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Section 404.1  Purpose 

 

a) The purpose of this part is to prescribe the standards for licensure as a child  care 
institution and to describe how to apply for a license.  

 
b) The licensing standards set forth in this part are applicable to all child care 

institutions and maternity centers as defined in the Child Care Act, as well as to those 
child care institutions owned, operated or supervised by the Department.  

 
Section 404.2  Definitions  

 
"Access to children" means an employee's job duties require that the employee be 
present in a licensed child care facility during the hours that children are present in 
the facility.  In addition, any person who is permitted to be alone outside the visual or 

auditory supervision of facility staff with children receiving care in a licensed child 
care facility is subject to the background check requirements of this Part.  

 
"Appropriate activities" means activities or items that are generally accepted as 

suitable for children of the same chronological age or developmental leve l of 
maturity.  Appropriateness is based on the development of cognitive, emotional, 
physical, and behavioral capacity that is typical for an age or age group, taking into 
account the individual child's cognitive, emotional, physical, and behavioral 

development.  [20 ILCS 505/7.3a] 
 

"Background check" means:  
 

- a criminal history check via fingerprints of persons age 18 and over that are 
submitted to the Illinois State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation 

(FBI) for comparison to their criminal history records, as appropriate; and  
 

- a check of the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 

(SACWIS) and other state child protection systems, as appropriate, to 
determine whether an individual is currently alleged or has been indicated as 
a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect; and  

 

- a check of the Illinois Sex Offender Registry.  
 

"Caregiver" means a licensed foster parent or unlicensed relative caregiver who 
provides care for a child in DCFS custody or guardianship, or a designated official 
employed by and present at the licensed child care facility in which a child in DCFS 

custody or guardianship is placed.  For purposes of this Part, the "caregiver" for a 
youth under 18 years of age in a child care institution or maternity center is assigned 
or designated staff of that facility. 

 

"Child" means any person under 18 years of age.  (Section 2.01 of the Child Care Act 
of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.01])  
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"Child care institution" means a child care facility where more than 7 children are 
received and maintained for the purpose of providing them with care or training or 
both.  The term "child care institution" includes residential schools, primarily 

serving ambulatory handicapped children, and those operating a full calendar year, 
but does not include:  

 
- any State-operated institution for child care established by legislative action;  

 
- any juvenile detention or shelter care home established and operated by any 

county or child protection district;  
 

- any institution, home, place or facility operating under a license pursuant to 
the Nursing Home Care Act [210 ILCS 45];  

 
- any bona fide boarding school in which children are primarily taught 

branches of education corresponding to those taught in public schools, 
grades one through 12, or elementary and high schools, and which operates 
on a regular academic school year basis;  

 

- any facility licensed as a "group home" as defined in  the Child Care Act of 
1969 (Section 2.06 of the Child Care Act of 1969); or  

 
- for purposes of this Part, forestry camps, training schools or any f acility  

operated primarily for the detention of children who are determined to be 
delinquent. 

 
"Child with a disability" means a child up to the age of 22 years old with mental 

retardation, hearing impairments (including deafness), speech or language 
impairments, visual impairments (including blindness), serious emotional 
disturbance (hereinafter referred to as emotional disturbance), orthopedic 
impairments, autism, traumatic brain injury, other health impairments, or specific 

learning disabilities; and who, due to these conditions, needs special education and 
related services.  (Federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act 
of 2004; 34 CFR 300.8) 

 

"Conditional employee" means an individual (including any substitute or assistant) 
who has applied for and been conditionally selected to perform child care functions 
or administrative, professional, or support functions that allow access to children, as 
defined in this Section, and who has commenced those duties while awaiting the 
results of the background check required by this Part.  
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"Deemed status" means the Department has approved an institution or maternity  
center as in compliance with the requirements of this Part because the institution or 
maternity center:  

 

- has received full accreditation status from the Council on Accreditation for 
Children and Family Services (2001 Standards); and 

 

- during the past 4 years, has been cited with no substantiated licensing 
violations that affect the health, safety, morals, or welfare of children it 

serves. 
 

"Department" or "DCFS" means the Illinois Department of Children and Family 
Services. (Section 2.02 of the Child Care Act of 1969)  

 

"Employee" means any staff person employed by a child care facility, and includes 
any substitute or assistant.  This definition includes administrative, professional and 

other support staff who have access to children.  
 

"Initial background check" means the individual has cleared a check of the Statewide 
Automated Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS) and the Illinois Sex 
Offender Registry.  
 

"License" means a document issued by the Department that authorizes child  care 
facilities to operate in accordance with applicable standards and the provisions of the 
Child Care Act of 1969.  

 

"License applicant", for purposes of background checks, means the operator or 
person with direct responsibility for daily operation of the facility to be licensed.  
(Section 4.4 of the Child Care Act of 1969)  

 

"Licensee" means those individuals, agencies or organizations who hold a license or 
permit issued by the Department.  

 

"Licensing representative" means persons authorized by the Department under the 
Child Care Act of 1969 to examine facilities for licensure.  

 

"Maternity center" means a facility in which any person, agency or corporation, 
other than one licensed as a foster family home or group home under the Child Care 
Act of 1969, receives, treats or cares for one or more unwed pregnant girls under 18 
years of age, except that the term does not include any facility licensed under the 

Hospital Licensing Act.  (Section 2.07 of the Child Care Act of 1969)  
 

"Medical examination" means a physical examination conducted by a Medical 
Doctor or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine licensed to practice medicine in the State 

of Illinois, an Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) or Physician Assistant (PA). The 
medical examination must be documented on forms prescribed by the Department 
and signed and dated by the examining practitioner. 
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"Normalcy parenting" means empowering a caregiver to approve or not approve a 

child's or youth's participation in appropriate extracurricular activities based on the 
caregiver's own assessment using the reasonable and prudent parent standard, 
without prior approval of the Department, the permanency worker or the court.  The 
goal of normalcy parenting and the reasonable and prudent parent standard is to  

allow the child's participation in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural and social 
activities that are appropriate for the child's normal growth and development. 

 

"Permit" means a one-time only document issued by the Department for a six-month 

period to allow the individual, agency or organization to become eligible for a 
license.  

 

"Persons subject to background checks" means:  
 

- the operator of the child care facility; and  
 

- all current and conditional employees of the child care facility; and  
 

- any person who is used to replace or supplement staff; and  
 

- any person who has access to children, as defined in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 
385.20 (Background Checks).  

 

If the child care facility operates in a family home, the license applicant and all 
members of the household age 13 and over are subject to background checks, as 
appropriate, even if these members of the household are not usually present in the 
home during the hours the child care facility is in operation.  

 

"Reasonable and prudent parent standard" means the standard, characterized by 
careful and sensible parental decisions that maintain the health, safety, and best 
interests of a child while at the same time encouraging the emotional and 

developmental growth of the child, that a caregiver shall use when determining 
whether to allow a child in foster care under the responsibility of the State to 
participate in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social activities. 
 

"Replacement or supplemental staff" means any paid or unpaid individual who is 
used to perform essential staff duties as evidenced by being counted in the staff-child 
ratio or being permitted to be alone with children in a licensed child car e f acility  
outside the visual or auditory supervision of facility staff.  
 

"SACWIS" means the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 
operated by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 42 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 
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Section 404.3  Effective Date of Standards (Repealed) 

 

(Source:  Repealed at 21 Ill. Reg. 20351, effective October 31, 2018) 
 

Section 404.4  Application for License  

 

a) Application for license shall be completed by the officers of the governing body of 
the institution on forms prescribed and furnished by the Department.  

 
b) For the application to be considered complete, the following shall be attached to the 

application:  
 

1) articles of incorporation and bylaws, indicating that the institution's corporate 
status is in good standing with the Illinois Secretary of State and specifying 

whether the institution is for profit or not-for-profit;  
 

2) if a not-for-profit corporation under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue 
Code (26 USCA 501), a copy of the Internal Revenue Service ruling on the 

institution's exemption status from Federal income tax and registration with 
the Charitable Trust Bureau of the Attorney General's Office (if applicable); 

 
3) a statement of purpose, including the types of child care provided;  

 
4) list of owners, officers, board members, and principal shareholders owning 

more than 5% of the stock of the corporation and each person's attestation 
that he or she has not been convicted of a felony or indicated as a perpetrator 

of child abuse or child neglect, as defined in Appendix B of 89 Ill.  Adm. 
Code 300 (Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect).  This includes any or all of 
the above persons who reside outside the State of Illinois.  The board list 
shall include the name, home address or Post Office Box and contact phone 

number other than the agency's telephone number, of the board chair and 
officers of the board and name of the board members and committees of the 
governing body;  

 

5) list of standing committees; 
 

6) documentation of compliance with local zoning regulations; 
 

7) operating budget;  
 

8) range of services;  
 

9) staffing plan which includes job descriptions and the qualifications of staff;  
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10) a list of persons subject to the background check requirements of 89 Ill. Adm. 
Code 385 (Background Checks) and each person's complete, signed 
authorization to conduct the background check; and 

 
11) a code of ethics adopted by the governing body.  This code of ethics must be 

at least as stringent as the Code of Ethics for Child Welfare Professionals 
(published by the Office of Communications, Department of Children and 

Family Services, 406 E. Monroe Street, Station #65, Springfield, Illinois 
62701, May 1996, or found on the Department's website at 
www.state.il.us/dcfs.  

 

c) A new application shall be filed:  
 

1) when an application for license has been withdrawn, and the institution seeks 
to reapply;  

 
2) there is a change of address of a facility;  

 
3) there is a change of ownership, name or corporate status; or  

 
4) not sooner than 12 months after the Department has revoked or refused to  

renew a license, and a new license is sought.  
 

d) A new application may be submitted at any time a license, permit or application has 
been voluntarily surrendered or withdrawn by the applicant.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 
Section 404.5  Renewal of License  

 
a) Application  

 
1) License renewal application forms shall be mailed to the institution by the  

Department six months prior to the expiration date of license.  Officers of the 
governing body shall submit the completed application to the Department 

three months prior to the expiration date of the license.  The child care 
institution or maternity center shall also include with the application 
verification of any accreditations earned.  For a renewal application to  be 
considered complete, the following shall be attached to the application: 

 

A) a current list of names and addresses of owners, officers, board 
members, principal shareholders owning more than 5% of the stock 

of the corporation; 
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B) a staff list, including name and job title, indicating those who are 

licensed to practice as a direct child welfare employee required in 89 

Ill. Adm. Code 412.40; and 
 

C) the following documents, if changes were made to them since the last 
application or renewal: 

 
i) statement of purpose; 

 
ii) range of services; and  

 
iii) code of ethics. 

