
APPLICATION FOR STATE OF ILLINOIS
CLASS 1 & CLASS 2 CRAFT DISTILLERS’S  LICENSE
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SUMMARY: 
• 50,000 gallons production limit
• Self-distribution eligible
• May not hold a Distilling Pub License

FEE: $75.00CLASS 1 CRAFT DISTILLER’S LICENSE

DEFINITION: A Class 1 Craft Distiller license, which may only be issued to a licensed craft distiller or licensed non-resident dealer, 
shall allow the manufacture of up to 50,000 gallons of spirits per year provided that the class 1 craft distiller licensee does not 
manufacture more than a combined 50,000 gallons of spirits per year and is not a member of or affiliated with, directly or indirectly, a 
manufacturer that produces more than 50,000 gallons of spirits per year or any other alcoholic liquor. A class 1 craft distiller licensee 
may make sales and deliveries to importing distributors and distributors and to retail licensees in accordance with the conditions set 
forth in paragraph (19) of subsection (a) of Section 3-12 of this Act. However, the aggregate amount of spirits sold to non-licensees 
and sold or delivered to retail licensees may not exceed 5,000 gallons per year. A class 1 craft distiller licensee may sell up to 5,000 
gallons of such spirits to non-licensees to the extent permitted by any exemption approved by the State Commission pursuant to 
Section 6-4 of this Act. A class 1 craft distiller license holder may store such spirits at a non-contiguous licensed location, but at no 
time shall a class 1 craft distiller license holder directly or indirectly produce in the aggregate more than 50,000 gallons of spirits per 
year. A class 1 craft distiller licensee may hold more than one class 1 craft distiller's license. However, a class 1 craft distiller that 
holds more than one class 1 craft distiller license shall not manufacture, in the aggregate, more than 50,000 gallons of spirits by 
distillation per year and shall not sell, in the aggregate, more than 5,000 gallons of such spirits to non-licensees in accordance with 
an exemption approved by the State Commission pursuant to Section 6-4 of this Act.  [235 ILCS 5/3-12(19)(a) of the Liquor Control 
Act]. 

The following documents MUST be attached for Class 1 Craft Distiller's License:

1) Copy of your current State of Illinois Manufacturer's (Craft Distiller's) Liquor License or, for out-of-state distilleries, a copy of
your current State of Illinois Non-resident Dealer's Liquor License and a copy of your out-of-state manufacturer's liquor license
to distill spirits.

2) Copy of your current federal basic permit. Visit the Federal Tax and Trade Bureau website at www.ttb.gov to download a copy
or call 1 877 882-3277 for more information.

3) Copy of your Federal Label Approval(s) (COLAs). Note: Federal label approvals may not be required if you are not bottling
your product.

4) Completed Registration Statement.
5) Department of Revenue Financial Bond (REG 4-A or REG 4-D).

Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission

JB Pritzker 
Governor

100 W. RANDOLPH ST., SUITE 7-801 
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60601 
TELEPHONE: 312 814-2206

300 W. JEFFERSON ST., SUITE 300 
SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS  62702 
TELEPHONE:  217 782-2136 
WEBSITE:  ILCC.lllinois.gov

All new applicants can email completed applications and attachments to
LCC.Licensing@illinois.gov



CLASS 2 CRAFT DISTILLER’S LICENSE FEE: $100.00

1) Copy of your current State of Illinois Manufacturer's (Craft Distiller's) Liquor License.
2) Copy of your federal basic permit. Visit the Federal Tax and Trade Bureau's website at www.ttb.gov to download a copy or call

1 877 882-3277 for more information.
3) Copy of all Federal Label Approval(s) (COLA's).  Note: Federal label approvals may not be required if you are not bottling your

product.
4) Completed Registration Statement.
5) Department of Revenue Financial Bond (REG 4-A or REG 4-D)

