Synar - State Annual Survey
Federal regulations require that all states must complete the Annual Synar Report to evaluate retailer compliance to minimum-age tobacco laws. States must maintain a compliance rate of at least 80 percent (see chart below for Illinois' year-by-year rates), demonstrate that minimum-age tobacco laws are reasonably enforced and report these activities to the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention.
Failure to achieve these regulations can result in a reduction of the state’s Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant funding. In Illinois, this represents a potential $27 million loss. To view or download a copy of this year's report, click on the following link:
2016 Annual Synar Report (PDF)
Illustrated in the chart below is Illinois’ yearly Synar compliance rate for underage tobacco sales through Federal Fiscal Year 2016: