
	 Illinois Department of Revenue

	 2017 Form IL-1040 Instructions

Protecting Illinois Taxpayers
Our enhanced efforts to protect Illinois taxpayers from identity 
theft and tax fraud have proven to be highly successful. We 
will continue to combat the criminals attempting to steal your 
identity to file fraudulent tax returns while making every effort 
to get your tax refund to you as quickly as possible. 
Please remember, filing your return electronically and 
requesting direct deposit is still the fastest way to receive 
your refund. You can file for free using MyTax Illinois, our 
online account management program for taxpayers. For more 
information, go to mytax.illinois.gov or visit our website.  

Form IL-1040 Due Date
The due date for filing your 2017 Form IL-1040 and paying any 
tax you owe is extended to April 17, 2018. We are following 
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in extending the due date 
because of the Emancipation Day holiday being observed on 
April 16 in the District of Columbia.

Income Tax Rate
Public Act 100-0022 increased the income tax rate during the 
2017 tax year.  The blended income tax rate for most taxpayers 
is 4.3549 percent (.043549).  If you choose to calculate 
your tax using the specific accounting method, complete 
Schedule SA (IL-1040) and attach to your return.  See the 
Schedule SA Instructions for details.  

	 Exemption Allowance
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the 
standard exemption allowance may not be claimed in Step 4 if 
a taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI) on Line 1 
exceeds $500,000 for returns with a federal filing status of 
married filing jointly, or $250,000 for all other returns.  

Earned Income Credit
The Illinois Earned Income Credit (EIC) is now reported 
on Schedule IL-EIC.  For tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2017, and before January 1, 2018, the Illinois EIC 
percentage has increased from 10 percent to 14 percent of the 
federal EIC.  If you claimed a federal EIC, you may now claim 
14 percent of this credit on your Illinois return. 

K-12 Education Expense Credit
For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2017, the 
maximum amount of the K-12 Education Expense Credit 
has been increased to $750 per family.  The K-12 Education 
Expense Credit is not allowed if a taxpayer’s federal AGI 
exceeds $500,000 for returns with a federal filing status of 
married filing jointly, or $250,000 for all other returns.       

                            Property Tax Credit
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the Illinois 
Property Tax Credit is not allowed if a taxpayer’s federal AGI 
exceeds $500,000 for returns with a federal filing status of 
married filing jointly, or $250,000 for all other returns.

Instructional Materials and Supplies Credit
For tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2017, eligible 
educators may claim an Instructional Materials and Supplies 
Credit for qualified expenses paid during the tax year.  See 
Schedule 1299-C, Income Tax Subtractions and Credits (for 
individuals), and the Schedule 1299-C Instructions for details.

Natural Disaster Credit
Public Act 100-0555 provides for an income tax credit for 
taxpayers who received damage to qualified real property 
located in an Illinois state-declared disaster area as a result of 
flooding in 2017.  See Informational Bulletin 2018-17 and the 
Schedule 1299-C Instructions for details.

Voluntary Contributions
Public Act 100-0329 created two new income tax charitable 
funds for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2017. 
See Schedule G, Voluntary Charitable Donations, and the 
Schedule G Instructions for a description of each fund and how to 
donate. 

Schedule M
Schedule M, Other Additions and Subtractions for Individuals, 
includes a new addition for income attributable to domestic 
production activities.  

 Schedule 1299-C
•	 The following credits have expired and have been 

removed from the 2017 Schedule 1299-C:  the River 
Edge Redevelopment Zone Investment Credit, the River 
Edge Redevelopment Zone Remediation Credit, and the 
Veterans Job Credit.  You may not claim these credits on 
the 2017 Schedule 1299-C.

•	 The River Edge Historic Preservation Credit has been 
extended to tax years ending prior to January 1, 2022.  
Only credits earned before January 1, 2018 will qualify 
for the five-year credit carry forward.  Credit claimed 
on a return filed for a taxable year ending on or after 
December 31, 2018 cannot be carried forward.  

•	 The Angel Investment Credit has been extended to tax 
years ending on or before December 31, 2021.  

•	 The New Markets Credit has been extended to tax years 
ending on or before June 30, 2021.  

•	 The Live Theater Production Tax Credit has been 
extended to tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2022. 

•	 The Economic Development for a Growing Economy 
(EDGE) Tax Credit has been extended to tax years ending 
on or before June 30, 2022.  

•	 Public Act 100-0587, commonly referred to as the FY2019 
Budget Implementation Act, has retroactively extended 
the Hospital Credit until tax years ending on or before 
December 31, 2022.  For taxpayers with a tax year 
beginning on or after June 14, 2017, you may now claim 
this credit. See Schedule 1299-C Instructions for more 
information.   

•	 An “Other Credits which may be carried forward for 
five years” line has been added to Step 3, Section B, 
of the 2017 Schedule 1299-C.  This line can be used 
to claim Illinois Income Tax credits which are on the 
Schedule 1299-C, but for which no specific line has been 
provided on the schedule.  See the Specific Instructions in 
the Schedule 1299-C Instructions for details.

Paid Preparer Information
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, any 
tax preparer who is paid to prepare or assist in preparing 
an Illinois Individual Income Tax return must sign and date 
the return, provide a phone number, and enter their Preparer 
Tax Identification Number (PTIN) issued by the IRS.  Step 14 
on Form IL-1040 has been revised to enable paid preparers to 
provide this information.  

What’s New for 2017? 
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•	 Include any required attachments (e.g., Schedule M, 	
Schedule ICR, Schedule IL-EIC, Schedule CR, page 1 
of your federal return) with your Form IL-1040. 

•	 If you are claiming a property tax credit, you must 
enter the county in which your property is located and 
the property number on Schedule ICR, Illinois Credits. 

•	 If you enter an amount you want refunded to you 
on Line 37, you must check one box on Line 38 to 
indicate how you would like us to issue your refund. 
You may select direct deposit, refund debit card, or 
paper check.

•	 Review the entries you made on each line for 
accuracy and verify your calculations.

•	 Sign your return.

•	 File your return electronically! Visit tax.illinois.gov or 
see your tax professional.

•	 Enter your correct Social Security number (SSN) 
and name. If you are married, you must include 
your spouse’s SSN and name, even if you are filing 
separately.  

•	 If you received federally taxed Social Security benefits 
or qualified retirement income, you may be able to 
subtract it on Line 5. See the Line 5 Instructions for 
details.

•	 Attach your W-2 and 1099 forms to support the amount 
you claim as Illinois Income Tax withheld on Line 26. 

•	 Enter the correct amount of estimated payments you 
made, including any overpayment applied from a prior 
year return.  You may verify the amount using the 
estimated payment inquiry on our website. 

	Tips To Speed Up The Processing Of Your Return
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General Information

If you were 
•	 an Illinois resident, you must file Form IL-1040 if 

	 you were required to file a federal income tax return, or
	 you were not required to file a federal income tax return, but your Illinois base income from Line 9 is 		

	 greater than your Illinois exemption allowance.

•	 an Illinois resident who worked in Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, or Wisconsin, you must file 		
Form IL-1040 and include as Illinois income any compensation you received from an employer in these 		
states. Compensation paid to Illinois residents working in these states is taxed by Illinois. Based on 		
reciprocal agreements between Illinois and these states, these states do not tax the compensation of 		
Illinois residents. 

If your employer in any of these states withheld that state’s tax from your compensation, you may file the 	
correct form with that state to claim a refund. You may not use tax withheld by an employer for these 	
states as a credit on your Illinois return.

•	 a retired Illinois resident who filed a federal return, you must file Form IL-1040. However, certain 	
types of retirement income (e.g., pension, Social Security, railroad retirement, governmental deferred 
compensation) may be subtracted from your Illinois income. For more information, see the instructions for 
Line 5 and Publication 120, Retirement Income. 

