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ADULT USE CANNABIS SUMMARY 
 
The following summarizes the major elements HB 1438 – The Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act. 
 
PERSONAL USE OF CANNABIS 
Starting January 1, 2020, adults over 21 will be able to legally purchase cannabis for 
recreational use from licensed dispensaries across the state.  
 

• Possession limit for Illinois residents: 
o 30 grams of cannabis flower; 
o 5 grams of cannabis concentrate; and 
o No more than 500 milligrams of THC contained in a cannabis-infused product; 

and 
o Registered patients in the medical cannabis pilot program may possess more 

than 30 grams of cannabis if it is grown and secured in their residence under 
certain conditions. 
 

• Possession limit for non-Illinois residents: 
o 15 grams of cannabis flower; 
o 2.5 grams of cannabis; and  
o No more than 250 milligrams of THC contained in a cannabis-infused product. 

 
• The possession limits are to be considered cumulative. 

 
COMPASSIONATE USE OF MEDICAL CANNABIS PILOT PROGRAM 

• The legalization of adult use cannabis does not alter the state’s medical cannabis pilot 
program.  

• Cultivators and dispensaries will be required to reserve sufficient supply to ensure 
patient access to product is not interrupted.  

 
PROMOTING EQUITY 

• Creation of a $30 million low-interest loan program  
o DCEO will administer a low-interest loan program to qualified “social equity 

applicants” to help defray the start-up costs associated with entering the 
licensed cannabis industry.  

 
• Establishment of a “social equity applicant” status for licensing 

o A social equity applicant is an Illinois resident that meets one of the following 
criteria: 

§ Applicant with at least 51 percent ownership and control by one or more 
individuals who have resided for at least 5 of the preceding 10 years in a 
disproportionately impacted area.  
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§ Applicant with at least 51 percent ownership and control by one or more 
individuals who have been arrested for, convicted of, or adjudged to be a 
ward of the juvenile court for any offense that is eligible for 
expungement under this Act or member of an impacted family;  

§ For applicants with a minimum of 10 full-time employees, an applicant 
with at least 51% of current employees who: 

• Currently reside in a disproportionately impacted area; or  
• Have been arrested for, convicted of, or adjudged to be a ward of 

the juvenile court for any offense that is eligible for expungement 
under this Act or member of an impacted family. 
 

• Application for new entrants to the market 
o The Act contains the scoring criteria that the Illinois Department of Financial and 

Professional Regulation will utilize to score applications for new dispensing 
organizations.  

§ 50 out of 250 points, or 20 percent of the total points available, are 
designated for applicants that qualify as “social equity applicants.” 

§ The remainder of the points are designated for the following: 
• 65 points – security and record keeping 
• 65 points – business plan, financials, operating and floor plan 
• 30 points – knowledge and experience 
• 15 points – suitability of employee training plan 
• 5 points – labor and employment practices 
• 5 points – environmental plan 
• 5 points – Illinois owner (51 percent or more of ownership) 
• 5 points – status as a veteran (51 percent or more of ownership) 
• 5 points – diversity plan 

§ IDFPR may award up to 2 bonus points for a plan to engage with the 
community the applicant will be located in.  

o The Department of Agriculture will develop a similar application scoring system 
through the rulemaking process for cultivation centers, infusers, craft growers 
and transporting organizations.  

§ The application for each license type will designate 20 percent of the 
total points for applicants that qualify as “social equity applicants.” 

 
• Fee waivers 

o The Department of Financial and Professional Regulation and the Department of 
Agriculture will waive 50 percent of any non-refundable license application fees 
and any non-refundable fees associated with purchasing a license to operate a 
cannabis business establishment if social equity applicants meet certain 
conditions.  
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• Reducing up-front costs 
o Applicants who receive a conditional dispensing organization license will have 

180 days from the date of the award to identify a physical location for the 
dispensing organization retail storefront when new entrants are allowed in the 
market. This will reduce the costs associated with entering the industry.  

 
• Limitations on ownership 

o No person or entity shall hold any legal, equitable, or beneficial interest, directly 
or indirectly, of more than 3 cultivation centers. 

o No person or entity shall hold any legal, equitable, or beneficial interest, directly 
or indirectly, of more than 10 dispensing organizations.  

o No craft grower license shall be issued to a person who is licensed by any 
licensing authority as a cultivation center.  

o No person or entity shall hold any legal, equitable, ownership, or beneficial 
interest, directly or indirectly, of more than three craft grower licenses under 
this article.  
 

