FEMA Denies State’s Request for Federal Assistance to Aid Residents, Business Owners in Wake of Historic Flood

State will Seek Appeal on Behalf of 22 Affected Counties 

SPRINGFIELD – The State of Illinois was notified today that its request for federal assistance to help residents and businesses in 22 counties along the Illinois and Mississippi River recover from flooding has been denied. In a letter notifying the state of the denial, FEMA Associate Administrator Jeff Byard said federal officials, “determined the impact to individuals and households from this event is not of such severity and magnitude to warrant the designation of Individual Assistance.” This is a statement the State of Illinois passionately denies and thus, the State will appeal the decision of the federal government. 

On August 28, the state submitted a request for two types of federal assistance: Individual Assistance to help people and businesses recover and Public Assistance to provide reimbursement to local governments for some of their disaster-related expenses. In his request, Governor JB Pritzker outlined more than $69 million in direct losses, including over $8.2 million in losses to individuals, damage to more than 1,400 homes and a direct impact to 2.1 million people. 

“Illinois’ proud and cherished river communities have experienced an unprecedented tragedy at the hands of Mother Nature. They deserve the resources that will allow them to rebuild and thrive,” said Alicia Tate-Nadeau, Acting Director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA). “On behalf of the families of the seven people that died, the individuals who were forced from their homes, and the business owners who have feared for their economic viability, the State of Illinois will aggressively fight on your behalf.” 

Counties included in the state’s request for federal assistance for people and businesses were Adams, Alexander, Calhoun, Carroll, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jackson, Jersey, Knox, Madison, Mercer, Monroe, Peoria, Pike, Randolph, Rock Island, Stephenson, Union, Whiteside, Winnebago and Woodford.