FEMA Mitigation Funding Opportunity

Local governments have the opportunity in the coming months to apply for federal mitigation funding. FEMA has posted the Fiscal Year 2019 Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) announcements for the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) competitive grant programs on www.grants.gov. These NOFOs provide an overview of the grant programs and details about FEMA's funding priorities and review process. FMA grants are available to implement measures to reduce or eliminate risk of severe repetitive and repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). In FY19, $160 million is available for FMA grants. The PDM grant program aims to reduce overall risk to the population and structures through mitigation, while at the same time reducing reliance on federal funding from Stafford Act disaster declarations. $250 million is available for FY19 PDM grants. FEMA will use the majority of the PDM funding for mitigation projects, although mitigation planning is also an eligible cost.


NOFO Overview

FEMA will offer a webinar on the FY19 NOFOs for prospective applicants. This webinar will be offered three times, and applicants may attend any session.

  • Wednesday, September 4 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Tuesday, September 10 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Tuesday, September 17 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific) 

For the online portion, please join via the Internet.  For audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559

IEMA is extending the deadline till November 8 with no exceptions to submit your sub grant applications in response to FEMA Notice of Funding Opportunity [NOFO] for the upcoming FY19 Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) programs. Please submit your draft application to FEMA eGrants on November 8. For additional information, please email Sam Al-Basha, the State Hazard Mitigation Officer.