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Section 336.10 Purpose

The purpose of these rules is to explain the review and administrative hearing process the
Department guarantees to persons requesting to amend/expunge identifying information from or
remove the record of a child abuse or neglect report from the State Central Register.

Section 336.20 Definitions

"Abused child" means a child whose parent or immediate family member, or any
person responsible for the child's welfare, or any individual residing in the same
home as the child, or a paramour of the child’s parent:

inflicts, causes to be inflicted, or allows to be inflicted upon such child
physical or mental injury, by other than accidental means, which causes
death, disfigurement, impairment of physical or emotional health, or loss
or impairment of any bodily function;

creates a substantial risk of physical or mental injury to such child by
other than accidental means which would be likely to cause death,
disfigurement, impairment of physical or emotional health, or loss or
impairment of any bodily function;

commits or allows to be committed any sex offense against such child, as
such sex offenses are defined in the Criminal Code of 2012 [720 ILCS 5]
or in the Wrongs to Children Act [720 ILCS 150], and extending those
definitions of sex offenses to include children under 18 years of age;

commits or allows to be committed an act or acts of torture upon such
child;

inflicts excessive corporal punishment or, in the case of a person working
for an agency who is prohibited from using corporal punishment, inflicts
corporal punishment upon a child or adult resident with whom the person
is working in his or her professional capacity;

commits or allows to be committed the offense of female genital
mutilation, as defined in Section 12-34 of the Criminal Code of 2012,
against the child.

causes to be sold, transferred, distributed or given to such child under 18
years of age a controlled substance as defined in Section 102 of the
Illinois Controlled Substances Act [720 ILCS 570] or in violation of the
Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act [720 ILCS
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646], except for controlled substances that are prescribed in accordance
with Article 111 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act and are dispensed
to such child in a manner that substantially complies with the
prescription; or

commits or allows to be committed the offense of involuntary servitude,
involuntary sexual servitude of a minor, or trafficking in persons as
defined in Section 10-9 of the Criminal Code of 2012 against the child.

A child shall not be considered abused for the sole reason that the child has
been relinquished in accordance with the Abandoned Newborn Infant
Protection Act. [325 ILCS 5/3]

"Administrative hearing"”, in the context of this Part, means a formal review of a
final finding determination made by the Division of Child Protection at the
conclusion of a child abuse and neglect investigation.

"Administrative Law Judge" or "ALJ" means a licensed attorney who is appointed
by the Director of the Department and is responsible for conducting
administrative hearings, including pre-hearings, and issuing a recommended
decision.

"Adult resident” means any person between 18 and 22 years of age who resides in
any facility licensed by the Department under the Child Care Act of 1969 [225
ILCS 10]. For the purpose of this Part, the definitions of "abused child" and
"neglected child" include adult residents who meet the criteria set forth in those
definitions.

"Agency" means a child care facility licensed under Section 2.05 or Section 2.06
of the Child Care Act of 1969 and includes a transitional living program that
accepts children and adult residents for placement who are in the guardianship of
the Department. [325 ILCS 5/3]

"Amend", as used in this Part, means changing the final finding determination of
an allegation in an indicated report of child abuse or neglect or changing
identifying information of the subjects of an indicated report of child abuse or
neglect.

"Administrative appeal” or "appeal
formal administrative hearing.

means the pre-hearing conference and

"Appellant™ means the person who requests a review or administrative hearing or
in whose behalf a review and administrative hearing is requested.

"Authorized representative™ means a person, including an attorney, authorized in
writing by a party to assist in an administrative appeal. If the party is unable to
reduce the authorization to writing, the Department, on request, shall assist the
party in doing so.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
Rule 336 - (3)



APPEAL OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT INVESTIGATION FINDINGS
January 30, 2018 — P.T. 2018.01

"Blatant disregard” means an incident where the real, significant and imminent
risk of harm would be so obvious to a reasonable parent or caretaker that it is
unlikely that a reasonable parent or caretaker would have exposed the child to
the danger without exercising precautionary measures to protect the child from
harm. With respect to a person working at an agency in his or her professional
capacity with a child or adult resident, "blatant disregard"” includes a failure by
the person to perform job responsibilities intended to protect the child's or adult
resident's health, physical well-being, or welfare, and, when viewed in light of the
surrounding circumstances, evidence exists that would cause a reasonable person
to believe that the child was neglected. With respect to an agency, "blatant
disregard" includes a failure to implement practices that ensure the health,
physical well-being, or welfare of the children and adult residents residing in the
facility. [325 ILCS 5/3]

"Chief Administrative Law Judge" or "Chief ALJ" means the person who is
responsible for the supervision of the Administrative Law Judges and the
coordination of the administrative hearing appeal process.

"Child care worker" means any person who is employed to work directly with
children and any person who is an owner/operator of a child care facility,
regardless of whether the facility is licensed by the Department. "Child care
worker™" also means persons employed as full-time nannies. "Child care worker"
also includes a person currently enrolled in an academic program that leads to a
position as a child care worker; or who has applied for a license required for a
child care worker position. A person will be considered to be a child care worker
under this Part if, at the time of the notice of the investigation, he or she:

has applied for, or will apply within 180 days for, a position as a child care
worker;

is enrolled in, or will commence within 180 days, an academic program
that leads to a position as a child care worker; or

has applied for a license as a child care worker.

A child care worker may be subject to this Part if alleged to be responsible for
child abuse or neglect outside of his or her employment.

For the purposes of this definition, any person who is employed full- or
part-time at or is the owner of any of the following shall be considered a
child care worker:

child care institutions;
child welfare agencies;

day care/night care centers;
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day care/night care homes;

day care/night care group day care homes;
group homes;

hospitals or health care facilities;

schools, including school aides, bus drivers, school teachers and
administrators, but not tenured school teachers or administrators
who have other disciplinary processes available to them; and

before and after school programs, recreational programs and
summer camps.

"Child" means any person under the age of 18 years, unless legally emancipated
by reason of marriage or entry into a branch of the United States armed services.
[325 ILCS 5/31]

"Credible evidence of child abuse or neglect" means that the available facts, when
viewed in light of surrounding circumstances, would cause a reasonable person to
believe that a child was abused or neglected.

"Date of action" means the date on which any Department action becomes
effective.

"Day", for purposes of computation of time, means business day, unless otherwise
specified.

"Department” means the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.

"Department's legal representative” means an attorney who is licensed to practice
law in the State of Illinois and who is responsible for presenting the Department's
case.

"Discovery"”, for purposes of this Part, means the rights of any party to request
and have access to, in advance of the hearing, any materials relevant to the
investigation and indicated finding and a list of witnesses in the possession of any
other party.

"Expedited appeal” means an appeal that may be requested only by a child care
worker who is the subject of a Department determination of indicated child abuse
and/or neglect. Expedited appeals require that the Director issue a final
administrative decision within 35 calendar days after the date of receipt by the
Department's Administrative Hearings Unit of a written request for an expedited
appeal, excluding any continuances at the request of, or with the agreement of, the
appellant.
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"Expunge”, as used in this Part, means removing identifying information
regarding the subjects of an indicated child abuse or neglect report from the State
Central Register.

"Final administrative decision” means the Department's final decision, order or
determination on an appealed issue rendered by the Director in a particular case
that affects the legal rights, duties or privileges of participants, that terminates the
proceedings on the specific appeal before the Department's Administrative
Hearings Unit, and that may be further appealed to the circuit court under the
Illinois Administrative Procedure Act.

"Indicated report” means any report made under the Abused and Neglected Child
Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5] (ANCRA) for which it is determined, after an
investigation, that credible evidence of the alleged abuse or neglect exists [325
ILCS 5/3].

"Member of the clergy" means a clergyman or practitioner of any religious
denomination accredited by the religious body to which he or she belongs.

