With MyTax Illinois you can file monthly or quarterly UI contribution and wage reports, pay UI taxes by using the secure online application, view UI account information and much more. Use
MyTax Illinois today!
Did you know...
Most for-profit employers are required to pay contributions (taxes) as soon as they have:
- Paid $1,500 in wages in a single calendar quarter, or employed one or more persons for 20 weeks in a given calendar year; or
- Paid $1,000 in cash wages in one calendar quarter for domestic work; or
- Paid $20,000 in cash wages in one calendar quarter or employed 10 or more workers for 20 weeks in a given calendar year for farm work.
Non-profit organizations are liable for the year when it has employed four or more persons during each of 20 weeks in a given calendar year.
Local governmental organizations are liable if it pays wages.
Information & Forms
MyTax Illinois / Wage Reporting / Paying Taxes
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Requested Documents & Forms
Personal Liability of Responsible Parties
The Unemployment Insurance Act was recently amended to provide for the personal liability of any officer or employee of an employer who has control, supervision or responsibility for the filing of reports or the payment of contributions, payments in lieu of contributions, penalties or interest for the employer and who willfully fails to file the reports or make the payments. The courts have interpreted similar provisions broadly with respect to both who is a responsible party and what constitutes a willful failure to report or to pay. Beginning with the reports and payments for the first quarter of 2012, if an employer fails to file a report of fails to pay any contributions, payments in lieu of contributions, penalties or interest, when due, the Department will be looking to corporate officers and other responsible individuals for payment and, if such payments are not made, liens on home, autos, boats and other property and levies on personal bank accounts may follow. (news release)
Every business with employees in Illinois must register with IDES and file unemployment insurance contribution (tax) reports each quarter. Employers who are subject to the
Illinois Unemployment Insurance Act supply the funds IDES uses to pay benefits to the unemployed.
Important Information about NAICS Credits to Employers
10/20/15 - During routine preparation of tax rates for calendar year 2016, the Department discovered program errors that inflated average industry tax rates for 2013, 2014 and 2015. This impacted employers in the administrative support/waste management, construction, company management, manufacturing, mining, information, transportation/warehousing, and unclassified industries. Some employers who should have been subject to the standard new employer rate were assigned a higher rate, based on an incorrect industry average. In other instances, although the employer should have been assessed at the average rate for its industry, the rate initially assigned for the industry was too high. We will correct the billing rates for any new employers who register in the future. Impacted employers who already paid taxes at the incorrect higher rates will be credited for their overpayments. The credits can be applied to future quarterly contributions.
As you know, a new employer is one who has not incurred liability for state unemployment taxes within the three previous calendar years. New-employer rates are generally the greater of a standard new employer rate or the average tax rate for the new employer’s industry, as defined by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Both the standard tax rate and average industry rates are calculated according to a formula prescribed in the law. The Department found system errors that incorrectly increased the average industry tax rates.
Corrected New Employer Rates for Affected Industries
Fund Builder Included in Each Category of Rates
* Standard New Employer Rate
| || |
|Industry ||Category |
Admin Suprt/Wst Mgmt
Mgmt of companies