• Identification of “disproportionately impacted areas”  
o DCEO will designate “disproportionately impacted areas” for social equity 

applicants 
§ “Disproportionately impacted area” is defined as a geographic area that 

is economically disadvantaged and has been impacted by high rates of 
arrest, conviction, and incarceration for violations of the Cannabis 
Control Act. 

 

ACHIEVING EQUITY THROUGH OWNERSHIP AND LICENSURE 
The following process is designed to ensure the most equitable marketplace in the country.  
 

• Early approval adult use license for current medical cannabis license holders 
o Timeline for licensing 

§ Cultivation organizations: 
• Medical cannabis cultivators may apply for a license within 60 

days of the effective date of the Act.  
• Licenses will be distributed to eligible applicants within 14 days if 

certain conditions are met.  
§ Dispensing organizations:  

• Medical cannabis dispensaries may apply for a license within 60 
days of the effective date of the Act.  

• Licenses will be distributed to eligible applicants within 14 days if 
certain conditions are met.  

• These entities may apply for a second license at a new location 
under the same parameters. 
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o Licensing costs for early approval adult use licenses 

§ Cultivation organizations:  
• Non-refundable application fee: $100,000 
• Cannabis business development fund fee: 5% of total sales 

between June 1, 2018 to June 1, 2019 or $750,000, whichever is 
less, but not less than $250,000.  

§ Dispensing organizations:  
• License 1 

o Non-refundable application fee: $30,000 
o Cannabis business development fund fee: 3% of total sales 

between June 1, 2018 to June 1, 2019 or $100,000, 
whichever is less.  

• License 2 
o Non-refundable application fee: $30,000 
o Cannabis business development fund fee: $200,000 

 
• New entrants to the adult use cannabis market 

o License types 
§ Cultivation centers 
§ Craft growers 
§ Infusers 
§ Transporting organizations 
§ Dispensing organizations 

 
o Timeline 

§ WAVE 1 
• Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 

o May 1, 2020: The agency awards licenses for up to 75 new 
dispensing organizations  

• Department of Agriculture 
o July 1, 2020: The agency awards up to 40 licenses for 

infusers, up to 40 licenses for craft growers, and licenses 
for transporting organizations.  
 

§ WAVE 2 
• Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 

o December 21, 2021: The agency awards up to 110 licenses 
for new dispensing organizations  

• Department of Agriculture 
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o December 21, 2021: The agency awards up to 60 
additional licenses for craft growers, up to 60 licenses for 
infusers, and licenses for transporting organizations.   
 

o Licensing costs for new entrants to the market 
§ Craft growers 

• Non-refundable application fee $5,000 
• License fee $40,000 

§ Infusers 
• Non-refundable application fee $5,000 
• License fee $5,000 

§ Transporting organizations 
• Non-refundable application fee $5,000 
• License fee $10,000 

§ Dispensing organizations 
• Non-refundable application fee $5,000 
• License fee $60,000 

 
INVESTING IN COMMUNITIES THAT SUFFERED THROUGH THE WAR ON DRUGS 

• The proposal would establish a new grant program, the Restore, Reinvest, and Renew 
(R3) program, to address the impact of economic disinvestment, violence, and the 
historical overuse of the criminal justice system.   

• R3 program overview 
o The Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (ICJIA), in coordination with 

the Justice, Equity, and Opportunity Initiative of the Lieutenant Governor’s 
Office, will identify designate “R3 Areas.” 

o The R3 Program Board will consist of over 22 members and be chaired by the 
Lieutenant Governor, or her designee.  

o The R3 Program Board will solicit applications from eligible R3 Areas, review 
applications and approve the distribution of resources, and monitor and 
evaluate R3 programs.  

o Grant funds will be awarded by ICJIA, in coordination with the R3 Program 
Board. 

o Grants shall be used to address economic development, violence prevention 
services, re-entry services, youth development, and civil legal aid. 

o The ROC Board will deliver an annual report to the Governor’s Office about its 
progress.  

 
PROVIDING RELIEF FOR MINOR VIOLATIONS OF THE CANNABIS CONTROL ACT   

• Category 1: Local law enforcement and ISP will automatically expunge arrests not 
leading to a conviction for possession and manufacture or possession with intent to 
deliver for up to 30 grams. 
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o Eligible records = arrests for section 4 and section 5 of the Cannabis Control Act 
for amounts less than 30 grams. Must not be associated with a violent crime or a 
penalty enhancement for selling to a person under the age of 18 if the individual 
was over 18.  

o Local law enforcement will identify all eligible records and automatically expunge 
records that did not result in a conviction by the following deadlines: 

§ Arrest records between January 1, 2013 and effective date must be 
expunged by January 1, 2021 

§ Arrest records between January 1, 2000, and January 1, 2013, must be 
expunged by January 1, 2023 

§ Arrest records prior to January 1, 2000, must be expunged prior to 
January 1, 2025. 

o Records will be expunged if one year or more has elapsed since the date of the 
arrest with no criminal charges filed or charges were subsequently dismissed, 
vacated, or the individual was acquitted.  