"Neglected child" means any child:
who is not receiving:

the proper or necessary nourishment or medically indicated
treatment, including food or care not provided solely on the basis
of the present or anticipated mental or physical impairment as
determined by a physician acting alone or in consultation with
other physicians; or

the proper or necessary support or medical or other remedial care
recognized under State law as necessary for a child's well-being;
or

other care necessary for his or her well-being, including adequate
food, clothing and shelter;

who is subjected to an environment which is injurious insofar as:

the child's environment creates a likelihood of harm to the child's
health, physical well-being, or welfare; and

the likely harm to the child is the result of a blatant disregard of
parent, caretaker, or agency responsibilities;

who is abandoned by his or her parents or other person responsible for
the child's welfare without a proper plan of care;
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who has been provided with interim crisis intervention services under
Section 3-5 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 [705 ILCS 405] and whose
parent, guardian or custodian refuses to permit the child to return home
and no other living arrangement agreeable to the parent, guardian or
custodian can be made, and the parent, guardian or custodian has not
made any other appropriate living arrangement for the child; or

who is a newborn infant whose blood, urine or meconium contains any
amount of a controlled substance as defined in Section 102(f) of the
Illinois Controlled Substances Act or a metabolite thereof, with the
exception of a controlled substance or metabolite thereof whose presence
in the newborn infant is the result of medical treatment administered to the
mother or the newborn infant.

A child shall not be considered neglected for the sole reason that:

the child's parent or other person responsible for his or her welfare has
left the child in the care of an adult relative for any period of time;

the child has been relinquished in accordance with the Abandoned
Newborn Infant Protection Act [325 ILCS 2].

A child shall not be considered neglected or abused for the sole reason that:

the child's parent or other person responsible for his or her welfare
depends upon spiritual means through prayer alone for the treatment or
cure of disease or remedial care as provided under Section 4 of ANCRA,;
or

the child is not attending school in accordance with the requirements of
Article 26 of the School Code [105 ILCS 5]. [325 ILCS 5/3]

"Parents" means the child’s legal parents whose rights have not been terminated.

"Parties”" means the Department and those persons who have appealed the final
finding determination made by the Department. No person may join in an appeal
unless that person would have standing to appeal the determination himself or
herself.

"Perpetrator” means a person who, as a result of investigation, has been
determined by the Department to have caused child abuse or neglect. [325 ILCS
5/3]

"Person responsible for the child's welfare™ means:

the child's parent, guardian, foster parent or relative caregiver;
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any person responsible for the child's welfare in a public or private
residential agency or institution;

any person responsible for the child's welfare within a public or private
profit or not-for-profit child care facility; or

any other person responsible for the child's welfare at the time of the
alleged abuse or neglect, including:

any person that is the custodian of a child under 18 years of age
who commits or allows to be committed, against the child, the
offense of involuntary servitude, involuntary sexual servitude of a
minor, or trafficking in persons for forced labor or services (see
Section 10-9(b), (c) and (d) of the Criminal Code of 2012); or

any person who came to know the child through an official
capacity or position of trust, including but not limited to health
care professionals, educational personnel, recreational
supervisors, members of the clergy, and volunteers or support
personnel in any setting where children may be subject to abuse or
neglect. [325 ILCS 5/3]

"Preponderance of the evidence™ means the greater weight of the evidence which
renders a fact more likely than not.

"Regular appeal” means an appeal that may be requested by a perpetrator,
including child care workers, in which the final administrative decision by the
Director is issued within 90 calendar days after the date of receipt by the
Department's Administrative Hearings Unit of a written request for an appeal,
excluding any requests for a continuance by the perpetrator or any continuances
by the agreement of the parties.

"Request for an appeal” means the written request by an appellant for an
administrative hearing to determine whether the record of the report should be
amended, expunged, or removed on the grounds that it is inaccurate or being
maintained in a manner inconsistent with the Abused and Neglected Child
Reporting Act. If the appellant is unable to request an appeal in writing, the
Department or purchase of service agency shall help the appellant put the request
in writing.

"State Central Register” or "SCR" is the record of child abuse and/or neglect
reports maintained by the Department pursuant to ANCRA. The State Central
Register is also referred to as the Department's statewide toll-free child abuse and
neglect hotline.

"Stipulation™ means an agreement by the parties that certain facts are true or can
be introduced into evidence without further proof.
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"Subject of report" means any child or adult resident reported to the central
register of child abuse and neglect established under Section 7.7 of ANCRA as an
alleged victim of child abuse or neglect and the parent or guardian of the alleged
victim or other person responsible for the alleged victim's welfare who is named
in the report or added to the report as an alleged perpetrator of child abuse or
neglect. [325 ILCS 5/3]

"Unfounded report” means any report made under ANCRA for which it is
determined, after an investigation, that no credible evidence of the alleged abuse
or neglect exists. [325 ILCS 5/3]

"Unknown perpetrator” means a person who caused or is alleged to have caused
child abuse or neglect and whose identity or identifying information has not been
determined by the Department.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.30 Written Notification of the Final Finding in Child Abuse and Neglect

a)

Investigations

The State Central Register shall provide a written notification of the final finding
determination of each child abuse and neglect investigation. The written
notification that is sent to persons who are indicated for child abuse or neglect
shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

1) a specific statement that the person has been indicated for child abuse;
2) the name of the perpetrator indicated for child abuse or neglect;
3) the allegations determined to be indicated,;

4) the length of time the indicated finding shall be retained in the State
Central Register; and

5) an explanation of how to request an administrative appeal of the
Department's indicated finding and the address or facsimile number where
the written request for an administrative appeal must be sent. The
explanation shall specify that the request:

A) must be in writing; and

B) must be postmarked within 60 days after the date of the official
notification letter, except when the person indicated for child abuse
or neglect has a case pending in any criminal or juvenile court
concerning the same set of facts as the indicated final finding.
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The written notification of the final finding determination of the child abuse and
neglect investigation shall be provided to the person indicated for child abuse and
neglect within 10 days after the final determination to indicate has been entered
into the State Central Register. The written notification of the final finding
determination of the child abuse and neglect investigation shall be in the primary
language of the person to whom the notice is sent.

When requested, Department staff shall assist persons indicated for child abuse or
neglect in preparing a written request for an administrative appeal. The
Department shall not hinder a person who wishes to appeal an indicated finding
determination of child abuse or neglect.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.40 Notice of the Right to Appeal and Receive an Administrative Hearing

(Repealed)

(Source: Repealed at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.50 Who May Appeal

Any person or agency who has been named as a perpetrator in an indicated or unfounded report
of child abuse or neglect has the right to appeal any of the actions or inactions listed in Section
336.60 of this Part. The appeal may be filed by:

a)
b)

c)

d)

the appellant personally;
the appellant's authorized representative or attorney;

the parent or legal guardian who appeals on behalf of a child who has been named
as a perpetrator in an indicated report; or

an individual legally acting on a person's behalf. If the appeal is filed by an
individual legally acting on a person's behalf, the individual must provide a
certified copy of the court order authorizing the individual to act on behalf of the
appellant.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.60 What May Be Appealed

The following issues may be appealed through an administrative appeal:

a)

an indicated finding of child abuse or neglect, with the exception that there is no
right to an appeal on the ground of the report's inaccuracy if there is a court
finding of child abuse or neglect or a criminal finding of guilt as to the perpetrator
concerning the circumstances that gave rise to the indicated report;
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failure to remove an unfounded report of child abuse or neglect from the State
Central Register involving any of the situations described in this subsection (b).
The criteria in this subsection apply unless the unfounded report is being retained
longer as an intentionally false report at the unfounded perpetrator's request.

1) The death of a child, the sexual abuse of a child, or serious physical injury
to a child after the passage of three years from the date the final finding is
entered into the State Central Register;

2) Any allegation other than death, sexual abuse or serious physical injury of
a child after the passage of 12 months from the date the final finding is
entered into the State Central Register; or

3) Whenever a subsequent report is received concerning a perpetrator of an
existing unfounded report and the unfounded report is retained longer than
12 months after the conclusion of the subsequent report.

failure to remove an unfounded report made by a mandated reporter involving a
report as described in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 431.30(b)(5)(B) (Confidentiality of
Personal Information of Persons Served by the Department of Children and
Family Services) after the passage of 12 months from the date the final finding is
entered into the State Central Register, unless the report is being retained longer
under subsection (b) of this Section or the report is being retained as an
intentionally false report at the unfounded perpetrator's request;

failure to remove an unfounded report made by a mandated reporter involving a
report as described in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 431.30(b)(5)(B) after passage of 60 days
from the date the final finding is entered into the State Central Register, unless the
report is being retained longer under subsection (b) or (c) of this Section or the
report is being retained as an intentionally false report at the unfounded
perpetrator's request;

failure to remove any other unfounded report, not retained for a longer period of
time under any of the preceding subsections, within 30 days from the date the
final finding is entered into the State Central Register, unless the report is being
retained as an intentionally false report at the unfounded perpetrator's request;

failure to expunge or remove information about an indicated report of child abuse
or neglect that the appellant believes is maintained in a manner inconsistent with
ANCRA; and

whether the Department determined retention period assigned to the indicated
report is in accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 431 (Confidentiality of Personal
Information of Persons Served by DCFS).