• 100,000 gallons production limit
• Not eligible to self-distribute
• May transfer to commonly-owned Class 2 Craft Distiller's locations up to 100,000 gallons of manufactured distilled spirits
• May hold no more than three (3) Distilling Pub Licenses

SUMMARY: 

DEFINITION: A Class 2 Craft Distiller license, which may only be issued to a licensed craft distiller or licensed non-resident dealer, 
shall allow the manufacture of up to 100,000 gallons of spirits per year provided that the class 2 craft distiller licensee 
does not manufacture more than a combined 100,000 gallons of spirits per year and is not a member of or affiliated with, directly or 
indirectly, a manufacturer that produces more than 100,000 gallons of spirits per year or any other alcoholic liquor. A class 2 
craft distiller licensee may make sales and deliveries to importing distributors and distributors but shall not make sales or deliveries 
to any other licensee. If the State Commission provides prior approval, a class 2 craft distiller licensee may annually transfer 
up to 100,000 gallons of spirits manufactured by that class 2 craft distiller licensee to the premises of a licensed class 2 craft distiller 
wholly owned and operated by the same licensee. A class 2 craft distiller may transfer spirits to a distilling pub wholly owned and 
operated by the class 2 craft distiller subject to the following limitations and restrictions: (i) the transfer shall not annually exceed 
more than 5,000 gallons; (ii) the annual amount transferred shall reduce the distilling pub's annual permitted production limit; (iii) all 
spirits transferred shall be subject to Article VIII of this Act; (iv) a written record shall be maintained by the distiller and distilling 
pub specifying the amount, date of delivery, and receipt of the product by the distilling pub; and (v) the distilling pub shall be located 
no farther than 80 miles from the class 2 craft distiller's licensed location. A class 2 craft distiller shall, prior to transferring spirits 
to a distilling pub wholly owned by the class 2 craft distiller, furnish a written notice to the State Commission of intent to transfer 
spirits setting forth the name and address of the distilling pub and shall annually submit to the State Commission a verified 
report identifying the total gallons of spirits transferred to the distilling pub wholly owned by the class 2 craft distiller. A 
class 2 craft distiller license holder may store such spirits at a non-contiguous licensed location, but at no time shall a class 
2 craft distiller license holder directly or indirectly produce in the aggregate more than 100,000 gallons of spirits per year. 
[235 ILCS 5/3-12(19)(a) of the Liquor Control Act]. 

The following documents MUST be attached for Class 2 Craft Distiller's License:
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DATE ISSUED

EXPIRATION DATE

LICENSE NO.

Application for Class 1/Class 2 Craft Distiller's Liquor License

 If you want your renewal application, your license
certificate and other ILCC correspondence sent to
your “corporate” address, please check this box.
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D. NAME
Enter the name of the sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation (Illinois, national, or foreign), or limited liability company in this box.
NOTE: This name must be consistent with the name printed on your federal basic permit.

Enter your nine-digit Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) in the box. 
If you need to obtain a FEIN, call 1 800 829-3676 for information on how to apply for 
and obtain the forms you need. Enter your eight-digit Illinois Department of Revenue 
Sales Tax Account ID. If you need to obtain this number, visit tax.illinois.gov, click 
on “Businesses” then “How do I Register” under the Business Registration section. 
If you have any questions, call 217 785-3707.  You MUST have both of these 
numbers in order for a license to be issued.

B. FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (FEIN) AND ILLINOIS SALES TAX ACCOUNT ID)

1. APPLICANT - CORPORATE INFORMATION

A. CURRENT ILLINOIS LIQUOR LICENSE NUMBER
If applicable, enter your current Illinois Craft Distiller/NRD License number in the box to the right.
Current licensees: Please ensure all your brands/products are registered in the State of Illinois.
If your brands are not properly registered, please complete the Registration Statement and attach 
copies of your federal label approvals.

C. TELEPHONE
Enter the area code, telephone number and extension of the
applicant or applicant representatve.

AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO.

(      ) EXT.

