
Page 1 of 4IL-1120-X Instructions (R-12/01)

Illinois Department of Revenue

IL-1120-X Instructions
What is new?
• Effective for tax years ending on or after

December 31, 2000, only sales are used
to figure the apportionment factor.

• Effective for returns due on or after
January 1, 2001, the late-payment penalty,
late-filing penalty, and interest have
changed. In addition, a new bad check
penalty has been established. For more
information, see “Penalties and Interest.”

• Effective for tax years ending on or after
December 31, 2001, the subtraction line
(Form IL-1120, Part I, Line 5g), for a
federal net operating loss (NOL)
carryforward from loss years ending prior
to December 31, 1986, has been re-
moved from Form IL-1120. A federal NOL
arising from tax years ending prior to
December 31, 1986, could only be carried
forward for 15 years. Part I, Line 5c,
remains on Form IL-1120-X for amending
tax years ending before December 31,
2001.

General Information
Who must file Form IL-1120-X?
You should file Form IL-1120-X if you are
amending a previously filed, processable
Form IL-1120, Illinois Corporation Income and
Replacement Tax Return, or Form IL-1120-X,
for a tax year ending on or after December
31, 1986. Your change can occur from a state
or federal change, such as
• an amendment of your federal income tax

return,
• an adjustment made by the Internal

Revenue Service (IRS), or
• any other recomputation or redetermina-

tion, and
your change affects items used to compute
your Illinois net income, net loss, or credits.

A separate Form IL-1120-X must be filed for
each tax year you need to amend.

Note: Use Form IL-1120X-PY, Amended
Corporation Income and Replacement Tax
Return, to amend tax years ending prior to
December 31, 1986.

What if I need to correct my
return before the extended due
date expires?
If you filed your original Form IL-1120 and a
state or federal correction or change needs
to be made before the automatic extension
due date has expired, you should file
Form IL-1120-X, and write “CORRECTED” at
the top. Due to the automatic extension, any
additional return filed after the original return
and prior to the extended due date will be
considered a “corrected return” rather than
an amended return.

How long do I have to amend
my return?
The amount of time you have to amend
your return depends on whether your

Form IL-1120-X is being filed to report a
state or federal change.

State change - If your change decreases
the tax due to Illinois and you are entitled to
a refund, you must file Form IL-1120-X within
• three years after the due date of the

return (including extensions),
• three years after the date your original

return was filed, or
• one year after the date your Illinois tax

was paid, whichever is latest.

Note: If you are reporting an Illinois net loss
deduction (NLD) carryback, Form IL-1120-X
must be filed within three years of the
extended due date for the loss year return.

If your change increases the tax due to
Illinois, you should file Form IL-1120-X and
pay the tax, penalty, and interest promptly.

Federal change - You should not file this
form until you receive a federal finalization
notification from the IRS, stating that they
have accepted your change, either by paying
a refund, or by final assessment, agreement,
or judgment.

If your federal change decreases the tax due
to Illinois and you are entitled to a refund,
you must file Form IL-1120-X within two
years plus 120 days of federal finalization.

If your federal change increases the tax due
to Illinois, you must file Form IL-1120-X and
pay any additional tax within 120 days of IRS
partial agreement or finalization. You must
attach proof of the federal finalization date,
showing the change was reported to Illinois
within 120 days of IRS acceptance, or you
may be assessed a late-payment penalty.

Note: If you fail to notify us of your change
by filing Form IL-1120-X, we may issue a
notice of deficiency at any time. Once you file
your change, we may issue a notice of
deficiency within two years.

What if my amended return
involves unitary filing?
For tax years ending on or after
December 31, 1993, you must file
combined unitary.

If you are amending your original
• unitary Form IL-1120 to report a state or

federal change to your unitary income, you
must file one combined Form IL-1120-X for
all members and a revised Schedule UB.

• non-unitary Form IL-1120, you must file
one Form IL-1120-X and a completed
Schedule UB that includes all members of
the unitary group.

