
ILLINOIS REGISTER 
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS 
 

 
1) Heading of the Part:  Retailers’ Occupation Tax 
 
2) Code Citation:  86 Ill. Adm. Code 130 
 
3) Section Numbers:   Emergency Actions: 

130.425    Amendment 
130.455    Amendment 

 
4) Statutory Authority:  35 ILCS 120/1; 35 ILCS 120/12; 20 ILCS 2505/2505-795 
 
5) Effective Date of Emergency Amendments:   
 
6) If these Emergency Amendments are to expire before the end of the 150-day period, please 

specify the date on which they are to expire:  There is no specific date on which the Emergency 
Amendments will expire before the end of the 150-day period.   

 
7) Date filed with the Index Department:   
 
8) A copy of the emergency amendments, including any material incorporated by reference, is on 

file in the agency’s principal office and is available for public inspection. 
 
9) Reason for Emergency:  The guidance provided in the emergency amendment regarding the 

trade-in credit limitation on the trade-in of first division motor vehicles applies to sales of motor 
vehicles beginning on January 1, 2020.  Although the Department of Revenue published 
Informational Bulletin FY 2020-1 in September 2019 regarding this issue, an organization 
representing automobile dealers as well as the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office recently had 
additional inquiries and it became clear that the Department could not rely on existing information 
about vehicle registrations to delineate which vehicles are subject to the trade-in credit limitation, 
but must itself provide specific guidance on what constitutes a first division motor vehicle subject 
to the limitation.  As a result of these inquiries, the Department posted a “Frequently Asked 
Questions” document on its website on December 20, 2019 and is filing this emergency 
rulemaking in order to put in place binding guidance on this issue that both taxpayers and 
Department employees can rely on. 

 
10) A Complete Description of the Subjects and Issues Involved:  This rulemaking implements the 

provisions of P.A. 101-31 that, effective with sales made on or after January 1, 2020, imposes a 
$10,000 limit on the credit allowed to reduce the taxable selling price when a first division motor 
vehicle is traded in on the purchase of another motor vehicle. 

 
11) Are there any proposed rulemakings to this Part pending?  Yes 
 

Section Numbers         Proposed Actions             Illinois Register Citations 
 130.330      Amendment    43 Ill Reg. 13190, November 15, 2019 
 130.1957               New Section              43 Ill Reg. 13190, November 15, 2019 
 



12) Statement of Statewide Policy Objectives:  This rulemaking does not create or enlarge a 
mandate as described in Section 3(b) of the State Mandates Act. 

 
13) Information and questions regarding this emergency rule shall be directed to: 

 
Samuel J. Moore 
Illinois Department of Revenue 
101 West Jefferson 
Springfield, Illinois 62794 

 
(217) 782-2844 

 
The full text of the Emergency Amendments begins on the next page: 
 
Section 130.425  Traded-In Property 
EMERGENCY 

 
a) "Gross receipts" means the "selling price" or "amount of sale". "Selling price" or the 

"amount of sale" means the consideration for a sale valued in money whether received in 
money or otherwise, including cash, credits, property other than as hereinafter provided, 
and services, but, prior to January 1, 2020, not including the value of or credit given for 
traded-in tangible personal property where the item that is traded-in is of like kind and 
character as that which is being sold; beginning January 1, 2020, "selling price" includes 
the portion of the value of or credit given for traded-in motor vehicles of the first division 
as defined in Section 1-146 of the Illinois Vehicle Code of like kind and character as that 
which is being sold that exceeds $10,000. "Selling price" shall be determined without any 
deduction on account of the cost of the property sold, the cost of materials used, labor or 
service cost or any other expense whatsoever.  "Selling price" does not include charges 
that are added to prices by sellers on account of the seller's tax liability under any local 
occupation tax administered by the Department, or on account of the seller’s duty to 
collect, from the purchasers, the tax that is imposed under any local use tax administered 
by the Department [35 ILCS 120/1].  Local occupation and use taxes administered by the 
Department include, but are not limited to, the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, or on 
account of the seller's duty to collect, from the purchaser, the tax that is imposed by the 
Use Tax Act, or on account of the seller's tax liability under the Home Rule Municipal 
Retailers' Occupation Tax Act [65 ILCS 5/8-11-1], the Non-Home Rule Municipal 
Retailers' Occupation Tax Act [65 ILCS 5/8-11-1.3], the Home Rule County Retailers' 
Occupation Tax Act [55 ILCS 5/5-1006], Section 4 of the Water Commission Act of 1985 
[70 ILCS 3720/4], Section 5.01 of the Local Mass Transit District Act [70 ILCS 3610/5.01] 
and Section 4.03 of the Regional Transportation Authority Act [70 ILCS 3615/4.03]. 

