Commission & Staff

​​​​The EEC is a nine-member commission. Five commissioners are appointed by the Governor, and one commissioner each is appointed from the Attorney General, Secretary of State, Comptroller, and Treasurer. No more than five commissioners may be of the same political party. The Commission meets at least once each month to perform its statutory duties. These duties include:

  • conducting administrative hearings on alleged violations of the Ethics Act
  • preparing public information to facilitate compliance with ethic laws
  • providing guidance to Ethics Officers
  • receiving reports of activity from Executive Inspectors General
  • receiving reports of ex parte communications from Ethics Officers
  • overseeing the annual ethics training for all employees of the executive branch of State Government.


Walter P. Turner, III

Walter P. Turner, III
Treasurer's appointee from Flossmoor.

Shawn W. Denney

Shawn W. Denney
Attorney General's appointee from Springfield. Father Shawn Denney is Archdeacon of the Springfield, Illinois Diocese of the Episcopal Church and former Senior Counsel to the Illinois Attorney General.

Amalia Rioja - Vice Chair
Comptroller's appointee from River Forest. Attorney with Baker McKenzie, where she practices in the areas of public-private partnerships, government relations  and procurement.  She previously served as a Deputy Chief of Staff in the Governor’s Office, Acting Public Access Counselor in the Attorney General’s Office and Deputy General Counsel in the Comptroller’s Office.

Maria Kuzas

Maria Kuzas
Secretary of State appointee from Chicago.  Maria is a master's prepared nurse with clinical and leadership experience in home health, hospice care, community outreach and business development.  Maria is part of the care management team at Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois. 

Cara Hendrickson
Governor’s appointee from Oak Park. Cara Hendrickson is an experienced litigator and partner at Massey & Gail, LLP.  She previously served as the Chief of the Public Interest Division of the Illinois Attorney General's Office and earlier practiced at Hughes Socol Piers Resnick & Dym, Business and Professional People for the Public Interest, and Kirkland & Ellis.

Chasity Boyce

Chasity Boyce - Chair
Governor's appointee from Chicago. Chasity Boyce is the Vice-President, Head of Inclusion and Diversity at Heitman LLC. She has served as associate general counsel in the Governor’s office in the past.​

Teresa Bartels

Teresa Bartels
Governor's appointee from Mundelein. Teresa is President of Gateway for Cancer Research, following a career in both the non-profit (United Way International, United Way of America and United Way of Lake County, IL) and business sectors (former Manpower franchises in northern IL and Northern MN.) Teresa has been active in numerous organizations concerned with secondary and higher education, early childhood intervention, sexual abuse prevention and treatment, and patient-centered cancer care.

Patricia Yadgir
Governor's appointee from Woodridge. Patricia Bakalis Yadgir served on the Illinois Human Rights Commission, responsible for investigating charges of discrimination filed in the state of Illinois, for the last eight years.  Her career in the field of education expands over 30 years.  Ms. Yadgir holds a Master’s Degree in Counseling Education from Northern Illinois University.  She had taught at the early childhood level and was a counselor/professor at College of DuPage for over 20 years. She has authored two books on ethics; one for primary-aged children and one for junior high/high school aged youth.  Currently Ms. Yadgir serves as Chief Administrative Officer for American Quality Schools, a not-for-profit educational management organization. 

Cynthia Ervin
Governor's appointee from Illiopolis. Cynthia Ervin is the Associate General Counsel for Corporate Services and M & A at Archer-Daniels-Midland Company, one of the world's largest agricultural processors and food ingredient providers. Prior to joining ADM in 2006, Ervin served in a number of legal positions in Illinois State government, including as General Counsel for Illinois Department of Agriculture, Attorney to the chairman for the Illinois Pollution Control Board, Assistant Attorney General, and law clerk to Illinois Supreme Court Justice Benjamin K. Miller. 


  • Chad Fornoff, Executive Director - Chad Fornoff is a former Illinois Assistant Attorney General and was most recently Chief Legal Counsel to the Illinois Court of Claims.

  • Stephen Rotello, General Counsel - Stephen Rotello has ​had a long career in State government, including time as Deputy Director of the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules, Senior Assistant Attorney General, and most recently as a State Purchasing Officer for Public Institutions of Higher Education.​

  • Amy Adams, Chief Financial Officer - Amy is a graduate of Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville ( Accountancy, 2007). Ms. Adams most recently served as a Senior State Purchasing Officer for the Chief Procurement Office - General Services.

  • Christine Lazarides, Human Resources Director - Christie is a graduate of Milikin University in Decatur, IL. Ms. Lazarides most recently served as Executive Assistant for the Chief Procurement Office - Capital Development Board and as Human Resource Specialist for the EEC. Prior to the EEC, Ms. Lazarides worked as a teacher and youth director in Springfield.​