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State of Illinois 
Illinois Liquor Control Commission

Holiday season is upon us! The ILCC would like to 
encourage all relevant licensees to make sure all 

servers and bartenders are BASSET trained, carding, 
and checking for signs of over intoxication. 

Establishments and their employees all have a part to play 
in making sure customers are not drinking and driving.   
Remember, the Illinois Dram Shop Act establishes a cause 
of action against businesses that sell liquor for any injury 
to a person or property that occurs by an intoxicated 
person who patronized the establishment. This means 
that bars, clubs, and restaurants (among other places) that 
serve alcohol can be held liable due to an accident that 
arise from drunk driving. 

As students return for winter break, we also encourage you to join the ILCC in our 
efforts to raise awareness about the negative consequences of underage 
consumption of alcohol.  National surveys have shown that most underage access 
to alcohol comes from of-age family and friends.  

Please visit our website and social media for tips, best practices, and free 
educational material. Enjoy the holidays and have a prosperous new year!  

A message from ILCC Director Chima Enyia
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Director,  
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Control Commission
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This Public Act amends the Liquor Control Act of 1934, 235 ILCS 5/5-1(a) with regard to 
the licensing of craft distillers; adds 235 ILCS 5/5-1(u) creating distilling pubs; and adds 
235 ILCS 5/5-1(v) creating craft distiller warehouse permits.  The law will also allow class 1 
craft distillers and class 2 craft distillers to sell their own spirits and vermouth at their 
licensed premise location.  

Q: I am currently licensed as a craft distiller.  What can I do?  

A: 1). Apply for a Distilling Pub license with 
full-retail privileges (no self-distribution).  

     2) Apply for a Class 1 craft distiller 
license which allows for self-distribution 
and manufacturing of no more than 
50,000 gallons annually.  

     3) Apply for a Class 2 craft distiller 
license which allows for up to three 
distilling pub locations, no self-
distribution, and the manufacturing of 
more than 50,000 gallons but no more than 100,000 gallons annually.   

     If you choose to convert your current craft distiller license to a Distilling Pub, you will 
need to pay $1,500 for the Distilling Pub license.  If you are not converting to a 
Distilling Pub, you will then need to apply for a Class 1 craft distiller license for $75 or 
you can apply for a Class 2 craft distiller license for $100. If a Class 1 or Class 2 craft 
distiller license is issued under your current Craft Distillers license then you will 
maintain the same expiration date that is referenced on your current Craft Distillers 
license.  Alternatively, you have the option to apply for a new Craft Distiller license and 
pay the $2,500 annual fee along with the corresponding Class 1 or Class 2 annual fee 
and be issued a new expiration date that will cover approximately a 12 month licensing 
period.  Please contact the Licensing Division for further clarification.  

Q: I want to self-distribute and own distiller pubs.  Is that possible? 

A: No.  The law allows you one or the other, but not both.   

Q: I’m a licensed distiller.  Can I sell at retail? 

A: No.  Only a Distilling Pub, Class 1 Craft Distiller and Class 2 Craft Distiller may sell at 
retail from their licensed premises. 

Q: If I am a Class 2 Craft Distiller can I sell other manufacturer’s spirits at my licensed 
premises? 

A: A Class 1 Craft Distiller and Class 2 Craft Distiller may only sell their own spirits, but 
also may sell vermouth purchased from a distributor.  A Distilling Pub may sell all forms 
of alcoholic beverages. 

Q: Can I self-distribute as a Class 1 Craft Distiller and also have a distribution agreement 
with a licensed Illinois Importing Distributor or Distributor. 

A: Yes. 

      Licensing of Craft Distillers and Distilling Pubs
LICENSING



Mobile Bar Tending Service Requirements
LEGAL
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The food truck is here to stay. Along with the food truck 
has come the concept of mobile bar tending services. 

The ILCC has received numerous inquiries into mobile bar 
tending services and how to set one up legally. No two 
business models are the same. You might be bringing a 
converted Winnebago or setting up shop on a folding 
table, this article is a guide but for getting started.  

The first step in the analysis is to determine if a license 
will be required for the event in question. If the event is 
a private personal event, the alcohol is purchased by the 
private event host, and there is no charge for the drinks, 
the event does not require a license. A bar tending 
service could be hired for the purpose of mixing and 
serving drinks. It is still highly recommended that the 
server be BASSET certified. 