•	 a part-year resident, you must file Form IL-1040 and Schedule NR, Nonresident and Part-Year 		
Resident Computation of Illinois Tax, if

	 you earned income from any source while you were a resident,
	 you earned income from Illinois sources while you were not a resident, or
	 you want a refund of any Illinois Income Tax withheld.

•	 a nonresident, you must file Form IL-1040 and Schedule NR if
	 you earned enough taxable income from Illinois sources to have a tax liability (i.e., your Illinois base 		

	 income from Schedule NR, Step 5, Line 46, is greater than your Illinois exemption allowance on 		
	 Schedule NR, Step 5, Line 50), or

	 you want a refund of any Illinois Income Tax withheld in error. You must attach a letter of explanation 		
	 from your employer.

 If you are a nonresident and your only income in Illinois is from one or more partnerships,  		
S corporations, or trusts that withheld enough Illinois Income Tax to pay your liability, you are not required 	
to file a Form IL-1040.

•	 an Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, or Wisconsin resident who worked in Illinois, you must file 
Form IL-1040 and Schedule NR if

	 you received income in Illinois from sources other than wages, salaries, tips, and commissions, or
	 you want a refund of any Illinois Income Tax withheld.

If you received wages, salaries, tips, and commissions from Illinois employers, you are not required to 		
pay Illinois Income Tax on this income. This is based on reciprocal agreements between Illinois and 		
these states.

The reciprocal agreements do not apply to any other income you might have received, such as Illinois 		
lottery winnings and Illinois unemployment income.

•	 an Illinois resident who was claimed as a dependent on your parents’ or another person’s 		
return, you must file Form IL-1040 if 

	 your Illinois base income from Line 9 is greater than $2,175, or 
	 you want a refund of Illinois Income Tax withheld from your pay.

 If your parent reported your interest and dividend income through federal Form 8814, Parents’ 		
Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends, do not count that income in determining if you must 		
file your own Form IL-1040.

•	 the surviving spouse or representative of a deceased taxpayer who was required to file in Illinois, 
you must file any return required of that taxpayer. 

•	 a student, you are not exempt from tax nor are there special residency provisions for you. However, 
income, such as certain scholarships or fellowships, that is not taxable under federal income tax law, is 
also not taxed by Illinois.

•	 a nonresident alien, you must file Form IL-1040 if your income is taxed under federal income tax law. 
You must attach a copy of your federal Form 1040NR, U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return, or 
federal Form 1040NR-EZ, U.S. Income Tax Return for Certain Nonresident Aliens With No Dependents.

Who must file 		
an Illinois 			 
tax return?
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Even if you are not required to file Form IL‑1040, you must file to get a refund of 
•	 Illinois Income Tax withheld from your pay, 
•	 estimated tax payments you made, or
•	 withholding on income passed through to you by a partnership, S Corporation, or trust.

You are an Illinois resident if you were domiciled in Illinois for the entire tax year. Your domicile is the place where 
you reside and the place where you intend to return after temporary absences. Temporary absences may include 
duty in the U.S. Armed Forces, residence in a foreign country, out-of-state residence as a student, or out-of-state 
residence during the winter or summer.  

 If you filed a joint federal return and one spouse is an Illinois resident while the other spouse is a 
nonresident or a part-year resident, you may file separate Illinois returns.  If you file a joint Illinois return, you will 
both be taxed as residents.

  
Your Illinois income includes the adjusted gross income (AGI) amount figured on your federal return, plus any  
additional income that must be added to your AGI. Some of your income may be subtracted when figuring your 
Illinois base income. For more information, see the Step-by-Step Instructions.  

You should follow the federal law concerning passive activity income and losses. You are not allowed to refigure 
your federal passive activity losses.

Also, federal law will govern the taxation of income from community property sources in the case of spouses who 
file joint federal returns and who file separate Illinois returns.

File your individual income tax return electronically by using
•	 MyTax Illinois, available on our website for free, 
•	 a tax professional, or 
•	 tax preparation software.

Almost all taxpayers can file electronically. Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov or see your tax professional. If you 
do not wish to file electronically, you may use the paper Form IL-1040.

 
Your Illinois filing period is the same as your federal filing period. We will assume that you are filing your 
Form IL-1040 for calendar year 2017 unless you indicate a different filing period in the space provided at the top of 
the return. The due date for calendar year filers is April 17, 2018. 

We grant an automatic six-month extension of time to file your return. If you receive a federal extension of more 
than six months, you are automatically allowed that extension for Illinois. These extensions do not grant you an 
extension of time to pay any tax you owe. If you determine that you will owe tax, you must use Form IL-505-I, 
Automatic Extension Payment for Individuals, to pay any tax you owe to avoid penalty and interest on tax not paid 
by April 17, 2018.

You must round cents to whole dollars on Form IL-1040 and most schedules, as directed. To round you must  
•	 drop amounts under 50 cents and
•	 increase amounts of 50 to 99 cents to the next dollar.

For example, $1.49 becomes $1 and $2.50 becomes $3. 

If you have to add two or more amounts to figure the amount to enter on a line, include cents when adding the 
amounts and round only the total.   

You will owe  
•	 a late-filing penalty if you do not file a return that we can process by the extended due date. 
•	 a late-payment penalty for tax not paid by the original due date of the return.
•	 a late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax if you were required to make estimated tax 		

payments and failed to pay the required amount by the payment due dates.
•	 a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your financial institution.
•	 a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on 		

any IDOR-2-BILL, Final Notice of Tax Due for Form IL-1040, Individual Income Tax Return, you receive.

General Information

What is 		
Illinois 		
income?

Who is an 		
Illinois 		
resident?

How may 		
I file?

When must 
I file?	

Should I 
round?

Will I owe 	
penalties 
and 	
interest?
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General Information

What if		
I cannot 		
pay? 

When must 	
I file an 		
amended 		
return?

What if I have 
household employees? 

What if I change my 
address? 

What if I participated 
in a potentially 		
abusive tax 
avoidance 		
transaction? 

•	 a frivolous return penalty if you file a return that does not contain information necessary to figure the 		
correct tax or shows a substantially incorrect tax, because you are taking a frivolous position or are trying 	
to delay or interfere with collection of the tax.

•	 interest on unpaid tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay 
the tax. 

We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more information about penalties and interest, see 
Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes.

If you cannot pay the tax you owe but you can complete your return on time, file your return by the due 
date without the payment. This will prevent a late-filing penalty from being assessed. You will, however, owe 
a late-payment penalty and interest on any tax you owe after the original due date, even if you have an 
extension of time to file.
You have the option to pay the amount you owe electronically by using our website or by credit card. See the 
instructions for Line 40.

 
Do not file another Form IL-1040 to make changes to a previously filed Form IL-1040. You must file 
Form IL-1040-X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return, if 

•	 you discover that you made an error on your Illinois return after it was filed, or
•	 your federal return has been adjusted either by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or on a federal 		

Form 1040X, Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, you filed; the change affects your Illinois 		
income, additions, subtractions, exemptions, or credits; and the change is final. 

 If the federal change results in a refund, do not file Form IL-1040-X until you receive notification 		
that your change has been accepted by the IRS.  

For more information, see Form IL-1040-X and Instructions.

 
You may use Form IL-1040 to pay your household employees’ Illinois withholding. For more details on how to 
pay withholding for your employees, see the instructions for Line 22.

If you change your address after you file, visit our website or call us to tell us your new address and the date 
you moved.   

If you are in a civil union, you must file your Illinois return using the same filing status as on your federal 
return. 

 
If you are married and you filed a joint federal return with your spouse and you are an injured spouse (e.g., 
your spouse owes a liability, for which you are not responsible, to a government agency), you may elect to file 
separate Illinois returns using the “married filing separately” filing status. You may make this election up until 
the extended due date of your return, and once the election is made, it is irrevocable for the tax year. 

 If you file a joint Illinois return, we may take the entire refund to pay your spouse’s liability. 	

