

For Immediate Release Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Contact Press Line: (312) 814-3158 Katie Hickey <u>Katie.Hickey@illinois.gov</u> Dave Blanchette <u>Dave.Blanchette@illinois.gov</u>

Governor Quinn Announces Top Students to be Honored by Lincoln Academy November 1

Ceremony at Old State Capitol Recognizes the Top Student from Each College and University in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – Governor Pat Quinn today announced the state's exceptional college students who will be honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois on November 1. The Academy will recognize students at the top of their class during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 1 at the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

"I want to commend these students for their hard work, both in the classroom and in their communities," Governor Quinn said. "Their achievement and dedication attests to the value of higher education in Illinois, and the high quality students our schools produce."

The Lincoln Academy's Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state's four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from among the community colleges in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each student will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with a \$1,000 educational grant and a certificate of achievement. This is the 40th year Lincoln Academy has celebrated students' excellence in Illinois.

Student Laureate Katie Landgrebe of Northwestern University will speak on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation will be delivered by Dr. Robert Gervasi, President of Quincy University, and the benediction will be delivered by University of Illinois Springfield Chancellor Dr. Susan Koch. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion will follow the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established more than 50 years ago to honor distinguished citizens with the state's highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 52nd Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, May 9, 2015 at the Illinois State Capitol in Chicago.

STUDENT LAUREATES

School	Student	Home Town
Augustana College	Natali K. Bode	Aurora, IL
Aurora University	Hector Velazquez	North Aurora, IL
Benedictine University	Sydney Van Alstyne	Island Lake, IL
Blackburn College	Allison Funneman	Effingham, IL

Bradley University Columbia College – Chicago Concordia University Chicago **DePaul University** Dominican University Eastern Illinois University East-West University Elmhurst College Eureka College **Governors State University** Greenville College Illinois College Illinois Institute of Technology Illinois State University Illinois Wesleyan University Judson University **Knox College** Lake Forest College Lewis University Lincoln College Loyola University Chicago MacMurray College McKendree University Millikin University Monmouth College National Louis University North Central College North Park University Northeastern Illinois University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University **Olivet Nazarene University** Principia College **Quincy University** Rockford University Roosevelt University St. Xavier Universitv Southern IL Univ. Carbondale Southern IL Univ. Edwardsville The University of Chicago Trinity Christian College Trinity International University University of IL at Chicago University of IL at Springfield Univ. of IL at Urbana-Champaign University of St. Francis VanderCook College of Music Western Illinois University Wheaton College Illinois Central College

Brian T. Deal John C. Joson David B. Woenker Paul Pearson Arianna Salgado Mitchell Gurick Delano C. Lee Eleni N. Vrettos Eleanor M Stewart Stefany Sigler Rachel E. Allaman Jacob E. Dander Sara Glade Jennifer L. Jaroch Hannah Eby Molly E. Studer Celinda K. Davis Akuka G. Agyei Lindsy C. Morgan Emily H. Johnson David S. Lewis Clayton G. Whitlock Lindsay Hansard Eleanor M. Spencer Stephanie N. Lankford Hortencia Rodriguez Taylor E. Harrison Christina Phillip Emma E. Battaglia Tertia A. Jeppson Kathryn V. Landgrebe Jessica D. Ellison Gustavo L. Batista Julie Von Holdener Allison A. Jackson Kara J. Emerv Brooke N. McInerney David C. Lynch Corey J. Huber Alyssa Bivins David W. Lucas Haedi E. DeAngelis Allyson Joyce Clarissa Fisher Naomi Liu Amanda J. Buechel Marlee A. Wilde Ashley Luke Andrew G. Hensel Trevor R. Mileur

Naperville, IL Anchorage, AK Cary, IL Chicago, IL Chicago, IL Darien. IL Chicago, IL Cicero, IL Holyoke, CO Joliet, IL Oquawka, IL Genoa, IL Sleepy Hollow, IL Elk Grove Village, IL Dubuque, IA Milford, IN Champaign, IL Swaziland Alberville, MN Lincoln, IL Hoffman Estates, IL Springfield, IL Belleville, IL Flanagan, IL Effingham, IL Berwyn, IL Morton. IL Hinsdale, IL Chicago, IL Peru. IL Cincinnati, OH Walton, IN Yarmouth, MA Belleville, IL Roscoe, IL East Peoria. IL Dwight, IL Rockford, IL Edwardsville, IL Chicago, IL Hobart, IN Deerfield, IL Chicago, IL Rochester, IL Westmont. IL Joliet, IL Princeton, IL Macomb, IL Chicago, IL Peoria, IL