2017 Prevailing Wage Rates

Except as noted below, the rate schedules linked to on this page contain the prevailing wage rates required to be paid for work performed on or after September 1, 2017 on public works projects in each County. Pursuant to 820 ILCS 130/4, public bodies in each County that have active public works projects are responsible for notifying all contractors and subcontractors working on those public works projects of the change (if any) to rates that were previously in effect. The failure of a public body to provide such notice does not relieve contractors or subcontractors of their obligations under the Prevailing Wage Act, including the duty to pay the relevant prevailing wage in effect at the time work subject to the Act is performed.

On August 31, 2017, IDOL published technical corrections to the rates originally posted on August 15, 2017. Revised rates are highlighted in yellow in the county rate schedules in which they appear. Additionally, rates for certain Electricians, Plumbers, and Pipefitters classifications that were mistakenly included in the rate schedules originally published for some counties were eliminated, and in Henry County, certain rates that had been erroneously included for the classification of Operating Engineers were eliminated. Revised rates published on August 31, 2017 are effective as of September 1, 2017.

On September 25, 2017, April 11, 2018, and May 24, 2018, IDOL published subsequent rounds of technical corrections to the Prevailing Wage schedules that were originally published on August 15, 2017. Rates revised on September 25, 2017 are highlighted in green in the county rate schedules in which they appear. Rates revised on April 11, 2018 are highlighted in blue in the county rate schedules in which they appear.  Rates revised on May 24, 2018 are highlighted in gray in the county rate schedules in which they appear. The corrected rates published on September 25, 2017, April 11, 2018, and May 24, 2018 are effective as of the date of their publication.​

Changes highlighted in pink are changes made pursuant to Section 9 challenges. These rates are effective as of the dates of their publication, which are catalogued below the county listing on this page.


Adams County (1)

Alexander County (2)*

Bond County (3)

Boone County (4)

Brown County (5)

Bureau County (6)

Calhoun County (7)

Carroll County (8)

Cass County (9)

Champaign County (10)

Christian County (11)

Clark County (12)

Clay County (13)

Clinton County (14)

Coles County (15)

Cook County (16)

Crawford County (17)

Cumberland County (18)

DeKalb County (19)

Dewitt County (20)

Douglas County (21)

DuPage County (22)

Edgar County (23)

Edwards County (24)

Effingham County (25)

Fayette County (26)

Ford County (27)

Franklin County (28)*

Fulton County (29)

Gallatin County (30)*

Greene County (31)

Grundy County (32)

Hamilton County (33)*

Hancock County (34)

Hardin County (35)*

Henderson County (36)

Henry County (37)

Iroquois County (38)

Jackson County (39)*

Jasper County (40)

Jefferson County (41)

Jersey County (42)

JoDaviess County (43)

Johnson County (44)*

Kane County (45)

Kankakee County (46)

Kendall County (47)

Knox County (48)

Lake County (49)

LaSalle County (50)

Lawrence County (51)

Lee County (52)

Livingston County (53)

Logan County (54)

Macon County (55)

Macoupin County (56)

Madison County (57)

Marion County (58)

Marshall County (59)

Mason County (60)

Massac County (61)*

McDonough County (62)

McHenry County (63)

McLean County (64)

Menard County (65)

Mercer County (66)

Monroe County (67)

Montgomery County (68)

Morgan County (69)

Moultrie County (70)

Ogle County (71)

Peoria County (72)

Perry County (73)

Piatt County (74)

Pike County (75)

Pope County (76)*

Pulaski County (77)*

Putnam County (78)

Randolph County (79)

Richland County (80)

Rock Island County (81)

St Clair County (82)

Saline County (83)*

Sangamon County (84)

Schuyler County (85)

Scott County (86)

Shelby County (87)

Stark County (88)

Stephenson County (89)

Tazewell County (90)

Union County (91)*

Vermilion County (92)

Wabash County (93)

Warren County (94)

Washington County (95)

Wayne County (96)

White County (97)*

Whiteside County (98)

Will County (99)

Williamson County (100)*

Winnebago County (101)

Woodford County (102)​

*County is subject to changes to the classification descriptions for Operating Engineers. "Operating Engineer, Type All, Class 4" and "Operating Engineer, Type O&C, Class 4" have been removed. The equipment descriptions for Operating Engineers for Classes 1-3 have been updated to reflect the current equipment demarcations of these classifications. Changes were made to the Operating Engineer, River, Class 2 description.  

Following are changes made in connection with challenges to published rates brought pursuant to 820 ILCS 130/9.  Changes are highlighted in pink on the referenced counties’ rate schedules, and are effective as of the date of their publication

  • ​On November 7, 2017, IDOL published changes to the Pipefitter classification in Bureau, Cook, Dekalb, DuPage, Grundy, Iroquois, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, McHenry, Putnam, and Will counties. 
  • On November 28, 2017, IDOL published a change to the foreman rate for the Traffic Safety Worker classification in Cook County.
  • On January 24, 2018, IDOL published changes to the Truck Driver O&C 5 classification in Bond County.
  • On February 13, 2018, IDOL published changes to the Truck Driver All classification for classes 1-5 in Douglas County. 
  • On May 30, 2018, IDOL Published changes to the Machinist classification in Boone, Bureau, Cook Dekalb, Dupage, Ford, Grundy, Iroquois, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Livingston, Marshall, McHenry, Ogle, Putnam, Stephenson, Will, Winnebago, and Woodford Counties.
  • On July 16, 2018, IDOL published changes to the Laborer classification in Bond, Calhoun, Clinton, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Randolph, St. Clair, and Washington Counties.
  • On July 16, 2018, IDOL published changes to the Millwright classification in Adams, Brown, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Jasper, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, and Woodford Counties; the Carpenter classification in Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Douglas, McDonough, Moultrie, Piatt, Pike, Shelby, and Warren Counties; the Piledriver classification in Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Douglas, McDonough, Moultrie, Pope, Shelby, and Warren Counties; the Operating Engineer classification in Peoria County; and the Cement Mason classification in Woodford County.
  • On August 7, 2018, IDOL published changes to the HT/Frost Insulator classification in Alexander County, the Sheetmetal Worker classification in Alexander, Bond, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Lawrence, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, St. Clair, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, and Williamson Counties, and the Iron Worker trade in Richland County.