If you participated in a reportable transaction, including a “listed transaction,” during this tax year and were 
required to disclose that to the IRS, you are also required to disclose that information to Illinois.
You must send us two copies of the form you used to disclose the transaction to the IRS. You must
•	 attach one copy to your tax return, and
•	 mail a second copy to the Illinois Department of Revenue, 
		  P.O. Box 19029, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9029.

 Employee benefit plans and other subtractions allowed on Form IL-1040, Lines 5 through 7, are 		
not reportable transactions. For more information, contact the IRS or your tax professional. 

What if I am an 
injured spouse? 

What if I am in a 
civil union?
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Step-by-Step Instructions

Personal Information

Line A 
Social Security number
Enter your Social Security number (SSN) and your spouse’s SSN, 
even if you are married filing separate returns.

 If you do not qualify for a SSN and were issued an 
Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) by the IRS, 		
enter your ITIN. 

Line B 
Name and address
Print your full name and address. If you are married and filing a joint 
return, print both names as they appear on your federal return. If you 
are married and filing separate returns, print your full name and your 
spouse’s full name. 

	  Filing a decedent’s return
When you are filing a joint return as a surviving spouse 
•	 print your name and your spouse’s name on the                 

appropriate lines.
•	 write “deceased” and the date of death above your 	

spouse’s name. 
•	 sign your name in the area provided for your signature, 	

and write “filing as surviving spouse” in place of the 		
decedent’s signature. 

If you, as the surviving spouse, are due a refund, the refund 	
will be issued directly to you. You are not required to complete 	
Form IL-1310, Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a 		
Deceased Taxpayer.

When you are filing a return on behalf of a single deceased 	
taxpayer
•	 print the name of the taxpayer on the appropriate line.
•	 write “deceased” and the date of death above the 

decedent’s name. 
•	 write “in care of,” and the executor’s name and address. 
A personal representative, such as an executor or administrator, 	
must sign and date the return. The representative’s title and 	
telephone number must be provided. 

 If you are filing a return on behalf of a single deceased 
taxpayer and a refund is due, attach Form IL-1310, Statement of 
Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer.

	  Foreign addresses
Enter your 
•	 street address on the “Mailing address” line. 
•	 apartment number, if applicable. 
•	 city, province or state, and postal code on the “City, State,	

ZIP” lines in that order. Follow the country’s practice for 	
entering the postal code. 

•	 country name on the “Foreign Nation” line. Do not 	
abbreviate the country name. 

Line C 
Filing status
In general, you should use the same filing status as on your federal 
return. However, 
•	 if you file a joint federal return and you are an injured spouse 	

(your spouse owes a liability, for which you are not 	
responsible, to a government agency), you should file separate 	
Illinois returns using the “married filing separately” filing status. 	
Do not recalculate any items on your federal return. Instead, 
you must divide each item of income and deduction shown on 
your joint federal return between your separate Illinois returns 
following the Allocation Worksheet on Page 18. 
You may choose to file separately as an injured spouse only until 	
the extended due date of the return, and once you choose a 		
filing status, the decision is irrevocable for the tax year. 

 If you choose to file a joint Illinois return, we may take 
the entire refund to pay your spouse’s liability.   

•	 if you file a joint federal return and one spouse is a full-year 	
Illinois resident while the other is a part-year resident or a 		
nonresident (e.g., military personnel), you may choose to 		
file “married filing separately.” Do not recalculate any items on 
your federal return. Instead, you must divide each item of income 
and deduction shown on your joint federal return between your 
separate Illinois returns following the Allocation Worksheet on 
Page 18. 
If you choose to file a joint Illinois return, you must treat both 	
your spouse and yourself as residents. This election is 		
irrevocable for the tax year. You may be allowed a credit 		
for income tax paid to another state on Schedule CR, Credit 
for Tax Paid to Other States. For more information, see the 
Schedule CR Instructions. 

 If you are in a civil union, you must file your Illinois return          
 using the same filing status as on your federal return.  

Step 1

Lines A-C
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Line 5 
Social Security benefits and certain retirement plans
Enter the amount of federally taxed Social Security and retirement 
income included in your adjusted gross income on Form IL-1040, 
Line 1 that you received from
•	 qualified employee benefit plans (including railroad retirement 

and 401(K) plans) reported on federal Form 1040, Line 16b, or 
Form 1040A, Line 12b. 

•	 Individual Retirement Accounts or self-employed retirement 
plans reported on federal Form 1040, Line 15b, or Form 1040A, 
Line 11b.

•	 Social Security and railroad retirement benefits reported on 
federal Form 1040, Line 20b, or Form 1040A, Line 14b.

•	 government retirement and government disability plans 
and group term life insurance premiums paid by a qualified 
retirement plan reported as wages on your federal Form 1040 
or 1040A, Line 7.

•	 state or local government deferred compensation plans 
reported on federal Form 1040, Line 7 or 16b, or Form 1040A, 
Line 7 or 12b. 

•	 certain capital gains on employer securities reported on federal 
Form 1040, Line 13. 

•	 certain retirement payments made directly to retired 
partners reported on federal Form 1040, Line 17.

 Your beneficiary share of payments from certain retirement 
plans and retirement payments to retired partners reported on 

Line 1 
Adjusted gross income
Enter the adjusted gross income from your federal return. If you 
are not required to file a federal income tax return, use a federal 
Form 1040 as a worksheet to determine your adjusted gross income.

	  Net operating loss (NOL)
If you have a federal NOL this year, you may enter a 		
negative amount on Line 1. However, you must reduce the 	
amount you enter on your 2017 Form IL-1040, Line 1, by any 
NOL that you carry back to prior years.  
If you deducted an NOL carryforward on your federal return 
for this year and some of that NOL remains available to carry 
forward to next year, the amount on Line 1 should be your 
federal adjusted gross income calculated without deducting 
the NOL carryforward, minus the amount of “Modified Taxable 
Income” on Line 9 of the federal Worksheet for NOL Carryover 
found in Table 1 of IRS Publication 536, Net Operating Losses 
(NOLs) for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts. 

Line 2 
Federally tax-exempt income 
Enter the amount of federally tax-exempt interest and dividend 
income reported on federal Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax 
Return, or federal Form 1040A, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, 
Line 8b, or to the left of federal Form 1040EZ, Income Tax Return for 
Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents, Line 2. 

 Your distributive share of federally tax-exempt interest and 
dividend income received from a partnership, S corporation, trust, or 
estate is added back on Schedule M, Line 2.

Line 3 
Other additions
Complete Schedule M if you have any of the following items: 
•	 your child’s federally tax-exempt interest and dividend income as 

reported on federal Form 8814
•	 a distributive share of additions you received from a partnership, 

S corporation, trust, or estate
•	 Lloyd’s plan of operation loss, if reported on your behalf on Form 

IL-1065, and included in your adjusted gross income
•	 earnings distributed from IRC Section 529 college savings 

and tuition programs if these earnings are not included in your 
adjusted gross income, Line 1

•	 an addition amount calculated on Form IL-4562, Special 
Depreciation

•	 business expense recapture (nonresidents only)
•	 recapture of deductions for contributions to Illinois college 

savings plans transferred to an out-of-state plan
•	 credit received on Schedule 1299-C for student-assistance 

contributions made as an employer on behalf of your employees
•	 deductions claimed in prior years for college savings plan 

contributions if you made a nonqualified withdrawal this tax year
•	 income attributable to domestic production activities
•	 any other amounts that you are required to add to your federal 

adjusted gross income 
For more information, see the Schedule M Instructions. 

 	 Schedule M and any required supporting documents.

Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary’s Share of Income and Deductions, 
should not be included on Line 5.  For more information, see the 
Schedule M Instructions. See Publication 120 for detailed information 
about what retirement income you may subtract. 