 
b) The phrase "like kind and character" includes, but is not limited to, the trading of any kind 

of motor vehicle on the purchase of any kind of motor vehicle, or the trading of any kind 
of farm implement on the purchase of any kind of farm implement, while not including a 
kind of item which, if sold at retail by that retailer, would be exempt from Retailers' 
Occupation Tax and Use Tax as an isolated or occasional sale. 

 
c) A motor vehicle traded to a farm implement dealer for a farm implement would not qualify 

for the exemption unless such farm implement dealer is also a motor vehicle dealer 
because the farm implement dealer's sale of the motor vehicle would be exempt as an 
isolated or occasional sale.  A farm implement traded to a motor vehicle dealer for a motor 
vehicle would not qualify for the exemption unless such dealer is also a farm implement 



dealer because the motor vehicle dealer's sale of the farm implement would be an exempt 
isolated or occasional sale.  A farm implement traded for a motor vehicle, or a motor 
vehicle traded for a farm implement, would qualify for the exemption if the seller is 
engaged in business both as a motor vehicle dealer and a farm implement dealer.  
Agricultural produce or animals traded for a motor vehicle or for a farm implement would 
not qualify for the exemption. 

 
d) The real test is whether the retail sale of the traded-in tangible personal property by the 

person who accepts it in trade would be subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax, or whether 
such sale would be exempt as an isolated or occasional sale (see Section 130.110).  In 
the former event, the tangible personal property qualifies for the trade-in exemption.  In 
the latter event, it does not. 

 
e) Except for first division motor vehicles, as discussed in subsection (j), the  value of 

tangible personal property taken by a seller in trade as all or a part of the consideration 
for a sale, where the item that is traded-in is of like kind and character as that which is 
being sold, shall not be considered to be "gross receipts" subject to the Retailers' 
Occupation Tax and need not be included in the seller's return, or may be deducted in 
the return from gross receipts if included in gross receipts as reported in the return.  The 
value of traded-in real estate or intangible personal property is not deductible from gross 
receipts in computing Retailers' Occupation Tax liability. 

 
f) The Retailers' Occupation Tax applies to the business of selling tangible personal 

property at retail in this State whether such property is new or used and regardless of 
how the seller may have acquired such property (i.e., by way of purchase, as a trade-in 
or in some other manner). 

 
g) No trade-in credit may be taken for amounts representing the proceeds due or paid under 

an insurance contract if title to missing, damaged or destroyed property is transferred to 
an insurer by operation of law or contract, i.e., the insurance claim value of property may 
not be used as a trade-in credit when an insured purchases tangible personal property to 
replace property which has been lost or destroyed. 

 
h) No trade-in credit may be taken for that portion of the purchase price of a new automobile 

representing a settlement which the purchaser has obtained from an automobile 
manufacturer pursuant to the New Vehicle Buyer Protection Act [815 ILCS 380]. 