For tax years ending prior to
December 31, 1993 -
Separate unitary
If you are amending your original unitary or
non-unitary Form IL-1120 to report a state or
federal change to your unitary income, you
must file a separate Form IL-1120-X for each
Illinois member of the unitary group. Attach a
completed Schedule UB or indicate, in the
space provided on Page 1 of this form, the

FEIN of the member who is including the
Schedule UB with Form IL-1120-X. You
cannot file a combined unitary
Form IL-1120-X.

Combined unitary
If you are amending your original
• unitary Form IL-1120 to report a state or

federal change to your unitary income, you
must file one combined Form IL-1120-X for
all members and a revised Schedule UB.

• non-unitary Form IL-1120 to be included
in an existing unitary group, you must file
Form IL-1120-X as if you were filing a
separate unitary return and the unitary
group must file one combined
Form IL-1120-X and attach a revised
Schedule UB that includes you as a
member.

What if my amended return
involves an Illinois net loss
deduction (NLD)?
If you have an Illinois NLD carryback or
carryforward from any loss year ending on or
after December 31, 1986, it is subtracted
from and limited to base income allocable to
Illinois.

To determine your “Illinois net loss” start with
federal taxable income, without regard to any
federal NOLD, and apply all addition and
subtraction modifications, and all allocation
and apportionment provisions.

Effective for loss years ending on or after
December 31, 1999, the Illinois NLD
provisions are decoupled from IRC,
Section 172. All Illinois net losses must now
be carried back 2 years (unless an election
is made to only carry forward such loss),
then forward 20 years, which is the same as
the general rule under the current version of
IRC, Section 172. However, the special rules
under IRC, Section 172, and future amend-
ments to that section will no longer apply to
Illinois net losses. This change also provides
that no limitations under IRC, Section 382, or
the separate return limitation year provisions
of the federal consolidated return regulations
will apply to an NLD carryover.

Illinois net losses in tax years ending prior
to December 31, 1999, are allowed as a
carryback or carryforward deduction only in
the manner allowed under IRC, Section 172.
Illinois net losses in tax years beginning on
or before August 5, 1997, generally must be
carried back 3 years, then forward 15 years.
Illinois net losses in tax years beginning
after August 5, 1997, and ending prior to
December 31, 1999, generally must be
carried back 2 years, then forward 20 years.
Effective for tax years ending on or after
December 31, 1996, you may make the
election to only carry the loss forward and
forgo the Illinois NLD carryback period. This
election should have been made on your
timely filed original Form IL-1120. However, if
your previously filed Form IL-1120 was
timely filed and showed income on Part IV,
Line 1, and you are filing Form IL-1120-X to
report
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• a finalized federal change that eliminates
your Illinois income and creates an Illinois
net loss for the year, you may make the
election to only carry the loss forward and
forgo the carryback period by checking the
box below Part IV, Line 1. This election
must be made within 120 days of IRS
partial agreement or finalization. Once
made, this election is irrevocable.

• an Illinois audit or other Illinois change
that eliminates Illinois income and creates
an Illinois net loss for the year, you may
make the election to only carry the loss
forward and forgo the carryback period by
checking the box below Part IV, Line 1.
This election must be made at the time
the loss is first reported. Once made,
this election is irrevocable.

If you are carrying an Illinois NLD, you must
complete and attach Illinois Schedule NLD,
Illinois Net Loss Deduction, and claim the
deduction on Part IV, Line 2. See Part IV -
specific instruction for Line 2.

If you are a member of a unitary business
group and you are carrying an Illinois NLD,
you must complete and attach Illinois
Schedule UB/NLD to support the amount
of Illinois NLD claimed. Additionally, you
must attach a copy of each loss year’s
Schedule UB, Part IV. If Part IV does not
report each member’s average apportion-
ment factor, you must also attach a separate
worksheet providing this information. Refer to
current Schedule UB for an example of the
required formatting.

