
2020 Illinois Youth Deer Hunting Information 

SEASON DATES:  October 10-12, 2020.  Unfilled Youth Deer Permits are also valid on private land during the first 

Firearm Deer Season (November 20-22, 2020), but on public land they may only be used on sites that allow unrestricted 

hunting; unfilled permits are not valid on public land sites that limit the number of hunters during the firearm season 

via the use of a site permit quota. 

 

SHOOTING HOURS:  ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset 

 

OPEN COUNTIES:  All counties EXCEPT Cook, DuPage and Lake Counties, and that portion of Kane County east 

of State Route 47. 

 

NEW FOR 2020: Permits will no longer be county-specific; Youth Deer Hunt Permits will authorize the holder 
to hunt in any of the open counties of the State, on property where permission to hunt has been obtained from the 
property owner. 
 
AGE RESTRICTIONS:  The Youth Deer Season is open only to hunters who have not reached their 18th birthday 

prior to the opening date of the season. 

 

RESIDENCY:  The same Youth Deer Permit is available to eligible resident and nonresident youths regardless of 

residency. 

 

OVER-THE-COUNTER (OTC) PERMIT AVAILABILITY:  Youth Deer Permits for all open counties will be 

sold over-the-counter from DNR Direct license vendors beginning August 4th until the end of the season. 

 

FEE:  Over-the-counter Youth Deer Hunting Permits - $10.50 

 

LICENSE/PERMIT REQUIREMENTS:  All eligible youth hunters must have a current, valid Youth Deer 

Permit and a Hunting License (may be a regular hunting license, youth hunting & trapping license, or an apprentice 

hunting license), unless exempt.   

 

SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS:  If using an Apprentice Hunting License or a Youth Hunting & Trapping 
License, each Youth Deer Hunt participant must be accompanied by a non-hunting, validly-licensed (Illinois hunting 
license) adult who is 21 years of age or older. All other hunters participating in the Youth Deer Hunt must each be 
accompanied by a non-hunting supervisor (parent, guardian, or responsible adult).  All supervisors who are residents 
of Illinois must have in their possession a valid Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) Card, and all supervisors who 
are nonresidents must possess a valid Illinois hunting license. The non-hunting supervisor must wear the solid blaze 
orange/pink garments required of gun deer hunters and must remain with the hunting youth so as to have the youth 
under immediate control. Each supervisor may only accompany a single youth at any given time during the hunt. The 
supervising adult shall be criminally liable for the actions of the youth in the hunting party and be subject to the 
criminal penalties provided by law. 

 

BAG LIMITS:  Hunters may purchase only ONE Youth Permit (either-sex).  The bag limit is one (1) deer per legally 

authorized permit. All either-sex permits are subject to the following restrictions: no hunter, regardless of the quantity 

or type of permits in his/her possession, may harvest more than two (2) antlered deer during a year, including the youth, 

archery, muzzleloader and firearm seasons. Deer seasons are considered to be in the same year if their opening dates 

fall within the same 12-month period that begins on July 1. 

LEGAL FIREARMS: 
1. Shotgun, loaded with slugs only, of not larger than 10 nor smaller than 20 gauge, not capable of firing more 

than 3 consecutive slugs; or 

2. A single or double barreled muzzleloading rifle of at least .45 caliber shooting a single projectile through a 



barrel of at least sixteen inches in length. A muzzleloading rifle is defined as a rifle that is incapable of being 

loaded from the breech end.  Allowable ignition systems are limited to percussion (cap or primer), wheellock, 

matchlock, flintlock, or electronic ignition.  Only black powder or a black powder substitute such as Pyrodex 

may be used. Modern smokeless powders (nitrocellulose-based) are an approved blackpowder substitute only 

in muzzleloading firearms that are specifically designed for their use. 

Muzzleloaders are considered “unloaded” IF:  the percussion cap/primer is removed; OR prime powder has been 

removed from the frizzen pan with the frizzen open and hammer all the way down; OR prime powder has been removed 

from the flashpan and wheel is unwound; OR prime powder has been removed and match is not lit; OR the battery is 

removed from the electronic ignition.  
 
LEGAL AMMUNITION:  All firearm projectiles, whether shotgun or muzzleloader, must be at least .44 caliber.  A 

wad or sleeve is not considered a projectile or part of the projectile. Non-expanding, military-style full metal jacket 

bullets cannot be used to harvest white-tailed deer; only soft point or expanding bullets (including copper/copper alloy 

rounds designed for hunting) are legal ammunition. 

 
REPORTING HARVEST OF DEER:  Successful hunters must register their harvest by 10:00 p.m. on the same 

calendar day the deer was taken by calling the toll-free telephone check-in system at 1-866-ILCHECK or by 

accessing the on-line check-in system at https://www.il.wildlifelicense.com/harvestReport/harvestReport.php.   

They will be provided with a confirmation number to verify that they checked in their harvest. This number must be 

written by the hunter on the temporary harvest tag (leg tag). If the condition of the tag precludes writing on the tag in 

the appropriate space (i.e., bloody, etc.), the confirmation number shall be written elsewhere on the tag, or onto a 

piece of paper and attached to the deer along with the temporary harvest tag. The deer must remain whole (or field 

dressed) until it has been checked in. In instances where deer are checked in while the hunter is still afield, the deer 

may not be dismembered while afield beyond quartering the animal. If quartered, all parts of the carcass (except the 

entrails removed during field dressing) must be transported together and evidence of sex must remain naturally 

attached to one quarter. Evidence of sex is: 
 

1) For a buck: head with antlers attached to carcass or attached testicle, scrotum or penis. 

2) For a doe: head attached to carcass or attached udder (mammary) or vulva. 
 
The harvest tag (leg tag) and confirmation number must remain attached to the deer until it is at the legal residence of 

the person who legally took or possessed the deer and final processing is completed. If the head/antlers are delivered 

to a taxidermist for processing, the confirmation number must be recorded on the "head tag" portion of the permit and 

both must remain with the deer while at the taxidermist. If the carcass is taken to a meat processor, the harvest tag 

(leg tag) with confirmation number must remain with the deer while it is processed and until it is at the legal residence 

of the person who legally took or possessed the deer. Persons delivering deer/parts of deer to a tanner for processing 

must supply the tanner with either their deer permit number, their confirmation number, or a written certification by 

the person from whom the deer was received that the specimen was legally taken or obtained. 

 

Please call 217-782-7305 or email us at DNR.Permits1@illinois.gov  if you have any questions.  
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