 
• Category 2:  Governor will grant pardons authorizing expungement for convictions for 

possession and manufacture or possession with intent to deliver for up to 30 grams. 
o Eligible records = convictions for Section 4 and Section 5 of the Cannabis Control 

Act for amounts less than 30 grams. Must not be associated with a violent crime 
or a penalty enhancement for selling to a person under the age of 18 if the 
individual was over 18.  

o ISP will identify all eligible convictions based on criminal history records and 
provide data to Prisoner Review Board (PRB) within 180 days of effective date. 

o PRB will review records for eligibility to ensure that they are the proper 
convictions and that conviction is not associated with excluded violent crime.  
PRB will provide notice to State’s Attorney of any felony conviction eligible for 
clemency and provide State’s Attorney 60 days to file a written objection on the 
basis that record is ineligible.  

o Governor will issue pardons authorizing expungement.   
o Attorney General, on behalf of Prisoner Review Board, will file a petition with 

circuit court to expunge records of convictions that were granted clemency. 
Courts have 90 days to enter an order that directs ISP, local arresting authority, 
and court to expunge relevant records.  

 
• Category 3: Individuals and State’s Attorneys may file motions with courts to vacate 

convictions for possession up to 500 grams. 
o Eligible records = convictions for possession and 

manufacture/delivery/possession with intent to deliver under Section 4 and 
Section 5 of the Cannabis Control Act, including possession up to 500 grams. No 
limitations on associated with violent crime.  

o Individual or State’s Attorneys may file motions with the circuit court where the 
conviction was entered asking the court to vacate the conviction and expunge 
court, law enforcement and ISP records.   
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o State’s Attorneys may file an objection.  
o Court will consider reasons to retain the records (if provided by law 

enforcement), the petitioner’s current age and age at the time of conviction, 
time elapsed since conviction, and any adverse consequences to individual if 
denied.  

o Motions must be filed after completion of any sentence or condition imposed by 
the conviction.  

o State’s Attorneys and civil legal aid organizations (on behalf of clients) may file 
motions to vacate that includes more than one individual at a time.   

 
• Exclusions: Violent Crimes 

o If the cannabis offense was connected to a violent crime it is ineligible for the 
automatic expungement processes, but the individual (or State’s Attorney) can 
still file motion with the court to vacate conviction.  This list of violent crimes 
comes from the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act.  

§ any felony in which force or threat of force was used against the victim;  
§ any offense involving sexual exploitation, sexual conduct, or sexual 

penetration;  
§ crimes related to child pornography, posting of pornographic material of 

a person under 17 years of age or non-consensual dissemination of 
private sexual images;  

§ domestic battery or stalking;  
§ violation of an order of protection, a civil no contact order, or a stalking 

no contact order;  
§ any misdemeanor which results in death or great bodily harm to the 

victim; or  
§ involuntary manslaughter and reckless homicide.  

 
Below is a table of the current law and the category of expungement that each falls under; 
please note that the possession amounts were different pre-2016.  

 
Section 4 (Possession) 
Unlawful for any person knowingly to possess cannabis in the following amounts 

 

(a) <10g Civil law 
violation 

Fees;  
May be given probation and 
charges dismissed §10(a) 

Governor’s Clemency 
Authority/Automatic Law 
Enforcement 
Expungement 

 

(b) 10-30g Class B 
Misdemeanor 

<6 months;  
May be given probation and 
charges dismissed §10(a) 

Governor’s Clemency 
Authority/Automatic Law 
Enforcement 
Expungement 
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(c) 30-100g Class A 
Misdemeanor 

<1 year;  
May be given probation and 
charges dismissed §10(a) 

Individual/State’s 
Attorney Motions to 
Vacate 

 

(d) 100-
500g 

Class 4 Felony 1-3 years Individual/State’s 
Attorney Motions to 
Vacate 

 

Section 5 (Manufacture, deliver or intent to deliver) 
Unlawful for any person knowingly to manufacture, deliver, or possess with intent to deliver 
or manufacture cannabis in the following amounts 

