Skip to Main Content


  1. HFS
  2. Public Involvement
  3. Care Coordination
  4. Integrated Care Project

Integrated Care Program 

Regions, Health Plans, and Services Provided

The Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services (HFS) implemented the Integrated Care Program (ICP) on May 1, 2011, for seniors and persons with disabilities who are eligible for Medicaid but not eligible for Medicare. ICP is mandatory managed care that began as a pilot program in the greater Chicago region including suburban Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kankakee, Lake and Will counties. It now operates in 29 counties in five regions of Illinois.  Those regions include the Rockford region (July 2013), the Central Illinois region (Sept 2013), the Metro East region (Sept 2013) and the Quad Cities region (November 2013).

The Department is pleased to announce the most recent expansion into the City of Chicago. Cook County as a whole is now a part of ICP as of February 2014.  The expansion into the four regions aligns with the State’s mission to comply with Public Act 96-1501, which requires 50% of Medicaid clients to be enrolled in a form of care coordination by January 2015.

The Integrated Care Program brings together local primary care providers (PCPs), specialists, hospitals, nursing homes, and home and community based service providers to organize care around a patient’s needs. ICP members have a choice of health plans and PCPs; they receive better coordination of care, manage their own healthcare needs, and receive additional programs and services to help them live healthy independent lives.

ICP covers both Service Package I and II: Service Package I includes medical and behavioral health services; Service Package II includes long-term services and supports (LTSS), including nursing home care and community based waiver services. Below is a listing of the ICP counties and participating health plans by region.

Greater Chicago region:

Cook County

* DuPage, Kane, Kankakee, Lake, Will counties

*In Summer 2014 all of the plans listed in Cook will begin participating in the entire Greater Chicago region.

Rockford region:

Boone, McHenry, Winnebago counties

Central IL region:

Knox, Peoria, Stark, Tazewell counties

McLean, Logan, DeWitt, Sangamon, Macon, Christian, Menard, Piatt, Champaign, Ford, Vermillion counties

Quad Cities region:

Rock Island, Mercer counties

Metro East region:

Madison, Clinton, St Clair counties