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Introduction
The purpose of this booklet is to provide information concerning the 
Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), the Child Abuse 
Hotline and the child abuse and neglect investigation process. DCFS is 
mandated by Illinois law to maintain a 24 hour hotline to receive reports 
from the public and mandated professionals concerning alleged incidents 
of child abuse and neglect involving Illinois children. Reports taken at the 
hotline are forwarded to a department field office nearest the alleged child’s 
home for investigation.  

The department’s focus during the course of all child abuse and neglect 
investigations is the safety of the child victims of the alleged child abuse or 
neglect. Child abuse and neglect investigations are initiated within 24-hours 
after the report is taken at the hotline by initiating contact with the alleged 
child victims or observation of the child’s environment if the allegation is 
one of inadequate shelter or environmental neglect.  

When a child is believed to be at immediate danger of harm, the investigation 
will be initiated without delay. DCFS has up to 60 days to complete an 
investigation and make a final determination.  However, 30-day extensions 
can be granted for good cause. The department notifies the alleged 
perpetrator and the child’s caretakers in writing of the department’s final 
finding within 10 days after the final determination is entered into the State 
Central Register.  If the allegation is indicated, the notification also provides 

the perpetrator with instructions 
on how to request an appeal and 
receive an administrative hearing 
before an impartial Administrative 
Law Judge. The DCFS director will 
issue a final administrative decision 
within 90 days of the receipt of 
a timely and sufficient request 
for an appeal, unless extended by 
an action of the person filing the 
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appeal or a stay pending a final judicial 
determination of a criminal or juvenile 
court proceeding based upon the same 
set of facts. 

These topics are discussed in greater 
detai l  throughout this booklet.  
Information concerning child abuse 
and neglect  invest igat ions and 
administrative appeals can be accessed 
through the department’s website, 
www.DCFS.illinois.gov. 

Overview of Child Abuse and Neglect 
Investigations 

What is the Child Abuse Hotline?
Child welfare professionals staff the department’s child abuse hotline 24 
hours per day, seven days per week, 365 days per year to receive and assess 
reported information of suspected child abuse and neglect. Information 
meeting the criteria for a report of abuse or neglect it taken and forwarded 
to the appropriate department field office for investigation. The toll-free 
number for the hotline is 1-800-25ABUSE (252-2873).  

Who can call the Child Abuse Hotline?
Anyone can make a report to the DCFS child abuse hotline.  However, certain 
professionals, such as doctors, nurses, teachers, childcare center staff and 
social workers are mandated reporters.  Mandated reporters are required to 
call the child abuse hotline and make a report if they have reason to believe 
that a child known to them in their professional capacity may be abused or 
neglected.  Mandated reporters may suffer severe penalties, such as the loss 
of a professional license or criminal charges, if they fail to report suspected 
child abuse or neglect.  
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What happens during the investigation?
After the child welfare professional at the hotline determines there is enough 
information to take a report, the case is assigned to a trained investigative 
specialist. The investigative specialist is required by law to initiate the report 

by seeing the alleged child victims 
within 24 hours from the time the 
report is received. If the allegation is one 
of inadequate shelter or environmental 
neglect, the investigative specialist 
will initiate the report by viewing the 
child’s living environment. During 
this initial contact and throughout 
the investigation, the investigative 
specialist’s primary concern is the 
immediate safety of the alleged child 
victims. If necessary, the investigative 
specialist will develop a safety plan with 
the family to maintain the safety of the 

children during the course of the child abuse and neglect investigation

The investigative specialist will interview the alleged child victims and other 
children in the household, alleged perpetrators, parents, caretakers, other 
members of the household, extended family members and various other 
professionals, depending on the specific allegation of abuse or neglect. If 
you or members of your family are involved in an investigation, you should 
provide full and complete information to the investigative specialist who 
will ask you and your family members questions about the alleged incident 
and the home environment. You and your family members should provide 
the investigative specialist with the names and contact information of any 
witnesses, neighbors, friends, family members, relatives or professionals 
who has first hand knowledge of the alleged incident and who you wish the 
investigative specialist to contact during the investigation. 

