How is Motor Fuel Tax disbursed to local governments?

The motor fuel tax rates are 19 cents per gallon on motor fuel and 21.5 cents per gallon on special (diesel) fuel. This tax is disbursed by the Illinois Department of Transportation. For further information, write to the Illinois Department of Transportation at the address below:

Bureau of Local Roads and Streets (Rm 205)
Illinois Department of Transportation
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62703

If you have additional inquiries, you may submit them to the Questions, Comments, or Request form.