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)
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Section 336.70 Appearance/Authorization to Represent

a)

b)

d)

During the appeal, parties may represent themselves or may be represented by an
Authorized Representative.

No person shall be allowed to act as an Authorized Representative in any matter
before the Administrative Hearings Unit without first filing a written
authorization with the Administrative Hearings Unit. The authorization shall be
effective only for the particular matter in which it is filed, unless the matter has

been consolidated with other proceedings by order of the Chief Administrative
Law Judge or the assigned Administrative Law Judge.

No particular form is required to file a written authorization for representation.
However, all authorizations filed with the Administrative Hearings Unit shall be
notarized, signed by the appellant and Authorized Representative, and identify:

1) the name, address, and phone number of the party represented;

2) the name, address, and phone number of the authorized representative; and

3) the appeal in which representation is authorized.

An Authorized Representative may exercise the rights of the appellant in the
appeal process. These rights include the right to:

1) review and copy material placed in record during the proceeding;
2) receive Department and Administrative Hearing notices;
3) request and receive discovery materials:

4) speak, or otherwise be heard, on behalf of the appellant in the
administrative hearing process;

5) have an interpreter at the Department’s expense; and

6) take any other actions permitted an appellant during the appeal process.

(Source: Amended at 24 1ll. Reg. 7660, effective June 1, 2000)
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Section 336.80 How to Request an Administrative Appeal Hearing/Sufficiency

After the Department has indicated a report and issued a notice of the final finding determination
and the right to an administrative hearing, the perpetrator named in the notification may appeal
by filing a timely and sufficient written Request for Appeal with the Administrative Hearings
Unit (AHU). The request must be filed in person, mailed, faxed or delivered by a third-party
commercial carrier to the AHU address or fax number within 60 days after the notification sent
by the State Central Register (SCR); however, the 60 days is tolled for those exceptions in
subsection (€). Upon receipt of a timely request for a regular appeal, the Department shall send
the appellant, prior to the scheduled pre-hearing, a copy of the investigative file from which
confidential information has been deleted in accordance with 89 I1ll. Adm. Code 431.

a)

b)

d)

For purposes of determining timeliness, an appeal shall be deemed filed:
1) as of the date of the postmark;

2) as of the date of receipt by the AHU, if the appeal was filed in person at
the AHU office; or

3) the date the appeal was received by electronic facsimile transmission at
the AHU office or the date of electronic filing (email), when available.

When the last day for the filing of an appeal falls upon a day on which the AHU is
not open for business, an appeal shall be deemed timely if filed by the first regular
business day thereafter.

An appeal shall be deemed sufficient if it provides the following information in
legible form:

1) name, address and phone number (if any) of the appellant and the SCR
number; and

2) name, address and phone number of the appellant's representative (if
applicable).

In the event that the Chief Administrative Law Judge finds an appeal to be timely
but not sufficient (see subsection (c)), the appeal and a request for the required
missing information shall be returned to the appellant within 5 days after receipt
by the AHU. If the appellant re-files a sufficient appeal within 5 days from the
postmark of the date that appeal is returned, the appeal shall be considered timely.
The AHU shall not consider an appeal actionable, and no time frames shall begin
to run, until receipt of a sufficient appeal. If the appeal does not have a legible
name or address, the Chief ALJ may dismiss the appeal.
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The 60-day deadline for filing a request to amend the record or remove the record
of the report from the State Central Register shall be tolled until after the
conclusion of any criminal court action in the circuit court or after adjudication
in any juvenile court action concerning the circumstances that give rise to an
indicated report. [325 ILCS 5/7.16]

If the appellant requests an expedited hearing, and the Chief ALJ is unable to
determine if the appellant is a child care worker, the Chief ALJ shall request that
the appellant provide documentation to validate his or her child care worker status
as soon as is practicable, but not later than 5 days after receiving the appellant's
request. Any documentation requested by the Chief ALJ should be provided by
the appellant within 10 days after the request. If no such documentation is
provided, the appeal will be deemed non-expedited and scheduled accordingly. If
the appellant makes a timely submission of the requested documentation, the
Chief ALJ shall make a written ruling on the child care worker's status as
promptly as possible, but no later than 5 days after receiving the appellant's
documentation. A written notification of the Chief ALJ's decision shall be sent to
the appellant. Any time expended for the request, review and determination by
the Chief ALJ as to the appellant's status as a child care worker shall not be
attributed to the Department.

Appellants unable to file a written request for an appeal may request and receive
appropriate assistance from Department field office staff to ensure that a proper
written request for an appeal is made.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.85 Expedited Administrative Appeals for Child Care Workers

a)

b)

Child care workers who are the subject of a Department finding that an allegation
of child abuse and/or neglect is indicated may request from the Department's
Administrative Hearings Unit an expedited appeal. The written request for an
appeal must specifically state that an expedited appeal is being requested. The
Department may request that an appellant requesting an expedited appeal provide
documentation to confirm his or her status as a child care worker. Any time
expended for the request, review and determination by the Chief ALJ as to the
appellant's status as a child care worker shall not be attributed to the Department.

Within seven calendar days after AHU's receipt of the request for an expedited
appeal, the Department will set pre-hearing and hearing dates and send the
appellant and his or her representative a notice by certified mail of the dates,
along with a copy of the investigative file.
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The pre-hearing date will be set within 14 calendar days after receipt of the
request for expedited appeal. The parties should be prepared to have the
Department issue any subpoenas after the conclusion of the pre-hearing
conference.

The hearing date will be set within seven calendar days after the pre-hearing
conference and within 21 calendar days after receipt of the request for expedited
appeal. The Department will set aside two consecutive days for the administrative
hearing.

If the appellant in an expedited appeal requests any extension of time that is in
excess of seven calendar days, the appeal shall automatically be converted from
an expedited appeal to a regular appeal under Section 336.80.

The ALJ will provide the Director with a recommended decision within 7
calendar days after completion of the expedited appeal hearing.

The Director will issue a final administrative decision within seven calendar days
after receipt of the ALJ's recommended decision and the Director's decision will
be sent to the appellant and his or her representative by certified mail within 35
calendar days after the date on which the expedited appeal request was received.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.90 Confidentiality During the Expungement Process

a)

b)

The Department has an affirmative duty to protect the confidentiality of personal
information, in accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 431 (Confidentiality of
Personal Information of Persons Served by the Department of Children and
Family Services) and the Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980 (42
USC 671(a)(8)). Confidentiality shall be preserved throughout the administrative
hearing, the transmittal of the ALJ's recommendation to the Director and the
release of the final administrative decision. All parties shall be advised of the
Department's duty to protect confidentiality during the administrative appeal.

The ALJ has the right to exclude any individual or agency that does not have the
right of access to the information being presented in accordance with the federal
Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980, the Children and Family
Services Act, ANCRA, and any other pertinent Act.

The ALJ has the authority to bifurcate the hearing into separate segments that deal
with issues of other parties in order to preserve confidentiality as mandated under
applicable statutes and rules and to prohibit discussion or introduction of evidence
that is outside of the scope of the issues being presented in that segment.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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Section 336.100 Rights and Responsibilities in Administrative Hearings (Repealed)

(Source: Repealed at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.105 The Administrative Appeal Hearing

The administrative appeal hearing shall consist of a pre-hearing conference and a hearing date
during which testimony is taken and evidence is received. The appellant or the appellant's
authorized representative shall be prepared to participate at all pre-hearing conferences and
hearings. Hearings shall be recorded; however, any party wishing to have the proceedings
recorded by a certified court reporter may do so at the party's own expense.

a) Pre-Hearing Conference
The pre-hearing conference shall be convened by telephone unless the ALJ and
the parties agree that the pre-hearing conference shall be held in person. The ALJ
shall place all telephone calls. The cost of telephone calls will be borne by the
Department. The AHU shall arrange for the appellant to use a telephone at a
Department Field Office if the appellant has previously notified the Department
that he/she does not have access to a telephone.

1) At the pre-hearing conference, the ALJ shall provide the parties with
standard admonishments that shall include a statement of the rights of the
parties and the right to have a timely hearing within the applicable
timeframe, as well as the setting of dates for the administrative appeal
hearing.