 Federal Form 1040 or 1040A, Page 1, and any W-2 and 
1099 forms. If your retirement income is not reported on your federal 
Form 1040, Lines 15b, 16b, and 20b, or Form 1040A, Lines 11b, 12b, 
and 14b, or shown on your W-2 and 1099 forms, see Publication 120 for 
a list of any additional required attachments. 

Line 6 
Illinois Income Tax overpayment
Enter the total amount of any Illinois Income Tax overpayment 
(including any amount that was credited to another tax liability) 
reported as income on your 2017 federal Form 1040, Line 10. Do not 
include other states’ refunds on this line.  

 If you filed a federal Form 1040A or Form 1040EZ, you 
may not take this subtraction. 

Line 7 
Other subtractions
You may be entitled to subtract other items from your income. See 
the instructions for Schedule M to see if you are eligible for other 
subtractions. 

  Schedule M and any required supporting documents.

Line 9  
Base income 
This line may not be less than zero. If the result is a negative 
number, enter “zero.” 

Lines 1-9

Step 2
 
Income

Step 3  Base Income 
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 If your federal filing status is married filing jointly and your 
federal AGI on Line 1 is greater than $500,000, you are not entitled to 
an exemption allowance on Line 10.  Enter “zero” on Line 10.  

 If your federal filing status is single or head of household, 
married filing separately, or widowed and your federal AGI on Line 1 
is greater than $250,000, you are not entitled to an exemption 
allowance on Line 10.  Enter “zero” on Line 10.

 Fiscal filers with a tax year beginning on and after 
June 1, 2017 - The Illinois exemption allowance has decreased to $2,000 
for tax periods beginning on and after June 1, 2017.  

Line 10 
Illinois exemption allowance
Line 10a  
If you filed 
•	 federal Form 1040 or 1040A, your number of exemptions is 

found in box 6d of your federal return. 
•	 federal Form 1040EZ, your number of exemptions is
	 	 0  -  if you are single and you checked the “You” box on 	
			   Line 5 of your federal return, or if you are married filing 	
			   jointly and you checked both the “You” and “Spouse” 	
			   boxes on Line 5 of your federal return.
	 	 1  -  if you are single and did not check the “You” box on	
			   Line 5 of your federal return, or if you are married filing 	
			   jointly and you checked only one box (either “You” or 	
			   “Spouse”) on Line 5 of your federal return.
	 	 2  - 	if you are married filing jointly and did not check 	
			   either box on Line 5 of your federal return.  
•	 federal Form 1040NR, your number of exemptions is found in 		

box 7d of your federal return. 
•	 federal Form 1040NR-EZ, your number of exemptions is 1. 

 If you did not file a federal return, use the federal 
Form 1040 as a worksheet, and enter the number of exemptions you 
would have claimed if you had filed one.

 If you are a fiscal filer with a tax year beginning on and 
after June 1, 2017, multiply the number of exemptions from your 
federal return by $2,000, and enter the result on Line 10a.

Line 10b  
If someone else can claim you as a dependent and your Illinois base 
income (Form IL-1040, Line 9, or Schedule NR, Line 46) is 
•	 $2,175 or less, your number of exemptions is 1.
•	 greater than $2,175, your number of exemptions is 0

 If your Illinois base income is $4,350 or less, you are 
married filing jointly, and both of you can be claimed as dependents 
on someone else’s return, your number of exemptions is 2.

 If you are a fiscal filer with a tax year beginning on and 
after June 1, 2017, and someone else can claim you as a dependent 
and your Illinois base income (Form IL-1040, Line 9, or Schedule NR, 
Line 46) is 
•	 $2,000 or less, your number of exemptions is 1.
•	 greater than $2,000, your number of exemptions is 0. 

  If you are a fiscal filer with a tax year beginning on and 
after June 1, 2017, your Illinois base income is $4,000 or less, you 
are married filing jointly, and both of you can be claimed as 
dependents on someone else’s return, your number of 
exemptions is 2. 

Line 10c  
If you (or your spouse if married filing jointly) were 65 or older, check 
the appropriate box(es). Your number of exemptions is equal to the 
number of boxes checked.

Line 10d  
If you (or your spouse if married filing jointly) were legally blind, check 
the appropriate box(es). Your number of exemptions is equal to the 
number of boxes checked.

Line 11 
Illinois residents only – Net income
This line may not be less than zero. If the result is a negative 
number, enter “zero.” 

Line 12 
Nonresidents and part-year residents only – Residency 
and Illinois income
First, check the box to identify whether you were a nonresident or a 
part-year resident of Illinois during 2017. 
Next, complete Schedule NR. Enter the amount from Schedule NR, 
Line 46, on Line 12. This line may not be less than zero.  

   Schedule NR. 

Lines 10-14

Line 13  
Calendar year filers - If you completed Schedule SA to calculate 
your income tax, enter the amount from your Schedule SA, Line 24, 
on Line 13.  Attach Schedule SA to your return and check the box 
next to Line 13.  
Fiscal filers - The income tax rate has changed for tax periods 
ending on or after July 1, 2017.  If your tax year ends on or before 
May 31, 2018, you must use Schedule SA or the blended income tax 
rate to calculate your tax.  See Schedule SA (IL-1040) Instructions 
and Informational Bulletin 2018-14 for more information.  For tax 
years beginning on or after July 1, 2017, the income tax rate is 
4.95 percent (.0495).

Tax amount
Illinois residents: Follow the instructions on the form.
Nonresidents and part-year residents only: Enter your tax from 
Schedule NR, Line 52. 

   Schedule NR.

Line 14 
Recapture of investment tax credits
If you claimed an investment credit in a previous year, and the 
property considered in the computation of that investment credit was 
disqualified within 48 months after being placed in service, you must 
complete Schedule 4255, Recapture of Investment Tax Credits, and 
enter the recapture amount on this line.  

  Schedule 4255.

Step 4 Exemptions  

Step 5 Net Income 

Step 6 Tax
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Line 16  
Income tax paid to another state – Illinois residents and 
part-year residents only
If you were taxed by another state on income you received while you 
were an Illinois resident, you may be entitled to this credit. See the 
Schedule CR Instructions and Publication 111, Illinois Schedule CR 
for Individuals, to see if you are eligible to take this credit. 

 Schedule CR, Pages 1 through 3.

Line 17 
Property tax and K-12 education expense credit
You may be entitled to credit for property tax and K-12 education 
expenses you paid. See the instructions for Schedule ICR to see if 
you are eligible for these credits. 

Form IL-1040, Line 16 + Line 17 + Line 18
cannot be greater than Line 15.

 If your federal filing status is married filing jointly and your 
federal AGI on Line 1 is greater than $500,000, you are not entitled to 
a property tax credit or a K-12 education expense credit.

 If your federal filing status is single or head of household, 
married filing separately, or widowed and your federal AGI on Line 1 
is greater than $250,000, you are not entitled to a property tax credit 
or a K-12 education expense credit.

  Schedule ICR and any required supporting documents.

Line 18 
Credit from Schedule 1299-C
You may be entitled to credits from Schedule 1299-C. See the 
instructions for Schedule 1299-C to determine if you are eligible for 
these credits. 

  Schedule 1299-C and any required supporting documents.

Step 7 Tax After Nonrefundable 	
Credits

Lines 16-23

Line 22 
Household employment tax 
Enter the amount of Illinois Income Tax you withheld from a 
household employee. You may no longer use Form UI-WIT to report 
Illinois Income Tax withheld from your household employee. See 
Publication 121, Illinois Income Tax Withholding for Household 
Employees, for details on how to figure the amount to withhold and 
report. 

 Do not report household employee withholding here if you 
have already reported or paid this amount using Form IL-941, Illinois 
Withholding Income Tax Return, or Form IL-501, Payment Coupon.    

Line 23 
Use tax 
Enter the amount of Illinois Use Tax you owe. Use the Use Tax (UT) 
Worksheet or Use Tax (UT) Table to determine your use tax. You 
must make an entry on Line 23 (enter “zero” if you are not paying 
use tax on Form IL-1040).  