State law requires that the investigative specialist notify the police and the 
local State’s Attorney of all serious allegations of child abuse 
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and neglect, such as those that allege serious physical injury or sexual abuse to 
a child. The police and  the department may conduct a joint investigation, or 
the police may conduct their own investigation.  The investigative specialist 
may also need to contact the police if individuals refuse to cooperate with 
the investigation.  

The investigative specialist is required to gather all available information 
during the course of the investigation. This includes information tending 
to show that a person is responsible for committing child abuse and/or 
neglect as well as information tending to show that person is not responsible 
for committing child abuse and/or neglect. Once all of the available 
information has been gathered, the investigative specialist, in conjunction 
with a supervisor, will make a final finding in the case. There are two final 
finding decisions that can result from an investigation. A report can be 
“unfounded” or “indicated.” When a report is unfounded, it means that 
the investigative specialist did not find credible evidence that a child was 
abused or neglect. When a report is indicated, it means that the investigative 
specialist found credible evidence that a child was abused or neglected. 
“Credible evidence” means that the available facts when viewed in light of 
surrounding circumstances would cause a reasonable person to believe that 
a child was abused or neglected.

How long does an investigation last?
Under state law, the department has 60 days to complete a child abuse 
and neglect investigation.   Most child abuse and neglect investigations 
are completed within 30 days. The 
department may seek an extension of 
the 60 day requirement for good cause.  
Examples of good cause include a 
pending police investigation or obtaining 
reports from medical professionals.  
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How do I find out the results 
of the investigation?
You will be notified in writing by the 
department of the final finding of the 
department’s investigation and the 
investigative specialist will contact you in 
person to advise you of the results of the 
investigation and the reason for the final 
finding. It is important that you keep the 
investigative specialist informed of your 

current home address and other personal contact information so that the 
investigative specialist can make sure that the most up to date information 
is contained in the investigation file. 

The final findings of child abuse and neglect investigations are maintained 
on the department’s State Central Register. The State Central Register is a 
confidential list of persons who have been found to be indicated perpetrators 
of child abuse and/or neglect.  Information maintained on the department’s 
State Central Register is confidential and not open to the general public. 
However, state law requires that various employers such as day care centers, 
some schools and other facilities where people work directly with children, 
conduct a background check on potential employees or volunteers to 
determine if the person has been indicated for child abuse and/or neglect 
as part of the employment process.  

If the investigation is unfounded, the Department’s State Central Register 
will maintain all unfounded reports for a minimum of 5 years following the 
date of the final finding. After the designated time period, the record of the 
investigation will be removed from the State Central Register. A person who 
has been the subject of an unfounded report may request in writing that the 
department retain a record of the investigation for harassment purposes. 

If the investigation is indicated, the report will be maintained on the 
department’s State Central Register for a period of time from five years to 
50 years, depending on the specific allegation that is indicated. 



	 • 7 •

What can I do if I have been indicated for child abuse 
or neglect?
Persons who have been indicated for child abuse and/or neglect have certain 
rights. These rights include:
•	 The right to receive a copy of the investigative file, absent certain information 

that the department is prohibited from releasing by law
•	� The right to request an administrative appeal hearing of the indicated 

finding within 60 days after you receive notice of the final finding, except 
if you are also involved in a Juvenile Court or Criminal Court action 
concerning the circumstances that gave rise to the indicated report, you 
should wait to  request your appeal until and within 60 days  after the 
conclusion of any criminal court action in the circuit court or after adju-
dication in any juvenile court action.

•	� The right to a hearing at which the indicated perpetrator and the depart-
ment can present testimony and other evidence before a neutral Ad-
ministrative Law Judge who make a recommended finding to the DCFS 
Director.

