
What is a use tax?
A use tax is a tax upon the privilege of using tangible personal 
property in Illinois. It is designed to distribute the tax burden 
fairly among Illinois consumers and to assure fair competition 
between Illinois businesses and out-of-state businesses. 
Illinois law requires you to pay tax at the Illinois rate when you 
buy an item from another state or country to use in Illinois. 

Is Illinois increasing its efforts to collect use taxes?
Yes, Illinois is increasing its efforts to collect use taxes. Illinois 
shares sales information with other states and bills Illinois 
residents for unpaid tax, penalty, and interest. Illinois also 
gathers information on overseas purchases from the U.S. 
Customs Service. (Use tax is due whether or not an item 
has to be declared or is subject to duty tax.) Illinois also 
encourages out-of-state businesses to register and collect the 
tax voluntarily as a convenience to their customers. If they do 
not, we can bill their Illinois customers directly. 

What forms are used to report and pay use tax on 
items purchased from another state or country?
	 •	 cigarettes — Form RC-44
	 •	 motor vehicles, watercraft, aircraft, or trailers purchased 

from an out-of-state dealer — Form RUT-25
	 •	 purchases made by registered retailers or servicepersons 

— Form ST-1
	 •	 general merchandise (not otherwise specified) and food, 

drugs, and medical appliances — Form ST-44

What forms are used to report and pay use tax due 
on certain transactions that occur in Illinois?
	 •	 motor vehicle acquired by non-retail purchase 

— Form RUT-50
	 •	 aircraft or watercraft acquired by gift, transfer, or non-retail 

purchase — Form RUT-75

When do I owe Illinois Use Tax?
You owe Illinois Use Tax and must complete Form ST-44 
if the person or business from which you bought general 
merchandise or food, drugs, and medical appliances did not 
collect Illinois Sales Tax (e.g., purchases from catalogs, TV 
advertisements, magazines, the Internet); and 
	 •	 the items purchased are taxable in Illinois;
	 •	 you will use or consume these items in Illinois; and
	 •	 you have not yet paid Illinois Sales Tax or an equivalent 

amount to another state. 
If you paid the Illinois Use Tax due for cigarette purchases 
when you filed Form RC-44, do not include the cost from 
those cigarette purchases in the figure you report on Line 1a.

Note: Some out-of-state businesses collect Illinois Sales Tax, 
and their customers pay the tax just as they would pay state 
sales tax to an Illinois retailer. You can check your receipt or 
invoice to determine if Illinois Sales Tax was collected.

When paying use tax on Form ST-44, may I take 
credit for taxes paid to another country or state?
If you purchase any item from another country, you must pay 
Illinois the full use tax rate. 

Use Tax Information and Instructions for Form ST-44

If you purchase an item from another state and you properly 
paid tax to the other state, you may take credit for the tax paid. 
If you paid tax at a rate lower than the Illinois rate, you must 
pay Illinois the difference. 

When is Form ST-44 due?
If your total tax liability for the year is
	 •	 $600 or less, you may pay the tax for the entire year 

(January 1 through December 31) by filing Form ST-44 on 
or before April 15 of the following year; or

	 •	 greater than $600, you must pay the tax by the last day of the 
month following the month in which the purchase was made.

You must pay the Illinois (Sales) Use Tax no later than 30 days 
after you purchase or acquire tangible personal property for 
use in Illinois.   

Is there anything else I need to know about 
completing this form?
	 •	 When writing your figures, please use whole dollar amounts 

by dropping amounts of less than 50 cents and increasing 
amounts of 50 cents or more to the next higher dollar. 

	 •	 MAKE your check payable to the “Illinois Department of 
Revenue.”	

	 •	 DO NOT attach your check OR this form to any other return.

	 •	 WRITE “ST-44” on your check and attach it to this form (ST-44).
	 •	 MAIL all other forms separately. 
	 •	 MAIL this form (ST-44) to:			 
		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE		

RETAILERS’ OCCUPATION TAX
		  SPRINGFIELD, IL 62776-0001
	 •	 KEEP a copy of your completed return for your records.

What if I do not file my return or pay the use tax due 
on time?
You owe a late-filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date, a late-payment penalty if you do not 
pay the amount you owe by the original due date of the return, 
a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
financial institution, and a cost of collection fee if you do not 
pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed 
on an assessment. Interest is calculated on tax from the day 
after the original due date of your return through the date you 
pay the tax. We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more 
information about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, 
Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of 
this publication, visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov or call us 
at 1 800 356-6302. 

How do I get help?
If you have questions, you may 
	 •	 visit our website at tax.illinois.gov

	 •	 call our Taxpayer Assistance Division at 1 800 732-8866 or 
217 782-3336

	 •	 call our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) at 
1 800 544-5304

	 •	 write us at

		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
		  PO BOX 19044
		  SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044
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