However, what happens if the event is not a private 
event. Your business needs a license. The Liquor Control 
Act ties Retailer licenses to single locations. Each 
location in which alcohol is served or sold needs its own 
license. As a Retailer, alcohol cannot be served or sold 
outside of the location on the license. So how do you set 
up a bartending service which will go to multiple 
locations?  

You could obtain a Caterer Retailer license. However, a 
Caterer Retailer license only permits the licensee to serve 
and sell alcohol incidental to food service at an event 
(snacks are excluded as food service) and as part of a 
meal package. Additionally, the Caterer Retailer must be 
providing both the food and alcohol service at an event. 
The best avenue to operate a mobile bartending service 

is by obtaining a Special Use Permit for each event. A 
Special User Permit allows a previously licensed Retailer 
to operate at alternative locations for up to 15 days per 
year at each alternative location.  The Retailer must 
submit an application to the ILCC for each location and 
event. Not all municipalities permit special use permits, 
so you will need to check with each municipality prior to 
the event. There may also be different fees which are 
associated with each location. 

In summary, the ILCC recommend that when setting up a 
mobile bartending service, you should follow the 
following steps. 

    1. Obtain a physical location and liquor liability 
insurance 

    2. Obtain a Local Liquor license from your physical 
location municipality 

    3. Obtain a State of Illinois Retailer liquor license 

    4. Obtain a Local Liquor special user permit or 
authorization to operate for the date, time, and 
location of the event 

    5. Obtain a State of Illinois Special Use Permit to 
operate for the date, time, and location of the event. 

    6. Ensure all staff are appropriately BASSET certified 

    7. Contact the appropriate Illinois licensed Distributor 
to arrange purchase of alcohol for the event 

    8. Provide sales/service at the event.
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      Holiday Binge Drinking Awareness
INDUSTRY EDUCATION
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With the holidays upon us, local businesses can be 
an invaluable ally in making holidays safe for 

everyone. According to the National Institute of Health, 
the Holidays are just one time throughout the year 
when there is an increased propensity for underage 
drinking to occur; including “binge” drinking 
(Adolescent Binge Drinking: Developmental Context 
and Opportunities for Prevention, Jan. 2018). 

Together, businesses, individuals, and government 
agencies can work together to save lives and make the 
holidays fun and enjoyable. Here are some things you 
can do to make these holidays safe: 

Card Hard! 
As our slogan suggests, make it a habitual practice to 
check the identification card. Keep in mind that the 
cost associated with one lost customer, due to proper 
identification checks, is far less than the costs 
associated with fines, penalties, and potential civil 
liabilities for accidentally serving underage patrons.  
Penalties assessed by the State can be substantial and 
may even result in license revocation or suspension. 

Always greet the customer and never be intimidated to 
ask for Identification. Remember, you’re not only 
protecting yourself, but also them. 

When carding, makes sure to: 
     • Have them remove the I.D. from their wallet. 

     • Feel the I.D. to check for any alterations or 
tampering. 

     • Check the individual to the statistics on the card. 

     • If you doubt the legitimacy of the I.D., ask for a 
second form of I.D. and/or get a second opinion 
from a co-worker or manager. 

     • Familiarize yourself and. your staff with current 
I.D.’s issued by other states through referencing 
I.D. Checking Guides, which can be purchased 
online 

Conduct an “Ocular Pat Down” 
Observe every customer that walks through your doors, 
do they display signs of intoxication or impairment? If 
so, you are not obligated to provide service to these 
customers. You can always ask them to leave. Again, a 

cost-benefit analysis of a lost customer is still in your 
favor, when considering the potential consequences 
down the road.  

Signs of intoxication include, but are not limited to:  
     • Uncoordinated walking (ataxia). 

     • Flushed face, bloodshot, glassy, or watery eyes. 

     • Slurred speech. 

     • Euphoria (excessive/fast talking, boasting, or 
showing off). 

     • Boisterous, overly annoying, aggressive, or overly 
friendly behaviors. 

