Airport-related purpose locations certified by the Illinois Department of Transportation

Public Act 101-0010 requires units of local government imposing local tax on aviation fuel sold at retail to certify an airport-related purpose with the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT).

IDOT* has certified the following list of Illinois counties, municipalities, and special districts as having an airport-related purpose:

  • City of Bloomington
  • City of Casey
  • City of Centralia
  • City of Chicago
  • City of Decatur
  • City of Dekalb
  • City of Fairfield
  • City of Galesburg
  • City of Kankakee 
  • City of Mattoon
  • City of Monmouth
  • City of Peru
  • City of Pittsfield
  • City of Pontiac
  • City of Prospect Heights
  • City of Rochelle
  • City of Waukegan
  • Village of Lansing
  • Village of Lake in the Hills
  • Village of Rantoul
  • Village of Schaumburg
  • Village of Wheeling
  • Regional Transportation Authority
  • St. Clair County Transit District 
  • County of Edgar
  • County of Jackson
  • County of Kankakee
  • County of Macon
  • County of Peoria
  • County of St. Clair
  • County of Whiteside

 * List updated May 11, 2021.

Please use the following contact information if you have questions related to certifying a local government's airport-related purpose with the Illinois Department of Transportation:

Richard A. Borus, P.E. 
Airport Program Engineer 
Airport Programming, Planning, & Environment Section
I.D.O.T. Div. of Aeronautics 
(217) 785-0056

Please direct any questions regarding locally imposed taxes to the Local Tax Allocation Division at the Illinois Department of Revenue at  

For additional information regarding aviation fuel taxation, see

  • FY 2020-03 - New Requirements for Local Governments that Impose Local Sales Tax on Aviation Fuel and Related Information for Retailers 
  • FY 2020-08 - New Requirements for Sales Tax on Aviation Fuel for Retailers