2) During the pre-hearing conference, the appellant and the Department
should be prepared to discuss:

A)
B)
C)
D)
E)

F)

potential witnesses;

exhibits that might be offered,;

timeframes for the administrative appeal hearing;
any potential motions that could be filed;

any other issues that would impact the timing and length of the
administrative appeal hearing, such as, but not limited to, whether
any of the witnesses require a special accommodation or a
translator; and

The Department's legal representative and the appellant and his or
her representative have an affirmative duty to determine if there is,
and to report to the ALJ before any hearing is scheduled, any
pending criminal case or juvenile court case concerning the
circumstances that gave rise to the indicated report.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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The ALJ shall address the following issues during the pre-hearing conference:

1)

2)

3)

If the appellant asserts, at the pre-hearing conference, that he or she is a
child care worker who was not afforded an Administrator's Teleconference
during the child abuse and neglect investigation (see 89 Ill. Adm. Code
300 (Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect)), the appellant may request a
review of the investigation. The ALJ may request documentation to
validate the child care worker status of the appellant. The review shall be
conducted jointly by the Division of Child Protection and the Office of
Legal Services and shall determine if the case should be unfounded or if a
hearing date will be set. The review must be conducted within 14 days
from the date of the pre-hearing conference in which the appellant claims
he or she is a child care worker who was not afforded an Administrator's
Teleconference during the child abuse and neglect determination. Any
time expended for the review process will be attributed to the appellant
and not to the Department (see Section 336.220(a)(1) or (2)).

Whether parties have exchanged lists of the names of persons who may
provide testimony during the administrative hearing.

Whether children may testify or be involved in the hearing.

A) Either party requesting that a child be subpoenaed to testify or be
involved in the hearing process must demonstrate at the pre-
hearing conference that:

1) the child's testimony or involvement is essential to a
determination of an issue on appeal;

i) the likelihood of inflicting emotional harm to the particular
child involved can be minimized with conditions and
restrictions and the child's testimony is necessary for the
interests of justice; and

iii) no alternatives, such as stipulations or transcripts from
prior court hearings, exist that may be used as a substitute
for the child's testimony.

B) In determining whether a child will testify, the ALJ must consider,
when available, the opinion of the child's treating clinician
regarding the impact on the child if the child is permitted to testify
or not permitted to testify, and how any negative impact could best
be minimized for the particular child.

1) The ALJ must balance the hardship on the child, taking into
account possible restrictions or modifications described in

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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subsection (c)(3)(B)(ii), against the interests of justice and
the harm to the child if an appeal is improperly denied or an
indicated finding is improperly expunged.

i) If an ALJ allows a child to testify, the ALJ may set any
conditions or restrictions, and may use any techniques
allowed in any juvenile, civil or criminal court (including
but not limited to in camera interviews, video conferences,
questions submitted in writing, exclusion of parties to the
proceeding (including but not limited to the parents), or
change of hearing room or location) that will help minimize
any emotional impact on the child.

Whether:

A) the parties agree to hold the hearing by telephone or video
conference;

B) whether witnesses should be scheduled to testify at specific times;

C) there are any witnesses, such as medical professionals, that should
be permitted to testify telephonically; and

D) whether there are any non-professional witnesses who should be

allowed to testify telephonically.

Whether the parties have or will have exchanged records or documents
prior to the administrative hearing.

Whether the parties can agree upon any facts as true.

Motions Filed by Any Party

A)

B)

C)

Any motions from the appellant or the Department shall be filed
with the ALJ and served upon the AHU and the opposing party
within a reasonable time prior to the hearing.

Any motion that is consistent with administrative practice and
procedure and does not infringe upon the Director's authority may
be heard.

Motions filed shall be filed in accordance with any motion practice
and timelines established by the ALJ responsible for hearing the
case.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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PURPOSE

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to inform the Department’s Administrative Hearing
Unit staff and their Supervisors of new changes to Public Act 100-0880, effective January
1, 2019, in correlation to the administrative appeal hearing process. These changes are
regarding when service of Notices and Orders that do not contain personal/confidential
information can be emailed to an unrepresented appellant, an authorized representative, a
parent or legal guardian of a minor appellant, or an individual legally acting on a person’s
behalf. Policy amendments will also show standards for confirming delivery of
Notices/Orders by email, by securing a “delivery receipt” or a counter email
acknowledgement. If AHU does not receive confirmation of delivery, the Notices and
Orders shall be sent by regular mail. The Department will be proposing amendments to
Rule 336, Appeal of Child Abuse and Neglect Investigation Findings, to reflect the
changes as outlined in this Policy Guide.

This Policy Guide is effective immediately.

PRIMARY USERS

The primary users of this Policy Guide are the Department’s Administrative Hearing Unit
Staff and their Supervisors.

BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY

Department Rule 336 currently has language that allows notices to be sent by
regular/certified mail. Public Act 100-0880 allows for notices to be sent by email.



NEW REQUIREMENTS FOR COMPLIANCE TO NOTICES THAT CAN BE

EMAILED

Section 336.105 The Administrative Appeal Hearing

b) The ALJ shall address the following issues during the pre-hearing conference:

11) Service of Notices and Orders by email:

A)

B)

C)

D)

E)

Any attorney representing a party to the hearing is required to
provide to the Administrative Law Judge one or more email
addresses at which the attorney shall accept service of Notices and
Orders in connection with the hearing. A party represented by an
attorney may provide the email address of the attorney. It is the
responsibility of the attorney to notify the Administrative Law Judge
of any changes in email addresses.

The Administrative Law Judge may request, but not require, the
following persons to consent to accept service by email of Notices
and Orders in connection with the hearing, by designating an email
address at which they will accept service:

i (i) an unrepresented appellant;

ii (ii) an Authorized Representative who is not an attorney;
ii (iii) a parent or legal guardian of a minor appellant; or
v (iv) an individual legally acting on a person's behalf.

When an unrepresented appellant, Authorized Representative who
is not an attorney, parent or legal guardian of a minor appellant or
individual legally acting on a person’s behalf consents to accept
service by email, it is the responsibility of the unrepresented
appellant such person to notify the Administrative Law Judge of any
change in email addresses.

Any person or entity who submits an email address shall also be
given the option to designate no more than two secondary email
addresses at which the person or entity consents to accept service,
and if such secondary email addresses are provided, the Department
must serve the Notices and Orders to both the designated primary
and secondary email addresses. [5 ILCS 100/10-75]

A Notice or Order may not be sent by email if it contains:

Q) a Social Security or individual taxpayer identification
number, driver’s license number, or any information that
could reasonably be deemed personal, proprietary,
confidential,



VI.

QUESTIONS

F)

G)

H)

(i)

ii)

any information about or concerning a minor, including but
not limited to the minor’s name, date of birth or address; or

The name of a minor appellant. In notices under this section,
minor appellants may be identified by initials only.

For the purpose of service in this section, the following information
is not considered personal or confidential:

(i)

(i)

(iii)

(iv)
(v)

the name of the Administrative Law Judge, appellant,
attorney or authorized representative;

the allegations that were indicated:;

the investigation notice id, the State Central Register (SCR),
docket (DKT) and (AHU) number;

rulings on motions; and
other information described under Section 336.120(c),

including but not limited to investigation identification
numbers, date, time and location of a pre-hearing or hearing.

Service of email is deemed complete on the day of transmission.

The AHU shall confirm delivery by email by securing a “delivery

receipt” for the primary or secondary email addresses (if applicable)
A counter email acknowledgement from the appellant or the

appellant’s representative shall also serve as confirmation of
delivery. If AHU does not receive confirmation of delivery, the
notices and orders shall be sent by regular mail.

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at DCFS.Policy. Non-Outlook users may e-mail
questions to DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov.

FILING INSTRUCTIONS

File this Policy Guide immediately following page (18) of Part 336, Appeal of Child
Abuse and Neglect Investigation Findings.
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D) If any party believes that a finding in a juvenile court proceeding is
dispositive to an issue on a pending administrative appeal, he or
she may file a motion, with supporting documentation, requesting
the appropriate relief.

8) The need of either party for an interpreter in his/her preferred language or
for communication assistance.