Do not file Form IL-1120-X to report an
Illinois NLD until after you have filed the loss
year Form IL-1120. When you file
Form IL-1120-X, you must attach a com-
pleted Illinois Schedule NLD or UB/NLD.
Failure to attach the completed schedule
could result in partial or total denial of
your claim.

If you need further information, visit our Web
site at www.revenue.state.il.us and view the
Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Sections
100.2050 and 100.2300 through 100.2330, or
write to Illinois Department of Revenue, Legal
Services Office, Senior Counsel - Income Tax,
5-500, 101 West Jefferson Street, Springfield,
Illinois 62702, and request these sections of
the Illinois Income Tax Regulations.

What must I attach to my
Form IL-1120-X?
This form must contain a complete explana-
tion of the reasons for filing the claim or
amendment. You must attach any required
schedules or forms (or reasonable facsimi-
les) to support your claim. If Form IL-1120-X
is submitted without the proper attachments
it may be partially or totally denied.

If you are filing Form IL-1120-X because
• you filed a federal Form 1120X or federal

Form 1139 and your tax due to Illinois
decreases, you must include a copy of
that form, plus any other related forms,
schedules, or attachments.

• you filed a federal Form 1120X and your
tax due to Illinois increases, you must
attach proof of the federal finalization
date, showing the change was reported to

Illinois within 120 days of IRS acceptance,
or you may be assessed a late-payment
penalty.

• of a change by the IRS, you must include
all copies of the federal examining
officer’s reports, including preliminary,
revised, corrected, and superseding
reports.

• you copied information incorrectly from
your federal Form 1120 onto your
Form IL-1120, you must include a copy of
your federal Form 1120.

• of a change in, or audit of, another state’s
tax return, you must include a copy of the
other state’s corrected return or the
examining officer’s reports.

• of an Illinois net loss carryback, you
must include a completed Illinois
Schedule NLD or UB/NLD. See Specific
Instructions for Part IV, Line 2.

• you are a foreign insurer and you are
entitled to a tax reduction, you must
include a completed Illinois Schedule INS,
Tax for Foreign Insurers or Illinois
Schedule UB/INS, Tax for a Unitary
Business Group with Foreign Insurer
Members. See Specific Instructions for
Part I, Lines 13 and 14.

• of changes, other than those described
above, refer to instructions for
Form IL-1120 and any schedules for
the year you are changing to determine
what attachments you must provide.

What if my claim is denied?
If we deny your claim by written notice of
denial, you may file a written protest within
60 days and request a hearing. If we fail to
approve or deny your claim within six months
of the date it was filed, you may file a written
protest at any time and request a hearing.

What if I need additional
assistance or forms?
If you need additional assistance, visit our
Web site at www.revenue.state.il.us; call
our Taxpayer Assistance Division at
1 800 732-8866, 217 782-3336; or call our
TDD (telecommunications device for the
deaf) at 1 800 544-5304. Our office hours
are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. If you prefer, you may
write to us at P.O. Box 19044, Springfield,
Illinois 62794-9044.

If you need additional forms or schedules,
visit our Web site at
www.revenue.state.il.us; call our Illinois Tax
Fax at 217 785-3400; call our 24-hour Forms
Order Line at 1 800 356-6302; or write to us
at P.O. Box 19010, Springfield, Illinois 62794-
9010.

Specific Instructions
Check the appropriate box and write the tax
year you are amending in the space provided
at the top of Form IL-1120-X.

Print or type your name, current address,
FEIN, and IBT number. Check the box if your
name, address, FEIN, or IBT is different from
your original return.

Check the box if you are a foreign insurer. If
you are entitled to a tax reduction, you must
attach a completed Illinois Schedule INS. If

you check the box and you are filing as a
member of a unitary group, you must attach a
completed Illinois Schedule UB/INS. Com-
plete Part I, Lines 1 through 12. Write the
corrected tax amounts from that schedule on
Part I, Lines 13 and 14, and then complete
the remainder of Form IL-1120-X.