 If you owe more than $600 in use tax ($1,200 for married 
filing jointly taxpayers), you must file Form ST-44, Illinois Use Tax 
Return.

 You cannot change the amount of Illinois Use Tax you enter 
on Form IL-1040 by filing a Form IL-1040-X.

 Do not report Illinois Use Tax here if you have already 
reported or paid this amount using Form ST-44.

What is Illinois Use Tax?
Illinois Use Tax is a form of sales tax that you, as the purchaser, owe 
on items that you buy for use in Illinois. If the seller does not collect 
this tax from you, you must pay the tax to the Illinois Department of 
Revenue (IDOR). The most common purchases on which the seller 
does not collect Illinois Use Tax are those made through the internet, 
from a mail order catalog, or when traveling outside Illinois.  

When must I pay Illinois Use Tax to IDOR?
You must pay Illinois Use Tax to IDOR if 
•	 the items you bought are taxable in Illinois,
•	 you used or consumed these items in Illinois, and
•	 when you purchased the items you either 

	 did not pay any sales tax to the seller, or 

	 paid sales tax at less than Illinois’ Use Tax rates of 6.25 percent 	
	 for general merchandise and 1 percent for food and drugs.

For example, if you purchased 
•	 a computer over the internet for use in Illinois and paid no sales 

tax, you owe 6.25 percent Illinois Use Tax.	
•	 jewelry while vacationing in Georgia upon which you paid 4 

percent sales tax and which you brought back to Illinois, you will 
owe Illinois Use Tax on the 2.25 percent 	difference in tax rates.

•	 cheese by mail order from a company in Wisconsin and paid no 
sales tax, you owe 1 percent Illinois Use Tax. 

How do I determine the Illinois Use Tax I owe?
To determine the Illinois Use Tax you owe, check your records to see 
if you were charged tax on internet, mail order, or other out-of-state 
purchases and use the UT Worksheet to calculate your tax. 
If your records are incomplete and you had 
•	 major purchases, add the actual cost of your major purchases to 

the estimated cost of any other purchases you made during the 
year. Enter the total on Lines 1a or 2a of the UT Worksheet to 
calculate the use tax you owe.  

•	 no major purchases, use the UT Table to help you estimate the 
use tax you owe.

Enter the Illinois Use Tax from the UT Worksheet or UT Table on 
Form IL-1040, Line 23.

 If we find that you owe additional tax, we may assess the 
additional tax plus applicable penalties and interest. We conduct 
routine audits based on information received from third parties, 
including the U.S. Customs Service and other states.

Other TaxesStep 8
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Use Tax (UT) Worksheet
Complete this worksheet to report and pay your use tax on Form IL-1040. If your annual use tax liability is over $600 ($1,200 if 
married filing jointly), you must file and pay your use tax with Form ST-44. 

  Do not include any 
•	 items for which you paid sales tax in another state (but not in another country) of 

		  	 6.25% or more on Line 1a and
		  	 1% or more on Line 2a.

•	 sales tax you paid in another state, on Line 4, for items not included in Lines 1a or 2a.  
1a		 Enter the total cost of general merchandise you purchased 
		  to use in Illinois on which you did not pay the required amount of 
		  Illinois Use Tax. 		  1a  	 .00
	1b	 Multiply Line 1a by 6.25% (.0625). Round the result to whole dollars.	 		  1b	 	 .00
	2a	 Enter the total cost of qualifying food, non-prescription drugs, and
		  medical appliances you purchased to use in Illinois on which you 
		  did not pay the required amount of Illinois Use Tax. 		  2a  	 .00
2b		 Multiply Line 2a by 1% (.01). Round the result to whole dollars.	 		  2b	 	 .00
	 3	 Add Lines 1b and 2b. This is your use tax on purchases.	 		  3	 	 .00
	 4	 Enter the amount of sales tax you paid in another state (not in another country) 
		  on the items included on Lines 1a and 2a.  			   4	 	 .00
	 5	 Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. Enter the result here and on Form IL-1040, Line 23                                                                                       
        (if the result is less than zero, enter “zero”).
		    		        	 5	 	 .00

  Be sure to keep this worksheet with your income tax records. You must send us this information if we request it.

Use Tax (UT) Table
If you had no major purchases and you do not have receipts to figure your 
purchases, use this table to estimate your annual Illinois Use Tax liability. 

AGI (from Form IL-1040, Line 1)  	          Use Tax

	 $0 	- 	 $10,000		    $3

	$10,001 	- 	 $20,000		    $9

	$20,001 	- 	 $30,000		  $15

	$30,001 	- 	 $40,000		  $21

	$40,001 	- 	 $50,000		  $27

	$50,001 	- 	 $75,000		  $38

	$75,001 	- 	$100,000		  $52

Above $100,000	      Multiply AGI by 		
			        0.06% (0.0006)

Line 23
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Line 24

Line 24 
Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program 
Act Surcharge

Definitions
Organization registrant means a corporation, partnership, trust, 
limited liability company (LLC), or other organization, that holds 
either a medical cannabis cultivation center registration issued by the 
Illinois Department of Agriculture or a medical cannabis dispensary 
registration issued by the Illinois Department of Financial and 
Professional Regulation.

Transactions subject to the surcharge means sales and 
exchanges of
•	 capital assets,
•	 depreciable business property,
•	 real property used in the trade or business, and
•	 Section 197 intangibles
of an organization registrant.

What is the surcharge?
For each taxable year beginning or ending during the Compassionate 
Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program, a surcharge is imposed on 
all taxpayers on income arising from the transactions subject to the 
surcharge of an organization registrant under the Compassionate 
Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act.

The amount of the surcharge is equal to the amount of federal 
income tax liability for the taxable year attributable to the transactions 
subject to the surcharge.

To whom does the surcharge apply?
The surcharge is imposed on any taxpayer who incurs a federal 
income tax liability on the income realized on a “transaction subject 
to the surcharge,” including individuals and other taxpayers who 
are not themselves the “organization registrant” that engaged in the 
transaction.

A line has been included on Schedule K-1-P, Partner’s or 
Shareholder’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, and Recapture,  
and Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary’s Share of Income and Deductions, 
to identify the amount of federal income attributable to transactions 
subject to the surcharge that was passed through to you on federal 
Schedule K-1.

How do I figure the surcharge?
If the surcharge applies to you, complete the Compassionate Use of 
Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act Surcharge Worksheet.

Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act Surcharge Worksheet 
1 	 Enter your federal income tax liability for the taxable year.  	 1	 _________________	
2	 Enter your federal income tax liability for the taxable year computed as if transactions subject to the

	 surcharge made in that year had not been made by the organization registrant. 	 2	 _________________	
3	 Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. This is your Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act

	 Surcharge. Enter the result here and on Form IL-1040, Line 24. 	 3	 _________________	
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Lines 26-30

Line 26 
Illinois Income Tax withheld
Enter the total Illinois Income Tax withheld in 2017 as shown on 
your W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, forms. This amount is generally 
found on your W-2 forms in Box 17, state income tax. Also include 
any Illinois Income Tax withheld as shown on your Form 1099-R, 
Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing 
Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc.; Form 1099-G, Certain 
Government Payments; Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income; 
Form 1099-INT, Interest Income; Form 1099-DIV, Dividends 
and Distributions; Form 1099-OID, Original Issue Discount; and 
Form W-2G, Certain Gambling Winnings. 

  a copy of each W-2, 1099-R, 1099-G, 1099-MISC, 
1099-INT, 1099-DIV, 1099-OID, and W-2G form.   

Line 27 
Estimated income tax payments
Enter the total of any payments you made with 
•	 Form IL-1040-ES, Estimated Income Tax Payments for Individuals;
•	 Form IL-505-I; and 
•	 any overpayment applied to your 2017 estimated tax from a prior 

year return. 

