Sign In

HFS logo

Provider Notice Issued 07/07/2021

Date:   July 7, 2021

To:       Transportation Providers

Re:      Publicly Owned Transportation Providers – Ground Emergency Medical Transportation
            (GEMT) Supplemental Payments


The information in this notice applies to all publicly owned transportation providers that deliver ambulance services in the Medical Assistance program.

By informational notice dated August 9, 2019, the Department introduced a supplemental payment methodology that would allow public providers to receive supplemental payments above the fee schedule rates they currently receive, if their cost to provide the services exceeds the reimbursement the providers currently receive based on the Department's Transportation Fee Schedule.

In order to participate in the program in calendar year 2022, government owned and operated providers of emergency ambulance services should complete the cost report form available on the Department's Cost Reports webpage. A new cost report is required even if a provider is currently participating in the program in 2021. If a provider is participating in the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' cost data collection program, the federal instrument may be submitted in lieu of the cost report.

For providers who will participate for the first time in 2022, an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) also on the Cost Reports webpage must be signed by the officer authorized to sign contracts for the unit of local government that owns and operates the ambulance provider. This authorized officer should be the Mayor, Village or Town Administrator, or the head of the Fire Protection District.

The cost report (and signed IGA, if applicable) are due to the Department by October 1, 2021. The cost report should be submitted both as an Excel file and as a PDF with signatures. All documents should be emailed to

Kelly Cunningham, Administrator
Division of Medical Programs


 Need Assistance?

Illinois Healthcare and Family Services

JB Pritzker, Governor • Theresa Eagleson, Director