Skip to Main Content

Breadcrumb

  1. Governor
  2. Latino Heritage

Latino Trailblazers of the Day 

Latinos have left their mark on all forms of human endeavor, from space travel and inventions to arts and athletics. Often, these trailblazers were everyday people with a vision who made sacrifices and worked hard to make a difference.

To celebrate Latino Heritage Month, each day we’re sharing the story of these pioneers. We hope you might draw some inspiration or new ideas from these daily biographies. Please forward this link to your family and friends! Happy Latino Heritage Month!

Title: Best-selling Latin albums in US
Date: Friday, October 11, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Selena

Title: Latinos in the Boardroom
Date: Thursday, October 10, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Roberto Goizueta, Robert “Bob” Ontiveros, Elizabeth Colón

Title: Latino Music in Illinois
Date: Wednesday, October 9, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Victor Parra, Sones de Mexico

Title: Buen Provecho! (Enjoy your meal!)
Date: Tuesday, October 8, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Topolobampo; Mexique

Title: Latinos on Illinois Airwaves
Date: Monday, October 7, 2013
Trailblazer(s): From WCIU-26 to the Ponces

Title: Hispanic Inventors, Scientists, Innovators
Date: Sunday, October 6, 2013
Trailblazer(s): JRTC Exhibit

Title: First Latino on Supreme Court
Date: Saturday, October 5, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Justice Sonia Sotomayor

Title: Latinos in the NBA
Date: Friday, October 4, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Butch Lee and Andres Nocioni

Title: Latinos in Governor's Cabinet
Date: Thursday, October 3, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Rose Mary Bombela-Tobias

Title: Public Health Pioneer
Date: Wednesday, October 2, 2013
Trailblazer(s):Carmen Velasquez

Title: Latinos in the U.S. Cabinet
Date: Tuesday, October 1, 2013
Trailblazer(s):Lauro Cavazos Jr and Hilda Solis

Title: Latino U.S. Military Heroes
Date: Monday, September 30, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Adm. David Farragut, Adm. Horicio Rivero

Title: Latinos in the Classroom
Date: Sunday, September 29, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Catherine J.K. Sandoval, Hugh Tosteson Garcia, Jaime Escalante

Title: Latinos in Higher Education
Date: Saturday, September 28, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Dr. Juliet Garcia, Dr. Patricia Granados

Title: Latinos in the Fashion World
Date: Friday, September 27, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Jaslene Gonzalez, Oscar de la Renta, Carolina Herrera, Christy Turlington

Title: Inventor's Day
Date: Thursday, September 26, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Ladislao José Biró

Title: Illinois Latinos and Government
Date: Wednesday, September 25, 2013
Trailblazer(s): William Rodriguez, Irene Hernandez

Title: Latinos on the Diamond
Date: Tuesday, September 24, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Hiram Bithorn, Roberto Clemente, Luis Aparicio

Title: Latino Pulitzer Prize winners for Fiction
Date: Monday, September 23, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Oscar Hijuelos, Junot Diaz

Title: Illinois Latino Voices
Date: Sunday, September 22, 2013
Trailblazer(s): David Hernandez, Sandra Cisneros, Achy Obejas

Title: Latinos and Labor
Date: Saturday, September 21, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Lucy Parsons Gonzalez, Cesar Chavez, Dolores Huerta

Title: Latinos and TV
Date: Friday, September 20, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Guillermo Camarena, Desi Arnaz , George Lopez, America Ferrera

Title: Latina Police Hero
Date: Thursday, September 19, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Officer Irma C. Ruíz

Title: Three Architectural Visions
Date: Wednesday, September 18, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Luis Barragán, Oscar Niemeyer, Paulo Mendes de Rocha

Title: Latino Oscar Winners
Date: Tuesday, September 17, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Jose Ferrer, Rita Moreno

Title: Women Presidents of Latin America
Date: Monday, September 16, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Laura Chinchilla, Dilma Rousseff, Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner

Title: First Illinois Latino Medal of Honor
Date: Sunday, September 15, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Manuel Perez, Jr.

Title: Latinos on the Gridiron
Date: Saturday, September 14, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Steve Van Buren, Roberto Garza

Title: Latino Tennis Aces
Date: Saturday, September 14, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Pancho Gonzalez y mas

Title: First Latina in Space
Date: Friday, September 13, 2013
Trailblazer(s): Ellen Ochoa