 If you expect your yearly tax liability to be greater than $500 
after subtracting your withholding, pass-through withholding payments, 
and credits, you may be required to make estimated income tax 
payments. For more information, see Line 33 and the instructions for 
Form IL-2210, Computation of Penalties for Individuals.  

Line 28 
Pass-through withholding payments
Enter the total of any pass-through withholding payments (income tax 
paid) made on your behalf by a partnership, S corporation, or trust 
and shown on Schedule K-1-P or Schedule K-1-T for this tax year. 

  Schedule K-1-P or Schedule K-1-T. 

Line 29 
Earned Income Credit 
If you qualified for a federal Earned Income Credit (EIC), you also 
qualify for the Illinois Earned Income Credit. 

Complete Schedule IL-EIC to determine the amount of your credit. 

  Schedule IL-EIC.

Line 30 
Total payments and refundable credit
Add Lines 26, 27, 28, and 29, and enter the total on Line 30. 

Payments and 
Refundable Credit

Step 9
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Lines 33-34

 Only complete this step for late-payment penalty for 
underpayment of estimated tax or to make a voluntary charitable 
donation.  

Line 33 
Late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax
If you 
•	 have a tax liability greater than $500 after subtracting your		

withholding, pass-through withholding payments, and credits, or
•	 were required to make estimated tax payments and failed to 	

pay the required amount by the payment due dates, you may 
owe a late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax. 	
See Form IL-2210 for details. 

 If you are 65 years of age or older and you permanently 
live in a nursing home, or if at least two-thirds of your federal gross 
income is from farming, you are not required to make estimated tax 
payments and are not subject to a late-payment penalty for 
underpayment of estimated tax. 

 You do not owe a late-payment penalty for underpayment 
of estimated tax if you were not required to file a Form IL-1040 last 
year.  

 If you owe this penalty, you should consider increasing your 
withholding or the amount of your estimated tax payments. For more 
information, see the Form IL-1040-ES Instructions and Form IL-W-4, 
Employee’s Illinois Withholding Allowance Certificate. 

	  Let us figure your penalty and bill you
	 Figuring your own penalty can be difficult. We encourage 	
	 you to file your Form IL-1040 and pay the tax you owe 	
	 without including any penalty. If you owe this penalty, we will 	
	 figure the amount and bill you.

	  If you annualized your income, you must complete
                Form IL-2210. See the instructions for Line 33c. 

Line 33a 
Farmers
Check the box if at least two-thirds of your total federal gross 
income came from farming. Total federal gross income includes your 
spouse’s income if your filing status is “married filing jointly.”

	  Federal gross income from farming
“Federal gross income from farming” is the amount of income 
you received from your participation in the production of 
crops, fruits, fish, livestock (used for draft, breeding, or dairy 
purposes), or other agricultural products. This includes income 
from the operation of a stock, dairy, poultry, fruit, or truck farm, 
plantation, ranch, nursery, range, or orchard – regardless of 
whether the operation is organized as a sole proprietorship, 
a partnership, an S corporation, or a trust. “Federal gross 
income from farming” also includes a share of crops produced 
in exchange for the use of the land. See IRS Publication 225, 
Farmer’s Tax Guide.
“Federal gross income from farming” does not include 
payments from the sale of farm land and farm equipment, nor 
does it include income received by a custom grain harvester 
who performs grain harvesting and hauling services on farms 
he or she does not own, rent, or lease. It also does not include 
the wages of a farm employee or cash rent.

Line 33b 
Nursing home residents
Check the box if you or your spouse are 65 years of age or older and 
permanently living in a nursing home. 

Line 33c 
Annualized income
Check the box if you annualized your income on  Form IL-2210, Step 6.

  Form IL-2210.

Line 33d 
Previous year Form IL-1040 not required
Check the box if you were not required to file a Form IL-1040 in the
previous tax year.

Line 34  

Donations
You may contribute to one or more charitable contribution funds. 
Contributions to the funds may be in any amount of $1 or more and 
will decrease your refund or increase your balance due. 

 You cannot change your contributions to these funds on an 
amended return.

  Schedule G.

Step 11 Underpayment of 			 
Estimated Tax Penalty 		
and Donations
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Lines 37-39  

Line 37 
Refund  
We will not refund any amount less than $1. We also will reduce 
any overpayment by the amount of any outstanding tax, penalties, 
and interest you owe and by amounts you owe to other agencies or 
governments, if those debts have been certified to us. 

Line 38 
Choose your refund method
Check the box next to the method by which you would like to receive 
your refund. You may only check one box.

 If this is the first year you are filing a Form IL-1040, your 
refund will be issued as a paper check.

Direct Deposit
If you use direct deposit, you will get your refund faster. You must 
enter your routing number, account number, and select either 
checking or savings.

	  Direct deposit into checking or savings
	 If you choose to deposit your refund directly into your checking 	
	 or savings account, you must 

•	 	enter your routing number.
			   	For a checking account, your routing number must be 	
				   nine digits and the first two digits must be 01 through 	
				   12 or 21 through 32. 
				   The sample check below has an example of a routing 	
				   number.  

	 		  	For a savings account, you must contact your financial 	
				   institution for your routing number. 

•	 	check the appropriate box to indicate that you want your  
refund deposited into your checking or savings account.

•	 enter your account number. 

		  	 	For a checking account, your account number may be up 	
				   to 17 digits. 

			  The sample check below has an example of an account 	
			  number. 

		  	 	For a savings account, you must contact your financial 	
				   institution for your account number. 
		  Do not take your account and routing numbers from 		
		  your checking or savings account deposit slip or include 	
		  your check number. Include hyphens, but omit spaces and 	
		  special symbols. You may have unused boxes. 

	  Some financial institutions may not allow a refund 	
	 to be deposited into an account if the names on the account 	
	 are not the same names that appear on the refund. If your 	
	 financial institution does not honor your request for direct 	
	 deposit, we will send you a check instead.

	  We do not support international ACH transactions.  	
          We will only deposit refunds into accounts located within the 	
	 United States. If your financial institution is located outside 	
	 the United States, we will send you a check instead of 		
	 depositing your refund into your account.

	  Direct deposit into “Bright Start” or Bright           
                      Directions”
	 If you choose to deposit your refund into your “Bright Start” 	
	 or “Bright Directions” College Savings Pool account, follow the 	
	 instructions below.  
	 For “Bright Start” you must,

•	 enter “101000695” as the routing number.
•	 check the “Savings” box.
•	 enter “1111514” plus your ten digit “Bright Start” account 

number. 
	 For “Bright Directions” you must,

•	 enter “104910795” as the routing number.
•	 check the “Savings” box.
•	 enter “529” plus your nine digit “Bright Directions” account 

number. 

Illinois Individual Income Tax Refund Debit Card
If you choose to receive your refund on a debit card, your debit card 
will be mailed to the address entered on your return. If you file a 
married filing jointly return, you and your spouse will both receive a 
debit card.

 Debit cards will only be mailed to addresses within the 
United States, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, the 
Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, the Northern Mariana 
Islands, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, or the United States Armed 
Forces (AA, AE, or AP).

 If you do not have a bank account, a refund debit card may 
allow you to avoid any check cashing fees associated with a paper 
check.

Paper Check
If you choose to receive a paper check, your check will be mailed to 
the address entered on your return.

Line 39 
Amount of overpayment to be credited forward
Subtract Line 37 from Line 36. This is the amount of overpayment 
you elect to be applied against your estimated tax obligation. 

 We will reduce any credit to your estimated tax by the 
amount of any outstanding tax, penalties, and interest you owe. If 
your credit is reduced, you may owe a late-payment penalty for 
underpayment of estimated tax. For more information, see 
Form IL-1040-ES.