     • Thriftless behavior with money 

     • Excessive perspiration, frequent restroom visits,  

     • An odor of alcohol 

Does the customer appear young? If so, ask for 
identification. You can even ask this of older patrons. 
They may even be flattered by the suggestion that they 
have maintained their youthful appearance.  

Just as with carding, establishing clear and consistent 
procedures on identifying potentially intoxicated, or 
underage individuals helps protect your establishment 
and the patrons. 

Source: Oregon Liquor Control Commission  

BASSET 

Make sure all your sellers, servers, and security staff are 
current on their Basset training.  Remember, Basset 
training is mandatory for all bars, restaurants, 
nightclubs, movie theaters, and taverns. You must keep 
BASSET certificates on premise and they are good for 
three (3) years, before needing to be re-upped.  Some 
municipalities require BASSET training for packaged 
goods and off-premise establishments. Please check 
with your local ordinances to find out if your 
municipality is one of them. 

Parents 

For parents whose children are returning from college, 
for the holidays, this is a great article from the 
Huffington Post that you should take a moment to 
read: From Dorm Room to Dinner Table: When College 
Kids Are Home for the Holidays.
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      BASSET Issues and Information

      Alcohol mixed with other drugs can be a deadly combination 
          by Lee J. Roupas, ILCC BASSET Program Manager

The Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) is the 
licensing and regulatory agency for all server 

training programs in the State of Illinois.  You cannot 
teach BASSET training without obtaining a BASSET 
license.  To do so you must complete an Instructor 
Training program that is approved and licensed by the 
ILCC.  Upon completion of the Instructor Training 
course then an application for a BASSET license must 
be filled out and a check or money order made out the 
Illinois Liquor Control Commission for $350.  

BASSET Rosters Spreadsheet - Submit your BASSET 
rosters on the standardized spreadsheet issued by the 
ILCC, to the BASSET email address at 
REV.ILCC.Basset@illinois.gov.  Contact the Lee Roupas if 
you need a spreadsheet for your student rosters 
lee.roupas@illinois.gov. 

Online Programs - Please make your program help line 
or IT information available and accessible in the event 
one of the students is having difficulty logging in or 
other IT related issues. 

BASSET Trainers’ Class Schedule on the ILCC website 
– Please send your class schedule in the following 
format:  DAY, MONTH, TIME, CITY, LOCATION, 
ADDRESS, CONTACT PERSON, PHONE NUMBER, 
EMAIL AND WEBSITE.  Example:  Tuesday, February 7, 
2020, 9 AM – 1 PM, 100 W. Randolph, Chicago, IL 
60601, Lee Roupas, 312-987-5687, 
lee.roupas@illinois.gov. 

BASSET Training for New Hires - New hires must be 
trained within 120 days of the hire date however, if a 
municipality or business require a shorter period to 
get trained, or a prospective new hire must be 
BASSET training as a precondition for employment, 
they have that prerogative to enforce that ordinance 
or policy. 

Student Numbers – BASSET trainers must assign 
student numbers.  Keep records of those student 
numbers and make them available to the students in the 
event they need them to reprint their BASSET cards on 
the following link https://mytax.illinois.gov.

It is a server, bartender, or bouncer’s duty to be aware 
of impaired guests both inside or entering their 

establishment.  Impairment can not only happen from 
drinking too much alcohol, but also from mixing alcohol 
with prescription, over-the-counter, or illegal drugs.  It 
can influence impairment by causing intoxication at a 
faster rate, or alcohol mixed with drugs can make a 
person’s state of intoxication longer than normal.  

A major concern facing bar owners, managers, and 
servers is the legalization of recreational marijuana in 
Illinois.  Can it affect the alcoholic beverage industry?  
Yes, it can.  Marijuana is more challenging to detect for 
signs of impairment. 

By consuming both marijuana and alcohol together, or 
“cross fading,” can magnify the Tetrahydrocannabinol 
(THC) effect leading to the following symptoms: 

     • Poor Coordination 

     • Disorientation 

     • Nausea and vomiting 

In some individuals, the anti-emetic effect of THC 
prevents from eliminating alcohol by vomiting to 
reduce the body’s defenses against alcohol poisoning. 