9) Whether any juvenile or criminal cases related to the indicated finding on
appeal are pending in circuit court. If the ALJ discovers during the pre-
hearing conference that there is a pending juvenile or criminal case arising
from the same set of facts as the indicated finding, the appeal will be
dismissal as premature. The perpetrator shall be informed orally that,
within 60 days after the conclusion of any criminal court action in the
circuit court, or after adjudication in any juvenile court action concerning
the circumstances that give rise to an indicated report, he or she may again
file a request, except that there shall be no such right to a hearing on the
ground of the report's inaccuracy if there has been a court finding of child
abuse or neglect or a criminal finding of guilt as to the perpetrator. The
dismissal order shall also state that the perpetrator may file an
administrative appeal within 60 days after the conclusion of the criminal
court action in circuit court or after adjudication in any juvenile court
action, except that there shall be no right to an administrative appeal if
there has been a court finding of child abuse or neglect or a criminal
finding of guilt as to the perpetrator.

10) Upon notification from the Department's legal representative or the
perpetrator that a criminal or juvenile court action is pending, based on the
same facts or circumstances as the administrative expungement appeal, the
appeal will be dismissed as premature. The dismissal order shall state that
the perpetrator may file an administrative appeal within 60 days after the
conclusion of the criminal court action in circuit court or after adjudication
in any juvenile court action, except that there shall be no right to an
administrative appeal if there has been a court finding of child abuse or
neglect or a criminal finding of guilt as to the perpetrator.

(Source: Added at 41 Ill. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)
Section 336.110 The Administrative Hearing and Pre-Hearing Conference (Repealed)

(Source: Repealed at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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Section 336.115 Rights and Responsibilities During the Administrative Appeal

a)

b)

Rights of the Minor

1)

2)

3)

If the minor, who is the victim named in the report sought to be amended
or removed from the State Central Register, is the subject of a pending
action under Article Il of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or the report
was made while a guardian ad litem (GAL) and/or attorney was appointed
for the minor under Section 2-17 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, then
the minor shall, through the minor's attorney or GAL appointed under
Section 2-17 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, have the right to
participate and be heard in such hearing. [325 ILCS 5/7.16]

The minor, through the minor's attorney and/or GAL, has the right to
participate and be heard during the administrative appeal. "Participate”
means that the attorney/GAL may submit an offer of proof regarding
testimony and documentary evidence not presented by the parties and may
ensure that proper protections are in place for clients who are called to
testify during the hearing. "Be heard" means the attorney/GAL may
submit a closing argument or position statement.  The minor's
attorney/GAL may request a continuance only on the basis that notice, as
required by Section 336.105(a)(3), was not provided. The minor's
attorney/GAL does not thereby become a party to the proceeding or have
standing or intervenor status in the administrative appeal proceeding, and
shall not have the right to request a continuance or to present, question or
Cross-examine witnesses.

Once it is identified that the subject matter of the hearing concerns a minor
being represented by a GAL/attorney, the Department shall notify the
GAL/attorney, as provided in Section 105(a)(3), and shall provide the
GAL/attorney a copy of the "Intent to Participate” form.  The
GAL/attorney shall file the completed form within 5 days after receipt.
Filing the form shall ensure the GAL/attorney is notified of all dates
regarding the hearing.

Rights of the Parties

1)

During the administrative hearing, the appellant and the Department have
the right to:

A) present and question witnesses;
B) present any information relevant to the issues;

C) question or cross-examine witnesses, including an opportunity to
guestion opposing witnesses, and dispute any information; and

D) present stipulations to facts or issues.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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An appellant may bring an authorized representative to the hearing. All
expenses of an authorized representative or of an appellant's witnesses
shall be paid by the appellant.

Before and during the administrative hearing:
A) the appellant may withdraw the appeal;
B) the Department may expunge the indicated finding; or

C) the Department may amend the indicated finding to remove any
information that identifies the appellant as the perpetrator of child
abuse or neglect.

At any time prior to the commencement of the administrative hearing, the
Department's legal representative may add or amend the allegations that
support the indicated finding against the appellant. The Department's legal
representative must notify the appellant and the AHU, in writing, of the
new or amended allegation and provide the appellant with a concise
statement of the facts that form the basis for the new or amended
allegation. If the Department's legal representative adds or amends an
allegation after the pre-hearing conference, but prior to the
commencement of the administrative hearing, the appellant, upon request,
may be entitled to a continuance for a reasonable period of time. This
continuance shall not be attributed to the appellant.

C) The Responsibility of the Department

1)

2)

At any time subsequent to the filing of an appeal, when the Department
attorney determines that the appeal involves a minor who is the subject of
a pending action under Article 11 of the Juvenile Court Act, he or she shall
notify the minor's GAL/attorney as soon as is practicable, but not later
than 7 days prior to the first hearing date.

In an administrative hearing:

A) the Department carries the burden of proof of justifying the refusal
to amend, expunge or remove the record; and

B) the Department must prove that a preponderance of the evidence
supports the indicated finding, or that the record of the report is
being maintained in a manner consistent with ANCRA and in
accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 431 (Confidentiality of
Personal Information of Persons Served by the Department of
Children and Family Services).

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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The Department has an obligation to present evidence that creates a full
and complete record, subject to Department rules and statutes on
confidentiality.

(Source: Added at 41 Ill. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.120 The Administrative Law Judge

a) Appointment of the ALJ
The Chief Administrative Law Judge shall select a trained, impartial ALJ from
the available pool to conduct the appeal hearing. The ALJ shall:

1)

2)

3)

4)

be an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois;

possess knowledge and information acquired through training and/or
experience relevant to the field of child and family welfare law, including
familiarity with Department rules, procedures and functions;

not have been involved in the decision to take the action being appealed or
have rendered legal advice to the decision-maker on the issue; and

not have a personal or professional interest that interferes with exercising
objectivity or have any bias against the parties or issues appealed. An
adverse ruling, in and of itself, shall not constitute bias or conflict of
interest.

b) Functions of the ALJ
The Administrative Law Judge shall have all authority allowed under the Illinois
Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100]. This authority shall include, but is
not limited to, the following:

1)

2)
3)

4)

5)

conduct a fair, impartial and formal hearing in which the strict rules of
evidence do not apply;

provide for the recording of the hearing;

inform participants of their individual rights and their responsibilities;
conduct pre-hearing telephone conferences between the parties or their
authorized representatives to provide information about the procedural
aspects of the hearing, narrow the issues and discuss possible stipulations

and contested points of law, in order to expedite the actual hearing;

have the authority to recommend changes in the child abuse and neglect
report in the State Central Register;

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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10)

11)

12)

13)

14)

15)

16)
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take necessary steps to develop a full and fair record that contains all
relevant facts;

administer an oath or an affirmation to all witnesses;

quash or modify subpoenas for good cause, including but not limited to
relevance, scope, materiality and emotional harm or trauma to the
subpoenaed witness;

allow into evidence all inculpatory and exculpatory evidence helpful in
determining whether an indicated perpetrator abused or neglected a child,
including oral and written reports and the investigative file, that the ALJ
and the Director may rely upon to the extent of its probative value;

allow into evidence previous statements made by the child relating to
abuse or neglect as hearsay exceptions;

preserve all documents and evidence for the record;

rule upon evidentiary issues and contested issues of law at the hearing or
take matters under advisement pending issuance of the written opinion and
recommendation;

order the removal of any person from the hearing room who is creating a
disturbance, whether by physical actions, profanity or conduct, that
disrupts the hearing;

identify the issues, consider all relevant facts and receive or request any
additional information necessary to decide the matter in dispute, including
but not limited to additional testimony, documents, exhibits, briefs,
memoranda of law or post hearing briefs;

present a written opinion and recommendation to the Director after the
record of the administrative hearing is completed or transcript is received,
whichever is later. The written opinion and recommendation shall include
a recommended decision on whether there is a preponderance of evidence
of abuse or neglect based on information in the administrative record. The
opinion shall contain findings of fact, summary of testimony and evidence,
conclusions of law and a recommendation; and

the written opinion and recommendation must also include the basis for
excluding any evidence or disallowing a physician or other professional
from testifying by telephone pursuant to Section 336.170 (Testimony by
Telephone).