 
2) Upon receipt of the application for license renewal, the Department shall 

conduct a license study in order to determine that the institution continues to 
meet licensing standards.  The licensing study shall be in writing; reviewed 
and signed by the licensing supervisor and the licensing representative 
performing the study.  

 
3) When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for renewal of a 

license or a new license with reference to any activity of a continuing nature 
and the Department fails to render a decision on the application for renewal 

of the license prior to the expiration date of the license, the existing license 
shall continue in full force and effect for up to  30 days until the final 
Department decision has been made.  The Department may further extend the 
period in which such decision must be made in individual cases for up to 30 

days, if good cause is shown.  [205 ILCS 10/5(d)]  "Good cause" includes but 
is not limited to shortages of staff.  

 
b) Acceptance of Accreditation as Deemed Status 

 
1) When a child care institution or maternity center is fully accredited by the 

Council on Accreditation for Children and Family Services, Inc. (Council on 
Accreditation), 120 Wall Street, 11 th Floor, New York NY 10005 (2001 

standards) and there have been no substantiated licensing violations that 
affect the health, safety, morals, or welfare of children served by that facility 
for the last four years, that child care institution or maternity center is deemed 
to be in compliance with the program requirements of this Part.  

 
2) The Department shall verify in writing with the Council on Accreditation that 

the child care institution or maternity center's accreditation continues to be in 
good standing and shall conduct annual monitoring visits to verify the 

continued compliance of the facility with the requirements of this Part.  
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3) If licensing violations are substantiated against an accredited child care 
institution or maternity center, the Department licensing worker shall notify 
in writing the Council on Accreditation of the substantiated violations.  The 

facility shall receive a copy of this notice.  
 

4) If a substantiated licensing violation may affect the health, safety, morals, or 

welfare of the children served by the child care institution or maternity 
center, the institution or maternity center shall be removed f rom deemed 
status and a full license study shall be conducted as part of the license 
renewal process.  

 

c) Renewal Application Under Deemed Status  
 

1) A child care institution or maternity center in deemed status doing business 
with the Department shall submit to the Department Regional Office of 
Licensing:  

 

A) Signed and completed renewal application on a form provided by the 
Department; 

 

B) Written description of any change in the institution's tax exempt 
status, charitable trust registration, and range of services provided;  

 

C) List of current employees, including the name of the Administrator;  
 

D) List of current board members, including their names, home phone 
numbers, and addresses;  

 

E) Copy of any Corrective Plan currently placed on the institution;  
 

F) Copy of additional information submitted by the institution to  the 
Council on Accreditation, including: 

 

i) Institution's consumer surveys' results;  
 

ii) Information regarding any "hold" on the institution's intake 
placed by the Council on Accreditation, including: was the 

hold for any part of the current license sequence; was the 
institution on hold at the time of renewal; reason for the hold, 
and duration of the hold status; and  

 

iii) Copy of the most recent Annual Maintenance of 

Accreditation Report the institution filed with the Council on 
Accreditation;  

 

G) Copy of letter the institution has from the Council on Accreditation 
for Children and Family Services showing that the institution is fully 

accredited. 
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2) The Department shall obtain the following information from other sources 
about the institution in deemed status doing business with the Department:  

 

A) Results of the institution's financial audit and any documented 

financial problems;  
 

B) The number of indicated child abuse/neglect investigations and 
licensing complaint investigations; and  

 

C) Council on Accreditation confirmation that the institution is f ully  
accredited and in good standing.  

 

3) Institutions and maternity centers not doing business with the Department 
shall submit to the Department:  

 

A) Signed and completed renewal application on a form provided by the 
Department;  

 

B) Written description of any change (if applicable) in the institution's 
corporate exempt status, charitable trust status and range of services 
provided; 

 

C) List of current employees, including the name of the Administrator; 
 

D) List of current board members, including their names, home phone 

numbers and addresses;  
 

E) Copy of information the institution submitted to the Council on 
Accreditation regarding results of or information about the 
institution's consumer surveys;  

 

F) Copy of the last Annual Maintenance of Accreditation Report the 
institution filed with the Council on Accreditation;  

 

G) Copy of letter the institution has from the Council on Accreditation 

showing that the institution is fully accredited; and  
 

H) Copy of the institution's most recent audit.  
 

4) The Department shall obtain the following information from other sources 
about the institution in deemed status that is not doing business with the 
Department:  

 

A) Number of indicated child abuse/neglect investigations and licensing 
complaint investigations; 

 

B) Council on Accreditation confirmation that the institution is f ully  
accredited and in good standing. 
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d) Removal of Institution or Maternity Center from Deemed Status  
 

The following shall occur before the Department is to remove a child care institution 
or maternity center from deemed status: 

 

1) The Department shall have documentation of one or more substantiated 
violations that affect the health, safety, morals or welfare of children served 
by the institution or maternity center's program.  

 

2) After review and confirmation of the substantiated violation by the licensing 
supervisor and manager, the Central Office of Licensing shall submit a 
recommendation for removing the institution from deemed status to  a 5 -

member panel comprised of representatives from the Divisions of Quality  
Assurance, Purchase of Service Monitoring, and Program Operations, and the 
Offices of Child and Family Policy and Licensing.  

 

3) The 5-member panel shall review the recommendation for removal f rom 
deemed status.  

A) If the panel concurs with the recommendation, the panel shall 
forward the recommendation to the Director for final approval.  

B) If the panel does not concur with the recommendation, the institution 
or maternity center will maintain deemed status.  

 

4) The Department shall notify the institution or maternity center in writing of 
the Director's decision to remove or maintain the institution in deemed status.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 
Section 404.6  Provisions Pertaining to License  

 
a) A child care institution license is valid for four years unless revoked by the 

Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee.  
 

b) The child care institution shall adhere to the provisions specified on the license.  
 

c) The following changes in licensing status shall occur only upon prior approval of the 
Department:  

 
1) the age or characteristics of children served;  

 
2) the licensed capacity; or  

 
3) the area within the institution used for children.  
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d) The license shall not be transferred to another person, or other legal entity, nor shall 

it be valid for a name or an address other than that shown on the license.  

 
e) The license capacity of the institution shall not be increased unless the facility is in 

compliance with licensing standards.  
 

f) A current license shall be displayed at the institution in an area visible to the public at 
all times.  

 
g) There shall be no fee or charge for the license.  

 
h) The institution's code of ethics adopted by the governing body must be at least as 

stringent as the Code of Ethics for Child Welfare Professionals (published by the 
Office of Communications, Department of Children and Family Services, 406 E. 

Monroe Street, Station #65, Springfield, Illinois 62701, May 1996, or found on the 
Department's website at www.state.il.us/dcfs). 

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 
Section 404.7  Provisions Pertaining to Permits  

 
a) A permit shall not be issued until:  

 
1) the application for license has been completed and signed by an officer of the 

governing body of the child care institution or maternity center and submitted 
to the Department;  

 
2) written clearances concerning compliance with the fire, health, sanitation, 

local zoning, and safety requirements as specified in State laws and 
municipal codes are received.  If well water is used, a copy of the inspection 

report and certification of compliance with local or Illinois Department of 
Public Health regulations is on file;  

 
3) a person in charge of the administration and operation of the child care 

institution who has passed the background check requirements of  89 Ill.  
Adm. Code 385, Background Checks has been employed;  

 
4) furnishings, equipment and space sufficient for the number of children to be 

served have been acquired;  
 

5) child care staff sufficient for the number of children to be served have been 
hired;  
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6) a written plan has been filed which requires provision of  food, clothing, 

educational and religious opportunities and health care of children to meet 

the physical, spiritual, mental and health needs of the children;  
 

7) the facility has established procedures and forms to maintain required and 
necessary records including records on the children served;  

 
8) a written plan on how the requirements for licensure will be met has been 

developed within the permit period;  
 

9) references and medical reports on all staff, including the administrator, are on 
file at the institution; and  

 
10) demonstration of financial capability through a projected budget and letters 

of commitment from the sources of income specified in the budget.  
 

b) A permit shall not be issued retroactively.  
 

c) The permit shall not be transferred or transmitted to another person or other legal 
entity.  

 
d) The permit shall not be valid for a name or an address different than the name and 

address shown on the issued permit.  
 

e) The permit shall not be renewable.  
 

f) The permit shall be displayed on the premises in an area visible to the public at all 
times.  

 
g) A license shall be issued any time within the six month period covered by the permit 

provided the facility achieves and maintains compliance with the Department's 
licensing standards.  

 
h) There will be no fee or charge for issuing the permit.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 
 

Section 404.8  Incorporation 

 
The child care institution or responsible governing body shall be incorporated and a copy of  the 
articles of incorporation filed with the Department at the time of application.  Later amendments or a 
certificate of dissolution shall be filed as they occur. 
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Section 404.9  Composition and Responsibilities of the Governing Body  

 
a) The governing body of an institution incorporated not-for-profit shall be a Board of 

Directors composed of at least five persons, at least one of whom shall be an Illinois 
resident.  All board members shall be of reputable and responsible character.  The 
governing body shall be responsible to the Department for maintaining the standards 
set forth in this Part. 

 
b) If incorporated as a not-for-profit corporation, the governing body shall adopt a 

conflict of interest policy that requires, at a minimum: 
 

1) that no member of the board of directors may derive any personal profit 

directly by reason of his or her membership on the board of directors or 
because of services provided to the board (the restriction of deriving profit 
from a transaction does not apply as long as the goods or services provided to 
the center or institution are priced at or below market value, and are 

documented and accessible for review by the Department or its auditors upon 
request); 

 

2) that each board member must disclose to the board any personal interest that 
he or she or any immediate family member may have in any current or 
potential matter before the board and refrain from participating in any 

decision on such matters; and 
 

3) that no member of the administrator's or the chief financial officer's 
immediate families shall serve on the board of directors for the child  care 
institution or maternity center and no member or any board member's 
immediate family may serve as administrator, the chief financial officer, or 

independent contractor of the institution; and 
 

4). That there shall be no familial relationship between the executive director 
and the chief financial officer. 

 
c) If incorporated as a for-profit corporation, the board shall adopt a code of conduct.  

 
d) The governing body shall:  

 

1) establish written by-laws;  
 

2) assure that the institution operates at all times with an on-site administrator, 
who, by official notice, is made known to the Department;  

 

3) hold at least four meetings annually;  
 

4) keep records of minutes of all Board meetings reflecting official actions of 

the Board;  
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5) officially notify the Department in writing within two days after a change in 

the administrator of the institution or within 30 days after any major changes 

in the corporate structure, including, but not limited to:  
 

A) changes in the articles of incorporation or bylaws;  
 

B) changes in the not-for-profit status or tax exempt status as determined 
by the Internal Revenue Service (if applicable) or its charitable 
organization status as determined by the Illinois Attorney General; 

 

C) addition of any principal shareholder owning at least five percent of 
the stock of the corporation;  

 
D) changes in the governing body or its officers; and 

 
E) other changes in services provided by the institution; 

 
6) establish written policies of the institution which shall be made available to 

all board members and employees including services to be provided by the 
institution:  admissions, personnel policies, fiscal operations, care of children 
and other policies as needed to direct the institution, such as family visitation, 
community contacts with children and the functions of the administrator;  

 
7) provide and maintain physical facilities appropriate for the program and 

supporting services;  
 

8) maintain and keep all records and documents required by this Par t in  the 
State of Illinois where they shall be readily available for licensing review;  

 
9) assure fidelity bonding of fiscally responsible officers and employees, elected 

or appointed, whether or not compensated by salary, against breach of 
fiduciary duty or the loss of monies, securities or other property which the 
institution may sustain through any fraudulent or dishonest act or acts 
committed by any officer or employee acting alone or in collusion with 

others; and  
 

10) assure that all persons working with children are of reputable character.  
 