Step 12 Refund
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Lines 39-40  
To which tax period will my credit apply?
We will apply your credit to the tax period for which estimated 
payments currently are due based on the date you file this 2017 
return.  
Example 1: You file your 2017 calendar year return on 
October 6, 2018, which is before the last estimated tax due date for 
2018 (January 15, 2019, for calendar year filers). You request your 
$500 overpayment be applied against your estimated tax. We will 
apply $500 to your 2018 estimated tax. 
Example 2: You file your 2017 calendar year return on 
February 3, 2019, which is after the last estimated tax due date for 
2018 (January 15, 2019, for calendar year filers). You request your 
$500 overpayment be applied against your estimated tax. We will 
apply $500 to your 2019 estimated tax.

With what date will my credit apply against my estimated 
tax?
If your 2017 return was filed
•	 on or before the extended due date of your return 

(October 15, 2018, for calendar year filers), your credit is 
considered to be paid on the original due date of your 2017 
return (April 17, 2018, for calendar year filers).                            

	 Example 1: You file your 2017 calendar year return on 	
	 or before the extended due date of your return requesting 	
	 $500 be applied against estimated tax. All of your 		
	 payments are made before the original due date of your 	
	 return. Your credit of $500 will be considered to be paid on 	
	 April 17, 2018. 

However, if all or a portion of your overpayment results from 
payments made after the original due date of your 2017 return, 
that portion of your credit is considered to be paid on the date 
you made the payment.

		  Example 2: You file your 2017 calendar year return on 	
	      or before the extended due date of your return requesting 	
		  $500 be applied against estimated tax. Your overpayment 	
		  includes payments of $400 you made before the original 	
		  due date of your return, and a $100 payment you made on 	
		  June 1, 2018. Your credit of $400 will be considered to be 	
		  paid on April 17, 2018. The remaining $100 credit will be 	
		  considered to be paid on June 1, 2018. 
•	 after the extended due date of your return, your credit is 

considered to be paid on the date you filed the return on which 
you made the election. 

		  Example 3: You file your 2017 calendar year 		
		  return on December 1, 2018, requesting $500 be applied 	
		  against estimated tax. Your credit of $500 will be considered 	
		  to be paid on December 1, 2018, because you filed your 	
		  return after the extended due date of your 2017 calendar 	
		  year return.

May I apply my credit to a different tax period? 
Yes. If you wish to apply your credit to a tax period other than the one 
described above, you must submit a separate request in writing to: 

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19023
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9023

  You must submit your request to the address above at the 
time you file your return. 
Your request must include 
•	 your name,
•	 your SSN, 
•	 the tax period of the return creating the overpayment, and
•	 the tax period you wish to have the credit apply.

If your request does not contain this information, your election will be 
considered invalid and we will not apply your credit as you requested.
If you submit a valid request, we will apply your credit as you requested 
and notify you. Once made, your election to change the tax period to 
which your credit will apply is irrevocable. 

 You may only apply your credit to tax periods occurring after 
the period of the return creating the overpayment. If you request to apply 
more credit than our records show you have available, we will apply the 
maximum amount available and notify you of the difference. 

Step 13

Line 40 
Amount you owe  
If you owe less than $1, you do not have to pay, but you still must file 
your tax return. 

Your tax payment is due on or before April 17, 2018.

	  Payment options
	  You may pay by

•	 	 electronic payment. To have your payment electronically 	
	taken from your checking or savings account,

			   		 visit our website at tax.illinois.gov, or 

			   		 ask your tax professional. 

			   You need the same information that is required for direct 	
			   deposit (see the instructions for Line 38) plus your IL-PIN 	
			   (Illinois Personal Identification Number). 
			   Warning: Many credit unions will not allow an 		
			   electronic debit from a savings account. Please check with 	
			   your financial institution.

 We do not support international ACH 
transactions We will only debit your account if your 
financial institution is located within the United States. If 
your financial institution is located outside the United 
States, you must choose another payment option. 

•	  	 credit card. Use your MasterCard, Discover, American 
Express, or Visa. The credit card service provider will 
assess a convenience fee. Have your credit card ready 
and visit our website, or call one of the following:  

	 	 Official Payments Corporation at 1 800 2PAYTAX 	
			 (1 800 272-9829). You will need a Jurisdiction Code, 	
			 which is 2300.  

	 	 Value Payments Systems at 1 888 9-PAY-ILS 		
			  (1 888 972-9457).

	 	 FIS at 1 877 57-TAXES (1 877 578-2937).

•	 		 check or money order. Make the check or money order 	
payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue” (not IRS). 	
Write the taxpayer’s Social Security number, the spouse’s 	
Social Security number if filing jointly, and the tax year in 
the lower left corner of the payment.   
Payments must be U.S. negotiable currency, expressed in 
U.S. 	dollars, and drawn on a U.S. bank. 

		    Staple your check or money order and Form IL-1040-V, 	
		  Payment Voucher for Individual Income Tax, to the front of your 	
		  paper Form IL-1040.

Amount You Owe
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Sign and date  
You, and your spouse if filing jointly, must sign and date your return. If 
you are filing for a minor as a parent or guardian, you must sign and 
date the return. 
If you do not sign your return,
•	 it will be considered not filed and you may be subject to a 

nonfiler penalty. 
•	 and three years have passed since the extended due date of 	

that return, any overpayment will be forfeited. 

  Staple all required copies of forms and schedules, powers 
of attorney, and letters of estate or office to the tax return. 

Paid preparer
If you pay someone to prepare your return, the paid preparer must 
also sign and date your return, provide a phone number, and enter 
their Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) issued by the IRS.  
Check the box if the paid preparer is self-employed.  If the paid 
preparer is employed with a professional tax preparation firm, the 
paid preparer also must provide the name, the Federal Employer 
Identification Number (FEIN), the address, and phone number of the 

firm.  

Third party designee (optional) 
If you want to allow another person to discuss this return and any 
previous return that affects the liability reported on this return with us, 
check the box and print the designee’s name and telephone number. 
The authorization will allow your designee to answer any questions 
that arise during the processing of your return, call us with questions 
about your return, and receive or respond to notices we send. You 
may revoke the authorization at any time by calling or writing us.

Step 14
Sign and Date 
Paid Preparer
Third Party Designee

	  Late filing or late payment	
			   If you do not file or pay your tax on time, you may 		
			   owe penalties and interest. We will send you a bill.
 			   If you prefer to figure the penalties yourself, complete 		
			   Form IL-2210. 

Mailing your income tax return
If no payment is enclosed, mail your return to:  	 If a payment is enclosed, mail your return to: 

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
SPRINGFIELD IL  62719-0001			   SPRINGFIELD IL  62726-0001
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Allocation Worksheet
Keep this worksheet with your income tax records.

	 		     –   –     	 	
Primary taxpayer’s name			  Primary taxpayer’s Social Security number

	 			      –   –     
Spouse’s name		  Spouse’s Social Security number

								       Column A		  Column B			  Column C		
					    			   Your joint		 Primary’s portion			 Spouse’s portion
								       federal return		  of Column A			  of Column A

	 1	Wages, salaries, tips, etc. (federal Form 1040 or 1040A, 

		  Line 7; 1040EZ, Line 1)	 1	 	 	

	 2 	Taxable interest (federal Form 1040 or 1040A, Line 8a; 

		  1040EZ, Line 2)	 2	 	     

	 3 	Ordinary dividends (federal Form 1040 or 1040A, Line 9a)	 3	 	 	
	 4 	Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes 	

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 10)	 4	 	 	

	 5	 Alimony received (federal Form 1040, Line 11) 	 5	 	 	

	 6	Business income or loss (federal Form 1040, Line 12)	 6	 	 	

	 7	 Capital gain or loss (federal Form 1040, Line 13 or 1040A, Line 10)	7	 	 	

	 8	 Other gains or losses (federal Form 1040, Line 14)	 8	 	 	

	 9	 Taxable IRA distributions (federal Form 1040, Line 15b; 

		  or 1040A, Line 11b)  	 9	 	 	

10	 Taxable pensions and annuities (federal Form 1040, Line 16b; 

		  or 1040A, Line 12b) 	 10	 	 	
11	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. 	