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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The Chief ALJ shall also:

1) ensure that the administrative hearing is scheduled at a time and place
reasonably convenient for all parties;

2) provide a written notice to the parties within 10 days after the receipt of a
sufficient request for an administrative hearing, that shall contain the
following information:

A)

B)

C)

D)

E)

F)

G)

H)

1)

the date and time of the pre-hearing conference;

the reasons that may be deemed an abandonment of the request for
a hearing, thus constituting a waiver of the right to a hearing;

a citation to the ANCRA provision that grants the Department of
Children and Family Services the legal authority and jurisdiction to
hold this hearing;

a reference to the particular Sections of the statutes and
administrative rules involved,;

the allegations that were indicated:;

the consequences of the appellant’s failure to participate at the pre-
hearing conference;

the docket number assigned to this case;

the name and contact information of the Administrative Law Judge
and all parties; and

a statement of the parties’ rights during the administrative hearing.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.130 Consolidation and Severing Issues and Parties

a)

b)

When common issues of fact or law are raised in more than one appeal, the Chief
ALJ may consolidate the appeals into a single group hearing. Individuals shall be
permitted to present their own cases separately. Nothing in this Section shall
override confidentiality considerations.

The Chief ALJ may also combine all appeals and issues involving a single
appellant, whether arising under this Part or any other Part, into one hearing.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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The Chief ALJ, if required for the fair and efficient administration of the
administrative appeal hearing or to prevent possible prejudice to the appellant,
may sever any party or any issue from the consolidated hearing. The party or
issue severed from the consolidated hearing shall be heard separately.

The Chief ALJ shall decide the order in which to hear any appeal or issue that has
been severed.

The Chief ALJ may delegate any decision under this Section to any ALJ who has
been assigned to hear one or more of the appeals.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.140 Exchange of Information

a)

b)

All requests for information must be in writing and sent, in advance of the
hearing, to the party from whom the information is sought. Any requests for
information from a party must be served on the party and on the AHU. A party,
without leave of the ALJ, may request from any other party:

1) a list of witnesses to be called at the hearing; and

2) copies of all documents that a party intends to present to the
Administrative Law Judge at the hearing. The Department does not need
to send a copy of the investigative file to the appellant when the
Department has previously sent a copy of the investigative file to the
appellant pursuant to Section 336.80.

All requests for information shall be served on all other parties or their authorized
representative. Copies of all requests for information shall be filed with the AHU.
All requests for information shall be answered within 10 days after receipt unless,
upon good cause shown, leave is sought for additional time to answer.

A party may exercise any rights to access any Department record relevant to the
investigation and indicated finding under 89 Ill. Adm. Code 431 (Confidentiality
of Personal Information of Persons Served by the Department of Children and
Family Services).

No discovery, described in Supreme Court Rule 201 et seq., shall be permitted
prior to a hearing except by permission of the ALJ, when good cause is shown.

Hearings shall not be delayed to permit the exchange of information unless
timeliness and due diligence is shown by the party seeking the information.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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If a party fails to answer a request for information, the ALJ may enter any
appropriate order, including but not limited to:

1)

2)

3)

4)

a continuance of any hearing until the request for information is answered.
The ALJ shall make a determination as to which party should be attributed
the time for the continuance;

prohibit the testimony of any witness not disclosed in the answer to the
request for information;

prohibit the introduction of any document or evidence not disclosed in an
answer to the request for information; or

in determining whether to prohibit a witness from testifying or prohibit the
introduction of evidence, the ALJ shall consider the need to develop a full
and accurate record, including the reasons why a witness or document was
not disclosed, and the interests of justice. The ALJ shall entertain an offer
of proof that will be made part of the record.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.150 Continuances

a)

b)

No continuance of a scheduled pre-hearing conference or hearing shall be granted
by the ALJ to any party except for good cause shown.

1)

2)

Good cause includes, but is not limited to:

A) sickness or death in the immediate family of the appellant, the
Department's legal representative or the authorized representative
of the appellant;

B) court or administrative hearing dates scheduled prior to the
issuance of the notice of hearing; and

C) the unavailability of a witness due to unforeseen and unavoidable
circumstances.

A continuance for good cause shall not be considered delay on the part of
any party.

No request for a continuance shall be granted without notice to the parties,
including, but not limited to, the Department's legal representative and a minor's
attorney/GAL. Only the parties shall have an opportunity to object on the record.
All requests for continuances shall be disposed of by written order. All requests
for continuances shall be addressed by the ALJ in a timely manner.
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If a continuance is requested or agreed to by an appellant, the time period between
the request for continuance and the continued hearing date shall not be considered
a delay on the part of the Department in issuing and implementing its final
administrative decision.

If a continuance is requested due to the lack of a certified court reporter or
interpreter, the party seeking a continuance must demonstrate due diligence in
seeking that service for the hearing date.

Notices of a continued hearing date need not include any restatement of the rights
of the parties.

If a hearing is commenced and needs to be continued to another date, the time
period between the commenced hearing date and the continued hearing date shall
be tolled.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.160 Attendance of Witnesses

The appellant and the Department’s legal representative may subpoena any witness identified on
the witness list and any witness or documents discussed at the pre-hearing conference, pursuant
to Section 336.140, by requesting that the Chief ALJ request a subpoena within the timeframe
ordered by the ALJ. Witness fees and travel expenses for persons other than Department
employees are the responsibility of the party requesting the subpoena.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.170 Testimony by Telephone

a)

b)

For good cause shown, the ALJ may, on the ALJ's own motion or the motion of
any party, allow a witness to testify at the administrative hearing by telephone.

It is presumed that physicians and other professionals, in their professional
capacity, shall be permitted to testify by telephone, unless good cause is shown as
to why in-person testimony is necessary. For the purposes of this Part,
"professionals” shall include, but not be limited to, medical personnel, school
employees, social service and mental health staff, law enforcement personnel, and
child care workers. If in-person testimony is necessary, the opinion and
recommendation of the ALJ shall set forth that testimony by telephone was
disallowed and provide the basis for the decision.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
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Section 336.180 Interpreters and Translation of Documents

a)

b)

A party whose language of preference is not English, or who will require
communication assistance, shall declare his or her language of preference to the
ALJ or the Department's legal representative at the pre-hearing conference or at
the earliest opportunity. The Department shall provide an interpreter at no cost to
the party.

At the time of the pre-hearing conference, if the ALJ determines that translation
of documents is necessary to the conducting of a full and fair hearing, an order
shall be entered directing the Department to translate the relevant documents. All
due diligence shall be applied to the Department's translation of relevant
documents. A request for translation of documents shall not be considered a delay
on the part of the Department or the appellant.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.190 Grounds for Dismissal

The Chief ALJ or the ALJ shall dismiss the appeal on his or her own motion or on the motion of

any party:

a)

b)

c)

d)

f)

9)
h)

when the issue is not regarding a child abuse or neglect report as defined in 89 Ill.
Adm. Code 300 (Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect);

when there is a pending juvenile court action or criminal court action involving
the same set of circumstances that gave rise to the indicated finding;

when there has been a court finding of child abuse or neglect or a criminal finding
of guilt as to the perpetrator;

when the request for the appeal was not received within 60 calendar days after the
postmarked date of the notice that the report was indicated:;

when the request for the appeal is not received within 60 calendar days following
the conclusion of any criminal court action in the circuit court or after
adjudication in any juvenile court action concerning the circumstances that give
rise to the indicated finding;

when the appeal has been withdrawn in writing;

when the appeal has been abandoned pursuant to Section 336.200; or

when the issue is not within the jurisdiction of the AHU as set forth in Section
336.60.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
Rule 336 — (28)



APPEAL OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT INVESTIGATION FINDINGS

January 30, 2018 — P.T. 2018.01

Section 336.200 Abandonment of Appeal/Default

a)

b)

d)

The AHU will declare that the Department or appellant has abandoned the appeal
when, during the pre-hearing conference or the hearing:

1) the Department's legal representative, the appellant or the appellant's
authorized representative, without good cause, fails to participate after
receiving written notice from the AHU and after the ALJ has waited a
reasonable time for the Department's legal representative, appellant or
appellant's authorized representative to appear; or

2) the appellant failed to notify the Chief ALJ of a change of address and a
notice of the administrative hearing, sent to the appellant's last known
address, was returned as "undeliverable”, "unclaimed"”, "refused",

"moved", "no forwarding address", or for similar circumstances by the US
Postal Service or other third party delivery service.

Good cause for failure to appear includes but is not limited to:

1) death or serious illness in the immediate family of the appellant, the
appellant's representative, any witness, or the Department's legal
representative;

2) failure of the AHU to give notice of the proceeding to the appellant or the
appellant's representative at the last known address available to the AHU;
or

3) failure of the AHU to give notice by fax, inter-office mail or electronic
mail to the Department's legal representative.