FEIN #

ILLINOIS SALES TAX ACCOUNT ID

NAME

ILLINOIS LIQUOR LICENSE  # (IF APPLICABLE)

E. MAILING ADDRESS/DISTILLERY ADDRESS
In Line E1, enter the street address, city, state, and ZIP code of the sole proprietorship, corporation, etc.
In Line E2, enter the street address, city, state, and ZIP code of the distillery location.

MAILING ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE
E1

E2

F.

CONTACT PERSON’S NAME (First, Last) BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER

(      )

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER (Home, Cell, etc.) 

CONTACT INFORMATION
Provide the contact information for your business. The contact person should be the responsible party we can contact who can answer questions 
on behalf of the business. The mobile or alternate number should be in addition to any business numbers on file. The email address should be 
the active email address for the business, not the personal email address of the contact person.

EMAIL ADDRESS FAX NUMBER

(      )

(      )

DISTILLERY LOCATION ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

• Effective September 1, 2020 all new applicants will have the option to
email their new liquor license applications and supporting documents to

LCC.Licensing@illinois.gov for review and processing.

• License fee payments shall be made by check through the mail within 3-7
business days to the Illinois Liquor Control Commission 100 W Randolph

Suite 7-801, Chicago, IL 60601 or 300 W Jefferson Suite 300,
Springfield, IL 62702.



2. STATUS OF BUSINESS

3. OWNERSHIP INFORMATION

E. Total percentage of all stock held by all persons with less than five percent interest. %
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Check the applicable box (sole proprietorship, partnership, Illinois corporation, foreign corporation, limited liability company) which corresponds to your 
business’ official papers filed with the Office of the Illinois Secretary of State.

Based on the box that you check, provide the date of the filing of the sole proprietorship/assumed name with the county clerk; in the case of a partnership,
the date of formation of the partnership; in the case of an Illinois corporation, the date of its incorporation; in the case of a foreign corporation, the
foreign state where it was incorporated and the date, as well as the date of its becoming qualified under the “Business Corporation Act of 1983” to
transact business in the State of Illinois; or in the case of a limited liability company, the date of formation of such entity.

A.

C.
D.
E.

B.






Sole Proprietorship
Partnership
Illinois Corporation
Foreign Corporation
Limited Liability Company

Date Filed With County Clerk:
Date Of Formation:
Date Of Incorporation:
State Of Incorporation: Date Qualified To Do Business In Illinois:
Date Formed:

A.

B.

C.

D.

(       )

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/HOME TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

(       )

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION % OWNED

(       )

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION % OWNED

(       )

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION % OWNED

AREA CODE/HOME TELEPHONE NO. 

AREA CODE/HOME TELEPHONE NO. 

AREA CODE/HOME TELEPHONE NO. 

Provide the owner/officer/partner information in accordance with the business status described under Question 2.  This information must be submitted
for all owners/officers/partners. The same information must be submitted for shareholders with interests equal to or exceeding five percent.

The following information must be provided for each  individual applicant, sole proprietor, partner, corporate officer or director (whether or not they
own any stock), shareholder owning aggregate stock equal to or more than five percent, (including officers, directors and shareholders with stock
equal to or more than five percent for all corporate shareholders), and/or manager or agent conducting the business.  Indicate the total percentage of
stock of the corporation, if any, which is held by persons who hold less than a five percent interest. If additional space is needed, provide information
on a separate sheet(s) in the same format as this application. Before completing this section, check the questions in Section 5 - Eligibility.

For each owner/officer/partner/five percent shareholder, provide full name, home address, city, state, ZIP code, Social Security number, date of birth,
sex, title/position, home telephone number, and ownership percentage.  Total ownership percentage should equal 100 percent. If there are a number
of shareholders owning less than five percent, indicate the aggregate total of ownership under Line E.