Just like alcohol, other drugs travel through the 
bloodstream, and effects organs, such as the brain, 
heart, liver, and pancreas.  There are three types of 
interactions occur within the body when the two 
substances of alcohol and drugs are mixed: 
1. Additive:  An effect which two substances or 
actions used in combination produce a total effect the 
same as the sum of the individual effects. 
2. Synergistic:  The capacity of two or more drugs acting 
together so that the total effect of these drugs is greater 
than the sum of the effects if taken independently. 
3.  Antagonistic: The effect of the drug is diminished 
in the presence of alcohol. 

Alcohol, with the combination of marijuana and other 
drugs working together in the body can intensify the 
negative affects on the body, elevate the risk of 
overdose, alcohol poisoning, and possible death.

BASSET

BASSET
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College Town Summit 2019 Highlights

On November 14, 2019 the ILCC held the 11th Annual College Town Summit at the University of Illinois – 
Champaign-Urbana. The College Town Summit is an annual event that brings together college town 

stakeholders to share their concerns, needs, and experiences to reduce collegiate alcohol misuse and abuse.  
Highlights from the summit can also be found on our social media.

COMMUNITY NEWS & EVENTS 
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2020 “Proof of Age” signs  
and “1999” stickers 

DO NOT throw away your current ILCC “Proof of Age” signs, 
as these are limited quantity for new licensees. 

2 x 4 labels with the year “1999” (for placement over the old 
year) will be made available in January along with printable 
2020 signs. 

The link to order stickers www.illinois.gov/ilcc. 

Order FREE Illinois Liquor Control Commission 
materials today!  

The following FREE Illinois Liquor Control Commission materials are available to all 
licensees by visiting www.illinois.gov/ilcc.  Click on the link below for the Retail 
Licensee Informational Packet which contains a variety of materials to ensure you 
comply with the law.  
https://www2.illinois.gov/ilcc/Education/Pages/Order-Licensee-Info-Kit.aspx#form 

For free ILCC signage, posters, and door/cooler decals click on the link below. 
https://www2.illinois.gov/ilcc/Pages/Order-Signage.aspx 
     • Illinois Liquor Control Act. 
     • The Happy Hour law handout. 
     • Alcohol “Proof of Age” and “Pregnancy Warning” Signs. 
     • “We Card Hard” decal and poster. 
     • “BASSET Training Information” brochure. 
     • Past “ILCC News” newsletters. 
     • “NOTICE” poster on acceptable IDs. 
     • “ID Checking” Training Guide 
     • And much more!
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CARD HARD!
MATERIALS & BULLETINS

• Politely greet the person. 

• Do not be intimidated.  

• Ask him or her to remove the ID 
from their wallet. 

• Feel the ID and check for tampering. 

• Look at the person. 

• Look at the description. 

• Look back at the person. 

• Read the information. 

• Do the math. 

• Ask for another form of identification 
if in doubt of the ID presented. 

• Get a second opinion from a 
manager or co-worker if needed.

THE PROPER WAY TOCheck IDs
This Training Guide
contains information for:
� Learning the proper steps forchecking IDs
� Identifying the features of theIllinois Driver’s Licenses andID Cards 
� Knowing how to spot a fake ID
� Assessing a card holder
� What to do when you

receive a fake ID
� Penalties for fake IDs

State of Illinois
Illinois Liquor Control Commission

Training Guide

GOVERNMENT WARNING
According to the Surgeon General,
women should not drink alcoholic

beverages during pregnancy
because of the risk of birth defects.

If you need assistance for substance abuse, please call the Office of Alcoholism and  Substance Abuse (OASA) at 1.800.843.6154.

Illinois Liquor Control CommissionPosting of this sign, in plain view, is required of all Illinois retail liquor licensees in accordance  
with Public Acts 86-823, 96-387, and Section 5/6-24a of the Illinois Liquor Control Act.
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Lee Roupas, the “Card Hard Man”.   
Lee is the manager of the Illinois Liquor 
Control Commission’s Beverage Alcohol 
Sellers and Servers Education and 
Training (BASSET) and Under 21 
programs.  For more information 
contact Lee at (312) 814-0773 or email 
lee.roupas@illinois.gov

EDUCATION•TRAINING• COMPLIANCE•LOWERED RISK

State of Illinois
Illinois Liquor Control Commission