 

(a) <2.5g Class B 
Misdemeanor 

<6 months;  
May be given probation and 
charges dismissed §10(a) 

Governor’s Clemency 
Authority/Automatic Law 
Enforcement 
Expungement 

 

(b) 2.5-10g Class A 
Misdemeanor 

<1 year;  
May be given probation and 
charges dismissed §10(a) 

Governor’s Clemency 
Authority/Automatic Law 
Enforcement 
Expungement 

 

(c) 10-30g Class 4 Felony 1-3 years;  
May be given probation and 
charges dismissed §10(a) 

Governor’s Clemency 
Authority/Automatic Law 
Enforcement 
Expungement 

 

 
 
EMPLOYMENT 

• Nothing in the Act prohibits employers from adopting reasonable zero tolerance or drug 
free workplace policies, or employment policies concerning drug testing, smoking, 
consumption, storage, or use of cannabis in the workplace or while on call provided that 
the policy is applied in a nondiscriminatory manner.  

• Nothing in the Act limits or prevents an employer from disciplining an employee or 
terminating employment of an employee for violating an employer’s employment 
policies or workplace drug policy. 

 
ILLINOIS COMMUNITY COLLEGE CANNABIS VOCATIONAL PILOT PROGRAM 

• The Department of Agriculture, in coordination with the Illinois Community College 
Board, will oversee the program. 

• Up to 8 community colleges will be awarded a program license by September 1, 2020.  
• Community colleges awarded the program license may initiate programs starting in the 

2021-2022 academic year.  
• Students must be at least 18 years old to enroll in this course of study. 
• Students who complete the coursework will receive a ‘career in cannabis certificate.’ 

 
TAXATION 

• All tax revenue is deposited in the new Cannabis Regulation Fund 
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• Cultivation privilege tax 
o 7% of the gross receipts from the sale of cannabis by a cultivator or a craft 

grower to a dispensing organization 
• Cannabis purchaser excise tax: 

o 10% of the purchase price – Cannabis with a THC level at or below 35% 
o 20% of the purchase price – All cannabis infused products 
o 25% of the purchase price – Cannabis with a THC level above 35% 
o This tax is not imposed on cannabis that is subject to tax under the 

Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act 
o This tax shall be in addition to all other occupation, privilege, or excise taxes 

imposed by the State of Illinois or by any municipal corporation or political 
subdivision thereof.  

• Municipal Cannabis Retailers’ Occupation Tax 
o On and after January 1, 2020, the corporate authorities of a municipality may, by 

ordinance, impose a tax on all persons engaged in the business of selling 
cannabis at retail locations in the municipality on the gross receipts from these 
sales. 

§ If imposed, the tax shall be imposed in 0.25% increments 
§ The tax may not exceed 3% of the gross receipts from these sales 

• Cannabis County Retailers’ Occupation Tax 
o On and after January 1, 2020, the corporate authorities of a county may, by 

ordinance, impose a tax on all persons engaged in the business of selling 
cannabis at retail locations in the county on the gross receipts from these sales. 

§ If imposed, the tax shall be imposed in 0.25% increments 
§ The tax rate may not exceed:  

• 3.75% of the gross receipts of sales made in unincorporated areas 
of the county 

• 0.75% of the gross receipts of sales made in a municipality located 
in a non-home rule county 

• 3% of the gross sales receipts made in a municipality located in a 
home rule county.  

 
ALLOCATION OF STATE REVENUE 

• Tax revenue will be deposited in the new Cannabis Regulation Fund 
• State agencies responsible for administering the adult use cannabis program will receive 

resources to cover administrative costs from the taxes collected by the program.   
• All remaining revenue will be allocated as follows: 

o 35% will be transferred to the General Revenue Fund, 
o 25% will be transferred to the Criminal Justice Information Projects Fund to 

support the R3 program,  
o 20% will be transferred to the Department of Human Services Community 

Services Fund to address substance abuse and prevention and mental health 
concerns,  
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o 10% will be transferred to the Budget Stabilization Fund to pay the backlog of 
unpaid bills, 

o 8% will be transferred to the Local Government Distributive Fund to support 
crime prevention programs, training, and interdiction efforts, including 
detection, enforcement, and prevention efforts, relating to the illegal cannabis 
market and driving under the influence of cannabis, and  

o 2% will be transferred to the Drug Treatment Fund to fund public education 
campaign and to support data collection and analysis of the public health 
impacts of legalizing the recreational use of cannabis. 