Check the appropriate box for the reason you
are filing this return. If you are amending due
to a federal change, you must check the
appropriate box for partial agreed or finalized
and include the date of IRS finalization, not
the date the federal change was filed. Please
attach a dated copy of the federal examining
officer’s report. If you do not provide this
date, you may be assessed penalties and
interest incorrectly.

Note: If you checked the box for a state
change and you are amending in order to
make the election to change the manner in
which royalty income is treated for Illinois
sales factor purposes, you must file
Form IL-1118A-RE, Amended Corporation
Income and Replacement Tax Return for
Royalty Election. This election applies to tax
years ending before December 31, 1999,
only. Do not use Form IL-1120-X to make
this election.

If applicable, complete the unitary informa-
tion. Be sure to provide the FEIN of the
member filing Schedule UB.

Column A — Write the amounts from your
most recently filed return for the year that
you are amending. This may be your original
Form IL-1120 or as amended.

Column B – Write the amount of change
(positive or negative) to the amount in
Column A for the specific lines you are
amending.

For each amount in Column B, you must
provide an explanation in Part V. Your
explanation may refer to either the net
change in Column B or the corrected amount
in Column C.

Column C — If no amount is written in
Column B, write the amount from Column A.
If a positive amount (increase) is written in
Column B, add that amount to Column A and
write the result. If a negative amount
(decrease) is written in Column B, subtract
that amount from Column A and write the
result.

Part I – Base income or loss
and modifications
For instructions regarding completion of
Part I, refer to the Form IL-1120 instructions
and schedules for the year being amended.

Specific instructions for most of the lines are
provided on the following pages. Lines that
are not discussed in the instructions are self-
explanatory.

Note: If you are a foreign insurer, complete
Part I using the following instructions. Please
make note of the instructions for Lines 13
and 14.

Line 1— Refer to your Form IL-1120, Part I,
Line 1, specific instructions, for the year
being amended.



Page 3 of 4IL-1120-X Instructions (R-12/01)

Note: Do not apply your Schedule NLD
amount on this line. NLDs are reported on
Part IV, Line 2.

Additions
Lines 2a through 2c — If the specific
addition lines do not apply to your entry, write
the amount on Line 2c, “Other additions.” List
each item and the amount on the line
provided. Complete Part V if this is a change
to your previously filed return.

Subtractions
Lines 5a and 5b — If the specific subtrac-
tion lines do not apply to your entry, write the
amount on Line 5b, “Other subtractions.” List
each item and the amount on the line
provided. Complete Part V if this a change to
your previously filed return. You must identify
all subtractions and attach all of the required
supporting documentation. You may not
subtract anything that is not identified in
Illinois Publication 101, Income Exempt from
Tax.

Line 5c — Effective for tax years ending on
or after December 31, 2001, the subtraction
line (Form IL-1120, Part I, Line 5g) for a
federal NOL carryforward has been removed
from Form IL-1120. A federal NOL arising
from tax years ending prior to December 31,
1986, could only be carried forward for 15
years. For tax years ending before Decem-
ber 31, 2001, see Form IL-1120, Part I,
Line 5g, specific instructions for the year
being amended. You must attach
Schedule NL-5g or Schedule UB/NL-5g.

Line 7 — This is your base income or loss.
If your base income or loss is derived solely
inside Illinois, write this amount on Part IV,
Line 1. Complete Part IV before returning to
Part I, Line 8. If your base income or loss is
derived inside and outside Illinois, write this
amount on Part III, Line 1. Complete Part III
and Part IV before returning to Part I, Line 8.

Income tax and credits
Line 9a — Multiply Line 8 by the applicable
tax rate. Refer to Form IL-1120 instructions
for the year being amended.

Line 11b — Write this year’s credit for
replacement tax paid. If the amount of your
replacement tax is being reduced on this
Form IL-1120-X, your credit for replacement
tax paid must be reduced accordingly. Refer
to Form IL-1120 instructions for the year
being amended to correctly figure your
credit.