 
i) When tangible personal property is sold that is covered by a "core charge," the full retail 

selling price of such property, including the core charge, is subject to Retailers' 
Occupation Tax.  The fact that a component of the gross receipts from the sale of the 
tangible personal property is labeled a "core charge" does not change the taxable nature 
of the transaction.  A core charge is regarded as a predetermined trade-in value.  Tax 
should be charged on the core charge, but a deduction may be taken for the traded-in 
tangible personal property actually received after the date of sale if books and records 
clearly relate the trade-in to the sales transaction.  Such a situation would occur when the 
replacement property is purchased prior to the time the used property is returned.  If, on 
the other hand, the used property is traded in at the time of purchase, tax is due on the 
purchase price, less the allowance for the trade-in. 

 
j) Traded-in first division motor vehicles.  Beginning January 1, 2020, the trade-in credit may 

not be taken for that portion of the value of or credit given for a traded-in motor vehicle of 
the first division, as defined in Section 1-146 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, of like kind and 



character as that which is being sold that exceeds $10,000 [35 ILCS 120/1].  This means 
that $10,000 is the maximum credit a retailer may take on the return to reduce the taxable 
selling price of a motor vehicle when he or she accepts the trade-in of a first division motor 
vehicle in the transaction, regardless of the value of or credit given for the trade-in.  This 
does not prohibit the retailer from reducing the price of the vehicle being sold by the value 
of or credit given for the traded-in motor vehicle. It only limits the credit the retailer may 
take on the return for that trade-in. 

 
1) Definitions.  For purposes of this subsection (j), 

 
A) “Vehicle” means every device (i) in, upon, or by which any person or 

property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway or (ii) requiring 
a certificate of title under Section 3-101(d) of the Illinois Vehicle Code.  
However, “vehicle” does not include junk vehicles, devices otherwise 
prescribed in the Illinois Vehicle Code, devices moved by human power, 
devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks, or snowmobiles as 
defined in the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act [625 ILCS 5/1-217]. 

 
B) “Devices requiring a certificate of title under Section 3-101(d) of the Illinois 

Vehicle Code” means all-terrain vehicles and off-highway motorcycles 
purchased on or after January 1, 1998 [625 ILCS 5/3-101(d)]. 

 
C) “Motor vehicle” means every vehicle which is self-propelled and every 

vehicle which is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley 
wires, but not operated upon rails, except for vehicles moved solely by 
human power, motorized wheelchairs, low-speed electric bicycles, and low-
speed gas bicycles. Motor vehicles are divided into two divisions: first 
division and second division [625 ILCS 5/1-146]. 

 
D) “First division motor vehicle” means a motor vehicle that is designed for the 

carrying of not more than 10 persons [625 ILCS 5/1-146]. 
 

E) “Second division motor vehicle” means: (i) a motor vehicle designed for 
carrying more than 10 persons, (ii) a motor vehicle designed or used for 
living quarters, (iii) a motor vehicle designed for pulling or carrying freight, 
cargo, or implements of husbandry, and (iv) a motor vehicle of the first 
division remodeled for use and used as a motor vehicle of the second 
division [625 ILCS 5/1-146]. 

 
2) Items that are first division motor vehicles.  Traded-in first division motor vehicles 

are subject to the $10,000 limit on the trade-in credit. First division motor vehicles 
generally consist of most standard passenger cars.  This includes most sport utility 
vehicles (“SUVs”) that are enclosed and designed primarily for passengers, 
regardless of whether the SUV is registered as a passenger vehicle, registered as 
a Class B vehicle under Section 3-815 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, or registered in 
some other way.  In addition, devices requiring a certificate of title, such as all-
terrain vehicles (“ATVs”) and off-highway motorcycles are first division motor 
vehicles.  To aid in the determination of whether a traded-in motor vehicle is a first 
division motor vehicle, the following is a non-exhaustive list of first division motor 
vehicles: 

 



A) Motor vehicles designed for carrying not more than 10 persons.  This 
category includes motor vehicles designed as passenger vehicles, but 
whose seats have been removed, such as a minivan with the seats 
removed.  This is in contrast to a motor vehicle that is designed for pulling 
or carrying property, freight, or cargo, such as a panel van, which is a 
second division motor vehicle.  

