Governor Quinn Announces Federal Disaster Aid Approved for 14 Additional Counties

May 22, 2013
Federal Grants, Low-Interest Loans Will Help Families and Businesses Recover from Historic Floods
SPRINGFIELD – Governor Pat Quinn today announced 14 more counties were approved for federal disaster aid to help people and businesses recover from historic flooding in mid-April. Counties approved today include Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell and Woodford. These add to 11 counties already approved for federal aid last week.
“I thank the Obama administration for quick approval of my request for federal assistance to help people recover from this devastating flood,” Governor Quinn said. “This action will help speed assistance to people who suffered flood damages and help them begin rebuilding their lives.”
The state’s request was supported by damage assessment documentation that identified 14 homes in the area that were destroyed and 202 that suffered major damage. Thousands of additional homes were also affected by the floods. More than 800 homes in those counties were surveyed.
The governor’s request for federal assistance was supported by U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL), Mark Kirk (R-IL) and Illinois’ entire congressional delegation.
The federal disaster declaration makes assistance available to flood victims, including grants to individuals and households to help with temporary housing, home repairs or replacement and other disaster-related expenses, as well as low-interest SBA loans to residents and businesses.
On May 10, Governor Quinn’s request for federal aid for Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties was approved.
“We will begin working immediately with FEMA to ensure flood victims can get needed help as quickly as possible,” Illinois Emergency Management Agency Director Jonathon Monken said.
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which administers the assistance program, has a toll-free telephone number (800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for hearing and speech impaired) for victims to apply for assistance. Registration can also be done online at
Damage assessments are continuing in many other counties hit by severe flooding and additional requests for federal assistance to help citizens in those counties are expected.