Note: If any portion of your original credit
was carried forward to a succeeding tax
year, you must also file Form IL-1120-X for
that year to reduce the amount of credit
carryforward you claimed.

Line 11c — Write the amount of excess
credit for replacement tax paid that is being
carried forward from a preceding tax year.

Line 13 — Follow the instructions on the
form. However, if you are a foreign insurer
and you completed Illinois Schedule INS or
Illinois Schedule UB/INS, write the amount of
reduced income tax from that schedule.

Line 14 — Follow the instructions on the
form. However, if you are a foreign insurer
and you completed Illinois Schedule INS or
Illinois Schedule UB/INS, write the amount of
reduced replacement tax from that schedule.

Part II — Income and
replacement tax change
Complete Parts III and IV before completing
Part II.

Line 3 — Write the total amount of any
subsequent tax payments you made with a
previously filed Form IL-1120-X, or for any
other reason (e.g., responding to a bill). Do
not include any penalty and interest you
previously paid.

Line 5 — Write the total amount of any
overpayment, credit, or refund (whether
received or not) reported on your previously
filed Form IL-1120, or Form IL-1120-X. Do
not include interest that you received.

Lines 6 through 8 — Follow the instruc-
tions on the form. We will calculate any
interest that may be due you and include it in
your refund check. Any refund may be
reduced to satisfy any outstanding liability.

Note: Overpayments from Form IL-1120-X
cannot be credited to estimated tax.

Line 9 — Follow the instructions on the
form. This is your amount of tax due that
must be paid in full if $1 or more. Make your
check or money order payable to “Illinois
Department of Revenue.” We will compute
any penalty or interest due and notify you.

Note: We will apply all payments against tax
first, penalty second, and interest third.

Lines 10 and 11 — We will bill you for
penalties and interest. If you prefer, you may
calculate the penalties and interest you owe
and write these amounts on the lines
provided. See “Penalties and Interest” below.

Part III — Base income or loss
allocable to Illinois
Complete Part III only if you originally
completed this part, or you need to make a
change that affects your base income or loss
allocable to Illinois. Refer to Form IL-1120,
Part III, Specific Instructions, for the year
being amended.

For tax years ending on or after January 1,
1987 and on or before December 30, 1998,
complete Columns 1 through 3, Lines 5a
through 5c. Complete Lines 5d, 6, and 7a.
Do not complete or figure Columns 4
and 5.

For tax years ending on or after December
31, 1998, and on or before December 30,
2000, write in Column 4, Lines 5a through
5c, the weighted factors as shown on
Form IL-1120, Part III, Column 4, Lines 5a
through 5c, for the tax year being amended.
Complete Columns 1 through 3, 5, and
Line 7b.

For tax years ending on or after December
31, 2000, single factor - sales - complete
Columns 1 through 3, Line 5c only. Write the
factor in Column 3, Line 5c, on Line 7c. Do

not complete or figure Lines 5a or 5b,
Columns 1 through 5, or Line 5c, Columns 4
and 5.

Part IV — Net income and
replacement tax
Line 1 — Follow the instructions on the
form. If the amount in Column A reflects
income and the corrected amount in
Column C reflects a loss, you may carry this
loss to other years as an Illinois NLD.

You may make an election to only carry the
loss in Column C forward and to forgo the
Illinois NLD carryback period by checking the
box below Line 1. If Column A reflects a loss,
this election must have been made on
your timely filed original Form IL-1120.
Once made, this election is irrevocable.
(See General Information, “What if my
amended return involves an Illinois net loss
deduction (NLD)?”)

Line 2 — Write your Illinois NLD carryback
or carryforward amount from an Illinois net
loss year ending on or after December 31,
1986. This amount is from your loss year
Form IL-1120, Part IV, Line 1, reduced by
any Illinois net loss applied to another year.

You must attach an Illinois Schedule NLD
or Schedule UB/NLD to support the
amount of Illinois NLD claimed.

