News Release - August 10, 2011 


  1. State of Illinois Home

Illinois Youth Volunteers Will Serve As Grand Marshals Of The 2011 Illinois State Fair Twilight Parade

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. –   Some exceptional young people from the Springfield area who volunteer their time to serve others have been selected as this year’s Twilight Parade Grand Marshals.  The 2011 Grand Marshals were selected for their commitment to serving others through the Serve Illinois Commission, whose mission is to improve Illinois communities by enhancing traditional volunteer activities and supporting national service programs. Eight of the grand marshals are AmeriCorps members from the Springfield Urban League and serve as tutors and mentors for afterschool programs.  The others are students from Springfield Public School District 186 who volunteer their time by serving food to the hungry at St. John’s Breadline and by working at the Springfield Ronald McDonald House.

“This year we decided to recognize the impressive volunteer efforts of Illinois youth,” Illinois State Fair Manager Amy Bliefnick said. “Keeping in line with the state fair theme, ‘We’ve Got a Good Thing Growing,’ these grand marshals demonstrate that Illinois continues to grow responsible and dedicated young men and women who will become future leaders of our state.”

The 2011 Grand Marshals are:

Springfield Urban League AmeriCorps
  • Brandis Holloway
  • Janette Stewart
  • Saraya Curry
  • Uniquika Boyd
  • Karson Moore
  • Aaron Slater
  • MorrQuem Hobson
  • Lamond McCrary
Springfield District 186 Youth
  • Lance Boozer
  • Justin Palmer
  • Ben Patton
  • Cameron Drake
  • Monica DeVault
  • Kristin Coogan
  • Taylor Lanctot
  • Lyndsey Stoutamyer
  • Corey Todd
  • Dennis Shannon
  • Kendall Murdock
  • Rachel Ray
  • Zach Wilson
  • Camren Sisti

The Twilight Parade is held on Preview Day, Thursday, Aug. 11.  It will begin at 6 p.m. at the corner of 9th Street and North Grand Avenue and end inside the Illinois State Fairgrounds.  The Illinois State Fair runs Friday, Aug. 12 through Sunday, Aug. 21. For more information, please visit

Copyright © 2013 State of Illinois