(Source:  Amended at 31 Ill. Reg. 4704, effective March 19, 2007) 
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Section 404.10  Finances 

 
a) The agency shall maintain a degree of financial solvency that insures adequate care 

of the children for whom it has assumed responsibility. An agency is considered 
insolvent if its financial condition is such that the sum of its debts is greater than all 
of its property, at a fair valuation, exclusive of property transferred, concealed or 
removed with intent to hinder, delay or defraud its creditors.  (This def inition of 

"insolvency" is based on the definition contained in the United States Bankruptcy 
Code of 1978, 11 U.S.C. 101(26).) 

 
b) The institution shall maintain fiscal records which shall include: 

 
1) current and projected operating budget for the facility for which license is 

sought; 
 

2) financial records annually audited and certified by public accountants not 
affiliated with the institution. 

 
c) The above records shall be maintained and kept in the State of Illinois where they 

shall be readily available for review by designated Department licensing and audit 
staff. 

 
d) A certified copy of the institution's annual audit as performed by an independent 

auditor shall be submitted to authorized Department staff upon request.  
 

(Source:  Amended at 7 Ill. Reg. 3424, effective April 4, 1983)  
 

Section 404.11  The Administrator  

 
a) The administrator is that person designated by the board or owners to carry out 

established policies and procedures and the day-to-day management of the 

institution.  
 
b) An administrator shall have:  

 

1) a Master's Degree from an accredited school of social work and three years' 
work experience with children, at least two of which were in institutional or 
other residential group care programs and at least an additional two years of 
administrative experience; or  

 
2) a Master's Degree in a human services field from an accredited school and 

three years work experience with children, at least two of  which were in  
institutional or other residential group care programs and at least an 

additional two years of administrative experience; or  
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3) a Bachelor's Degree from an accredited college or university, five years' work 
experience with children, at least three of which were in institutional or other 
residential group care programs and an additional two years of administrative 

experience.  
 

c) All persons currently serving as administrators who have served in that capacity for a 

minimum of five years prior to April 1, 1997 at the institution where currently 
employed shall be deemed qualified.  

 

d) If there is no social work supervisor, the administrator shall, in addition, meet the 

qualifications for a social work supervisor as defined in Section 404.19 (Social Work 
Staff).  

 

e) A person/persons shall be appointed to act in behalf of the administrator when the 
administrator is absent.  

 

f) If the administrator is to be on leave for more than one month or has left prior to a 

replacement, the Department shall be notified of the name of the person appointed as 
acting administrator.  The acting administrator shall have the qualifications of an 
administrator.  The notification to the Department shall include documentation that 
the acting administrator meets the qualifications to be an administrator. 

 

g) The Department shall be notified when there is a change of administrator.  The 
notification shall include documentation that the individual meets the qualifications 

to be an administrator.  
 

(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 
 

Section 404.12  Administrative Coverage  
 

a) The institution shall not be left at any time, or under any circumstances, without a 

properly designated, administratively responsible person on the premises.  The 
designated administratively responsible person may be the child care worker for each 
unit, with the administrator, or someone designated by the administrator, to be on 
call.  

 

b) Program Administrator 
 

The administrator may delegate certain program responsibilities to a program 
administrator.  These may include day-to-day management of the program for 
children, supervision of program staff, staff development and training, educational 
activities and other services to children.  The program administrator shall have: 

 
1) a Master's Degree from an accredited school of social work and 3 years' work 

experience with children, at least 2 of which were in institutional or other 
residential group care programs; or 
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2) a Master's Degree in a human services field from an accredited school and 3 

years work experience with children, at least 2 of which were in institutional 

or other residential group care programs; or 

 

3) a Bachelor's Degree from an accredited college or university, 5 years' work 

experience with children, at least 3 of which were in institutional or other 

residential group care programs.  

 

c) The institution or maternity center, at all times, shall have on-site at least one official 

who, with respect to any child placed at the child care institution or maternity center, 

is designated to be the caregiver who is authorized to apply the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard to decisions involving the participation of the child in age or 

developmentally appropriate activities, and who is provided with training in how to 

use and apply the reasonable and prudent parent standard in the same manner as 

foster parents. This training will include a detailed explanation of the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard and examples of how caregivers can apply this standard in 

specific situations. (See 42 USC 671(10) and (24).)   

 

d) The institution or maternity center must seek consent in other areas in which specific 

State or federal laws limit consent authorization.  Some examples of when normalcy 

parenting does not apply include consent to medical and dental care and disclosure of 

mental health information. 

 

e) Each child shall be given the opportunity and encouraged to participate in age, 

physical, culturally and mentally appropriate activities that provide opportunities for 

normal growth and development.  This includes the opportunity to develop social 

relationships and to pursue hobbies and personal interests through participation in 

neighborhood, school and other community and group activities.  Except when the 

needs of the child and institution indicate otherwise, children shall have the 

opportunity to exchange visits with friends in the community.  When participation of 

a child less than 18 years of age in an extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, or social 

activity requires a caregiver's consent, the institution shall use normalcy parenting 

and the reasonable and prudent parent standard when determining whether to allow 

participation.  Youth 18 years of age and older do not require a guardian's consent to 

participate in these activities.   

 

f) The institution shall use normalcy parenting and the reasonable and prudent parent 

standard when determining whether to allow a foster child to visit overnight with 

friends or relatives of the child.   

 

g) If a child suffers an injury participating in an activity approved by the institution and 

the designated institution staff approving the activity acted in accordance with the 

reasonable and prudent parent standard, the Department shall hold the institution 

harmless from liability.   
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h) Travel 

 

1) The child care institution or maternity center is authorized to approve the 

child's travel within the State of Illinois.  When in-state travel will exceed 48 

hours, the group home must notify the permanency worker of the trip and 

provide the child's location and contact information. 

 

2) The institution or center is authorized to approve the child's out-of-state 

travel of up to 29 days.  Out-of-state travel of 30 days or more must be 

approved by the DCFS Guardian. When out-of-state travel will exceed 48 

hours, the group home must notify the permanency worker of the trip and 

provide the child's location and contact information. 

 

3) The institution or center shall ensure that planned travel for the child does not 

interfere with school, court, medical and other important services/treatment 

required in the child's service plan. 

 

(Source:  Amended at 42 Ill. Reg. 20351, effective October 31, 2018) 

 

Section 404.13  Child Care Workers 

        

a) Child care workers’ primary responsibility is the daily care of children. 

 

b) Child care workers shall work under the supervision of a child care supervisor and 

shall have the following qualifications:  

 

1) Be at least 18 years of age, if there is an on-site supervisor.  If there is no 

on-site supervisor, child care staff must be at least 21 years of age;  

 

2) Hold a high school diploma or GED certificate;  

 

3) Be in good physical and mental health;  

 

4) Have the capacity to accept the supervision within the child care program 

and to relate constructively to authority; and  

 

5) Demonstrate the ability to work cooperatively with other staff and a 

variety of persons external to the program, including representatives of 

other institutions and agencies and parents of the children.  

 

c) Child care workers employed as of November 30, 1981, by facilities which are 

licensed shall be deemed qualified.  

 

d) At least one-half of the child care workers shall be full-time employees.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 
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Section 404.14  Support Personnel 

 

a) Clerical and secretarial services shall be provided to maintain correspondence, 

records, bookkeeping and files in current and good order. 

 

b) A person with knowledge and experience to plan and prepare well-balanced meals in 

accordance with published nutritional standards and the needs of the children shall be 

employed. 

 

c) The institution shall have adequate support staff to assist in meal preparation, 

maintenance of the kitchen, and to keep food areas in a clean and sanitary condition. 

 

d) Adequate personnel shall be provided to assure housekeeping and maintenance 

services in all areas at all times. 

 



LICENSING STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE INSTITUTIONS  

AND MATERNITY CENTERS 

September 16, 2022 – P.T. 2022.10 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Rules 404 – (22) 

Section 404.15  Substitute Child Care Staff 

 

Substitute child care staff shall be employed to allow regular time off and vacations for child care 

staff. 

 

Section 404.16  Volunteers 

 

All volunteers shall meet the requirements for the functions they perform, shall be trained for the 

tasks they perform, and shall be under the supervision of an appropriate staff supervisor. 

 

Section 404.17  Requirements of Professional Staff 

 

Professional staff which are full-time, part-time, or consulting (employed or contractual), such as 

social workers, psychologists, psychiatrists, physicians, dentists, teachers, nutritionists, nurses, 

speech, occupational, recreational or physical therapists, etc., shall meet the respective licensing and 

registration requirements of the State of Illinois. 

 

Section 404.18  Medical and Health Services  

 

a) A qualified physician working in collaboration with the administrator shall be 

designated to assure that comprehensive medical and health services are provided 

according to the needs of the children and the requirements of this part.  

 

b) The on-call physician shall:  

 

1) be a physician licensed in the State of Illinois to practice medicine in all its 

branches;  

 

2) be on the premises at regular intervals but not less than once per month to 

personally observe and evaluate medical and health services;  

 

3) participate in the establishment of the institution's written medical policies 

and supervise the medical and health program of the institution, including 

admission and periodic examinations, immunizations and treatment 

programs, unless the resident has his/her own personal physician to perform 

these functions;  

 

4) review all prescriptions monthly and authorize their continuance in writing, 

unless the resident has his/her own personal physician to perform these 

functions;  

 

5) be responsible for the observation of applicable laws, rules and regulations in 

the prescription, storage and administration of drugs and medications;  
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6) arrange for and supervise the locked storage, use and disposal of drugs and 

medications and allow for standing orders from children's individual 

physicians for the dispensing of medications prescribed by them;  
 

7) designate persons responsible for administering medications prescribed to the 
children to be present when medications are dispensed.  Medications shall be 

consumed when a staff member is present; and  
 

8) advise on the qualifications and appointment of other medical consultants and 
specialists whose services are required.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 
 

Section 404.19  Social Work Staff 
 

a) Social work supervisors shall have a Master's Degree from an accredited school of 
social work or an equivalent Master's Degree in a human services field and two years 
of full-time experience in a social work setting. 

