Bureau of Land • 1021 North Grand Avenue East • P.O. Box 19276 • Springfield • Illinois • 62794-9276

Instructions for the Completion of the Potentially Infectious Medical Waste Hauling Permit Application

Pursuant to 415 ILCS 5/56.1, no person shall conduct a Potentially Infectious Medical Waste (PIMW) transportation operation without a permit issued by the Agency, unless Illinois law does not require such a permit. A PIMW Hauling Permit is required for transporting PIMW generated, stored, disposed or treated in Illinois. PIMW Hauling Permits are issued for a 1-year period. **Separate Applications must be submitted for each vehicle owner.**

Each PIMW Hauling Permit application must be accompanied by a 39(i) certification, authorized representative documentation (if applicable), and the PIMW Hauling Permit Application fee (Company Check, Cashier's Check, Certified Check, or Money Order) made payable to Treasurer, State of Illinois. Any payments made by cash or personal check will be returned.

PIMW Hauler Permit Number - Permitted companies must include the current Illinois EPA issued PIMW Hauling Permit Number. If this is a new permit application, the PIMW Hauler Permit Number will be assigned to you once the permit is issued.

Current Permit Expiration Date - Permitted companies must indicate the expiration date of the current PIMW Hauling Permit.

USEPA # - Permitted companies that haul RCRA or TSCA-regulated hazardous waste must provide the USEPA identification number.

Section 1: Hauling Company Information - Provide the hauling company name, physical address including county, and business phone number.

Section 1A: Hauling Company Contact Information - Provide the name of the hauling company's owner or authorized representative and contact information, including email address.

Section 1 Hauling Company Signature - Provide an original signature for the hauling company owner or authorized representative. Applications will be returned if there is no signature or the signature is not an original. Digitally/Electronically signed applications are not accepted.

Section 2: Vehicle Owner Information - Provide the vehicle owner's name, physical address including county, and business phone number.

Section 2A: Vehicle Owner Contact Information - Provide the name of the vehicle owner's principal or authorized representative and contact information, including email address. If contact is not the owner provide a statement from the vehicle owner identifying the authorized representative and duties for which the representative is authorized to conduct.

Section 2 Vehicle Company Signature - Provide an original signature for the vehicle owner or authorized representative Applications will be returned if there is no signature or the signature is not an original. Digitally/Electronically signed applications are not accepted.

Section 3: Fees

Operator's Permit Fee - Indicate whether the application is for a new permit, renewal permit or to add vehicle(s) to the current permit. The fee is \$2,000 for new or renewal permits. There is no operator permit fee to add vehicles to a current permit.

Vehicle Permit(s) (\$250/vehicle) - Indicate the number of vehicles in each permit category (new, renewed, or adding) in the appropriate line following the specific category. The fee is \$250 for each vehicle listed on the application.

Equipment added during the permit year must be permitted by submitting a complete original application accompanied by the \$250 per vehicle fee. The expiration date for the added vehicles will remain consistent with the initially assigned expiration date.

Rev 6/2022 Page 1 of 2

Page 2: Vehicle Description Sheet

Write the Hauling Company Business Name and the Business Name of the Vehicle Owner on the provided line. Provide the information requested in each column for each vehicle. The last column is for the date the vehicle was first permitted or used to transport PIMW generated, stored, treated or disposed in Illinois, whichever is earlier. Please note that some columns have two parts per row. When completing this page, note that (a) each of the three sections has two parts and (b) all of these parts must be completed for each vehicle.

If equipment to be permitted is a tractor trailer rig, **only the trailers** are permitted in Illinois. All seven items on the Vehicle Description Sheet will be for the **trailer**. For roll-off boxes, if the boxes are connected to a tilt frame or trailer, the first two and last columns will be frame or trailer information. If the boxes are connected to the power unit, the first two and last columns will be power unit information. In both situations, the third column will be: (a) Roll-off boxes (b) the range of capacities of the boxes.

EXAMPLE VEHICLE SHEET

	License Plate	Vehicle Information	Description	Transportation <u>or</u> Permit Start Date
	a. State b. License Plate	a. Make - Model - Year b.Identification Number (VIN Number)	a. Type (tank trailer, flatbed, roll-off, etc.) b. Capacity (gallons, barrels, cubic yards)	Date vehicle first permitted or used to transport PIMW generated, treated stored, or disposed in Illinois.
1.	a. <u>IL</u> b. <u>P6352</u>	a. <u>Mack R685 1986</u> b. <u>. P932502</u>	a. Roll-off Boxes b. 5-10 cy	December 22, 2007 Month/Day/Year
2.	a. <u>IL</u> b. <u>3925 ST</u>	a. <u>Fruehauf 1962</u> b. <u>. 3529203</u>	a. <u>Van Trailer</u> b. <u>40' – 60 drums</u>	March 17, 1993 Month/Day/Year
3.	a. <u>IL</u> b. <u>4265 ST</u>	a. <u>Freightliner 11M 2017</u> b. <u>. Z25PH8792L</u>	a. <u>Tanker</u> b. <u>6,000 gallons</u>	_January 3, 2017 Month/Day/Year
4.	a. <u>MO</u> b. <u>5394</u>	a. <u>Ford F250 2017</u> b. <u>. F1Y23ZZ579</u>	a. <u>Pick-up</u> b. <u>6 – 55 gallon drums</u>	Not in use yet. Month/Day/Year

When the application is completed and both signature spaces are signed, return the application and the

application fee to: U.S. Postal Services Mail

Illinois EPA Fiscal Services #2

Special Waste Hauling Permits

P.O. Box 19276

Springfield, IL 62794-9276

Overnight Mail Illinois EPA

Fiscal Services #2

Special Waste Hauling Permits 1021 North Grand Avenue East

Springfield, IL 62702

NOTE: This permit satisfies Illinois's requirements for transporting **PIMW** (which does not include special or hazardous wastes) in Illinois that are generated at, collected from, or delivered to an Illinois location. If the waste hauled or other waste in the vehicle is also special waste, a <u>Special Waste Hauling Permit</u> is required in addition to the PIMW permit. Hauling hazardous waste also requires the transporter to have a USEPA identification number. Illinois EPA issues the USEPA identification numbers using the USEPA 8700-12 application. Please find the USEPA 8700-12 application <u>here</u>.

In accordance with 35 III. Adm. Code 809.401, "...the owner and operator of any such vehicle used to transport PIMW shall maintain within the vehicle a legible photocopy of the PIMW hauling permit. Issuance of the PIMW hauling permit shall be disclosed by the owner and operator of the vehicle to any representative of the State of Illinois (including, but not limited to, the Agency), any generator(s) of the potentially infectious waste, or any treatment, storage, or disposal facility which has handled, is handling, or will handle the potentially infectious waste. Upon request by such representative, the photocopy shall be made available by the owner and operator of the vehicle for review. The owner and operator of the vehicle shall also comply with any otherwise applicable federal regulations." Please familiarize yourself with the manifest distribution. Although the same uniform hazardous waste manifest is used for both PIMW and hazardous waste, please note the differences in the distribution of manifest copies between PIMW and hazardous waste. Copies of the completed manifest must be retained on site for a minimum of three years.

Should you have any questions concerning the completion, submittal, or review of this application, contact EPA.HaulingPermits@Illinois.gov.

Rev 6/2022 Page 2 of 2