NAME OF DISTRIBUTOR			 CONTACT PERSON				 DATE

______________________________________________	 _________________________________________	 ___________

______________________________________________	 _________________________________________	 ___________

YEAR	 YEAR	
A. _______

B. _______

	





C. _______

D. _______

TOTAL GALLONS/BARRELS 

 __________________________________ 

 __________________________________ 
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4.

CLASS 1 CRAFT DISTILLER SELF-DISTRIBUTION EXEMPTION AFFADAVIT:

1. The undersigned affirms it has applied for or currently possesses an Illinois Craft Distillers license or Illinois
non-resident dealer license;
2. The undersigned affirms that neither it, nor its officers, managers, partners, owners who own more than 5%
and any of its agents or affiliates, annually produce 50,000 gallons or more of distilled spirits per year or
any other alcoholic liquor;
3. The undersigned affirms that it has contacted licensed distributors for the purpose of establishing distributor
relationships;
4. The undersigned affirms that it has contacted licensed distributors for the purpose of establishing distributor
relationships;
5. The undersigned affirms that it contacted the following distributors and requested distribution of its distilled
spirits and the below distributor(s) declined the request

8. The undersigned affirms that it does not hold a distiller pub license or any other retail (not including a local retail
license for its Class 1 Craft Distiller location.

9. The undersigned affirms that it does not conduct retail sales from more than three commonly owned and
operated distillery locations.

I swear, under penalty of perjury, that all representations made herein are true and correct and, if the representations 
are found to be untrue, the Commission will have the authority to revoke all licenses held by the affiant and all licenses 
affected by affiant’s false representations.

PRINT FULL NAME OF APPLICANT SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE

CLASS 1 CRAFT DISTILLER APPLICANTS ONLY

6. The undersigned hereby certifies that it understands that if it is granted a self-distribution exemption, it may sell no
more than 5,000 gallons per year directly to retail license holders and that if it exceeds this limit, the Illinois Liquor
Control Commission may revoke the self-distribution exemption, issue fines, or suspend or revoke the undersigns
license(s).

7. The undersigned affirms that its annual production level for each of the past 10 years is:
* If applicable, please include an attachment for years 5-10.

_________________________________________ ______________________________________________ 



5. CLASS 1 & CLASS 2 CRAFT DISTILLER REQUIREMENTS:
A) CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE

ATTACH A PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE (not the Policy Declaration)

You MUST provide a copy of your Certificate of Insurance if alcohol is consumed on the premises (this certificate is not required for carry-out only
establishments). The Certificate of Insurance must show that you have liquor liability insurance and must include the following: 1) the applicant
named as the insured (e.g., if the applicant is a corporation, then the corporation’s name must be listed; if the applicant is a sole proprietor, then
the sole proprietor’s name must be listed); 2) the address of the location where the liquor is being consumed; and 3) the dates of coverage and the
coverage limits.

B) LOCAL LIQUOR LICENSE INFORMATION
YOU MUST PROVIDE A PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR LOCAL LIQUOR LICENSE.
Your local license must contain the expiration date, issue date, and license number.

List the daily hours open for business. This information will assist Commission field agents in choosing an inspection time that causes the least
disruption to the business.

If you have agents, representatives or persons acting on your behalf in Illinois that sell or discuss pricing terms of alcoholic 
liquor, you are required to register each of these individuals by submitting forms IL 567-0053, “Application for Registration - 
Manufacturer’s Registered Agent”, and IL 567-0054, “Statement of Representation - Registration of Manufacturer’s Agent”.

