Join us on You TubeJoin us on FacebookJoin us on TwitterJoin us on InstagramJoin us on LinkedIn





Education Resources for Youth in Care

The Department of Children and Family Services is committed to helping youth in care do well in school, stay in school and find the best schools available for their emerging skills. From early childhood through college-level training, the attention of caseworkers, caregivers and other staff to the educational programs of children in care is critical. The DCFS Office of Education and Transition Services is available to help every step of the way.

For general education-related questions regarding a youth in care, you may send an email to: DCFS.EducationAssistance@illinois.gov.

Education assistance for youth in care
Education advisors under the Northern Illinois University (NIU) Education Access Project are accepting referrals for youth in care who have issues/concerns in the following educational areas:

  • Special education
  • Chronic absenteeism, 10% or more days in a school quarter
  • Expulsion
  • Psychiatric hospitalizations for a month or more
  • Step-downs
  • Academics - 3 or more D’s and/or F’s
  • BID meetings (through 12/31/2020)
  • Enrollment (through 12/31/2020)

When referring a case to an education advisor, please complete the NIU Education Access Project Referral Form for Education Assistance (CFS 407-6). The Referral Form should be sent to the appropriate education advisor for the region the youth resides in.

Cook North – Chicago and Suburbs
Donnis Briscoe
donnis.briscoe@illinois.gov

Cook Central – Chicago and Suburbs
Clinton Rosebourgh
clinton.rosebourgh@illinois.gov

Cook South – Chicago and Suburbs
Arlecia Brown
arlecia.brown@illinois.gov

Cook South – Suburbs and Northern Region Aurora
Diane Fitzhugh
diane.fitzhugh@illinois.gov

Northern – Rockford and Aurora Sub-regions
Aundrea Nabors
aundrea.nabors@illinois.gov

Central – Champaign Sub-region
Ann Wells
ann.s.wells@illinois.gov

Central – Peoria and Springfield Sub-regions
Yasmina Sefiane
yasmina.sefiane@illinois.gov

Southern – East St. Louis and Marion Sub-regions
Regina Parnell
regina.parnell@illinois.gov

Please forward all other educational issues to: DCFS.EducationAssistance@illinois.gov. An Office of Education and Transition Services (OETS) education specialist will follow up.