When the Department's legal representative fails to appear at a pre-hearing
conference or hearing, without good cause, and without having received a
continuance, the ALJ may issue orders as are appropriate, including, but not
limited to, a finding of default for failure to appear or participate. All orders
regarding a Department legal representative's failure to appear at a pre-hearing or
hearing shall be sent to the attention of the Department's General Counsel.

Any party seeking to vacate an order of abandonment or default shall file a
motion within 14 days after notice of the entry of an order of abandonment or
default, showing good cause why the party failed to appear or participate. All
such motions will be timely ruled upon by the ALJ. Copies of the motion shall be
served upon the ALJ, the AHU and the opposing party.

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)
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Section 336.210 Record of an Administrative Hearing

The record of the administrative hearing and the final administrative decision shall be maintained
by the AHU and includes the recorded proceedings, any exhibits admitted into evidence, and any
offers of proof. All final administrative decisions shall be available to any party for public
inspection during regular business hours. However, personal identifying information and other
confidential information shall be deleted in accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 431
(Confidentiality of Personal Information of Persons Served by the Department of Children and
Family Services).

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)
Section 336.220 Final Administrative Decision
a) The Final Administrative Decision

1) The Director of the Department shall issue the final decision within 35
calendar days after receipt of a timely and sufficient request for an
expedited appeal, unless extended by action of the appellant. Within the
same 35 day time period, the Director shall receive and accept, reject,
amend or return to the AHU for further proceedings the ALJ's
recommendation with respect to the expedited appeal. The Director's
decision is the final administrative decision of the Department.

2) The Director of the Department shall issue the final decision within 90
calendar days after receipt of a timely and sufficient request for an appeal,
unless extended by action of the appellant. Within the same 90 day
period, the Director shall receive and accept, reject, amend or return to the
AHU for further proceedings the ALJ's recommendation. The 90 day time
period may be extended by the actions of the appellant. The Director's
decision is the final administrative decision of the Department.

b) Notice of the Availability of Judicial Review

The Department shall include a notice to appellants as part of the final
administrative decision. This notice shall advise the appellants that, under the
Administrative Review Law [735 ILCS 5/Art. 111], they may seek judicial review
of the final administrative decision within the statutory time frame, if the final
administrative decision is unfavorable to them.

C) Who Receives Copies of the Final Administrative Decision
The appellant or authorized representative, the Department's legal representative,

the Department child protection unit, the ALJ, the Chief ALJ, and the SCR shall
receive a copy of the final administrative decision.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
Rule 336 — (30)
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Notifying Others of the Decision

1)

2)

The following persons shall receive a notice of the final administrative
decision from the AHU:

A)

B)

C)

the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation,
district, regional and private school superintendents and the State
Board of Education when they have been notified that an appeal
has been filed in accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 300 (Reports
of Child Abuse and Neglect), Section 300.140;

administrators of child care facilities and Department licensing
staff when the appellant is an employee of a child care facility; and

supervisors or administrators notified in accordance with 89 Il
Adm. Code 300.100(i).

The following persons shall receive a notice of the final administrative
decision, if the decision amends, expunges or removes any record made
under ANCRA Section 7.17:

A)

B)

C)

parents or personal guardians of the child victims if they are not
the same as the appellant;

the mandated reporter who originally made the report of child
abuse or neglect; and

the juvenile court judge and guardian ad litem and/or attorney for a
minor (when a State ward is involved or the minor is the subject of
a petition under Article Il of the Juvenile Court Act).

(Source: Amended at 41 1ll. Reg. 15260, effective December 6, 2017)

Section 336.230 Severability of This Part

If any Court of competent jurisdiction finds that any Section, clause, phrase, or provision of this
Part is unconstitutional or invalid for any reason whatsoever, this finding shall not affect the
validity of the remaining portions of this Part.

(Source: Added at 24 I1l. Reg. 7660, effective June 1, 2000)
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES

POLICY GUIDE 2013.09

PART 300 REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT

PART 336 APPEAL OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT INVESTIGATION FINDINGS

DATE: December 31, 2013

TO:

DCFS and POS Agency Staff

FROM: Denise Gonzales, Acting Director@f/nlft’ 4“7"&4’

EFFECTIVE: January 1, 2014

PURPOSE

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to provide staff with instruction for the
implementation of pending amendments to Rule 300 Reports of Child Abuse and
Neglect and Rule 336 Appeal of Child Abuse and Neglect Investigation Findings that
were brought about by changes made to ANCRA in PA 98-0453 and 98-0487. This
Policy Guide shall remain in effect pending the completion of the rulemaking process and
until the subsequent revision of Procedures 300 is complete.

PRIMARY USERS

Primary users of this Policy Guide are the Department’s Investigation Specialists/
Investigation Supervisors and State Central Register (SCR) staff.

OVERVIEW

Public Act 98-453 amends Sections 7.7, 7.14, 7.16, and 7.21 of the Abused and
Neglected Child Reporting Act. The Department will initiate rulemaking to implement
the following requirements:

. The Department shall establish criteria and standards for labeling an “unfounded”
report as an “intentional false report.” Per PA 98-453, the reporter of a case
retained as intentionally false will be permitted to submit a statement regarding
the report, unless the reporter has been convicted of knowingly transmitting a
false report to the Department.

. Within 45 days of classifying a report as “indicated” or “unfounded”, the
Department shall transmit a copy of the report to the child’s guardian ad litem
(GAL), when the child is the subject of a juvenile court proceeding and the GAL
has been appointed to represent the child in that proceeding.



A child shall have the right to participate and be heard in an administrative
(appeal) hearing through his/her attorney or GAL, when i) the child is the victim
named in the report that is the subject of the appeal hearing; ii) the child is the
subject of a juvenile court proceeding; and iii) the report was made while a GAL
was appointed to represent the child in that proceeding.

When the Department determines that a report is "unfounded”, the child’s
attorney or GAL may request a review of the investigation within 10 days of the
date of notification of the proposed final finding, if the child named in the report
is also a child for whom the attorney or GAL has been appointed. The GAL shall
send a written request, via U.S. Mail or fax, within 10 days of the date of
notification of the proposed final finding. The “date of notification of the final
finding” is the date the attorney or GAL receives a copy of the report from the
Department. The review must be conducted by a Department employee outside
the supervisory chain of the assigned investigation specialist and shall be
conducted before entering a final finding (i.e., “indicated” or “unfounded”) for the
report in SACWIS.

The Department will also initiate rulemaking to implement Public Acts 98-487, amending
the following provisions in Section 7.16 of ANCRA:

The perpetrator named in the notification of the completion of an investigation
may request the Department to amend or remove the record of a report from the
register (SCR). (The underlined language replaces “subject of the report.”)

The 60-day deadline for filing a request for an appeal hearing shall be tolled until
after the conclusion of any criminal court action in the circuit court or after
adjudication in any juvenile court action concerning the circumstances that give
rise to an “indicated” report.

The perpetrator shall have the right to a timely hearing within the Department.

There shall be no right to a hearing on the ground of the report’s inaccuracy if
there has been a court finding of child abuse or neglect or a criminal finding of
guilt as to the perpetrator.

The decision resulting from the appeal hearing shall be made, in writing, at the
close of the hearing, or within 60 days thereof. (Section 7.16 previously required
a decision within 45 days.)



V.

INSTRUCTIONS
GAL Review of Unfounded Reports

State Central Register (SCR) Staff

When taking a report of alleged abuse or neglect, it is crucial that SCR (hotline)
staff identify in SACWIS those reports involving wards as an alleged victim
and/or perpetrator. Hot line staff shall ensure each case involving a ward is so
identified.

SCR shall be responsible for tracking the 10 day time period for all GAL requests
to review an unfounded investigation.

e For Cook County- Tracking shall be based on the date of
acknowledgement of receipt of the CANTS 9a in the Public
Guardian’s Office. (Due to the proximity of the Public Guardian’s
Office, hard copy documents with the CANTS 9a and the complete
redacted investigative file, including a completed CANTS 13 when a
police report is part of the file, will be delivered there by the
designated DCFS Legal staff person.)

e For Downstate counties- Designated SCR staff shall send the CANTS
9a and complete redacted investigative file, including a completed
CANTS 13 when a police report is part of the file, to the GAL via
certified mail or UPS. Tracking shall be based on the date of
acknowledgement of receipt of the CANTS 9a via certified mail return
card or UPS signature of receipt.

