As a retailer, am I allowed a discount from the sales tax I report on my Form ST-1 Sales and Use Tax and E911 Surcharge Return?

Yes. Illinois law allows a retailer to claim a discount of 1.75 (.0175) percent of the sales and use tax collected, provided the retailer timely files its Form ST-1, Sales and Use Tax and E911 Surcharge Return, and pays the applicable tax by the due date.

NOTE:  If you are an annual Form ST-1 filer and you have timely filed your return and paid the applicable tax on time, you are entitled to a discount of 1.75 percent of the sales and use tax collected or $5, whichever amount is greater. This discount amount is not refundable should it exceed your tax due on receipts.

Form ST-1 filers reporting the Prepaid Wireless E911 Surcharge and the Illinois Telecommunications Access Corporation (ITAC) Assessment on Schedule B also are entitled to a separate discount of 3 percent (.03) of the E911 Surcharge and ITAC Assessment reported as long as the return is filed and the surcharge and assessment due are paid by the due date.

If you have additional inquiries, you may submit them to the Questions, Comments, or Request form.