•	 The right to see judicial review of the director’s final administrative decision 
after an administrative appeal hearing

Can DCFS remove my children from my care during an 
investigation?
The department’s main focus during the investigative process is to assure 
the safety and protection of children. The department attempts to assure 
the safety of children in a variety of ways during the investigation. If the 
investigative specialist determines that children are unsafe but may be 
maintained in their home with a safety plan, the investigation specialist will 
explain the reason for the safety plan and develop 
a safety plan with the family that can keep children 
safe during the investigation. 
State law permits an investigative specialist to take 
temporary protective custody of a child without 
the consent of the person responsible for the 
child’s welfare only if there is reason to believe 
that the child is in immediate danger and there is 
not time to file a petition in court.  Before a child 
is taken into protective custody, the investigative 
specialist will consider whether there are 
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other means available, such as a safety 
plan or assistance in locating and 
securing housing, which could avoid 
the need for the child to be removed 
from the home. A hearing before a 
judge will be held within 48 hours, 
excluding weekends and holidays, of 
a child being taken into protective 
custody.

What is a safety plan?  
During the course of a child abuse and neglect investigation, the department 
is mandated by law to assess the safety of any alleged child victim and 
other potential victims and to take appropriate steps to insure the safety of 
those children. Department staff will work with the children’s caretakers 
and other family members to develop strategies to maintain the safety of 
children during the course of an investigation. One method by which the 
department attempts to insure the safety of children is to develop a safety 
plan with the children’s caretakers and other family members. A safety plan 
is a temporary, short-term plan designed to control serious and immediate 
threats to children’s safety. Safety plans can take a variety of forms and are 
developed with the input and voluntary consent of the children’s caretakers 
and other family members. During the course of the child abuse and neglect 
investigation, the children’s safety will continually be reassessed as will the 
continued need for the safety plan.  

After the investigative specialist has completed a safety assessment on the 
alleged child victim and any other potential victims, they will discuss the 
need for any safety interventions with the children’s caretakers and/or family 
members. The investigation specialist will provide the children’s caretakers 
with a copy of the completed safety assessment and will also explain the 
reasons they believe the safety plan is necessary. The investigative specialist 
will also discuss the need for safety interventions with the children’s 
caretakers and other family members. 
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Safety plans can take a variety of forms and the family’s input is essential in 
developing a plan. Safety plans can include asking a caretaker and/or children 
to live in another location during the course of an investigation, asking a 
caretaker and/or children to have supervised contact with children or asking 
another family member to move into the home during the investigation to 
supervise contact with the children. The specific requirements of each safety 
plan will depend on the individual circumstances of the investigation and the 
specific needs and circumstances of the family situation. The investigative 
specialist will provide the family with a written copy of the safety plan, and 
monitor and reassess the safety issues on a weekly basis. 

What will happen if my child is removed from my care? 
Whenever a child is taken into temporary protective custody, the investigative 
specialist is required to notify the child’s parents of the reasons for the child’s 
removal from their home. Within 48 hours of the child being taken into 
temporary protective custody, a shelter care hearing or temporary custody 
hearing is held in juvenile court.  The purpose of the hearing is for a judge 
to determine whether the child is in need of protection. Parents will be 
provided with written notification of the date and time of the scheduled 
court hearing and should make every attempt to attend the court hearing. 
The judge will listen to the testimony at the hearing and make a decision 
whether to return the child to his or her parents or to order the department 
to serve as the child’s temporary custodian. The department will attempt to 
provide services to the child and the child’s parents to address the reasons 
that the case was brought into court and any other family issues.
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What happens if the court does not return my children 
to my care at the first hearing?
In the event that the judge orders the department to serve as the children’s 
guardian, the department will assign the family a caseworker who will 
attempt to address the issues that brought the family to the department’s and 
the court’s attention as well as any other family issues. The caseworker will 
work with the family to provide services to address the family’s needs and 
the court will schedule court hearings to hear about the family’s progress. 
Further information regarding the court process will be provided in the event 
that a child is removed from their parents and/or caretaker’s physical custody.

Can I find out who called in the report to the hotline? 
By law, DCFS cannot release the name of the person who made the report to 
the hotline or the names of other persons who cooperated in the investigation. 
Limited exceptions are described in the department’s administrative rules, 
which are contained on the DCFS website.
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NOTICE
Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the 
department commits the offense of disorderly conduct under 
subsection (a)(7) of Section 26-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012. 
A violation of this subsection is a Class 4 felony.” (Source: P.A. 
97-189, eff. 7-22-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)
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