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DEFINITION: “Homemade brewed beverage” means beer or any other beverage obtained by the alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or 
concoction of grains, sugars, or both in water and includes, but is not limited to, beer, mead, and cider made by a person 21 years of age 
or older, through his or her own efforts, fermented at his or her place of residence, fermented at another place of residence of a homemade 
brewed beverage brewer, or fermented at a premises of a commercial enterprise that is engaged primarily in selling supplies and equipment 
for use by home brewers and not for a commercial purpose but for consumption by that person or his or her family, neighbors, guests, 
and friends or for use at an exhibition, demonstration, judging, tasting, or sampling with sampling sizes as authorized by Section 6-31 of 
the Illinois Liquor Control Act or as part of a contest or competition authorized by Section 6-36 of this Act.

No license or permit is required for the making of homemade brewed beverages or for the possession, transportation, or storage of 
homemade brewed beverages by any person 21 years of age or older, if all of the following apply:

1. The person who makes the homemade brewed beverages receives no compensation;

2. The homemade brewed beverage is not sold or offered for sale (event admission fees to homemade brewing events are NOT
considered fees for the sale of homemade brewed beverages); and

3. The total quantity of homemade brewed beverages made, in a calendar year, by the person does not exceed 100 gallons if the
household has only one person 21 years of age or older or 200 gallons if the household has 2 or more persons 21 years of age
or older.

If homemade brewed beverages are offered to be sampled by the public at any location, a person shall obtain a homebrewer special 
event permit for each location. Per sampling limitations, a permit holder may offer to the public up to 3 samples, consisting of no more than 
2 ounces of beer to a consumer over the age of 21 in one day. A homebrewer special event permit holder is required to obtain dram shop 
insurance in the maximum limit required for this license.

APPLICATION FOR STATE OF ILLINOIS 
HOMEBREWER SPECIAL EVENT LICENSE

Local liquor licensing authority
 approval is required for this license.

Dram shop insurance to the maximum 
limit is required for this license.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION IS REQUESTING DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION THAT IS NECESSARY UNDER THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL ACT 
(235 ILCS 5/1 ET SEQ.). DISCLOSURE OF THIS INFORMATION IS MANDATORY.  FAILURE TO PROVIDE ANY INFORMATION WILL RESULT IN THE NON-ISSUANCE OF YOUR LICENSE.  

Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission

JB Pritzker 
Governor

100 W. RANDOLPH ST., SUITE 7-801 
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60601
TELEPHONE: 312 814-2206
TDD:  312 814-1844

300 W. JEFFERSON ST., SUITE 300 
SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS  62702 
TELEPHONE:  217 782-2136 
WEBSITE:  ILCC.lllinois.gov

The applicant will need to email the application and document attachments to 
LCC.Licensing@illinois.gov.  

Payment for a Home Brewer Special Event Permit is $25 and shall be made by check through the 
mail on or before 12/31/2020 to Illinois Liquor Control Commission, 100 W. Randolph St., Suite 

7-801, Chicago, IL 60601 or 300 W. Jefferson, Suite 300, Springfield, IL 62702.  REFERENCE your 
State Liquor License Number (ex. 4E-XXXXXX) and/or your licensed business address OR attach a 

copy of your Home Brewer Special Event Permit application. 
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Provide the information requested in the spaces below, including the corporate/organization name, the corporate/organization Federal Employer
Identification Number (FEIN); your corporate/organization mailing address, telephone number and county.

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

DATE ISSUED

LICENSE NO.

EXPIRATION DATE

FOR OFFICE 
USE ONLY

COUNTER 

1. APPLICANT INFORMATION

Application for State of Illinois Homebrewer Special Event Permit

NAME FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NO.

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

IL 567-0055 (1/2019)

3.
Are you offering samples of your product to the General Public?  Yes _______  No ______. 
If the answer is NO, then this license is not required. If the answer is YES, then you must comply with the sampling guidelines in 6-31 of the 
ILCC Liquor Control Act (235 ILCS 5/6-31):

Sec. 6-31. Product Sampling
(a) Retailer, distributor, importing distributor, manufacturer and nonresident dealer licensees may conduct product
sampling for consumption at a licensed retail location. Up to 3 samples, consisting of no more than (i) 1/4 ounce of
distilled spirits, (ii) one ounce of wine, or (iii) 2 ounces of beer may be served to a consumer in one day.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a), an on-premises retail licensee may offer for sale and serve
more than one drink per person for sampling purposes without violating paragraph (1) of subsection (b) of Section
6-28 or paragraph (6) of subsection (c) of Section 6-28 of this Act, provided the total quantity of the sampling
package, regardless of the number of containers in which the alcoholic liquor is being served, does not exceed 1
ounce of distilled spirits, 4 ounces of wine, or 16 ounces of beer. In any event, all provisions of Section 6-28 shall
apply to an on-premises retail licensee that conducts product sampling.

(Source: P.A. 90-432, eff. 1-1-98; 90-626, eff. 1-1-99.)

Are you offering samples of your product to the general public at a licensed liquor retailer location? Yes _______  No ______. 
If the answer is NO, you can proceed to completing the rest of the application If the answer is YES, we cannot issue a license to you at 
this time, as Homebrewers cannot do samplings at a location that currently holds a liquor license with the State of Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission.

AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NUMBER

(      ) EXT.

HOMEBREWER SPECIAL EVENT QUESTIONS
a.

b.

CONTACT INFORMATION
Provide the contact information for your business. The contact person should be the responsible party we can contact and who can answer   
questions on behalf of the business. The mobile or alternate number should be in addition to any business numbers on file. The email address 
should be the active email address for the business, not the personal email address of the contact person.

CONTACT PERSON’S NAME (First, Last) BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER

(      )

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER (Home, Cell, etc.) 

EMAIL ADDRESS FAX NUMBER

(      )

(      )
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3. HOMEBREWER SPECIAL EVENT DETAIL

4. CORPORATE/ORGANIZATION OFFICER INFORMATION

Provide the date(s) and time(s) that the event will be held.  When you receive your printed license certificate from the 
Commission, times will be listed in military time (e.g., “0200” = 2AM, “1200” = noon”, “2400” = midnight).

Provide the address/location of the event. If an address is not available, provide specific instructions to enable our 
investigators to find the event. Note: Only one location is allowed per application.

Provide the name/type of the event (e.g., neighborhood festival, Octoberfest, fish fry, tasting/sampling, etc.).

Determine the total number of event themes/types for which approval is requested. Use a separate application for 
each event theme/type.

Determine the total number of days and locations covered by the event. 

•

•

•
•

•

DATE OF EVENT:
EVENT STARTS

(MONTH/DAY/YR)

DATE OF EVENT:
EVENT ENDS

(MONTH/DAY/YR)

EVENT TIME:
TIME FROM
( AM/PM )

EVENT TIME:
TIME TO

( AM/PM )

LOCATION OF EVENT:
STREET ADDRESS

CITY/STATE/ZIP

EVENT THEME:
TYPE OF EVENT

(       )

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

(       )

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

(       )

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

The individual signing this application at the bottom of Page 4 MUST be listed in this section.
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SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT/AUTHORIZED AGENT 
IL 567-0055 (1/2019)

TITLE/POSITION DATE

You MUST submit proof that Dram Shop insurance to the maximum limit has been secured for this event. Attach a photocopy 
of the insurance rider to this application. Remember, it must cover the location where the special event is being held and the coverage
must coincide with the dates of the event.

ATTACH:

DRAM SHOP INSURANCE RIDER
(IF MISSING, APPLICATION WILL BE REJECTED)

7. DRAM SHOP INSURANCE

Local Liquor
Commissioner’s 
Event Approval 

Stamp Here
( if applicable )

You MUST submit proof of local authority approval for your event. Generally, your local municipality will issue approval in the
form of a letter, a certificate, or a rubber stamp. If the event is taking place in an unincorporated area, the county will need to provide
the approval. If the event is taking place on state or federal property, please contact our office as special approval will be necessary.  
Local authorities will use the box below for “approval” stamps or seals, such as the City of Chicago Liquor Commission. If stamps/
seals are not applicable, attach a photocopy of the approval letter or certificate.

ATTACH:

LOCAL AUTHORITY APPROVAL
(IF MISSING, APPLICATION WILL BE REJECTED)

6. LOCAL AUTHORITY APPROVAL

or

8. SIGNATURE/DATE/TITLE
The application must be signed and dated by the applicant or an authorized agent of the applicant along with the title/position of the person signing. 

I, THE UNDERSIGNED APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED AGENT THEREOF, SWEAR OR AFFIRM THAT:  THE MATTERS STATED IN THE FOREGOING 
APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT;  THEY ARE MADE UPON MY PERSONAL KNOWLEDGE AND INFORMATION;  THEY ARE MADE FOR 
THE PURPOSE OF REQUESTING THE STATE OF ILLINOIS TO ISSUE THE LICENSE HEREIN APPLIED FOR;  THE APPLICANT IS QUALIFIED 
AND ELIGIBLE TO OBTAIN THE LICENSE APPLIED FOR;  AND THE APPLICANT WILL NOT VIOLATE ANY OF THE LAWS OF THE UNITED 
STATES OF AMERICA OR THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, IN PARTICULAR, THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL ACT, RULES AND REGULATIONS, 
AND THE CIVIL RIGHTS SECTIONS THEREOF.
FURTHER, I AGREE TO NOTIFY THIS COMMISSION WITHIN 30 WORKING DAYS OF CHANGES IN ANY OF THE ABOVE INFORMATION.

5. PRIOR LIQUOR LICENSE INFORMATION

A.

B.

If “yes,” provide a complete written explanation of the circumstances on a separate sheet of paper.  

Has the organization ever applied for and been denied a liquor license?

Is this your first state liquor license application? Yes No

If this is not your first state liquor license application, provide 
the business addresses for other past and present licensed 
locations on the lines provided (to the right): 

C.

If “yes,” provide a complete written explanation of the circumstances on a separate sheet of paper.  

Has the organization had any previous Special Event Retailer’s Liquor License(s) suspended or 
revoked?

D.

If “yes,” please provide the Illinois liquor license number:

Does the organization/applicant currently hold an Illinois Retailer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Liquor 
License(s)?

E.

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No
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