Governor Quinn Announces Federal Disaster Aid Approved for Eight Additional Counties

May 31, 2013


Grants, Loans Will Help People, Businesses Recover from Floods

SPRINGFIELD – Governor Pat Quinn today announced eight more counties were approved for federal disaster aid to help people and businesses recover from historic flooding in mid-April. Counties approved today include Brown, Calhoun, Clark, Douglas, Henry, Pike, Whiteside and Winnebago. Governor Quinn submitted a request to add these counties on Wednesday.

I thank the Obama Administration for quick approval of my request for federal assistance to help people recover from this devastating flood,” Governor Quinn said. “This quick action will help speed assistance to people who suffered flood damages and help them begin rebuilding their lives.”

The state’s request was supported by damage assessment documentation that identified 141 flood-damaged homes were found in the eight counties approved today, including 27 with major damage.

The federal disaster declaration makes assistance available to flood victims, including grants to individuals and households to help with temporary housing, home repairs or replacement and other disaster-related expenses, as well as low-interest loans to residents and businesses.

Today’s announcement brings to 33 the number of counties approved for federal assistance. Others previously approved include Bureau, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Peoria, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Will and Woodford.

To date, more than $68.3 million in federal aid has been approved for 24,000 individuals and households in those 25 counties, as well as nearly $2 million in low-interest loans.

“We will begin working immediately with FEMA to ensure flood victims can get needed help as quickly as possible,” said Illinois Emergency Management Agency Director Jonathon Monken.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which administers the assistance program, has a toll-free telephone number (800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for hearing and speech impaired) to apply for assistance. Registration can also be done online at