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AUTHORITY:  Implementing and authorized by the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10], the Children's Product Safety Act [430 ILCS 125], Section 3 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/3], Sections 1 and 2 of the Facilities Requiring Smoke Detectors Act [425 ILCS 10/1 and 2], and Section 5 of the Missing Children Records Act [325 ILCS 50/5].

SOURCE:  Adopted and codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 7855, effective July 1, 1983; amended at 8 Ill. Reg. 24951, effective January 1, 1985; amended at 9 Ill. Reg. 2454, effective March 1, 1985; emergency amendment at 15 Ill. Reg. 15088, effective October 8, 1991, for a maximum of 150 days; modified at 16 Ill. Reg. 2269; amended at 16 Ill. Reg. 7602, effective April 30, 1992; amended at 18 Ill. Reg. 5531, effective April 1, 1994; amended at 19 Ill. Reg. 2765, effective February 23, 1995; amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 4524, effective April 1, 1997; emergency amendment at 24 Ill. Reg. 4207, effective March 1, 2000, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency expired July 28, 2000; amended at 24 Ill. Reg. 17047, effective November 1, 2000; amended at 25 Ill. Reg. 5714, effective April 1, 2001; emergency amendment at 26 Ill. Reg. 13694, effective August 30, 2002, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency expired on January 26, 2003; amended at 27 Ill. Reg. 19180, effective December 15, 2003; amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 18280, effective November 13, 2006; amended at 32 Ill. Reg. 9137, effective June 20, 2008; amended at 34 Ill. Reg. 18358, effective December 15, 2010; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 4103, effective March 5, 2012; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 13057, effective August 15, 2012; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 13388, effective August 15, 2012; amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19127, effective November 30, 2013; amended at 40 Ill. Reg. 10769, effective July 29, 2016; emergency amendment at 42 Ill. Reg. 8519, effective May 9, 2018, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency expired October 5, 2018; amended at 43 Ill. Reg. 187, effective January 1, 2019; emergency amendment at 44 Ill. Reg. 10161, effective May 29, 2020, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency amendment to emergency rule at 44 Ill. Reg. ________, effective June 12, 2020, for the remainder of 150 days; amended at 44 Ill. Reg. ________, effective __________.
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[bookmark: _Hlk42623885][bookmark: _Hlk41368935]Pursuant to the Restore Illinois Plan, day care homes may resume child care services beginning on May 29, 2020, subject to the requirements of this Part and the guidance issued by the Department of Children and Family Services (Department) entitled “Restore Illinois Licensed Day Care Guidance” and posted to the Department website at: https://www2.illinois.gov/dcfs/Pages/default.aspx#tabitem1. This guidance includes but is not limited to information regarding program planning, access to child care facilities, daily health screenings, cleaning, sanitization, and personal hygiene and will be updated as public health guidance from the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) and the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) evolves. 

During Phases III and IV of Restore Illinois:

a)	Children must remain with the same group each day while in care.

b)	Required Ratios and Maximum Group Sizes.  In order to provide the level of supervision necessary to adhere to the health and safety requirements established by the Illinois Department of Public Health in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the following staff-to-child ratios must be maintained at all times during the program day.

Staff to Child Ratio		Maximum Group Size (Children)
Mixed Age Group	1 Caregiver alone		8 children  

Mixed Age Group	1 Caregiver and 1 Assistant	8 children plus 2 school age children
                                                                                    =10 children 

These mixed groups include the licensed caregiver’s own children under the age of 12. The additional 2 children must be school age children who are enrolled full time in school. 

This Section describes the process for day care home operations during the federal, State or local government-declared public health emergency based on the COVID-19 outbreak.  Day care homes reopening under Phase III and IV of the Restore Illinois plan must comply with the following additional measures in accordance with Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) guidance.

a)	Section 406.4  (Application for License) and, additionally: 

1)	Day care homes must submit to their local licensing office and maintain on file a detailed preventative COVID-19 Action Plan. The plan shall follow CDC guidelines, which include, but are not limited to the following.
A)	Exclusion policies for employees and children shall address serious illnesses, contagious diseases, and reportable diseases. These polices shall be in conformance with regulations and recommendations of IDPH's Division of Communicable Disease Control and shall be in accordance with Section 406.14(d). 

B)	Notification to all parents and guardians shall be in accordance with IDPH recommendations when any communicable disease or condition has been introduced into the day care home.

C)	Post signs outside any entrance prohibiting entry for anyone with symptoms of illness, including respiratory infection.

D)	Temperature of providers, children, parents, guardians, and any person authorized to pick up and drop off children shall be taken upon arrival each day. Individuals with a temperature of 100.4º F, or higher shall be excluded.