 

b) If the administrator qualifies as a social work supervisor, he may serve in that 
capacity. 

 

c) Child welfare workers who provide social services shall have at least a Bachelor's 
Degree and shall be under the supervision of a qualified social work supervisor.  

 

Section 404.20  Teachers 
 

Teachers employed in the institution's educational program offering academic credit, shall meet the 

requirements of the Illinois State Board of Education or a public or private Board of Education 
which conducts a system of schools at the elementary and secondary grade levels.  Such teachers 
shall have the ability and commitment to work within the institutional structure and program.  
 

Section 404.21  Recreation Staff 
 

a) Recreation workers shall have a high school diploma and the capa city to  accept 

supervision and to work cooperatively with other staff and a variety of persons 
external to the program.  Recreation workers shall demonstrate an ability to assess 
and meet the recreation and activity needs of the children. 

 

b) Recreational staff employed by facilities which are licensed when this part is adopted 
shall be deemed qualified. 
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Section 404.22  Staff Training  

 

a) There shall be an organized in-service training program to equip child care personnel 
to meet the individual and group care needs of the children.  

 
b) The in-service training program shall include content designed to familiarize staff 

with: 
 

1) licensing rules, including this Part; 
 

2) 89 Ill. Adm. Code 384 (Behavior Treatment in Residential Child Care 
Facilities); 

 
3) program and range of services provided by the facility; 

 
4) child development principles; and 

 
5) the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5]. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 

Section 404.23  Health Requirements for Staff and Volunteers 

 
a) All staff members shall have an initial medical examination which provides evidence 

that they are free of communicable diseases, including active tuberculosis, or 
physical and mental conditions which affect their ability to perform assigned duties.   

 
b) Staff shall be re-examined at least once every two years. 

 
c) Cooks, nutritionists, dietitians, kitchen helpers and others assisting in the preparation, 

serving and handling of food and utensils shall have culture tests when required by 
the examining physician or by local health ordinances. 

 
d) The above requirements are applicable to volunteers who have direct contact with 

children. 
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Section 404.24  Background Checks 

 
a) The governing body shall ensure that all prospective and current employees submit to 

fingerprinting (when required), authorize a background check and otherwise meet the 
requirements of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 (Background Checks). 

 
b) As a condition of issuance or renewal of a license by the Department, the institution 

shall require persons subject to background checks to furnish information on any 
offenses (other than a minor traffic violation) for which they have been convicted in 
accordance with the standards set forth in the Department's Rule 89 Ill. Adm. Code 
385. 

 
c) An employee may begin work while awaiting the results of the background check.  

Such employees shall not be left alone with children until the results of the initial 
background check have been received. 

 

(Source: Amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 4488, effective April 1, 1997) 
 

Section 404.25  Criteria for the Admission and Discharge of Children  
 

a) The institution shall establish written admission policies.  
 

b) Children shall be admitted only upon written consent or application of  parent or 
guardian, upon court order, or, in emergency situations, upon authorization of  an 
officer of the law or a Department child protective services worker.  No person who 

has attained age 18 shall be admitted unless referred by a parent or a guardian, 
including an agency having legal responsibility for the person under 705 ILCS 405/2-
27.  

 

c) The institution shall assess with the referring agency, child and/or family the child's 
need for placement, the purpose for referral to the specific institution, and the 
institution's ability to serve the child.  

 

d) A plan for services for the child and family shall be in writing, shall be reviewed at 
least every 6 months, and shall be signed by all the parties involved.  The plan shall 
describe the services to be provided, describe how they will meet the needs of the 

child and family, describe how they are directed toward resolution of the need for 
placement, and establish a time frame for termination of services and care in  the 
facility.  

 

e) Referrals from and acceptance of out-of-state children for care shall be in accordance 
with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 328 (Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children) and 
other applicable laws and rules.  
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f) Prior to placement, information and documents about a child shall be obtained from 

the respective parent or guardian or from the referring agency at the time of 

admission; however, if any of this information does not exist, is not available, or is 
not provided, the institution shall include in its record a written statement from the 
referral source to that effect.  

 

g) The information and documents shall include:  
 

1) name, birthdate, sex, race, religion, legal status and current address of  the 
child;  

 
2) names, addresses and telephone numbers of parents, significant relatives, 

guardian, referring agency and referring agency social worker;  
 

3) name and address of the school last attended, current placement, school 
report and/or information on the child's educational needs;  

 
4) name, address and telephone number of the doctor, clinic or hospital 

currently or recently treating the child;  
 

5) financial and insurance resources available to the child; and  
 

6) listing of prior placements with length of time and reasons for placement and 
change.  

 
h) Medical data about the child shall include:  

 
1) complete medical history including current problems, medications and 

handicaps, past health conditions such as diseases, allergies and surgeries, 
immunizations and dates, and a report of the most recent physical 

examination;  
 
2) all available information pertaining to the health history of the child's family; 

and  

 
3) if any of this information regarding medical history of the child or family of 

the child does not exist, the institution shall include in its record a written 
statement from the referral source to that effect.  

 
i) Social data about the child and his family describing pertinent past experiences and 

circumstances leading to the child's admission shall include:  
 

1) significant behavioral problems of the child;  
 
2) child's strengths and areas of need;  



LICENSING STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE INSTITUTIONS  

AND MATERNITY CENTERS 

December 27, 2021 – P.T. 2021.10 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Rules 404 – (27) 

 
3) physical description of the child;  
 

4) current family situation;  
 
5) relationship of child and family or other significant adults;  
 

6) relationship of child to peers, adults;  
 
7) immediate and long-range goals;  
 

8) results and dates of prior psychiatric or psychological evaluations or tests; 
and  

 
9) consents and agreements as required.  

 
j) Any child who, after attempts have been made to meet the child's individual needs, 

demonstrates the inability to benefit from the type of care offered by the institution, 
or whose presence is detrimental to the group, shall be discharged from the 

institution. 
 

k) In all instances, when an institution decides that it is in the best interest of the child to 
terminate enrollment, the child's and parents' or guardian's needs shall be considered 

by planning with the parents or guardian to meet the child's needs when he or she 
leaves the institution, including referrals to other institutions, agencies or facilities. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 
Section 404.26  Admission Preparation Requirements 

 
Preparation of the child for his admission shall include involvement of the child in planning in  a 

manner considerate of his age and ability to participate and shall include a specific e ffort to help him 
understand the purpose for the placement and the importance of the placement for him.  
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Section 404.27  Agreements and Consents Between Responsible Parties 
 

a) Written agreements for care and service shall be entered into between the institution 
and the parent or guardian and the referring agency, in order to protect the interest of 
the child and all other parties concerned and shall include: 

 

1) arrangements for board payments, clothing, medical care, allowances and 
other expenditures required on behalf of the child; 

 

2) conditions under which psychological and psychiatric services are to be 
provided on behalf of a child and/or his family; 

 

3) arrangements for special training, education or educational alternatives, the 
arts, vocations and religious training; 

 

4) arrangements for continuing contacts between the institution and other 
responsible parties and between the child and other responsible parties; 

 

5) the role of each responsible party related to direct services for the child 
and/or family; 

 

6) reports, conferences, and other means to be used for communication between 
the institution and other responsible parties; and 

 

7) names and addresses of those who have been and will continue to be 
involved with the child and family and are of importance to the child.  This 
includes the social work staff person responsible for the child. 

 

b) Written consents from legally responsible persons (parent, court, or other legal 
custodian or guardian) shall be obtained for certain acts of a child or perf ormance of 
certain acts on his behalf, including but not limited to: 

 

1) health care and treatment, including medical, surgical, psychiatric, and 
dental; 

 

2) use of psychoactive drugs; 
 

3) religious instruction and/or church attendance in a different faith; 
 

4) work programs, induction into the armed services, driving a car and car 
ownership; 

 

5) extensive visits, trips, or excursions whether sponsored by the institution or 
others; 

 

6) use of photographs for publicity or other purposes; 
 

7) consent to marriage for children under age 18; and 
 

8) changing the child's living arrangement to another physical site. 
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Section 404.28  Child Care Groupings  
 

a) Groupings and supervision of children shall provide for individual attention and 
consideration of each child.  Groups shall consist of a maximum of 15 children.  

 

b) Child care staff shall provide appropriate supervision to children at all times.  
 

c) There shall be:  
 

1) no more than 12 children when there are children between 6 and 12 years of 
age in the group;  

 

2) no more than 5 children when there are children between 2 and 6 years of age 
in the group; and  

 

3) no more than 6 children when there are children under 2 years of age in the 

group.  
 

d) In case of an emergency the institution must be able to provide for the safety of the 

children.  
 

e) Two or more groups may share common programs and living accommodations but 
sufficient numbers of child care workers shall be maintained.  

 

f) Children under 18 years of age whose parents serve as staff members maintaining a 
residence in the institution shall be included in determining the license capacity if  

they:  
 

1) live in the same quarters as children accepted for care; and  
 

2) have been admitted for direct care by the institution on the same basis as 
other children.  

 

g) The institution shall assign one or more child care workers for direct supervision of 
each group to be on duty and readily available while the children are awake and on 
the premises.  Girls shall be under the direct supervision of adult female staff while 
in their living quarters.  

 

h) For night time supervision, there shall be at least one person on duty and awake for 
each two groups occupying common or attached living quarters. Girls shall be under 

the direct supervision of adult female staff during the night.  Additional staff shall be 
on call in case of emergency or other need.  

 

1) The awake night staff requirements may be waived in writing by the Director 

of the Department or his designee for an institution, or that portion of an 
institution, wherein groups of up to ten children are the responsibility of child 
care staff who share family style living quarters.  
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2) A request for a waiver of the night staff requirement shall be in writing and it 
shall be the responsibility of the facility to demonstrate that the well-being of 
the children will be protected by other means.  No waiver may be granted for 

a group wherein one or more children has been diagnosed as mentally 
retarded, developmentally disabled or physically incapacitated.  

 

i) Each child shall be assigned to a group and shall be provided his own bed and readily 
accessible storage space where he may keep his personal belongings and possessions.  