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 17)	 11	 	 	
12	 Farm income or loss (federal Form 1040, Line 18)	 12	 	 	
13	 Unemployment compensation and Alaska Permanent Fund dividends  

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 19; 1040A, Line 13; 1040EZ, Line 3)	 13	 	 	

14	 Taxable Social Security benefits (federal Form 1040, Line 20b; 

		  or 1040A, Line 14b)	 14	 	 	

15	 Other income (federal Form 1040, Line 21) 	 15	 	 	

16	 Educator Expenses (federal Form 1040, Line 23; or 1040A, Line 16)	16	 	 	

17	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and 

		  fee-based government officials (federal Form 1040, Line 24) 	 17	 	 	

18	 Health savings account deduction (federal Form 1040, Line 25) 	 18	 	 	

19	 Moving expenses (federal Form 1040, Line 26) 	 19	 	 	

20	 Deductible part of self-employment tax 

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 27) 	 20	 	 	

21	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans 

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 28) 	 21	 	 	

22	 Self-employed health insurance deduction 

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 29) 	 22	 	 	

	23	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings (federal Form 1040, Line 30) 	23	 	 	

24	Alimony paid (federal Form 1040, Line 31a) 	 24	 	 	

25	IRA deduction (federal Form 1040, Line 32; or 1040A, Line 17) 	 25	 	 	

26	Student loan interest deduction (federal Form 1040, Line 33; 

		  or 1040A, Line 18) 	 26	 	 	

27	Reserved for future use (federal Form 1040, Line 34; or 1040A, Line 19) 	 27	 	 	

28	Domestic production activities deduction 

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 35) 	 28	 	 	

29	Adjusted gross income 

		  (federal Form 1040, Line 37; 1040A, Line 21; 1040EZ, Line 4) 	 29	 	 	

You must complete the Allocation Worksheet if you file a joint federal return, but choose to file “married filing separately” on your Illinois 
returns. In Column A, report the items of income and deductions as actually shown on your federal return, and then divide each item 
between you and your spouse in Columns B and C.

Column A: Enter the amounts from your joint federal return. 
Column B: Enter the primary taxpayer’s portion of the amount from Column A.
Column C: Enter the spouse’s portion of the amount from Column A.



19tax.illinois.gov 19
For more information on how your money is being spent, call 217 782-6000 or 312 814-2451, or visit illinoiscomptroller.gov.

General Funds revenues totaled $29.405 billion in fiscal year 2017. The 
largest source of revenue to the General Funds was the personal income 
tax with receipts of $12.737 billion accounting for 43.3% of the total. Sales 
taxes were the second largest source of revenue with $8.043 billion or 
27.4% of the total. Other major sources included federal revenues of 
$2.483 billion (8.4%), corporate income taxes of $1.328 billion (4.5%), 
lottery and riverboat transfers of $990 million (3.4%), and public utility taxes 
of $884 million (3.0%). All other sources of revenue, including insurance, 
cigarette, inheritance, liquor, and other miscellaneous sources totaled 
$2.940 billion for fiscal year 2017 and accounted for 10.0% of total revenues.

General Funds Expenditures
By Function

How the Fiscal Year 2017 Dollar Was Spent

General Funds Revenues

Individual Income 
Taxes
43.3%

Corporate 
Income Taxes

4.5%

Gaming 
Sources

3.4%

Public Utility 
Taxes
3.0%

Health and 
Social

Services
31.3%Education

43.1%

Transfers Out
13.6%Public Protection

and 
Justice
5.6%

General
Government

6.0%

All Other
0.3%

Where the Fiscal Year 2017 Dollar Came From

In fiscal year 2017, expenditures from the General Funds totaled $34.057 
billion, which was $4.652 billion more than revenues received for the fiscal 
year. Education encompassed the largest portion (43.1%) of the General 
Funds budget with fiscal year 2017 spending of $14.679 billion, including 
$11.320 billion for elementary and secondary education (includes teacher 
retirement contributions) and $3.359 billion for higher education (includes 
retirement contributions). Health and Social Services expenditures, which 
include spending for medical assistance, children and family services, the 
operation of mental health and developmentally disabled facilities and other 
related services, totaled $10.676 billion in fiscal year 2017 accounting for 
31.3% of total General Funds expenditures. Transfers-out of $4.636 billion 
from the General Funds primarily supported local governments and debt 
service payments on bonds issued. Spending for Public Protection and 
Justice of $1.921 billion included funding for the operation of prisons, 
courts, and law enforcement. Other areas of spending included General 
Government ($2.058 billion) and $90 million for environmental assistance 
and employment and economic development.

Sales Taxes
27.4%

Federal             
Revenues

8.4%

Miscellaneous 
10.0%

How the Fiscal Year 2017 Lottery Dollar Was Spent

Lottery Expenditures

Education
53.9%

Prizes
28.5%

According to the records of the State Comptroller, Illinois lottery revenues 
deposited into the State Treasury totaled $1.341 billion in fiscal year 2017.  
Of this total, $1.338 billion was deposited into the State Lottery Fund, 
while $2.9 million from special instant games was deposited into five 
separate funds. Total Illinois State Lottery Fund expenditures of $1.337 
billion in fiscal year 2017 included $720 million (53.9%) in transfers to the 
Common School Fund for education, $382 million (28.5%) for prizes, $15 
million (1.1%) in transfers to the Capital Projects Fund and $220 million 
(16.5%) for operational expenses of the lottery.  The largest component 
of operational expenditures was $101 million for expenses of developing 
and promoting lottery games.

Capital Projects 
Fund
1.1%

Operational 
Expenses 

16.5%



20 tax.illinois.gov  

	Walk-in —               Business hours for the Springfield office are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

                                                   Springfield, IL — Willard Ice Building — 1 800 732-8866  or  217 782-3336
                                                   101 West Jefferson Street — 62702

		
	                                        Business hours for the following are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

		  Chicago — James R. Thompson Center — 1 800 732-8866 	
		  100 West Randolph Street — Concourse Level — 60601	

 	 Des Plaines — Maine North Regional Building — 847 294-4200	 Fairview Heights — 618 624-6773		
	 9511 West Harrison Street — 60016	 15 Executive Drive — Suite 2 — 62208	

	 Marion — 618 993-7650		  Rockford — 815 987-5210
 	 2309 West Main Street — Suite 114 — 62959	 200 South Wyman Street — 61101

Printed by authority of the State of Illinois
(75,000 copies - 12/17 - PO Number 2180172)

For Tax Assistance

For Forms, Instructions, and Publications
	 Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov. 
	 Write to Illinois Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 19010, Springfield, Illinois  62794-9010.
	 During the filing season, Illinois forms are available at most libraries and at any taxpayer assistance office.

Other Assistance
	 For federal tax information — Call the IRS at 1 800 829-1040 or visit their website at www.irs.gov. 
  For other free tax help for low-income and senior taxpayers — Visit a free tax preparation assistance 		

	 location. To locate a site near you, visit our website, call us, or, if you live in Chicago, call 311. 			 

Phone — Call 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336 

	 to speak with our staff . . .  Business hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

	 Extended telephone hours for the 2017 filing season: 
	 April 16, 2018		  8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.  
	 April 17, 2018		  7:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.  

	 for automated tax assistance . . .  24 hours a day, 7 days a week

The number for our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) is 1 800 544-5304.

 Visit our website for faster, easier service - 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  

		 Learn about our electronic filing and payment options and get your IL-PIN 
		 Get your 1099-G amount
		 Check your estimated payments
		 Check your refund status
		 Get information about a notice or a bill
		 Get answers to frequently asked questions 
		 Find a tax professional in your area
		 Change your address
		 Get information about Illinois Use Tax and Illinois Cigarette Use Tax you may owe 