Penalties and Interest
The following penalties must be paid unless
you can show that your failure to file and pay
was due to reasonable cause and not willful
neglect.

Note: Changes resulting from an Illinois NLD
carryback will not reduce or eliminate the
following penalties.

Late-filing or nonfiling penalty

You owe a late-filing penalty if
• you did not file a processable return by

the due date, including any extended due
date (i.e., late-filing penalty); or

• you file a return that we cannot process
and you do not correct it within 30 days of
the date we notify you (i.e., nonfiling
penalty).

For returns due on or after January 1, 2001,
the late-filing penalty is figured at the rate of
2 percent of the amount of tax required to be
shown due on your return, after subtracting
any payments made or credits allowed by the
due date of the return. The penalty cannot
exceed $250.

For returns due on or after January 1, 1996,
and on or before December 31, 2000, the
late-filing penalty is figured at the rate of 2
percent of the amount of tax required to be
shown due on your return, determined
without regard to any payments made or
credits allowed. The penalty cannot exceed
$250.

This penalty is recomputed if your tax liability
decreases or increases.

An additional penalty for nonfiling is equal to
the greater of $250 or 2 percent of the
amount of tax shown on your return,
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determined without regard to any payments
made or credits allowed, and cannot exceed
$5,000. This penalty will be assessed even if
there is no tax liability due. This penalty is
not recomputed based on the amended
figures.

For returns due on or after January 1, 1994,
and on or before December 31, 1995, this
penalty is 5 percent of the tax required to be
shown due on your return, less credits. Prior
overpayments and other payments cannot
be applied to reduce the amount subject to
the penalty. You will be penalized even if your
return is fully paid or shows an overpayment.
This penalty is recomputed if your tax liability
decreases or increases.

For returns due prior to January 1, 1994,
you owe this penalty if you failed to file an
original return by the prescribed due date,
including any extended due date. This
penalty is 7.5 percent per month or fraction
of a month on any unpaid tax remaining after
the due date. This penalty may be assessed
up to a maximum of 37.5 percent. This
penalty is recomputed if your tax liability
decreases or increases, or if your original
return was filed late and no penalty was
assessed because you had an overpayment
and you are now reporting an increase in
tax.

Late-payment penalty

Late-payment penalty for underpayment
of estimated tax — You owe a late-payment
penalty if you were required to make
estimated tax payments and failed to do so,
or failed to pay the required amount by the
payment due date.

For returns due on or after January 1, 2001,
this penalty is figured at increasing rates
based on the number of days the payment is
late. The penalty rates are
• 2 percent of any amount that is paid no

later than 30 days after the due date;
• 5 percent of any amount that is paid later

than 30 days but no later than 90 days
after the due date;

• 10 percent of any amount that is paid later
than 90 days but no later than 180 days
after the due date; and

• 15 percent of any amount that is paid later
than 180 days after the due date.

Note: You may use Form IL-2220 to calculate
this penalty.

For returns due on or after January 1, 1994,
and on or before December 31, 2000, this
penalty is a fixed percentage of the amount
of required estimated tax due for each
quarter, minus any timely payments and
credits.

The penalty percentage rates are:
• Returns due on or after January 1, 1998,

and on or before December 31, 2000:
the penalty rate is 20 percent.

• Returns due on or after January 1, 1994,
and on or before December 31, 1997:
the penalty rate is 15 percent.

For returns due prior to January 1, 1994,
you owe a penalty for underpayment of
estimated tax if you failed to pay the required

amount of estimated payments on time. This
penalty is 24 percent per year of the unpaid
amount for the period of the underpayment.

If you file Form IL-1120-X within the ex-
tended due date period, the penalty will be
recalculated using the tax amount on your
latest filed return. If you file Form IL-1120-X
after the automatic extension period, your
original penalty will not change.

Late-payment penalty for unpaid tax —
You owe a late-payment penalty if you failed
to pay the tax you owed by the original due
date of your return, even if you had an
extension of time to file.

