Board Members

There are seven members on the Board of the Illinois Capital Development Board. The Board meets monthly in Springfield, Chicago or other locations throughout the state to set policy for the agency, approve the awarding of contracts to professional design firms and consider major changes to construction contracts. The Board also is responsible for selecting an Executive Director who oversees approximately 130 employees in the daily operation and management of CDB.

The board members, who serve four-year terms, are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Illinois State Senate. No more than four of the members may be from the same political party. The board members receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses.

Eileen Rhodes – Chair

Governor JB Pritzker appointed Eileen Rhodes as Chairwoman to the Capital Development Board in April 2019. Since 1998, Rhodes has served as president of East Lake Management Group, Chicago's largest African American property management and development firm serving the city's underserved communities. Managing the 600-plus person company, she is responsible for overseeing all aspects of property management of 12,000 units of housing, including marketing, leasing, budgeting, staffing, repairs and regulatory compliance. Prior, she spent three years at the Chicago Housing Authority as a HOPE VI Program Manager and four years as the director of development of the Chicago Dwellings Association. She also serves as board president of the Bodhi Spiritual Center and board member of Personal PAC and Sacred Keepers Sustainability Lab. She received her Master of Arts from the Erikson Institute of Early Childhood Development and Bachelor of Science from Georgetown University.

Glyn Ramage – Board Member

Governor JB Pritzker re-appointed Glyn Ramage to the Capital Development Board in April 2019.  Ramage has served on the board since 2002 and was appointed acting chairman of the CDB between February and April of 2004. Mr. Ramage is a Millstadt resident and has served as the business manager for the Twelve Counties Southwestern Illinois Laborers District Council since 2000. He is a 42-year member of the Laborers' Local No. 100 in East St. Louis and has served as business manager of the Local since 1993. Ramage serves as chairman of the Foundation for Fair Contracting of Southwestern Illinois, Inc. and is a director of the Labor Management Work Preservation & Construction Industry Promotional Trust of Southwestern Illinois. 

Pamela McDonough – Board Member

Governor JB Pritzker re-appointed Pam McDonough to the Capital Development Board in April 2019.  McDonough was first named to the CDB in November 2015.  McDonough brings more than 30 years of experience in both the public and private sectors. She currently serves as president of the DeAngelo McDonough Construction Management Company, where she's worked since 2003. She also serves as president of McDonough Enterprises, Ltd., a business development company that performs technical assistance and association management for non-profits. Prior, McDonough served as the first woman director of the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs. Under her leadership, Illinois ranked first in the nation for economic development in 2001 and 2002. She also served in many other state government leadership roles including serving as Deputy Director of the Capital Development Board from 1992 to 1995. McDonough received her Master's in Public Administration from Sangamon State University and her bachelor's degree from Northeastern Illinois University.

Martesha Brown – Board Member

Governor JB Pritzker appointed Martesha Brown to the Capital Development Board in April 2019. Brown currently serves as the director of advancement of the Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau where she manages fundraising, advocacy and public affairs. From late 2016 to early 2019, she worked in the banking industry, as regional community development relationship manager of Midland States Bank and community outreach officer of Alpine Bank. Previously, she spent four years at the Rockford Park District as customer service/food & beverage manager and operations manager of ice facilities. Brown served on the boards of the Harkins Community Memorial Fund, Stateline Youth for Christ and Keeping Families and Communities Together. The Rockford resident received her Master of Business Administration from Rockford University and her Bachelor of Arts from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale.

David Arenas – Board Member

Governor JB Pritzker appointed David Arenas to the Capital Development Board in April 2019.  Arenas serves as president of his namesake financial and leadership capital advisory firm which provides comprehensive strategic solutions to organizations seeking to grow, improve and transform financial, operational and leadership management performance. He founded David Arenas and Associates after decades leading global, private and high-growth companies on strategic, operations-turnaround, financial and leadership capital initiatives. He previously served in various leadership roles at N.B. Handy, Reilley Partners, Spencer Stuart, Blue Beacon Capital, Societe Generale, JP Morgan and Montoya and Sons Construction. He received his Master of Business Administration and Master of Engineering Management from Northwestern University and his Bachelor of Science in civil engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Beverly Potts – Board Member

Governor JB Pritzker appointed Beverly Potts to the Capital Development Board in August 2019. Potts is a third-generation licensed plumber who began her career as an apprentice and then working for her father’s family business. Potts has served as Executive Director of both the Illinois and Bloomington-Normal Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractors Association for 22 years.