Illinois Liquor Laws and Penalties that Apply to Minors
Other Important Laws
Happy Hour Laws
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws
Illinois Drivers License and ID Cards
ILLINOIS LAWS AND PENALTIES CONCERNING MINORS:
Alcohol Sales and Service
DUI Laws and Penalties
How to Properly Check ID's
Dram Shop Laws
** Citations from the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934,
Illinois Vehicle Code and Illinois Constitution
LAWS REGARDING ALCOHOL SALES AND SERVICE, DUI AND VICTIMS RIGHTS
The Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) is the
regulating agency for the Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and
Training (BASSET) program. A major part of the BASSET program is to make
sellers/servers of alcoholic beverages aware of the laws in the State of
Illinois pertaining to sales and service of alcoholic beverages, DUI and Dram
Shop laws, victims=rights, and how to properly check ID's. BASSET training is
not mandatory in the State of Illinois, but the ILCC does encourage voluntary
participation to promote responsible alcohol service and prevent
235 ILCS 5/6-16 (a)(i) No one may sell or serve alcohol to
any person under the age of 21.
235 ILCS 5/6-16 (a)(iii) No one may purchase or provide
alcohol to anyone under the age of
21.235 ILCS 5/6-16 (a) (iii) (a) Violation of the above
provisions is a Class A misdemeanor and the sentence shall include, but shall
not be limited to a fine of not less than $500.
235 ILCS 5/6-16 (a) (i) (a) Possession of alcohol in either
an opened or closed container by anyone under the age of 21 on any street,
highway or public place, can result in a Class B misdemeanor.
235 ILCS 5/6-16 (iii) (a-1) (c) Any person can be found
guilty of a Class A misdemeanor -- or Class 4 felony if resulting in death --
if he or she allows or knowingly permits a gathering at a residence which he or
she occupies of two or more persons where any one or more of the guests is
under 21 years of age, the following factors apply:
The person occupying the residence knows that any such
person under the age of 21 is in possession of or is consuming any alcoholic
beverage and The person occupying the residence knows that the person under the
age of 21 leaves the residence in an intoxicated condition.
235 ILCS 5/6-16 (iii)(a-1)(d) Any person who rents a hotel
or motel room while alcoholic beverages are being consumed by anyone under 21
years of age can be found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and sentenced up to
one year in jail and a $2500 fine. The penalty also applies to the hotel or
235 ILCS 5/6-20 Any consumption, possession, purchase or
acceptance of any alcoholic beverage as a gift by any person under the age of
21 is forbidden, except during a religious ceremony or under parental supervision
in the privacy of a home. Anyone who violates this section shall be guilty of a
Class A misdemeanor.
OTHER IMPORTANT LAWS
235 ILCS 5/6-16(a)(i) No one may sell, give or serve
alcoholic beverages to any intoxicated person.
625 ILCS 5/11-502(c) It is prohibited for any driver or
passenger to transport, carry, possess or have any alcohol in a motor vehicle
except in its original sealed container.
235 ILCS 5/6-24 Every licensee shall cause his or her
license or licenses to be framed and hung in plain view in a conspicuous place
on the licensed premises.
235 ILCS 5/6-24a(b) Every retail license holder must hang a
sign that reads:A Government Warning: According to the Surgeon General, Women
Should not Drink Alcoholic Beverages During Pregnancy Because of the Risk of
HAPPY HOUR LAWS - 235 ILCS 5/6-28(b) **CHANGES AS OF JULY 15, 2015**
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) LAWS
In 1997, .08 became the legal limit of blood-alcohol content
DUI penalties for those 21 and over:
1st Conviction A minimum loss of driving privileges for
one-year. Imprisonment for a possible one-year term. Up to $2500 in fines.
2nd Conviction A minimum 5 year loss of driving privileges.
Possible imprisonment for one year, but 48 hours mandatory jail time, or 100
hours of community service if in 5 year-period. A $2500 fine.
3rd Conviction Class 2 felony with a minimum 10 years loss
of driving privileges. Possible imprisonment for 3-7 years. If given probation,
possible 30 days of community service. A possible fine up to $25,000.
DUI PENALTIES FOR UNDER AGE OF 21
1st Conviction Loss of driving privilges for a minimum of 2
years. A possible one-year prison term. A fine up to $2,500.
2nd Conviction Revocation of driver's license for a minimum
of 5 years or until the age of 21. Possible imprisonment for one year.
Mandatory 2 days jail time or 100 hours community service if in a 5-year
period. A fine up to $2,500
3rd Conviction Class 2 felony with loss of driving
privileges for 10 years. A possible 3-7 years prison term. If givenprobation, possible
30 days of commmunity service. A fine up yo $25,000
ILLINOIS DRIVERS LICENSE AND ID CARDS
Preventing underage sales of alcohol begins with properly
checking identification. Illinois drivers licenses and identification cards
(ID'S) have been redesigned to prevent tampering. The new licenses and ID's are
color coded, consisting of security film and is laminated in plastic to deter
any forgery or alteration. Tampering is easier to spot and the new licenses and
ID's are more durable.If you are not sure of an ID's authenticity you have the
right to refuse service. It would be helpful to have an ID checking guide on
the premises of all 50 states.
nois Drivers License New, digital driver=s license and ID
cards were issued in February of 1998.
An Illinois drivers license number is located at
the top left hand corner with the first initial of the persons last name in
front of it followed by 11 digits in red.
The Illinois logo is blue print.
The photos have a blue background and a dark
blue box that says either A drivers licenseds or AID Cardin white.
· On the top left is written Jesse White-
Secretary of State.
· The drivers license expires on the driver(s)
· On the left side of the driver(s) license and
ID, Illinois is printed in blue.