2020 IDOL LAWS ADVISORY

The following public acts became effective recently (HB 834) or will become effective January 1, 2020 (SB 1 & HB 3405).

Public Act 101-0001 (SB 1) – Minimum Wage Increase.

Effective:  January 1, 2020

Summary:  Increases the state minimum wage to $15 over a six year period.

YearMinimum WageTippedYouth
1/1/20$9.25$5.55$8
7/1/20$10$6$8
1/1/21$11$6.60$8.50
1/1/22$12$7.20$9.25
1/1/23$13$7.80$10.50
1/1/24$14$8.40$12
1/1/25$15$9$13

 

Public Act 101-0177 (HB 834) – Salary History

Effective:  September 29, 2019

Summary:  A new law that amends the Illinois Equal Pay Act banning employers and employment agencies from asking about applicants' past wage and compensation histories takes effect on September 29, 2019. Employers can be penalized for asking the applicant or the applicant's current or former employers for wage or salary history.

More information is available at:

https://www2.illinois.gov/idol/News/Documents/DOL%20Wage%20History%20Release.pdf

 

Public Act 101-509 (HB 3405) – Wage Payment & Collection of Gratuities

Effective:  January 1, 2020

Summary:  Amends the Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act.  Gratuities to employees are the property of the employees, and employers shall not keep gratuities.  Failure to pay gratuities owed to an employee more than 13 days after the end of the pay period in which gratuities were earned constitutes a violation of the Wage Payment and Collection Act.