 
GOVERNANCE 

• Governor’s Office 
o The Governor will appoint a Cannabis Regulation Oversight Officer who will be 

stationed in IDFPR. This person, and his or her team, will have the authority to 
make statutory and regulatory recommendations concerning the adult use 
program. This person will also coordinate efforts between state agencies 
involved in regulating and taxing the sale of cannabis in Illinois.  

• Department of Revenue 
o Responsible for enforcing and collecting taxes associated with the sale of 

cannabis. 
• Department of Agriculture 

o Responsible for licensure and oversight of cultivation centers, craft growers, 
infusers, and transporting organizations. 

o Responsible for authorizing laboratories that test cannabis 
o Responsible for establishing, in coordination with the Illinois Community College 

Board, the Community College Cannabis Vocational Training Pilot Program 
• Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 

o Responsible for licensure and oversight of dispensing organizations. 
• Illinois State Police 

o Responsible for conducting background checks on everyone involved in the 
licensed cannabis sector.  

o Responsible for reviewing security plans for all licensed entities.  
o Responsible for reviewing all criminal history record information and identifying 

all individuals with minor violations of the Cannabis Control Act that are eligible 
for expungement.  

• Department of Public Health 
o Responsible for developing recommendations surrounding health warnings and 

facilitating the Adult Use Cannabis Public Health Advisory Committee.  
• Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity  

o Responsible for administering a low-interest loan program, a grant program, and 
technical assistance for social equity applicants.  

o Responsible for identifying ‘disproportionately impacted areas’ 
• Department of Human Services 
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o Responsible for administering programs that address substance abuse and 
prevention and mental health 

o Responsible for making recommendations to the Adult Use Cannabis Public 
Health Advisory Committee regarding drug treatment and prevention.  

o Responsible administering a public education campaign and collecting data and 
conducting analysis of the public health impacts of legalizing the recreational use 
of cannabis. 

• Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority 
o Responsible for designating R3 areas across the state that may apply for funding 

from the R3 Program Board for community reinvestment.  
• Illinois Community College Board 

o Responsible for establishing, in coordination with the Department of Agriculture, 
the Community College Cannabis Vocational Training Pilot Program 

 
PUBLIC HEALTH AND SAFETY 

• Twenty percent of the revenue generated by the sale of adult use cannabis will support 
efforts to address substance abuse and prevention and mental health.  
 

• DUI Cannabis Task Force 
o The Task Force will be chaired by the director of the State Police, or his or her 

designee.  
o The Task Force will examine best practices in the area of driving under the 

influence of cannabis enforcement, including examining emerging technology in 
roadside testing. 

o The Task Force will present its report and recommendations on improvements to 
enforcement of driving under the influence of cannabis to the Governor and the 
General Assembly by July 1, 2020. 

 
• Advertising 

o No cannabis business establishment nor any other person or entity shall engage 
in advertising that contains any statement or illustration that:  

§ Is false or misleading; 
§ Promotes overconsumption or cannabis or cannabis products;  
§ Depicts the actual consumption of cannabis or cannabis products; 
§ Depicts a person under 21 years of age consuming cannabis;  
§ Makes any health, medicinal, or therapeutic claims about cannabis or 

cannabis products;  
§ Includes the image of a cannabis leaf or bud; or  
§ Includes any image designed or likely to appeal to minors, including 

cartoons, toys, animals, or children, or any other likeness to images, 
characters, or phrases that is designed in any manner to be appealing to 
or encourage consumption of persons under 21 years of age.  
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o No cannabis business establishment nor any other person or entity shall place or 
maintain, or cause to be placed or maintained, an advertisement of cannabis or a 
cannabis infused product in any form through any medium:  

§ Within 1,000 feet of the perimeter of a school grounds, a playground, a 
recreation center or facility, a child care center, a public park or public 
library, or a game arcade to which admission is not restricted to persons 
21 years of age or older;  

§ On or in a public transit vehicle or public transit shelter; 
§ On or in a publicly owned or public operated property; or  
§ That contains information that: 

• Is false or misleading;  
• Promotes excessive consumption;  
• Depicts a person under 21 years of age consuming cannabis; 
• Includes the image of a cannabis leaf; or  
• Includes any image designed or likely to appeal to minors, 

including cartoons, toys, animals, or children, or any other 
likeness to images, characters, or phrases that are popularly used 
to advertise to children, or any imitation of candy packaging or 
labeling, or that promotes the consumption of cannabis.  

