Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Council

The Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Council is the body that recommends places in Illinois to the National Register of Historic Places. It also advises the State Historic Preservation Office on matters pertaining to historic preservation. The Council meets three times a year and is comprised of 15 members. There are at a minimum, three historians, three architectural historians, or architects with a preservation background, and three archaeologists. The remaining six members have to have a preservation interest and are drawn from supporting fields, such as, but not limited to planning, law, local government, and historical geography. Lastly, a representative from both the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, and Illinois State Museum serve on the Council in an advisory capacity as non-voting members.


Meg Kindelin, Architect - Elmhurst (2021-2023) - CHAIR

Chelsea Coates, Archaeologist - Springfield  (2023-2025)

Devin Hunter, Historian - Springfield (2023-2025)

Rebecca Graff, Archaeologist - Highland Park (2022-2024)

Lisa Napoles, Preservation Advocate - Berwyn (2021-2023)

Kandalyn Hahn, Preservation Advocate - Chicago (2023-2025)

Adam Smith, Architectural Historian - Champaign (2022-2024)

Curtis Mann, Historian - Mt. Auburn (2021-2023)

Michael Bortel, Preservation Advocate - Plainfield (2022-2024)

Kimberly Smith, Preservation Advocate - Bloomington (2022-2024)

Rachel Hitzmann, Preservation Advocate - St. Charles (2023-2025)

Janine Farrell, Architectural Historian - Burr Ridge (2022-2024)

Elizabeth Blasius, Architectural Historian - Chicago (2021-2023)

Susan Kooiman, Archaeologist - Edwardsville (2023-2025)

Pamela Lange, Historian - Princeton (2022-2024)

Vacant -  Illinois State Museum​ (non-voting)

Christina Shutt, Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum (non-voting)

  Presentation Rules.pdf        IHSAC HANDBOOK.pdf

Upcoming IHSAC Meetings

2023 IHSAC Schedule: February 24 (online) - June 30 (online) - October 27 (Springfield)
February 24th IHSAC WebEX Meeting Link - coming soon

Properties to be considered on February 24, 2023 @ 10:00am

Forest Park - Joseph Carter Corbin Gravesite.pdf

Effingham - Heart Theatre.pdf

Chicago - Laramie State Bank.pdf

Pontiac - Strevell House.pdf

Wilmette Village Center Historic District.pdf

Long Point - Memorial Bandstand of Long Point.pdf

Joliet - Will County Courthouse.pdf


Additional Meeting Materials

February 24, 2023 - IHSAC Agenda.pdf

Draft Meeting Minutes_October 28, 2022.pdf

Approved IHSAC Meeting Minutes

February 28, 2020_Approved Minutes.pdf

October 30, 2020_Approved Minutes.pdf

February 26, 2021_Approved Minutes.pdf

June 25, 2021_Approved Minutes.pdf  

Approved_Minutes_October 29, 2021.pdf