Skip to Main Content


  1. Governor

ILHIE Governance Work Group Meeting Minutes -June 16 2011 

June 16, 2011

The Governance and Nominating Committee ("Committee") of the Board of Directors (the "Board") of the Illinois Health Information Exchange Authority ("Authority"), pursuant to notice duly given, held its Inaugural Meeting at 11:15 a.m. on June 16, 2011, at the offices of the Office of Health Information Technology ("OHIT"), State of Illinois James R. Thompson Center, 100 W. Randolph, Suite 2-201, 100 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601.

Committee Members Present:

  1. Mr. David Holland (by telephone)
  2. Dr. Nancy Newby (by telephone)
  3. Dr. Cheryl Whitaker (by telephone)
  4. DPH – Deputy Director David Carvalho (by telephone)

OHIT Staff Present:

Laura Zaremba; Mark Chudzinski; David Fagus; Krysta Heaney; Mary McGinnis (by telephone)

Committee Members Absent:

  1. Dr. Bechara Choucair
  2. Dr. William Kobler
  3. Dr. Nicholas Panomitros

Call to Order and Roll Call

Mr. Chudzinski, Acting Secretary of the Board, confirmed the presence of the Members of the Committee noted above. David Carvalho, Deputy Director of the Illinois Department of Public Health, confirmed that he was attending as the DPH designee due to the unavailability of Director Damon T. Arnold, MD. The ability of the Committee Members to clearly participate by telephone was confirmed, and no objection was expressed to their participation in this manner.

Slate of Advisory Committee Nominees

At the invitation of Dr. Whitaker, the OHIT staff reported on their progress since the last meeting of the Committee to identify more candidates in several stakeholder categories that were underrepresented in the initial pool of nominees. In accordance with the Committee's instructions, the OHIT staff had re-examined the applications it had previously received from individuals with the desired characteristics, and had in addition recruited six more individuals. The OHIT staff submitted a revised list of 45 candidates for appointment to the Advisory Committee for a two-year term, 32 for immediate appointment and 13 for appointment to a term beginning July 1, 2012. Laura Zaremba briefly reviewed the qualifications of each candidate, noting where relevant the candidate's (i) relation to one or more of the stakeholder groups identified in the ILHIE Act, (ii) geographic diversity, and (iii) individual qualifications.

The Committee reviewed the revised list of proposed nominees, and commended the OHIT staff for having successfully implemented the Committee's instructions. On a motion duly made and seconded, the Committee unanimously approved the proposed slate of Advisory Committee candidates for appointment by the Board.

From the approved slate of candidates, Dr. Whitaker suggested that two individuals be selected to serve as co-chairs of the Advisory Committee. Following a discussion of the relative merits of all three candidates suggested by OHIT, the Committee agreed on a ranking of the candidates, and instructed the OHIT staff to confirm the willingness of the individual candidates to serve as a co-chair of the Advisory Committee and to advise Dr. Whitaker of OHIT's final recommendation. The Committee unanimously approved the submission by the Chair of two Advisory Committee candidates for appointment by the Board as co-chairs of the Advisory Committee.

Inter-Agency Agreement

Mr. Chudzinski reported that the final form of the Inter-Agency Agreement (IGA) was still under review with the necessary State authorities, and that in accordance with the procedure agreed at the Committee's last meeting, the final form of the IGA would be presented to the Committee's Chair, who would report on the Committee's behalf to the Board a recommendation regarding the approval and execution of the IGA by the Authority.

Public Comment

There were no comments offered from the general public.


The meeting was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Minutes submitted by:
Mark Chudzinski, Acting Secretary