E)	Licensee shall supply personal protective equipment (PPE) for employees and children, including face masks, gloves, etc.

F)	Household members and employees shall wear face masks or face shields, while on site.

2)	The licensee shall submit to the Department a PPE Plan. The plan shall detail where PPE will be stored, how it is inventoried, and how employees are informed 
and trained about the availability, location, and procedures for reporting refilling needs.

b)	Section 406.8 (General Requirements for Day Care Homes) 

1)	The licensee shall post CDC handwashing guidelines and COVID-19 precautions in visible locations throughout the home where child care is provided, including hand washing areas accessible to employees, enrolled children, their parents, guardians, or authorized persons.

2)	The licensee shall post signs throughout the home where child care is provided, including where children are dropped off and picked up, describing ways to prevent the spread of germs.

3)	All equipment shall be cleaned and disinfected daily with a germicidal solution approved by the CDC.

4)	Routine cleaning and disinfecting shall be increased to hourly, during hours of operation, for frequently touched items, including doorknobs, toys, phones, keyboards, mice and other items identified as frequently handled objects.

5)	Licensee', employees', and household members' temperatures must be taken with non-contact thermometers and logged daily, reflecting, at a minimum, the date, time, name and temperature reading. Individuals with a temperature of 100.4º F or higher shall be excluded from day care home;

6)	Face masks or face shields are required for licensee, employees, and household members during hours of operation and when within 6 feet of others.

7)	Handshaking/physical contact is not permitted between providers, parents and authorized persons at the day care home.

c)	Section 406.9 (Characteristics and Qualifications of the Day Care Family)

1)	Licensee, employees and all members of the household shall provide medical evidence, as required by Section 406.24(i), that they are free of reportable communicable diseases.  In the case of providers, evidence must also show they are free of physical or mental conditions that could interfere with child care responsibilities.  Licensees and employees are not required to be tested for COVID-19 to reopen.

2)	Licensees and employees holding first aid and CPR certification that has expired or will expire during COVID-19 response closures may utilize 
online certification extension programs through State of Illinois approved training sources to renew their certifications.

d)	Section 406.12  (Admission and Discharge Procedures)

1)	Upon arrival for admission and discharge, parents, guardians, and authorized persons must wear a face mask.

2)	Written notification shall be provided to parents and guardians within 24 hours after any confirmed COVID-19 exposure.

e)	Section 406.13  (Number and Ages of Children Served)
All provisions of Section 406.13 (age groupings) shall be in compliance with this Section limiting the maximum group size to no more than 8 children to be served in a day care home or 10 children with an assistant present.

f)	Section 406.14  (Health, Medical Care and Safety)

1)	The licensee shall conduct and record daily temperature checks for each child, upon arrival, to monitor for signs/symptoms of COVID-19. Individuals with a temperature of 100.4º F or higher shall be excluded.

2)	The licensee shall develop a communication plan with employees, parents and guardians in the event a COVID-19 case occurs with an employee or child.

3)	The licensee shall ensure employees clean their hands according to CDC guidelines, including before and after contact with household members, and after contact with contaminated surfaces or equipment.

4)	No stuffed animals shall be used or made available to children in a day care home during a communicable disease related public health crisis.

5)	All children napping or sleeping shall be separated by at least 6 feet or separated by a barrier.

g)	Section 406.16  (Activity Requirements)
Children ages 2 and older shall wear face masks, when tolerable, while on site; except during napping and eating.

h)	Section 406.22  (Children Under 30 Months of Age)

1)	Each child under 15 months of age shall have his or her own crib or sleeping arrangements that are maintained at least 6 feet apart or separated by a barrier. 

2)	Sheets and bedding shall be changed when soiled.

3)	All sheets shall be cleaned and laundered daily.

i)	Section 406.23  (Night Care)

1)	Children shall not sleep with masks while napping.

2)	Each child admitted for night care shall have separate sleeping arrangements, not to be interchanged, that are maintained at least 6 feet apart or separated by a barrier.

3)	Bedding is to be changed when soiled.

4)	All sheets shall be cleaned and laundered daily.

5)	Day care homes that operate day and night must close for an hour, between the end of day care and the start of night care, for cleaning and disinfecting of all surfaces and equipment before the arrival of the next group of children.

j)	Section 406.24  (Records and Reports)

1)	The licensee shall notify the local licensing office immediately by telephone and in writing upon any confirmed infection or exposure to COVID-19'

2)	The licensee shall promptly report any known or suspected case or carrier of communicable disease to the local licensing office and to local health authorities and shall comply with IDPH's rules for the Control of Communicable Diseases (77 Ill. Adm. Code 690).													
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