Interpreter for the Deaf Licensure Act of 2007

IDHHC is the licensing body for sign language interpreters under the Illinois Interpreters for the Deaf Licensure Act of 2007The Licensure Act requires anyone who is providing interpreting services in Illinois to be licensed unless specifically exempted under the Act.  The Interpreter for the Deaf Licensure Act of 2007 Rules provides specific details such as the required accepted certifications, fees, proficiency levels, continuing education and standards of professional conduct.  The Licensure Act & Rules can be downloaded via the above links.

The Enterprise Licensing and Permitting (ELP) is the platform for online processing of all sign language interpreter applications & renewals.

  • The ELP is an easy-to-use, statewide licensing and permitting system across all subscribing government organizations within Illinois.

  • All Licensure Applications & Renewals must be submitted via the ELP Platform. 

  • Any applications sent via email or US Mail are no longer accepted.

  • Licensure fees are required via the platform at time of submission.  Payment options include Visa, MasterCard, Discover and electronic checks.

  • All required documentation including accepted certificates and supporting legal documents must be uploaded to the platform at time of submission.

  • Please note: Every license of a sign language interpreter for the deaf issued under the Act expires on December 31st of each year. The annual renewal period of a license is from November 1st to February 15th. The fee for the renewal of a license, including a provisional license, is $150 per year. The late fee for all renewal applications received within 45 days after the expiration date (January 1st to February 15th) of a license is $60, in addition to the renewal fees. For more information, please review Section 1515.60 and 1515.70 of the Rules.

ELP Tutorial Licensure Renewal

ISAS_Affidavit Form

 Click on the ELP button below to begin your application.

            Enterprise Licensing and Permits