For returns due on or after January 1,
2001, this penalty is based on the amount
required to be shown due on your return,
minus any timely payments, timely credits,
and the tax used in figuring any underpay-
ment of estimated tax penalty. However, the
penalty is figured at increased rates based
on the number of days the payment is late.
The penalty rates are
• 2 percent of any amount that is paid no

later than 30 days after the due date;
• 5 percent of any amount that is paid later

than 30 days but no later than 90 days
after the due date;

• 10 percent of any amount that is paid
later than 90 days but no later than 180
days after the due date; and

• 15 percent of any amount that is paid
later than 180 days after the due date.

For returns due on or after January 1,
1994, and on or before December 31,
2000, this penalty is a fixed percentage of
the amount required to be shown due on
your return, minus any timely payments,
timely credits, and the tax used in figuring
any underpayment of estimated tax penalty.

The penalty percentage rates are:
• Returns due on or after January 1,

1998, and on or before December 31,
2000: the penalty rate is 20 percent.

• Returns due on or after January 1,
1994, and on or before December 31,
1997: the penalty rate is 15 percent.

Note: If you are reporting a federal change,
this penalty is not assessed if you file
Form IL-1120-X and pay the tax you owe
within 120 days of the federal finalization
date.

For returns due prior to January 1, 1994,
this penalty is 6 percent per year on the
amount of unpaid tax remaining after the
original due date and will accrue until the tax
is paid. This penalty does not apply to tax
years ending before January 1, 1986.

Bad check penalty

In addition to any other penalty, a bad check
penalty of $25 will be assessed if your
remittance is not honored by your financial
institution.

Interest
For returns due on or after January 1,
2001, interest is calculated on the tax from
the day after the original due date of your
return through the date you pay the tax.

For returns due on or after January 1, 1994,
and on or before December 31, 2000,
interest is calculated on tax and penalties
from the day after the original due date of
your return through the date you pay the tax
and penalties.

Interest is simple interest figured using a
daily rate. We review the rate twice each year
- on January 1 and July 1 - and adjust the
rate as necessary in accordance with the
underpayment rate established in
Section 6621 of the IRC.

If your original return resulted in an overpay-
ment and you are now increasing your tax
interest will be assessed on
• the refund amount - from the date the

refund was issued, or
• the amount credited to a subsequent year

- from the first quarter estimated payment
due date of that year.

We will bill you for interest due. However, if
you want to calculate your interest, contact
us for the interest rates that were in effect at
that time.

For returns due on or after July 1, 1986,
and on or before December 31, 1993, the
interest rate is 9 percent per year. For returns
due prior to July 1, 1986, contact us and we
will provide you with the rates that were in
effect at that time. Interest is calculated on
tax from the day after the original due date of
the return through the date you pay the tax.
Interest is calculated on penalty from the
date of notification of the penalty until you
pay the penalty.

We pay interest on overpayments and
charge interest on underpayments at the
same rate.

It is to your advantage to pay the tax you
owe as soon as possible, rather than waiting
for a notice and demand for payment, since
interest begins to accrue from the day after
the due date of the original return.

Note: For more information, see
Publication 103, Uniform Penalties and
Interest. To receive a copy of this publication,
see “What if I need additional assistance or
forms?” for our phone numbers and ad-
dresses.

Who should sign the return?
Your Form IL-1120-X must be signed by the
president, vice president, treasurer, or any
other officer duly authorized to sign the
return. If you paid someone to prepare your
return, that individual must also provide a
handwritten signature, date the return, and
provide his or her tax identification number. If
the preparer is an employee or partner of a
firm or corporation, he or she must also
provide the firm’s name, address, and
instead of the preparer’s taxpayer identifica-
tion number he or she must provide the
firm’s FEIN. Self-employed preparers must
check the “self-employed” box and provide
their own name, address, and taxpayer
identification number in the appropriate
spaces.

Be sure to attach all required copies of
forms, schedules, and any powers of
attorney.


