spacerspacerIllinois Department of Natural Resources  

March 16, 2010

2010 Spring Trout Season Opens April 3

Rainbow Trout Stocked at 43 Locations in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD, IL – The 2010 spring trout fishing season in Illinois will begin at 5 a.m. on Saturday, April 3, Illinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) Director Marc Miller announced today.

“Getting families and children outdoors to enjoy nature and recreation is a priority here in Illinois, and the spring trout season is a terrific way for us to encourage families to get outside and give fishing a try,” Miller said.  “Getting youth outdoors to experience the fun of fishing is one of the many benefits of our catchable trout program.  Anglers of all ages can join in the fun as we stock trout at 43 locations throughout the state.”

The IDNR stocks more than 60,000 rainbow trout each spring in bodies of water where trout fishing is permitted during the spring season.  The Illinois catchable trout program is made possible through the sale of inland trout stamps to those anglers who participate.

Inland trout stamps are available for $6.50 each at DNR Direct license and permit vendors, IDNR offices in Springfield, Chicago, Sterling, Clinton, Alton, and Benton.  They may also be purchased with a credit card through the IDNR web site at or by phone at 1-888-6PERMIT (1-888-673-7648).
To legally participate in the trout fishing program, anglers must have a valid Illinois fishing license and an inland trout stamp.  The annual fishing licenses for the 2010 season are valid through March 31, 2011.  Anglers may also purchase a 24-hour Illinois fishing license, which includes trout fishing privileges for the 24-hour period the license is valid.  A license is required for fishing in Illinois unless the angler is otherwise exempt (under age 16, blind or disabled, or is an Illinois resident on active military service who is home on leave).

Anglers may not take trout from any of the stocked sites from March 15 to the opening of the season on April 3 at 5 a.m.  Anyone attempting to take trout before the legal opening will be issued citations.  During the spring trout season, the daily possession limit for trout is five fish.

Anglers are reminded to check in advance for any site-specific regulations and the opening time of their favorite trout fishing location.  While the statewide spring trout season opens at 5 a.m. on April 3, some locations may have a later opening time.

Anglers are reminded to check in advance for any site-specific regulations and the opening time of their favorite trout fishing location.  While the spring trout season opens at 5 a.m. on April 3, some locations may have a later opening time.

Anglers are advised that the catchable trout program previously located at Kent Creek in Page Park, Rockford, has been moved to Four Lakes Forest Preserve, Winnebago County Forest Preserve, off of Fish Hatchery Rd.

For more information about the trout stocking program, contact the IDNR Division of Fisheries at 217/782-6424 or check the web site at

Stocked sites (by county) for the spring catchable trout program:

  • Adams County: Siloam Springs State Park Lake.
  • Boone County: Mill Race Ponds in Belvidere.
  • Bureau County: Hennepin Canal Parkway.
  • Cass County: Gurney Road Pond at Jim Edgar Panther Creek State Fish and Wildlife Area.
  • Champaign County: Lake of the Woods.
  • Christian County: Manners Park Pond, Taylorville Park District
  • Cook County: Axehead Lake, Cook County Forest Preserve District.
  • Cook County: Belleau Lake, Cook County Forest Preserve District.
  • Cook County: Sag Quarry East, Cook County Forest Preserve District.
  • Coles County: Eastern Illinois University Campus Pond in Charleston.
  • DuPage County: Silver Lake, DuPage County Forest Preserve District.
  • Grundy County: Gebhard Woods State Park Pond.
  • Jefferson County: Mount Vernon Game Farm Pond.
  • Jo Daviess County: Apple River and tributaries.
  • Johnson County: Ferne Clyffe State Park Lake.
  • Kankakee County: Bird Park Quarry in Kankakee.
  • Kankakee County: Rock Creek (Kankakee River State Park).
  • Kendall County: Big Lake at Silver Springs State Park.
  • Lake County: Banana Lake, Lake County Forest Preserve District.
  • Lake County: Sand Lake at Illinois Beach State Park.
  • LaSalle County: Illinois and Michigan Canal at Utica
  • Macon County: Sportsman’s Club Pond, Macon County Conservation District
  • Marion County: Boston Pond at Stephen A. Forbes State Park.
  • Massac County: Fairgrounds Pond in Fort Massac State Park, Metropolis.
  • McLean County: Miller Park Lake in Bloomington.
  • McHenry County: Lake Atwood, Hollows Conservation Area, McHenry County Conservation District.
  • McHenry County: Piscasaw Creek.
  • Moultrie County: Wyman Lake in Sullivan.
  • Ogle County: Pine Creek in White Pines State Forest.
  • Randolph County: Derby Lake at World Shooting and Recreational Complex, Sparta 
  • St. Clair County: Frank Holten State Park main lake.
  • St. Clair County:  Jones Park Lake in East St. Louis.
  • Sangamon County: Illinois Department of Transportation Lake in Springfield.
  • Sangamon County: Washington Park Pond in Springfield.
  • Shelby County: Forest Park Lagoon in Shelbyville.
  • Stephenson County: Waddams Creek (Lake Le-Aqua-Na State Park).
  • Stephenson County: Yellow Creek in Krape Park, Freeport.
  • Vermilion County: Clear Lake at Kickapoo State Park.
  • Wabash County: Beall Woods Lake, Beall Woods State Park
  • Wayne County: Sam Dale Conservation Area Trout Pond.
  • Whiteside County: Coleta Trout Ponds.
  • Will County: Lake Milliken at Des Plaines Conservation Area.
  • Winnebago County: Four Lakes Forest Preserve, Winnebago County Forest Preserve District