7. MANUFACTURER’S REGISTERED AGENT REQUIREMENTS

MON TUES WED THURS FRI SAT SUN

6. HOURS OF OPERATION:

MUNICIPALITY/COUNTY ISSUING LOCAL LIQUOR LICENSE DATE ISSUEDLOCAL LICENSE NO. EXPIRATION DATE DATE YOU BEGAN LIQUOR SALES 

IL 095-0635 (12/2019) PAGE  6 OF 7



PAGE  7 OF 7

8. ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS
The term “applicant” applies to the business entity and its officers, managers, partners, owners who own more than five percent and any of its agents
or affiliates.
CLASS 1 CRAFT DISTILLER:

1.  YES  NO

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT/AUTHORIZED AGENT 

IL 095-0635 (12/2019)

TITLE/POSITION DATE

INCLUDING DISTILLING PUBS LISTED IN THE PREVIOUS QUESTION, DOES THE APPLICANT 
CURRENTLY HOLD A LOCAL LICENSE TO CONDUCT RETAIL SALES IN ILLINOIS? (INCLUDE ALL 
CLASS 2 BREWER LOCATIONS, IF APPLICABLE.) IF YES, PLEASE LIST THE ADDRESS(ES) BELOW:

2.  YES NO

DOES THE APPLICANT HOLD A DISTILLING PUB LICENSE?

DOES THE APPLICANT CURRENTLY HOLD A LOCAL LICENSE TO CONDUCT RETAIL SALES IN lLLINOIS?

DOES APPLICANT CURRENTLY HOLD A LICENSE TO MANUFACTURE ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR IN ILLINOIS 
OTHER THAN LICENSES ISSUED TO THIS APPLICANT LOCATION?

DOES THE APPLICANT CURRENTLY HOLD A CLASS 2 DISTILLER'S LICENSE?

CLASS 2 CRAFT DISTILLER: 
DOES THE APPLICANT HOLD A DISTILLING PUB LICENSE? IF YES, PLEASE LIST THE ADDRESS(ES) BELOW:

1.  YES  NO

DOES THE APPLICANT CONDUCT RETAIL SALES FROM MORE THAN THREE COMMONLY OWNED AND 
OPERATED DISTILLERY LOCATIONS?

3. YES  NO

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

9. SIGNATURE/TITLE/DATE
Please sign and date the application form and provide your title with the organization. The application must be signed by an owner, an officer, a 
partner or an officially authorized agent of the business. The signature must be an original; rubber stamps, photocopies, or faxed copies are not 
accepted.

I, THE UNDERSIGNED APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED AGENT THEREOF, SWEAR OR AFFIRM THAT:  THE MATTERS STATED IN THE FOREGOING 
APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT;  THEY ARE MADE UPON MY PERSONAL KNOWLEDGE AND INFORMATION;  THEY ARE MADE FOR 
THE PURPOSE OF REQUESTING THE STATE OF ILLINOIS TO ISSUE THE LICENSE HEREIN APPLIED FOR;  THE APPLICANT IS QUALIFIED 
AND ELIGIBLE TO OBTAIN THE LICENSE APPLIED FOR;  AND THE APPLICANT WILL NOT VIOLATE ANY OF THE LAWS OF THE UNITED 
STATES OF AMERICA OR THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, IN PARTICULAR, THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL ACT, RULES AND REGULATIONS, AND 
THE CIVIL RIGHTS SECTIONS THEREOF. 

FURTHER, I AGREE TO NOTIFY THIS COMMISSION WITHIN 30 WORKING DAYS OF CHANGES IN ANY OF THE ABOVE INFORMATION. (NOTE: 
IF THE PERSON SIGNING THIS APPLICATION IS NOT LISTED IN SECTION 3, THEY MUST PROVIDE THE STATE WITH THEIR 
PERSONAL INFORMATION AS INDICATED IN SECTION 3 EVEN IF THEY DO NOT OWN FIVE PERCENT OR MORE OF THE BUSINESS.)

