State, Federal Teams Continue Assessments of Spring Flood Event

Additional Counties Added to Federal Review as FEMA Finalizes Spring Flood Incident Period 

Springfield, Ill. – State and federal damage assessment teams on Friday began their fifth day of what is expected to be a lengthy and extensive review of the damage and costs incurred from the Great Flood of 2019. The devastating spring storms and record flooding affected more than 40-percent of the state’s population, outside of Cook County, in 36 counties throughout the State. 

New information submitted by county emergency managers identified additional needs for further assessments in the following counties: Stephenson, Winnebago, Jackson and Monroe. On Thursday, the State of Illinois formally requested these counties be added to the on-going Preliminary Damage Assessment. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has agreed to this request. 

Additionally, FEMA has notified the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) of the official incident period of this historic event. In general, damages and costs incurred between February 24 and July 3, 2019 will be considered eligible for reimbursement if the requirements under the Stafford Act are met. 

“Given the large geographical region we must survey, this assessment will take time,” said Governor JB Pritzker. “Our teams are working as quickly and efficiently as possible, but we must work together to accurately show the full impact this flood has had on our residents, communities and local governments. This administration will work tirelessly to advocate on behalf of those impacted by this disaster.” 

“Illinois had not seen flooding of this duration in nearly a century. The damage to homes and businesses was widespread in Stephenson, Winnebago, Jackson, and Monroe Counties,” said U.S. Senator Dick Durbin. “I applaud Governor Pritzker for his efforts to help our state recover and rebuild. I will do everything I can in Congress to assist him.” 

“The flooding across our communities has been heartbreaking and it’s vital we have an accurate assessment of the extent of the damage,” said Congresswoman Cheri Bustos. “That’s why I am pleased that FEMA has decided to account for flooding damage in Stephenson and Winnebago counties in the State’s Preliminary Damage Assessment. I strongly urge residents of Stephenson and Winnebago counties to report their damages to their county emergency management agency as soon as possible to ensure federal resources are available to the State of Illinois and residents.” 

Earlier this week, FEMA granted the State of Illinois an extension for submitting a request to the federal government for a major disaster declaration. The State now has until September 3 to request federal assistance. Damage assessment teams began reviewing flood and storm-related costs with local and state governments on July 29, with plans to begin assessing the damage to homes and businesses around August 12. 

Joint damage assessments will take place in the following counties: LaSalle, Carroll, Whiteside, Rock Island, Mercer, Henderson, Knox, Henry, Pike, Morgan, Woodford, Calhoun, Madison, Monroe, Bureau, Hancock, Adams, Peoria, Fulton, Schuyler, Cass, Scott, Tazewell, Greene, Jersey, St. Clair, Randolph, Jackson, Union, Stephenson, Winnebago and Alexander Counties. Due to the extensive geographic region and on-going flood fight impeding key transportation thoroughfares, this process is expected to last several weeks. 

For updates on the current flood operation, visit the Ready Illinois website at