 

j) When the needs of individual children dictate, additional staff may be required to  

meet the needs of all children.  The appropriate ratio shall be determined through 
consultation among the parent/guardian, staff, resource personnel and the 
Department. 

 

k) Maternity centers where mothers have their children residing with them at the center 
shall consider the age of the mother, her cognitive abilities and the age and number 
of children residing with the mother when considering staffing ratios in the facility 

program plan.  The Department shall approve ratios.  
 

(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 
 

Section 404.29  Discipline of Children 
 

The use of discipline in the child care institution shall be in accordance with the standards set forth 
in the Department's rulemaking, Part 384, Discipline and Behavior Management in  Child  Care 

Facilities. 
 

Section 404.30  Controls 
 

The use of controls shall be in accordance with the standards contained in the Department's 
rulemaking, Part 384, Discipline and Behavior Management in Child Care Facilities.  
 

Section 404.31  Clothing and Personal Belongings 
 

a) Children shall be supplied with clothing required for their health, comfort, and 
physical well-being, according to their individual needs, age, and sex.  

 

b) Clothing items shall be individually selected, properly fitted, appropriate to the 

season, and in accordance with the standards of the community.  A child who is old 
enough to do so, shall be involved in the selection of his own clothing.  

 

c) All items shall be supplied in quantities necessary for school and other special uses.  
 

d) Clothing shall be appropriately identified for the child's own use.  
 

e) No used shoes or used undergarments shall be provided to a child.  



LICENSING STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE INSTITUTIONS  

AND MATERNITY CENTERS 

December 27, 2021 – P.T. 2021.10 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Rules 404 – (31) 

f) Donated clothing shall be selected with care to eliminate the use of shoddy, torn, or 
soiled garments, outmoded styles and improper sizes.  

 

g) A suitable supply of clothing shall accompany the child upon discharge f rom the 

institution.  
 

h) The facility shall assure that a child's personal valuables brought to placement and 
acquired by or given to the child, such as clothing, books, toys, gifts, private 
collections, photographs, child's private savings, allowances and other items, 

accompany the placement and are returned to the child when the child leaves the 
placement. 

 

(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 
 

Section 404.32  Personal Care and Hygiene 
 

a) Children shall be given training and supervision to help them establish good habits of 

personal care, grooming, health and hygiene.  
 

b) Each child shall be provided with combs, brushes, toothbrushes, towels, and 
washcloths, appropriately identified for his/her own use.  Feminine hygiene supplies 
shall be available for adolescent girls.  

 

c) Clean linen shall be provided at least once a week and as needed for enuretic 

children. 
 

d) Waterproof mattress covers shall be provided for all beds of enuretic children. 
 

Section 404.33  Allowances  
 

a) Personal allowance money shall be available to children based upon the child's age 
and ability to manage money.  Adolescents may be allowed to earn additional 
personal spending money.  

 

b) The institution shall assist the child in the proper handling of money.  
 

c) The institution shall have procedures for maintaining and managing a separate 
account for each child's funds.  Amounts of $300 and over shall be deposited in an 
insured account.  Reports on the status of each child's insured account shall be given 
to the child's caseworker annually.  The institution shall ensure a safe and secure 

environment for the physical protection of other forms of the child's financial assets. 
 

d) Personal financial transactions or transfer of a child's or youth's personal property 
among children or youth, children or youth and staff, and children or youth and 
volunteers/interns shall be prohibited.  This does not apply to the common practice in 
families and foster families to transfer outgrown clothes or equipment. 

 

(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 
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Section 404.34  Education 

 
a) All children between the ages of seven and 16 are required by law to attend school 

regularly.  Institutions shall comply with the law, and shall encourage each child to 
complete high school or vocational training in accordance with his aptitude. 

 
b) Children excluded from school, or unable to benefit from usual school attendance, 

shall be provided education, training, or work experience consistent with their needs 
and abilities.  Such alternate education shall meet the requirements of the Illinois 
State Board of Education. 

 

c) Children shall be permitted and encouraged to participate in extra-curricular 
activities including sports, art, and music to the extent of their interests, abilities, and 
talents. 

 

d) The institution shall maintain contact with those serving the educational needs of its 
children and shall seek their cooperation to assure that: 

 
1) children are placed in appropriate grades and programs; and 

 
2) there is periodic evaluation of individual children. 

 
e) The institution shall insure that each child has available necessary school supplies, 

materials and equipment. 
 
Section 404.35  Work and Training 

 

a) Every child shall have the opportunity to learn to assume some responsibility  f or 
himself and for household duties in accordance with his age, health, and ability. No 
child shall be permitted to do tasks which are hazardous, dangerous, or risk harm to 
the child.  Children may be assigned to household tasks in their living unit.  

 
b) Assignments and tasks shall be made according to the age, sex and abilities of the 

child and shall not interfere with the child's school program, study periods, 
recreation, sleep or other needed activities. 

 
c) The institution shall utilize its own and/or available community resources to meet the 

work training and developmental needs of the children.  Work training programs and 
employment of children shall be approved by the administration when the child is 

employed outside the institution, and shall not interfere with the child's regular 
school program, study periods, recreation, sleep or other needed activities.  
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Section 404.36  Recreation and Leisure Time 
 

a) Recreation activities play a major role in the development of children.  Recreation 
should enhance sportsmanship, coordination, and peer acceptance. 

 

b) Recreation should be appropriately planned for after school hours, weekends, and 

holidays. 
 

c) An exercise room and a yard of sufficient area to allow strenuous physical exercises 

must be accessible. 
 

d) There shall be a written policy covering recreation activities and schedules.  
 

e) Recreational activities shall include the use of recreational resources in the 
community when available and appropriate. 

 

Section 404.37  Health and Safety  
 

a) Each child shall be examined by a physician, advanced practice nurse who has a 
written collaborative agreement with a collaborating physician that authorizes the 

advanced practice nurse to perform health examinations, or a physician assistant who 
has been delegated the performance of health examinations by the supervising 
physician, within 30 days prior to placement in the institution unless the placement is 
an emergency.  In an emergency placement, the physical examination shall be 

scheduled within 5 days after placement and completed with 15 days after placement. 
 In all cases each child shall be screened for communicable diseases within 72 hours.  

 

b) Children shall be examined annually or more frequently if findings and medical 
opinions indicate need.  Diagnosed medical problems shall be promptly treated.  

 

c) Dental examinations shall be given at least annually.  Diagnosed dental defects shall 

receive prompt treatment; however, recommended orthodontia shall be referred to 
the child's legal guardian.  

 

d) In the absence of any religious exemptions, immunizations and tests shall be 
administered in accordance with standard medical practices and as required by the 
Illinois Department of Public Health.  

 

e) If treatment is in process for any physical impairment which requires continuing or 
follow-up medical attention, the parent, guardian or other facility to whom the child 
is discharged shall be so notified.  

 

f) The institution shall have a written plan for use in case of fires and natural disaster.  
The institution shall conduct fire and disaster drills with staff and children at least 
once every three months.  Records of such drills shall be kept.  At least once every 

six months, a fire marshal or other authority responsible for public safety shall view 
the drills.  
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g) Household pets shall be inoculated as required by state and local regulations.  
 

h) No firearms or ammunition shall be allowed in the institution.  
 

i) The facility may not use or have on the premises, on or after July 1, 2000, any unsafe 
children's product as described in the Children's Product Safety Act and 89 Ill. Adm. 
Code 386 (Children's Product Safety).  

 

j) Sharp scissors, plastic bags, knives, cigarettes, matches, lighters, flammable liquids, 
prescriptions and over the counter medications, sharp instruments, power tools, 
cleaning supplies, and any other such items that might be harmful to children shall be 
kept in areas inaccessible to children.  Hazardous items for infants and toddlers also 

include coins, balloons, safety pins, marbles, Styrofoam© and similar products, and 
sponge, rubber or soft plastic toys.  Items such as cleaning supplies, kitchen utensils, 
used for skill building for children age 12 and older, shall be used with appropriate 
staff supervisions. 

 

k) All cleaning compounds, pesticides, fertilizers and other potentially hazardous or 
explosive compounds or agents shall be stored in original containers with legib le 

labels in a locked area that is inaccessible to children. 
 

l) Staff shall not abuse or neglect children and shall protect children from harm at all 
times.  

 

m) No child shall be subjected to corporal punishment, verbal abuse, threats or 
derogatory remarks about the child or the child's family. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 

Section 404.38  Food and Nutrition  
 

a) Food shall be prepared and served using the food guide pyramid provided by the 
United States Department of Agriculture Center for Nutrition to meet the nutritional 
needs of the children.  

 

b) Food products from home-raised animals shall meet the standards of the Illinois 
Departments of Agriculture and Public Health.  

 

c) Special dietary needs of children shall be met as medically prescribed.  
 

d) The institution shall consider nutritional needs in relationship to sex, age, religious 
beliefs and cultural influences.  

 

e) Meals shall be served under clean and sanitary conditions.  
 

f) Three balanced meals shall be served each day.  The time span between service of 
one meal and the next meal shall not be greater than 14 hours (overnight).  
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g) Children shall be encouraged to eat food served, but shall not be subjected to undue 

coercion or forced feeding.  
 

h) Staff members shall be present to provide supervision for children during meal times.  
 

i) If meals are provided to on-duty staff, they shall be substantially the same as those 
served children (unless a special diet due to medical needs or religious belief s is 
required).  

 

j) Menus shall be prepared and posted one week in advance of actual service.  
 

k) Records of all meals actually served shall be retained for one year and shall be 
available for periodic review and evaluation.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 

Section 404.39  Professional Services 
 

a) Each child and family shall be assigned a child welfare worker.  The assigned child 

welfare worker shall have weekly in-person contact with each child.  The child 
welfare worker shall assist in: 

 

1) planning for individual care, treatment, and discharge which shall include 
evaluation of the individual problems and needs of the child with 
determination of the specific treatment and social work services required.  
Plans shall include an analysis of those problems that preclude the child from 

remaining in a family setting, preferably in his own home, or in another less 
restrictive placement.  Plans shall also include behavioral objectives for the 
child that, when achieved, shall lead to the child's discharge.  Discharge plans 
shall specify ongoing support services to allow the child to function 

satisfactorily after discharge from the institution. Joint planning is 
recommended by all involved parties whenever possible. 

 

2) reviewing each child's current situation including progress, problems, and 

needs at least every six months. The review shall include revision of the plans 
for the child and an explanation of the child's progress toward achieving his 
service goals and behavioral objectives. In addition, the service plan shall 
include a statement of the specific treatments that have been given the child 

and any further treatment that is planned; 
 

3) planning the children's visits and contacts with their families or other persons 

who have established a parenting bond with them. Weekly visitations with 
these persons shall be encouraged. To the extent he is able, the child shall 
participate in planning the visits; and 
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4) the decision-making process around such issues as subsequent placement, 

termination or change in the treatment plan, and discharge from care shall be 
reviewed by the social work supervisor before implementation. When 
needed, these decisions shall result in a revised service plan. 