4. YES  NO

2. YES  NO

3. YES  NO

DOES APPLICANT CURRENTLY HOLD A CLASS 1 CRAFT DISTILLIER'S LICENSE?4. YES  NO
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Registration Statement
(Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 235)

TO THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION:
Pursuant to the requirement of Section 6-9 of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934, 235 ILCS 5/1-1, et.seq., the 
undersigned, a 

(Insert -- Manufacturer, Distributor, Importing Distributor, or Non-resident Dealer)

does hereby register with said Commission the following named persons or companies as being the only ones to whom the 
undersigned has granted the right to sell or distribute at wholesale within the State of Illinois, one or more of those alcoholic 
liquors which bear trademarks, brands or names owned or controlled by the undersigned.  The undersigned does hereby 
further register opposite the name of said persons or companies, the respective trademarks, brands or names, owned or 
controlled by the undersigned, concerning which said persons have been given such distributing rights and the respective 
geographical territories for which such distributing rights have been given to said persons or companies, and the period of 
time for which such rights are granted to such person.

NAME, ADDRESS, CITY, STATE AND 
ZIP CODE OF WHOLESALER

TRADEMARK BRAND, OR 
NAME OF ITEM

GEOGRAPHICAL
TERRITORY

TIME
PERIOD

CORPORATE NAME:

ADDRESS:

SIGNED BY:

DATE:

STATE LICENSE # EXP. DATE

(Street Number)

(City or Town)

(Title)

This state agency is requesting disclosure of information 
that is necessary to accomplish the statutory purpose 
as outlined under the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 
1934, 235 ILSC 5/6-9.  Disclosure of this information is 
MANDATORY.	

Failure to provide any information will result in 
nonissuance of your license and/or nonregistration of 
your products.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

SIGNATURE:
(Authorized Person)



Part 1: Financial responsibility bond type and 
number
Line a, Bond type - The bond type must match the tax type for 
which the bond is being issued.

Line b, Financial responsibility bond number - This number is 
assigned by the surety company and must be present on the bond.

Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information
Taxpayer's name and address - The name and address must be 
identical to the information that you have registered with us. The 
address must be the physical location of your business; mailing 
addresses, PO Boxes, and other addresses are not acceptable.

Name and address of surety - The name and address of the surety 
company executing the bond must be present.

Bond amount - The amount of bond coverage must be entered on 
this line.

Notification of cancellation - The surety company may 
conditionally cancel the bond by filing a written notice with IDOR by 
registered or certified mail within 90 days.

Part 3: Financial responsibility bond signatures and 
seal requirements
Signed and sealed date - The date the bond was signed by the 
surety company and their seal was affixed to the bond form.

Effective date - This is the date the bond coverage will begin.

Surety seal - The corporate seal of the surety company must be 
affixed to the bond form.

Principal's signatures - The organization type of your business 
determines the signature requirements. If your company is a

Corporation - Two signatures are required. The president and 
corporate secretary must both sign the bond. If no individual 
is identified as the corporate secretary, another officer of the 
company may sign the bond. 

	Partnership - Two signatures are required. Two partners must 
both sign the bond. 

	Proprietorship - One signature is required. The sole proprietor 
must sign the bond. 

	Limited Liability Company (LLC) filing as a corporation, 	
	partnership, or single member - One signature is required. 
Any manager or member of the LLC may sign the bond. 

Surety signature - A surety company attorney-in-fact must sign 
and print his or her name. The name of the individual who signs for 
the surety company must appear on the required power of attorney 
attached to the bond.

Countersignature - A countersignature is only required if an 
independent insurance company is writing the bond agreement on 
behalf of the surety company. Provide the name and address of the 
independent agent.

Power of attorney - An original power of attorney must accompany 
the bond.

What is required for Form REG-4-A?
All signatures and seals must be original. We will not accept copies, 
faxes, etc., as proof of bond coverage. Duplicate originals must 
be marked as such and must meet the same requirements as the 
original bond form. You must attach a power of attorney stating the 
attorney-in-fact's name.

If any of the above requirements are not met, we will not accept the 
bond and it will be returned for correction.

Where do I send my Form REG-4-A?
Mail your completed Form REG-4-A with any required attachments 
to us at

CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION 3-222
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19039
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9039

If you have questions regarding Form REG-4-A, visit our website at 
tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 
at 217 558-7425.