Investigative Specialists and Supervisors

The Investigation Specialist shall verbally notify the GAL of the recommended
unfounded determination, after the recommended finding has been reviewed by
the Investigation Supervisor and Area Administrator, and discuss the
recommended determination with the GAL. If the GAL disagrees with the
recommended determination, the Investigation Specialist shall immediately notify
his or her supervisor of the concerns raised by the GAL. The Investigation
Supervisor shall contact the GAL to resolve his/her issues and to determine if
there are additional investigation activities that need to be completed. When a
resolution cannot be reached, the supervisor shall inform the GAL of his/her right
to request a review of the intent to unfound the investigation. The supervisor and
Investigation Specialist shall use SACWIS collateral notes to document the
notification of the recommended determination and all attempts to resolve any
issues identified by the GAL. Should a GAL request a review of the intent to
unfound the investigation, such review shall take place prior to the final



determination being entered into SACWIS and shall be conducted by one of the
designated Area Administrators outside the supervisory chain of the assigned
investigator.

Department rules and procedures already require the Department to verbally
notify a child’s GAL of a recommended investigation determination (i.e.,
indicated, unfounded, or undetermined) of reports involving the child, including a
child who has been named as a perpetrator in the report (the GAL has the right to
review an investigation only when the intent is to unfound). In order to ensure
that the required notification takes place, the Investigation Specialist shall add the
child’s GAL to the SACWIS investigation as a collateral. In Cook County the
GAL will always be the person fulfilling the role of the Public Guardian in the
Office of the Cook County Public Guardian, Juvenile Division. Downstate
Investigation Specialists will have to determine the name of the GAL representing
the child from the juvenile court in the county where the child resides.

e The Investigative Specialist shall enter interviews with a GAL into a
collateral note, including the GAL’s mail address. (Adding the mail
address into a note will generate the address into the final finding letter
sent to the GAL.)

e Once the Investigative Specialist has completed all required
investigative tasks and intends to unfound an investigation involving
a ward, the case must be reviewed by their supervisor and Area
Administrator, who will verify documented discussions with the GAL
regarding the finding and efforts to resolve any issues of contention.

e The Investigative Specialist shall enter the recommended finding to
‘unfound’ on the allegation tab in SACWIS and the case will remain in
a pending status until a final finding is entered.

e The Investigative Specialist shall verify that the GAL’s address is
correct and then complete the CANTS 9a.

e |If a mandated reporter requests a review after an unfounded final
finding, SCR will notify the Area Administrator who conducted the
GAL review, if one has been conducted, to contact the mandated
reporter and conduct that review as well.

Processing of CANTS 9a and hard copy documents

The CANTS 9a and all hard copy documents not contained in SACWIS shall be
scanned and emailed to designated DCFS staff within 48 hours (two business
days) of the Area Administrator’s review. The contact persons responsible for
processing the CANTS 9A and all hard copy documents are:



Cook County- Rhonda Laye in the Office of Legal Services; and
Downstate- Polly Gahr in SCR.

Note: All emails of the CANTS 9a and hard copy documents should be cc’d
to Polly Gahr.

FOR COOK- Rhonda Laye will deliver the redacted SACWIS investigation and
hard copy documents, including a completed CANTS 13 when a police report is
part of the file, with the CANTS 9a to the Office of the Public Guardian, notifying
them of intent to unfound, and request a signed acknowledgment of receipt of
the investigative file/documents. In case of a GAL request for a review, once the
signed acknowledgment of receipt is obtained the file must be emailed to Polly
Gahr at SCR.

DOWNSTATE: After the Investigative Supervisor and Area Administrator have
reviewed a recommended finding to unfound a report, the Investigative Specialist
shall complete the CANTS 9a, print and redact the SACWIS file and all hard
copy documents, then scan and email those documents, including a completed
CANTS 13 when a police report is part of the file, to Polly Gahr at SCR.

Unfounded Reports Retained as Intentionally False Reports

State Central Register (SCR)

The perpetrator in a report with an unfounded final determination has the right to request
the unfounded case be retained as intentionally false. SCR retains such reports in
SACWIS for a period of 5 years if the perpetrator’s request was submitted to the
Department in writing within 10 days of being notified of the final finding of the
investigation.

e Designated SCR staff shall notify the reporter of such cases that a
request has been made to retain the identified report as intentionally
false and that the reporter has the right to make a statement regarding
the report, unless the reporter has been convicted of knowingly
transmitting a (previous) false report to the Department.

e Statements made by reporters of unfounded cases held as intentionally
false shall be retained by SCR. SCR shall transmit a copy of the
statement to the assigned investigative specialist and refer the case to
the local State’s Attorney, when appropriate. Statements made by a
reporter must be submitted to the Department in writing within 10
days of notification.



VI.

VII.

QUESTIONS

Questions concerning these revisions may be directed to the Office of Child and Family
Policy at 217/524-1983 or e-mail through Outlook at OCFP-Mailbox or for non-Outlook
users at cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us

ATTACHMENT

CANTS 9a Notification of Intent to Unfound a Report of Child Abuse and/or
Neglect of a Ward

This form can be accessed on the T Drive.

FILING INSTRUCTIONS

Place one copy of this Policy Guide behind Rule 300 Reports of Child Abuse and
Neglect and behind Rule 336 Appeal of Child Abuse and Neglect Investigation
Findings.


mailto:cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us

CANTS 9a
12/2013

State of Illinois
Department of Children and Family Services

NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO UNFOUND A REPORT OF CHILD ABUSE AND/OR
NEGLECT INVOLVING A WARD

TO: (GAL)

DATE:

The Illinois Department of Children and Family Services has investigated the report of suspected child
abuse and/or neglect listed below, and intends to UNFOUND the report.

Please read this carefully.

Attached is a copy of a PENDING investigative file on a report of abuse/neglect of a ward, with a
recommendation to unfound. This file is CONFIDENTIAL and CANNOT be re-disclosed or
redistributed for any purpose other than to request a review.

Investigation Name:

Address

City, State, Zip Code

SCR No:

1. Children reported to be abused or neglected or involved as a perpetrator:

2. The reported abuse or neglect is alleged to have occurred at:

3. The Department intends to UNFOUND the report for the following allegation(s):

4. An unfounded report for the above allegations will be kept on the State Central Register for 1-3years,
pursuant to statute 325 ILCS 7.7.

ADMINISTRATOR’S REVIEW

Before the decision to UNFOUND this report is made, you, as the minor’s attorney and GAL, have the
opportunity to request a review with a Child Protection Administrator who has not been involved in the
investigation. The Administrator’s Review will allow you to respond to the allegations and the basis of
the intent to unfound. You can provide any additional information you may have, ask questions, seek
clarification, and provide any facts to be explored regarding the incident and provide written statements
and documents.



CANTS 9a
12/2013

You must request the Administrators Review, IN WRITING, within 10 days of RECEIPT of this notice
and the pending investigation file. You may use the attached form to submit your request for review.

The assigned Administrator will then contact you by phone to schedule a date and time for the review.

The Administrator’s Review provides you with an opportunity to present any information that you believe
can or should help the Department make the most accurate decision regarding the current allegations of
child abuse and/or neglect.

After the Administrator’s Review, you will be given written notice of the final finding decision.



CANTS 9a
12/2013

COOK COUNTY ONLY
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF RECEIPT
THIS COPY TO BE COMPLETED, SIGNED AND RETURNED TO DCFS

In connection with SCR Number, | acknowledge that | received the following:

1. Notice of Intent to UNFOUND, CANTS 9a

2. The Investigative File

Printed Name

Printed Address

Telephone Number

Signature Date

COOK COUNTY
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF RECEIPT OF INVESTIGATIVE FILE

THIS COPY TO BE COMPLETED, SIGNED AND RETURNED TO DCFS



CANTS 9a
12/2013

REQUEST FOR REVIEW OF INTENT TO UNFOUND A REPORT OF CHILD
ABUSE/NEGLECT OF A WARD

TO: SCR Administrator
406 E. Monroe, Mail Station #30
Springfield, IL 62701-1498
FAX: 217-785-0395

RE: GAL REQUEST FOR ADMINISTRATOR’S REVIEW

| have been advised that the Department intends to UNFOUND its investigation for SCR NUMBER:

I am the court appointed Guardian Ad Litem and wish to request a review of the intent to unfound this report.

I am attaching copies of documentation/other relevant information | wish to be considered or will do so at the time
of the review, if deemed necessary.

I may be contacted per below to schedule a date and time for an Administrator’s review:

GAL NAME:

GAL PHONE NUMBER:

| prefer the following dates/times:
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