Sign In

HFS logo

Provider Notice Issued 08/03/2020


Marc D. Smith, Acting Director                                                                 Theresa Eagleson, Director

Date:   August 3, 2020
To:       All Medical Assistance Program Providers
Re:      Managed Care YouthCare Program to Begin September 1, 2020
The Department of Healthcare and Family Services (HFS) announced that youth in the care of the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) will transition to the new YouthCare program on September 1, 2020. The DCFS Youth in Care will be automatically enrolled in the YouthCare health plan.
YouthCare is a specialized HealthChoice Illinois Health Plan for DCFS Youth in Care. Working with the youth’s caseworker, YouthCare is designed to improve access to care through active coordination and a more robust provider network. With YouthCare, DCFS Youth in Care will receive additional benefits, such as care coordination for behavioral health needs, including trauma-informed care, and a specialized program for adoptive families, including an adoption-competent network of therapists to support the different phases of adoption and child development.
Providers do not need to be contracted with YouthCare in order to treat children who are enrolled in YouthCare. Through an extended Continuity of Care process, YouthCare has an open network until February 28, 2021, which means provider claims for covered Medicaid services will be paid.
If providers have questions about YouthCare or would like to join the network, please call
844-289-2264 or email YouthCare at
Additional Resources:
·         To learn more about submitting claims to YouthCare, please review the billing instructions in our Provider Manual located at
·         Visit the DCFS managed care page at for updated information and additional resources.
Theresa Eagleson
Illinois Department of Healthcare and
Family Services
Marc D. Smith
Acting Director
Illinois Department of Children & Family Services


 Need Assistance?

Illinois Healthcare and Family Services

JB Pritzker, Governor • Theresa Eagleson, Director