 

b) The child welfare worker shall assist families and children in: 
 

1) understanding the need for placement; 
 

2) developing and maintaining a continuing relationship with parents, siblings 
and other relatives unless clearly contraindicated by specific factors in the 
family situation; and 

 

3) planning for and implementing the child's return home or other aftercare. 
 

c) Social, psychological and psychiatric evaluation and treatment shall be provided to 
children in need of such services by qualified personnel. 

 

d) The institution shall maintain an average of  one full time child welfare worker (or 
equivalent) to every 25 children receiving services. 

 
Section 404.40  Visitation 
 

a) Children shall be allowed to visit families other than their own and friends in  the 
community when the living conditions of the family to be visited are known and the 
visits are approved by the institution. The child and persons to be visited shall have 

opportunity to become acquainted prior to overnight visits. 
 

b) The institution shall have a written agreement with the parent or guardian f or the 

child to permit visiting overnight with families and friends in the community.  
 

c) The institution shall assure that visits with the child, on or off the facility's premises, 
are in the child's best interests. The institution shall have continuing responsibility for 

the children who are visiting outside the institution. 
 

d) The persons with whom the child visits overnight shall be: 
 

1) made aware of the responsibilities they assume for the child; 
 

2) informed how to handle possible emergencies; and 
  

3) given specific instructions on how to reach a representative of the institution 
should the need arise. 

 

e) Visits shall not be arranged for the primary purpose of accommodating persons 
wishing to take a child nor for the purpose of temporarily closing the institution nor 

for reducing workload of staff nor to have simultaneous vacations or relief periods. 
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Section 404.41  Community Life 

 
The institution shall encourage and provide opportunities for children, individually and in groups, to 

participate in available community services, facilities and programs. 
 
Section 404.42  Religion 
 

a) The religious beliefs and rights of children shall be legally protected. 
 

b) Each child shall be given religious instruction of his own faith, or that of his parents, 

unless there is written consent of the parent or guardian (if residual parental rights 
have been legally terminated) for the child to participate in religious instruction and 
to attend the facility of another faith.  This shall include consent to baptism or 
confirmation. 

 

c) Children shall be permitted to participate in religious services either singly or in 
groups. 

 
Section 404.43  Termination of Residential Care 
 

a) Termination of care in the child care institution for those persons over age 18 shall 

occur no later than 90 days following completion of a public school secondary 
education program or the individual's eligibility for such an educational program, as 
specified in Ill. Rev. Stat. 1983, ch. 122, par. 10-20.12, whichever occurs first. 

 

b) The institution shall have a written policy pertaining to the conditions which children 
may be terminated from institutional care and served in a less restrictive placement. 

 

c) Termination of institutional care shall be part of the ongoing program planning for 
the child's care and treatment.  A discharge plan shall specify the child's behavioral 
objectives to be achieved through the institution's treatment program.  Minimal 
behavioral criteria for the child's discharge shall be specified if there is no permanent 

physical or mental incapacity which would otherwise prevent the child from living in 
a less restrictive environment.  A diagnosis of emotional disturbance or mental 
illness shall not void the institution's obligation to specify behavioral criteria f or 
discharge planning.   

 
d) The child and family shall participate in the planning for termination of institutional 

care to the best of their ability and insofar as such planning with the family is 
feasible.  They shall be helped to understand the reasons for termination. 

 
e) A report on the child's current situation and documentation pertaining to his health, 

birth, family, legal status, school and religious affiliation shall be provided to  the 
child's parent or guardian at the time care is terminated. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 9 Ill. Reg. 19712, effective December 20, 1985)  
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Section 404.44  Buildings  

 
a) Buildings shall be maintained in compliance with state and local ordinances for 

health, safety and sanitation.  
 
b) The institution shall receive inspection annually and clearance from:  

 

1) the Illinois Department of Public Health or local health department; and  
 

2) the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal, or designated local fire 

departments.  
 
c) The institution shall establish and maintain a program for the upkeep, repair, and 

replacement of buildings.  

 
d) Housekeeping and repair programs shall be scheduled and shall be the responsibility 

of housekeeping and maintenance personnel.  
 

e) No business shall be conducted on the institution premises that would intrude upon, 
deter, or interfere with the child care activities or services.  

 
f) An institution or organization proposing to construct a new child care institution, to 

relocate, or to undertake major remodeling of buildings shall:  
 

1) notify the Department of such plans;  
 

2) submit building plans for approval to state and local offices if required by 
law or regulation; and  

 

3) not allow children to occupy any buildings under construction or undergoing 
major remodeling.  

 

g) Architectural plans for new, remodeled or replaced buildings shall be suited to the 
child care function of the institution and its program needs.  

 
h) The institution shall not permit occupancy of any new, remodeled, or relocated 

building until state or local fire and health authorities have inspected and approved 
such buildings.  
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i) Living quarters for children shall:  
 
1) be well ventilated, properly lighted, and well heated;  

 
2) be of adequate size and privacy to conform to good standards of health; and  
 
3) meet the children's basic and individual needs.  

 
j) Sleeping rooms for children shall:  

 
1) be separate for boys and girls over 6 years of age;  

 
2) provide at least 40 square feet of floor space per child, including rooms for 

single occupancy;  
 

3) provide each child with his own bed and readily accessible storage space 
where he may keep his personal belongings and possessions; and  

 
4) be equipped with furnishings including but not limited to chairs, tables, 

desks, mirrors, and bed linen, in good repair.  
 
k) Lavatory, bath, and toilet facilities for children shall:  

 

1) consist of one toilet and one lavatory for every 6 children;  
 
2) be equipped with hot and cold running water and shall be located near the 

sleeping quarters;  

 
3) be separate for boys and girls;  
 
4) consist of at least one tub or shower for every 8 children; and  

 
5) be equipped with mirrors and areas for storage of toilet articles and for 

hanging towels and wash cloths, unless provided individually in sleeping 
areas.  

 
l) Other living unit areas shall include:  

 
1) living rooms large enough to accommodate the free and informal use by the 

children of the unit;  

2) availability of areas for special or quiet activities of individuals and groups; 
and  

3) storage space for supplies and equipment not in use.  
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m) The administrator who lives on the premises shall be provided with living quarters 
separate from those used by the children.  

 

n) Staff members who live on the premises shall be provided with sleeping rooms and 
bath facilities separate from those used by the children.  

 
o) Dining facilities and equipment shall be provided for all children and staff residing 

on the premises.  
 
p) Kitchen facilities shall provide for efficient and sanitary preparation, storage and 

service of food and for the proper cleaning, sanitizing and storage of all equipment 

and utensils in accordance with Department of Public Health requirements.  
 
q) There shall be adjacent, readily accessible hand washing and toilet facilities for the 

use of kitchen staff and helpers with posting of public health warning to remind food 

handlers, dishwashers, and other kitchen helpers to make use of hand washing 
facilities after toileting, grooming, and smoking.  

 
r) Children should be instructed in the proper use of laundry equipment facilities before 

they are permitted to use them.  Appliances shall be equipped with safety devices.  
 
s) There shall be office facilities and equipment for efficient conduct of the institution's 

business affairs.  

 
t) Formal classrooms located on the premises shall be housed in areas so planned or 

arranged that one program or activity does not intrude or interfere with another.  
 

u) There shall be rooms on the premises where children can see family, visitors, and 
professional staff in privacy and without undue or unnecessary interruptions.  

 
v) Facilities including toilets, lavatories, drinking fountains and telephones shall be 

available to accommodate non-resident staff and visitors.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 

Section 404.45  Grounds 
 

The grounds of the institution shall be well drained and maintained in safe condition.  Debris shall be 

removed and hazardous conditions remedied with safety devices such as fences, barriers and outdoor 
lighting. 
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Section 404.46  Equipment 
 

a) The institution shall provide, store and maintain equipment necessary to carry out the 
functions of its various services and programs. 

 

b) There shall be communication provided by telephone or other inter-communication 

system between buildings and units for reaching staff and children. 
 

c) Recreation equipment used shall be maintained in a safe condition. 

 
Section 404.47  Records and Reports  
 

a) The institution shall maintain records on each child receiving services and all agency 

personnel, and in addition, shall submit certain reports as prescribed by the 
Department.  These records and reports shall be confidential.  Authorized 
representatives of the Department shall have access to the records and reports.  All 
persons with access to the records and reports shall respect their confidential nature.  

 

b) The institution shall submit to the Department of Children and Family Services such 
periodic and special reports as may be required.  

 

c) The institution shall state in the child's record and shall report to the child's parent, 
guardian and the Department licensing representative any unusual incidents or 
serious occurrences involving children.  These incidents and occurrences shall be 

reported immediately by telephone, fax or other electronic means to the Department 
licensing representative and confirmed in writing within 48 hours after the 
occurrence.  These incidents and occurrences (see 89 Ill. Adm. Code 331 (Unusual 
Incidents)) include serious accident or injury requiring extensive medical care or 

hospitalization; death; arrest; alleged abuse or neglect; major fire or other emergency 
situations; or any serious incident which results in legal action by or against the 
institution, which affects any child or children, personnel, or conduct of the 
institution.  

 

d) A permanent record and master file card shall be maintained for every child under 
care which shall include:  

 

1) name, birthdate, sex, race, religion and legal status of the child;  
 

2) names, addresses and telephone numbers of parents, significant relative s, 
guardian, referring agency and social worker;  

 

3) dates of admission and termination of care;  
 

4) information pertaining to the circumstances and reasons for termination of 
care;  
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5) names, relationship, address and telephone number of the persons with whom 

the child resides following termination of care;  
 

6) summaries of evaluation conferences; and  
 

7) the child's health, including current health evaluations, medical and dental 
reports, psychological and psychiatric examination reports, illnesses,  
treatment and persons providing treatment, charting of medication including 
type, dosage, time and signature of persons dispensing the medication, any 

history of alcoholism or drug addiction.  
 

e) In addition to the permanent record, the institution shall maintain active records 

containing the admission study and ongoing data including important documents 
pertaining to birth, family, legal status, school, religious affiliation, health findings 
and treatment and consents and other documents as appropriate.  