Specific Instructions

General Information

Who must submit a bond?
Form REG-4-A, Financial Responsibility Bond, or Form REG-4-D, 
Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit Bond, is required to 
complete your registration to be licensed as a

Note: International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) carriers may be 
required to obtain a bond. 

You must complete either Form REG-4-A or Form REG-4-D to 
obtain a bond. You will not be issued a certificate of registration and 
cannot be legally registered to do business in Illinois until we receive 
your bond.

How do I obtain a bond using Form REG-4-A?
You must provide Form REG-4-A to the insurance company that 
will be providing your bond. A separate bond is required for each 
location.

• cigarette distributor
• cigarette machine operator
• liquor distributor
• direct wine shipper
• liquor airline

• tobacco products distributor
• motor fuel distributor
• motor fuel supplier
• motor fuel receiver

REG-4-A-I (N-04/13)



Illinois Department of Revenue

REG-4-A	 Financial Responsibility Bond            

Part 1: Financial responsibility bond type and number
a	 Bond type: ____________________________________________

b	 Financial responsibility bond number: _______________________

Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information 

We, _______________________________________________________________________________________ (as principal)
         Taxpayer's name and address 

and _________________________________________________________________________________________ (as surety)
         Name and address of surety

are bound to the people of the State of Illinois in the penal sum of $_____________________.  We hereby bind ourselves, our 
heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns to the payment of this amount.

The condition of this bond is that if the principal (taxpayer) identified above, who has applied for the tax responsibility (bond 
type) identified above, in Part 1, pays to the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) all amounts becoming due from the principal 
(taxpayer) under this law, then the bond will become void; otherwise, the bond will remain in full force.

The surety identified above may conditionally cancel this bond at any time by filing a written notice with IDOR by registered or 
certified mail within 90 days. However, cancellation does not discharge the surety from any liability previously accrued under this 
bond or that may accrue before the 90 days expire.

Part 3: Financial responsibility bond signatures and seal requirements
We have signed and sealed this bond on  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __,  to be effective  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __.  
You must attach a power of attorney.	  

       	 (Principal's seal)		           (Surety's seal)

	 __________________________________________	 	 __________________________________________
	 Principal's (taxpayer) signature	 	 Surety company attorney-in-fact's signature
	
	 __________________________________________	 	 __________________________________________
	 Second principal's signature, if applicable	 	 Attorney-in-fact's printed name

	 __________________________________________	 	 Countersigned by
	 President's or co-partner's signature

	 __________________________________________	 	 __________________________________________
	 Corporate secretary's signature	 	 Agent for surety

      	 	 	 __________________________________________                                                     
	 	 	 Number and street

	 	 	 __________________________________________
	 	              	 City                                                    	 State	 	 ZIP

For official use only
	 	
Date approved: __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __   	 ______________________________________
	                  Month    Day        Year	  IDOR Director's signature

License number: _____________________

REG-4-A (R-04/13)



REG-4-D-I (N-04/13)

Part 1: Financial institution letter of credit bond type 
and number
Line a, Bond type - The bond type must match the tax type for 
which the bond is being issued.

Line b, Financial institution irrevocable letter of credit number -
This number is assigned by the financial institution and must be 
present on the bond.

Line c, Bond amount - The amount of bond coverage must be 
entered on this line.

Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information
Taxpayer - The name and address must be identical to the 
information that you have registered with us. The address must be 
the physical location of your business; mailing addresses, PO Boxes, 
and other addresses are not acceptable.

Financial institution - The name and address of the financial 
institution executing the bond must be present.

Part 3: Effective and maturity date of bond
Effective date - This is the date the bond coverage will begin.

Maturity date - This is the date on which the letter of credit will 
mature.

Part 4: Bond conditions
The letter of credit must be written for a minimum of one year and 
be automatically renewable for successive one-year periods unless 
we receive written notice of cancellation 30 days prior to the maturity 
date.