§ These restrictions do not apply to an educational message 
§ No cannabis business establishment nor any other person or entity may 

encourage the sale of cannabis or cannabis products by giving away 
cannabis or cannabis products, by conducting games or competitions 
related to the consumption of cannabis or cannabis products, or by 
providing promotional materials or activities of a manner or type that 
would be appealing to children.  

 
• Packaging requirements 

o The following warnings shall apply to all cannabis products: “This product 
contains cannabis and is intended for use by adults 21 and over. Its use can 
impair cognition and may be habit forming. This product should not be used by 
pregnant or breastfeeding women. It is unlawful to sell or provide this item to 
any individual, and it may not be transported outside the state of Illinois. It is 
illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis. 
Possession or use of this product may carry significant legal penalties in some 
jurisdictions and under federal law.” 

o All harvested cannabis intended for distribution to a cannabis enterprise must be 
packaged in a sealed, labeled container. 

o Packaging of any product containing cannabis shall be child-resistant and light-
resistant consistent with current standards, including the Consumer Product 
Safety Commission standards referenced by the Poison Prevention Act. 
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o The label of each cannabis product shall contain, among other things, a “use by” 
date on the label, the quantity of cannabis contained in the product, and a 
content list. 

o All cannabis products must contain warning statements established for 
consumers, of a size to be legible and readily visible to a consumer inspecting a 
package, which may not be covered or obscured in any way.  

o Packaging must not contain information that: 
§ Is false or misleading; 
§ Promotes excessive consumption;  
§ Depicts a person under 21 years of age consuming cannabis; 
§ Includes the image of a cannabis leaf;  
§ Includes any image designed or likely to appeal to minors, including 

cartoons, toys, animals, or children, or any other likeness to images, 
characters, or phrases that are popularly used to advertise to children, or 
any packaging or labeling that bears resemblance to any product 
available for consumption as a commercially available candy, or that 
promotes consumption of cannabis; 

§ Contains any seal, flag, crest, coat of arms, or other insignia likely to 
mislead the consumer to believe that the product has been endorsed, 
made or used by the State of Illinois. 

 
LOCAL ORDINANCES 

• A unit of government, including a home rule unit or any non-home rule county within 
the unincorporated territory of the county, may enact ordinances to prohibit or 
significantly limit a cannabis business establishment's location. 

• Voters in any precinct within a municipality that has a population greater than 500,000 
residents may petition their alderman seeking an ordinance to establish the precinct as 
a ‘restricted cannabis zone.’ The ordinance may prohibit home cultivation, cannabis 
business establishments, or both.  

• Municipalities may enact reasonable zoning restrictions pertaining to licensed 
cultivation centers, craft growers, processing organizations, and dispensaries. 

• A unit of local government, including a home rule unit, or any non-home rule county the 
unincorporated territory of the county may regulate the on-premises consumption of 
cannabis at or in a cannabis business establishment within its jurisdiction in a manner 
consistent with this Act. A cannabis business establishment or other entity authorized or 
permitted by a unit of local government to allow on-site consumption shall not be 
deemed a public place within the meaning of the Smoke Free Illinois Act. 

 
HOME GROW 

• Illinois residents who are 21 years or older and registered participants in the 
Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program may cultivate cannabis plants.  

o The grower must live in a household that owns the residence or has permission 
from the owner. 
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o The grower is limited to growing no more than 5 plants that are five inches or 
taller. 

o The grower shall take reasonable precautions to ensure that plants are secure 
from unauthorized access. 

o If the grower violates the terms of the Act, that person is liable for penalties as 
provided by law as well as the loss of home cultivation privileges as established 
by rule. 

 
PROJECTED REVENUE 

• The Department of Revenue projects that this industry will generate over $57 million in 
tax revenue and licensing fees in FY20.  

o This figure represents the combined revenue projections that Governor’s Office 
received from the Department of Revenue concerning the taxation of cannabis 
as well as the application and licensing fees estimated by the Department of 
Agriculture and the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.  

§ Breakdown 
• DOR tax revenue: $34 million (midpoint of the range projected by 

DOR: 10-58 million) 
• DOA estimate: $12.7 million 
• IDFPR estimate: $10.78 million 

• The Department of Revenue estimates that the state will generate $140.5 million in tax 
revenue in FY21.  

o This excludes agencies’ application and licensing fees as the program continues 
to expand. 

• The Department of Revenue projects significant revenue growth as the cannabis market 
matures in Illinois. The state could generate $253.5 million in FY22, $323.5 million in 
FY23, and $375.5 million in FY24.  

 