 

f) Children's records shall also include the child's adjustment, functioning and progress 
in:  

 

1) group interaction; staff and peer relationships;  
 

2) school or work;  
 

3) special skills, interests and activities;  
 

4) the community;  
 

5) relationship with his family and significant changes in the family;  
 

6) relationship and contacts with guardian, and other agencies;  
 

7) treatment services provided the child;  
 

8) reducing behavioral problems to enable him to live in a less restrictive 
setting; and  

 

9) interaction with his family during visitation.  
 
g) Records shall be maintained for all employees and, in addition, for each volunteer 

who has responsibility for the direct care or supervision of children.  These records 
shall contain all pertinent information relative to character, suitability, qualifications 
for the position, health, 3 pre-employment references, history of employment for the 
last 5 years, and at a minimum, annual evaluations of performance.  Personnel 

records shall include the date of employment and the date and reasons for separation. 
These records shall be available for Department review.  
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h) The institution shall maintain and submit reports on staff and volunteers to the 

Department on forms prescribed by the Department.  

 
1) An individual report on each new employee (including owner, operator, or 

director) shall be filed with the Department; a copy of this report shall be 
kept at the facility.  

 
2) For all new hires, a complete authorization for background checks, as 

required by 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 (Background Checks) must be submitted 
to the Department Central Office of Licensing within 2 business days after 

beginning employment. 
 
3) Changes of the administrator shall be forwarded to the licensing 

representative of the Department, within 2 business days after the change. If 

the 2 day notification is submitted electronically or by phone, written 
confirmation, with documentation of credentials as required by Section 
404.11, shall be submitted to the Department licensing representative within 
10 business days.  All other staff changes should be reported monthly to the 

licensing representative. 
 
4) Copies of documentation of medical information and verification of 

educational achievement.  

 
i) The institution shall maintain a separate file of the results of the background check 

required by Section 404.24 and 89 Ill. Adm. 385 (Background Checks).  
 

j) The institution shall maintain in its official records the major decisions and policies 
of the governing body or board.  

 
k) Financial records of operations including a copy of the annual independent certified 

audit shall be maintained as part of the permanent records of the institution.  
 
l) The institution shall provide safe, locked places for maintenance, safe storage and 

preservation of confidential and business records.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 
Section 404.48  Records Retention 

 
Personnel, general and financial records required of the institution shall be maintained for five years. 
 Children's records shall be maintained for five years after the child reaches the age of majority.  
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Section 404.49  Transportation  

 
A child care institution or maternity center providing transportation services on a regular basis shall 

comply with the driver licensing, Rules of the Road, financial responsibility, vehicle equipment and 
vehicle inspection provisions of the Illinois Vehicle Code [625 ILCS 5].  
 

a) The driver of a vehicle transporting children on behalf of a child care institution or 

maternity center, whether paid or unpaid, shall comply with the following 
requirements: 

 
1) be 21 years of age or older; 

 
2) currently holds a valid driver's license that has not been revoked or 

suspended for one or more traffic violations during the 3 years immediately 
prior to the date of application; 

3) demonstrates physical fitness to operate vehicles (the results of a medical 
examination conducted by a licensed physician shall be kept on file at the 
center or institution); 

 

4) has not been convicted of more than 2 offenses against traffic regulations 
governing the movement of vehicles within a 12 month period; 

 
5) has not been convicted of reckless driving or driving under the influence or 

manslaughter or reckless homicide resulting from the operation of a motor 
vehicle within the past 3 years; 

 
6) has signed and submitted a written statement certifying that he/she has not, 

through the unlawful operation of a motor vehicle, caused an accident that 
resulted in the death of any person within the 5 years immediately prior to the 
date of application. 

 

b) Any child care institution or maternity center may provide for transportation of a 
child or children for special outings, functions or purposes that are not scheduled on 
a regular basis without verification that drivers for such purposes meet the 
requirements of this Section.  

 
c) A child care institution or maternity center driver application shall be submitted to 

the Department and a copy of the current medical form shall be maintained in the 
institution's or center's files for any individual who transports children regularly on 

behalf of the center or institution. 
 
d) Any individual who holds a valid unrestricted Illinois school bus driver permit issued 

by the Secretary of State pursuant to the Illinois Vehicle Code and who is currently 

employed by a school district, parochial school, or a contractor with a school district 
or parochial school to drive a school bus transporting children to and from school 
shall be deemed in compliance with the requirements of subsections (a) and (c).  
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e) The institution or maternity center shall have and enforce written safety procedures 

for transporting children. 

 

f) The number of children transported in a vehicle shall not exceed the manufacturer's 

rated passenger capacity. 

 

g) Age-appropriate safety restraints that are federally approved and labeled as such shall 

be used at all times when transporting children in vehicles having a gross weight of 

less than 10,000 pounds, except that individual safety restraints shall not be required 

when children ride as passengers in taxicabs or common carriers or public utilities 

operating under the jurisdiction of the Illinois Commerce Commission.  No more 

than one child may be in each seat belt.   

 

h) Any vehicle used for the transportation of children on behalf of the institution shall 

be equipped with a first aid kit when used for transporting children.   

 

i) A written emergency plan to be followed in case of accidents, serious illness or 

severe weather alerts and other pertinent information shall be maintained.  The 

emergency plan shall remain in the possession of the driver while en route. 

 

(Source:  Section 404.49 renumbered to Section 404.50; new Section 404.49 adopted at 29 

Ill. Reg. 9976, effective July 1, 2005) 

 

Section 404.50  Severability of This Part  

 

If any court of competent jurisdiction finds that any Section, clause, phrase, or provision of this Part 

is unconstitutional or invalid for any reason whatsoever, this finding shall not affect the validity of 

the remaining portions of this Part.  

 

(Source:  Section 404.50 renumbered from Section 404.49 and amended at 29 Ill. Reg. 9976, 

effective July 1, 2005) 

 

Section 404.51  Residential Case Management Supervisors 

 

a) Each child care institution or a maternity center may establish a residential case 

management supervisor position. 

 

b) The duties of residential case management supervisors shall include but are not 

limited to: 

 

1) Set up and maintain case files in accordance with proper standards. 

 

2) Develop treatment plans. 

 

3) Conduct treatment plan reviews. 
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4) Conduct admissions and discharges. 

 

5) Serve as liaison with social workers, family members and other parties. 

 

6) Conduct and document monthly wellness checks. 

 

7) Coordinate arrangements for all medical care. 

 

8) Assist with supervision of residents, as needed. 

 

9) Provide after care services on a scheduled basis and as needed. 

 

c) All persons employed as residential case management supervisors are required to 

be in full compliance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 412 and all other applicable 

requirements in Department laws and regulations.  In addition, a person must 

possess the following qualifications to work as a residential case management 

supervisor: 

 

1) Bachelor’s degree in social work or human/social services with 1 year of 

experience in a residential care setting; or 

 

2) Bachelor’s degree that has been approved as academically equivalent to a 

social work or human services related degree with 1 year of experience in 

a residential care setting. 

 

(Source:  Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 

 

Section 404.52  Child Care Supervisors 

 

a) There shall be at least one child care supervisor who shall be a full-time employee.  

The administrator or another person qualified as a child care supervisor may fill the 

position.  Child care supervisors employed as of November 30, 1981 by facilities 

which are licensed, shall be deemed qualified. 

 

b) The duties of child care supervisors shall include but are not limited to: 

 

1) Provide direct supervision to child care workers and children in a child care 

institution or maternity center. 

 

2) Coordinate proper coverage and oversee the daily operations of the child care 

institution or maternity center. 

 

3) Coach children on independent living skills such as housekeeping, shopping, 

meal preparation, and personal hygiene and activity planning. 
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4) Plan and implement weekly skills groups. 

 

5) Co-leads group and activities. 

 

6) Engage with children about children’s goals and interests. 

 

7) Assist with rotating on-call duties. 

 

c) All persons employed as child care supervisors are required to be in full compliance 

with all applicable requirements in Department laws and regulations, and must meet 

the qualifications in at least one of subsections (c)(1) through (4).  A person 

qualifying under subsections (c)(2) or (3) must go through the approval processes 

described in Sections 404.53 through 404.56: 

 

1) Be at least 25 years of age; have 2 years of college credits; 2 years of full-

time experience in a residential child care program; demonstrate skill in 

working with and managing children of the type served in the program; and 

demonstrate ability to work cooperatively with administration staff and 

persons external to the program; or 

 

2) Bachelor’s degree in social work or related human services field; or 

 

3) 5 years of supervised experience in a congregate care milieu. 

 

4) Any individual employed as a child care supervisor prior to December 22, 

2021 may continue to be so employed and is deemed qualified unless their 

employment changes.  

 

(Source:  Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 

 

Section 404.53  Request for Approval of Applicants under Section 404.52(c)(2) or (3) 

 

When a child care institution or a maternity center wants to hire as a child care supervisor an 

applicant with qualifications under Section 404.52(c)(2) or (3), the Workforce and Educational 

Transcript Review Committee (WETRC) shall make a recommendation and the Associate Deputy of 

Agencies and Institutions Licensing (Associate Deputy) or designee shall approve the applicant 

before an offer of employment can be made. 

 

a) The child care institution’s or a maternity center’s Administrator or Human 

Resources Director shall submit, using a State of Illinois email account if one exists, 

to WETRC at DCFS.Licwrkforedu@illinois.gov the following documentation: 

 

1) Official or certified copy of high school or undergraduate level educational 

transcripts; 

 

2) Resume and/or application submitted by the applicant that details 
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employment history by identifying all past employers, positions, 

responsibilities and respective dates related to applicant’s experience in child 

welfare; 

 

3) An action plan specific to the applicant being considered for employment as a 

child care supervisor.  The plan shall include: 

 

A) 90-day probationary period; 

 

B) Measurable objectives to strengthen the person’s knowledge and 

skills in conducting the responsibilities as a child care supervisor;   

 

C) Training, including but not limited to: 

 

i) Virtual Training Center (VTC) Curriculum;  

 

ii) Mentoring;  

 

iii) Job shadowing; or 

 

iv) Additional time in supervision with a child care supervisor 

who meets the criteria under Section 404.52(c)(1). 

 

4) Current copy of the child care institution’s or maternity center’s accreditation 

standards addressing educational credentials and experience requirements for 

human resources.  

 

b) Child care institutions' and maternity centers' recruitment shall focus on attracting 

candidates for the child care supervisor position that meet the requirements of 

Section 404.52(c)(1).  The child care institution or maternity center must provide to 

the WETRC, as part of its request for approval, the following documentation to show 

its recruitment efforts. 

 

1) Child care supervisor job posting.  

 

A) Posting shall state that a candidate with the qualifications listed in 

Section 404.52(c)(1) is preferred. 

 

B) Posting may indicate that a candidate with the qualifications listed in 

Section 404.52(c)(2) or (3) is acceptable only if approved by the 

Associate Deputy or designee subsequent to a recommendation from 

WETRC. 