Part 5: Financial institution officer information
Name, title, and signature - These lines must be completed by the 
financial institution officer authorizing the letter of credit.

Part 6: Financial institution seal
Financial institution seal - An official seal must be affixed in Part 
6. If the financial institution does not have an official seal, a letter, 
on financial institution letterhead, stating that the financial institution 
does not have an official seal must accompany the letter of credit.

What is required for Form REG-4-D?
All signatures and seals must be original. We will not accept copies, 
faxes, etc., as proof of bond coverage. Duplicate originals must 
be marked as such and must meet the same requirements as the 
original bond form.

If any of the above requirements are not met, we will not accept the 
bond and it will be returned for correction.

Where do I send my Form REG-4-D?
Mail your completed Form REG-4-D with any required attachments 
to us at	

		  CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION 3-222
		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
		  PO BOX 19039
		  SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9039

If you have questions regarding Form REG-4-D, visit our website at 
tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 
at 217 558-7425.

Specific Instructions

General Information
Who must submit a bond?
Form REG-4-D, Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit 
Bond, or Form REG-4-A, Financial Responsibility Bond, is required 
to complete your registration to be licensed as a

Note: International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) carriers may be 
required to obtain a bond. 

You must complete either Form REG-4-D or Form REG-4-A to 
obtain a bond. You will not be issued a certificate of registration and 
cannot be legally registered to do business in Illinois until we receive 
your bond.

How do I obtain a bond using Form REG-4-D?
You must provide Form REG-4-D to the financial institution that 
will be providing your bond. A separate bond is required for each 
location.

•	 cigarette distributor
•	 cigarette machine operator
•	 liquor distributor
•	 direct wine shipper
•	 liquor airline

•	 tobacco products distributor
•	 motor fuel distributor
•	 motor fuel supplier 
•	 motor fuel receiver



REG-4-D (R-04/13)

Illinois Department of Revenue

REG-4-D	 Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit Bond								    
Part 1: Financial institution letter of credit bond type and number
a	 Bond type: _________________________________________________

b	 Financial institution irrevocable letter of credit number: _______________

c	 Bond amount: $_____________________

Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information 
	 Taxpayer:            	  		  Financial institution: 

	 _________________________________________	________			   _______________________________________________
       	Name																            Name

	 _________________________________________	________			   _______________________________________________
	 Street address														          Street address

	 _________________________________________	________			   _______________________________________________
	 City                                                                      	 State        	 ZIP			   City                                                                          	 State                   	  ZIP

Part 3: Effective and maturity date of bond
	 Effective date: ____ /____ /________							     Maturity date: ____ /____ /________
                                       		  Month	    Day	      Year										             Month	      Day               Year

Part 4: Bond conditions
If the taxpayer identified above, in Part 2, fails to pay the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) all moneys, including 
penalties and interest, due under this bond type's tax act, IDOR is authorized to draw drafts on demand against this 
irrevocable letter of credit. The sum of the drafts drawn against this irrevocable letter of credit cannot exceed the bond 
amount above, in Part 1, and drafts drawn against it are payable on demand. This letter of credit is issued for a period 
of one year and will be renewed automatically for successive one-year periods unless IDOR receives a written notice of 
cancellation 30 days prior to the maturity date.

Part 5: Financial institution officer information
The undersigned officer of the financial institution identified above, in Part 2, is duly authorized by the Board of Directors to 
execute this irrevocable letter of credit; and this financial institution will honor all drafts on demand. The name of the authorized 
financial institution officer, title, and signature are required.

	 Name: ___________________________________________			   Title: __________________________________________

	 Signature: ________________________________________

Part 6: Financial institution seal
The official seal of the financial institution must be affixed below.

	
For official use only
	 	
Date approved: ____ /____ /________   	 ______________________________________
	                         Month       Day               Year                	 IDOR Director's signature

License number: _____________________
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