

JB PRITZKER, GOVERNOR · JERRY COSTELLO II, DIRECTOR

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 23, 2023

CONTACT:

Krista Lisser (217) 670-9283

USDA SECRETARY VILSACK ISSUES ADDITIONAL DROUGHT DISASTER DESIGNATIONS IN ILLINOIS

SPRINGFIELD, IL – USDA Secretary Vilsack issued additional counties with disaster designation for drought that occurred during the 2023 Illinois growing season.

UPDATED

Primary counties: McDonough*, McHenry, Mercer

Contiguous counties: Boone, Cook, DeKalb, Fulton*, Hancock*, Henderson, Henry, Kane,

Knox*, Lake, Rock Island, Schuyler* and Warren*

Primary and contiguous counties are eligible for the same assistance.

The following counties previously received drought disaster designation for the 2023 growing season: Adams, Calhoun, Cass, Fulton, Hancock, Jackson, Knox, Logan, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Monroe, Peoria, Perry, Pike, Randolph, Schuyler, St. Clair, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, Woodford and Union

"While we are seeing improvement in drought conditions across the state, we know that crops and livestock have been impacted," **said Jerry Costello II, Illinois Department of Agriculture Director**. "I want to thank Governor JB Pritzker for working with Secretary Vilsack and the USDA to ensure our farmers have the resources they need to come back after a natural disaster."

A Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency to provide emergency loans to producers recovering from natural disasters. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. Those eligible should contact their local USDA Service Center to ask questions or file a Notice of Loss.

*County also declared under a previous drought designation