 

2) A summary of recruitment efforts other than a job posting. 
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3) An employee roster of all child care supervisors with the following 

information: 

 

A) Current title; 

 

B) Educational credentials; 

 

C) Work experience; and 

 

D) Hire date. 

 

4) If an applicant with the qualifications listed in Section 404.52(c)(1) applied 

for the child care supervisor position but was not selected, the child care 

institution or maternity center must provide a written statement indicating the 

reasons for not selecting the candidate. 

 

(Source:  Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 

 

Section 404.54  Workforce and Educational Transcript Review Committee (WETRC) 

 

a) For purposes of this Part, the Workforce and Educational Transcript Review 

Committee (WETRC) established in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 401 shall, in addition to any 

other duties listed in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 401 and 403, perform the following 

functions: 

 

1) For applicants with qualifications under Section 404.52(c)(2) or (3), review 

the documentation submitted pursuant to Section 404.53 and recommend 

approving or denying the request. 

 

2) For applicants with a Bachelor’s degree in another field who have completed 

significant course work that may qualify as human services course work, the 

committee shall review all transcripts and course information and make a 

decision on the equivalency of the degree to a human services degree.  

 

b) The WETRC shall follow the same review process enumerated in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 

401 and 403. Specifically: 

 

1) The chair person or designee shall view the committee’s mailbox 

DCFS.Licwrkforedu@illinois.gov on daily basis. 

 

2) The chair person shall review all documents received, develop a written 

summary of the applicant’s qualifications and forward the summary with 

supporting documents to all WETRC members via their respective State of 

Illinois e-mail addresses before the scheduled review by the committee. 
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3) The chair person shall schedule a meeting of WETRC the 1st and 3rd Fridays 

of every month.  If a holiday falls on the scheduled date, the committee will 

meet the next following business day.  Based on the number of requests for 

approval and availability of the committee members, the DCFS Committee 

Chair may schedule additional meetings.  The purpose of the meeting is for 

the members to review, discuss and recommend by majority of members 

present to approve or deny the request.  For purposes of this subsection, 4 

members present constitutes a majority.  The chair person shall not vote 

unless to break a tie. 

 

4) Within 5 business days following the meeting, the chair person shall send the 

following documentation to the Associate Deputy, Deputy Director of 

Licensing and all the committee members:  

 

A) Documentation received under Section 404.53; and 

 

B) Written memorandum which states the committee’s recommendation 

and the reasons supporting the recommendation. 

 

(Source:  Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 

 

Section 404.55  Final Administrative Decision 

 

a) The Associate Deputy or designee shall make the final administrative decision 

whether to approve or deny a request to approve an applicant with qualifications 

under Section 404.52(c)(2) or (3) for a child care supervisor position.  The Associate 

Deputy or designee shall review the documentation received under Section 404.53 

and the written memorandum with the WETRC's recommendation and shall issue a 

final written administrative decision within 5 business days of receiving the 

documentation for review under Section 404.54(b)(4).   

 

b) The final written administrative decision of the Associate Deputy or designee is not 

appealable within the agency. 

 

c) Upon issuance, the final written administrative decision shall be sent to the 

following:  

 

1) Administrator or Human Resources Director of the child care institution or 

maternity center making the initial request; 

 

2) Deputy Director of Licensing; 

 

3) Chair person of the WETRC; and 

 

4) The assigned Agencies and Institutions Licensing staff for requesting child 

care institution or maternity center. 
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d) A final written administrative decision shall be issued within 10 business days from 

the meeting at which the WETRC reviewed the request.  The request will not be 

considered automatically approved if the final written administrative decision is not 

reached within ten business days from the meeting at which the WETRC reviewed 

the request.  A written notification of an extension shall be sent to the Administrator 

or Human Resources Director of the child care institution or maternity center making 

the initial request, if an extension is needed to process the request. 

 

(Source:  Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 

 

Section 404.56  Supervision 

 

An applicant with qualifications under Section 404.52(c)(2) or (3) approved for the child care 

supervisor shall be under the direct supervision of a program administrator or a residential case 

management supervisor.  

 

(Source:  Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 

 

Section 404.57  Acceptable Degrees 

 

a) The following degrees shall be accepted as human services degrees: 

 

1) Child, Family and Community Services 

 

2) Early Childhood Development 

 

3) Guidance and Counseling 

 

4) Home Economics - Child and Family Services 

 

5) Human Development Counseling 

 

6) Human Service Administration 

 

7) Human Services 

 

8) Master of Divinity 

 

9) Pastoral Care 

 

10) Pastoral Counseling 

 

11) Psychiatric Nursing 

 

12) Psychiatry 
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13) Psychology 

 

14) Public Administration 

 

15) Social Science 

 

16) Social Services 

 

17) Sociology 

 

b) The following degrees shall be accepted as academically equivalent to human 

services degrees: 

 

1) Criminal Justice 

 

2) Health Care Administration 

 

3) Health and Wellness 

 

4) Public Health Administration 

 

5) Health and Human Services 

 

6) Youth/ Family Services and Administration 

 

7) Human Services Administration 

 

8) Applied Behavioral Services 

 

9) Behavioral Analysis and Therapy 

 

10) Child and Adolescent Development 

 

11) Child Development 

 

12) Communicative Disorders with a specialization in Rehabilitation Counseling 

 

13) Community Counseling 

 

14) Counseling 

 

15) Counseling for Child Welfare Specialist 

 

16) Correctional Counseling 
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17) Education- Counseling Major 

 

18) Education- Counseling and Human Development 

 

19) Education- Guidance and Counseling 

 

20) Counseling and Organizational Psychology 

 

21) Counseling Studies 

 

22) Education Curriculum development-coursework in early childhood, 

childhood psycho-pathology, pre-school child 

 

23) Alcoholism and Drug Abuse 

 

24) Family and Consumer Sciences 

 

25) Human Behavior 

 

26) Human Development 

 

27) Human Ecology with specialization in Human Development and Family 

Studies 

 

28) Human Services and Counseling 

 

29) Leadership and Human Services Administration 

 

30) Not-for-profit Management 

 

31) Professional Counseling 

 

32) Public Management 

 

33) Rehabilitation Counseling 

 

34) Social and Behavioral Science 

 

35) Social Psychology 

 

36) Urban Education Community Counseling 

 

(Source:  Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 15266, effective August 26, 2022) 

 



LICENSING STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE INSTITUTIONS  

AND MATERNITY CENTERS 

September 16, 2022 – P.T. 2022.10 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Rules 404 – (54) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This page intentionally left blank 



1 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 

 

POLICY GUIDE 2020.02 

 

LIMITATIONS ON USE OF RECREATIONAL AND MEDICAL CANNABIS  

IN CHILD WELFARE PRACTICE 

 

 

DATE: January 3, 2020 

 

TO: DCFS and Private Agency Licensing Staff  

 

FROM: Marc D. Smith, Acting Director 

 

EFFECTIVE: Immediately 

 

 

I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to provide DCFS and Purchase of Service (POS) 

Agency staff with information regarding limitations that apply to the lawful use 

(possession, consumption, storage) of recreational and medical cannabis as it pertains to 

child welfare practice.  
 

The Department will propose amendments to rules and procedures affected by these 

statutes in the near future.  
 

II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this Policy Guide are Department and POS Agency licensing staff. 
 

Definitions: 
 

“Cannabis” has the definition as assigned in the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act.  [410 

ILCS 705] 
 

“Cannabis-infused product" means a beverage, food, oil, ointment, tincture, topical 

formulation, or another product containing cannabis that is not intended to be smoked as 

defined in the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act.  [410 ILCS 705] 
 

“Child Care Facility” means a child care facility as defined in the Child Care Act.  [225 

ILCS 10] 
 

“Medical cannabis” means cannabis products that are acquired for “medical use” as that 

term is defined in the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act.  [410 ILCS 

130] 
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III. SUMMARY OF ILLINOIS LAW 
 

The Illinois Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act and the Compassionate Use of Medical 

Cannabis Program Act regulate the possession, consumption and storage of recreational 

and medical cannabis.  The Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act was amended, effective 

January 1, 2020, to permit the recreational use of cannabis in Illinois. 
 

These Acts also contain limitations on the possession, consumption and storage of 

recreational and medical cannabis in or near licensed and unlicensed child care facilities, 

in vehicles and in the presence of persons under 21 years of age.   
 

These Acts allow for an individual to use any type of cannabis and continue to be eligible 

for initial or renewal of licensure for any type of child care facility; this includes unlicensed 

relative foster homes and employees of any licensed and unlicensed child care facility. 
 

These Acts provide numerous limitations on the use and possession of cannabis 

(which includes cannabis-infused products) as it relates to child care.  For example, 

the Acts DO NOT PERMIT: 
 

• Undertaking any task under the influence of cannabis when doing so would 

constitute negligence, professional malpractice, or professional misconduct; 
 

• Possessing cannabis in a private residence that is used at any time to provide 

licensed or unlicensed child care (day care and foster care) or other similar social 

service care on the premises;  
 

• Using cannabis in a private residence that is used at any time to provide licensed or 

unlicensed child care (day care and foster care) or other similar social service care 

on the premises; 
 

• Using cannabis in any public place;  
 

• Using cannabis knowingly in close physical proximity to anyone under 21 years of 

age who is not a registered medical cannabis patient under the Compassionate Use 

of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act;  
 

• Smoking cannabis in any place where smoking is prohibited under the Smoke Free 

Illinois Act;  
 

• Facilitating the use of cannabis by any person who is not allowed to use cannabis 

under either the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act or the Compassionate Use of 

Medical Cannabis Program Act;  
 

• Using cannabis in any motor vehicle; or  
 

• Possessing (driver or passenger) cannabis in a motor vehicle except in a sealed, 

odor-proof, child-resistant cannabis container. 
 

Any violation of these laws may subject the violator to civil or criminal penalties. 
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IV. QUESTIONS 

 

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 

Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at DCFS.Policy.  Non-Outlook users may e-mail 

questions to DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov. 

 

V. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 

 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rules: 

 

Rules 401, Licensing Standards for Child Welfare Agencies; 

Rules 402, Licensing Standards for Foster Family Homes; 

Rules 403, Licensing Standards for Group Homes; 

Rules 404, Licensing Standards for Child Care Institutions and Maternity Centers; 

Rules 406, Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes; 

Rules 407, Licensing Standards for Day Care Centers; 

Rules 408, Licensing Standards for Group Day Care Homes; 

Rules 409, Licensing Standards for Youth Transitional Living Programs; 

Rules 410, Licensing Standards for Youth Emergency Shelters; and 

Rules 411, Licensing Standards for Secure Child Care Facilities.  

  

mailto:DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov
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