law115.htm
Protections for Day Laborers
In Illinois, nearly 300,000 workers - many of them hard working immigrants like you - are day laborers. Illinois has taken steps to be the most aggressive state in the nation when it comes to protecting the rights of the most vulnerable workers.
Under an Illinois law signed by the Illinois Governor, day and temporary labor agencies must be registered with the State, and cannot make illegal deductions for equipment, transportation, or meals. Agencies that break this law will face tough penalties.
If you are day or temporary laborer, and you feel you're not being paid the wages under which you were hired; or if you feel they're not giving you the equipment you need to be protected on the job, please call the Day Labor Services Hotline at 1-877-314-7052 or visit this Illinois Department of Labor website: www.state.il.us/Agency/IDOL/laws/Law175.htm
Unemployment insurance is a state-operated program administered by the Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES) under which you are entitled to benefit payments while you are unemployed if you lose your job through no fault of your own and are actively seeking work. To read more about the requirements for unemployment benefits download our What Every Worker Should Know About Unemployment Benefits brochure. If you qualify for unemployment benefits you can file online, visit an IDES Office or call the IDES Statewide Tele-Serve Hotline Number 888-337-7234 (TDD: 800-662-3943).