 
B) SUVs designed for carrying not more than 10 persons. 

 
C) Motorcycles, both on-road and off-road. 

 
D) ATVs. 

 
3) Items that are second division motor vehicles. Second division motor vehicles that 

are traded in are not subject to the $10,000 limit on the trade-in credit.  Second 
division motor vehicles generally include open-bed vehicles (such as pickup 
trucks) and enclosed vehicles designed to carry cargo (such as panel vans).  To 
aid in the determination of whether a traded-in motor vehicle is a second division 
motor vehicle, the following is a non-exhaustive list of second division motor 
vehicles: 

 
A) Motor vehicles designed for carrying more than 10 persons, including 

limousines, SUVs, transport vehicles, and any other passenger vehicle 
designed for carrying more than 10 passengers. 

 
B) Motor vehicles designed or used for living quarters, such as RVs 

(recreational vehicles). 
 

C) Motor vehicles designed for pulling or carrying property, freight, or cargo.  
This category includes open-bed vehicles, including, but not limited to, 
pickup trucks (even if the bed has been covered by a top of any kind) and 
side by side vehicles, also known as UTVs (utility vehicles), ROVs 
(recreational off-highway vehicles), and MOHUVs (multi-purpose off-
highway utility vehicles), if they have an open bed (even if the bed has been 
covered by a top of any kind) or are otherwise designed for carrying 
property, freight, or cargo. This category also includes enclosed vehicles 
typically used commercially, such as panel vans or cargo vans. 

 
D) School buses, including vehicles of the first division used and registered as 

school buses. 
 
E) Ambulances, medical carriers, and hearses. 

 
4) Examples.  The following examples illustrate the trade-in credit allowed for the 

trade-in of the following vehicles. 
 
EXAMPLE 1 
A motor vehicle retailer sells a new car for $40,000 and allows $30,000 for the 
trade-in of a sport utility vehicle that seats 8 passengers.  Since a sport utility 
vehicle that seats 8 passengers is a first division motor vehicle, the credit that the 
retailer may take on the return for the traded-in sport utility vehicle is $10,000. 

 



EXAMPLE 2 
A motor vehicle retailer sells a new car for $40,000 and allows $30,000 for the 
trade-in of a pickup truck.  Since a pickup truck is a second division motor vehicle, 
the credit that the retailer may take on the return for the traded-in pickup truck is 
$30,000. 
 
EXAMPLE 3: 
A motor vehicle retailer sells a new motorcycle for $30,000 and allows $20,000 for 
the trade-in of a motorcycle.  Since a motorcycle is a first division motor vehicle, 
the credit that the retailer may take on the return for the traded-in motorcycle is 
$10,000. 
 
EXAMPLE 4: 
A motor vehicle retailer sells a new limousine for $60,000 and allows $30,000 for 
the trade-in of a limousine that seats 10 passengers. Since a limousine that seats 
10 passengers or less is a first division motor vehicle, the credit that the retailer 
may take on the return for the traded-in limousine is $10,000. 
 
EXAMPLE 5: 
A motor vehicle retailer sells a new limousine for $60,000 and allows $30,000 for 
the trade-in of a limousine that seats 11 passengers. Since a limousine that seats 
11 passengers or more is a second division motor vehicle, the credit that the 
retailer may take on the return for the traded-in limousine is $30,000. 

 
(Source:  Emergency amendment at 44 Ill. Reg 552, effective December 23, 2019, for a 
maximum of 150 days) 

 
Section 130.455  Motor Vehicle Leasing and Trade-In Allowances 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) Definitions 
 

“Advance Trade Credit” means a trade-in credit earned as the result of the trade-in of a 
vehicle on the future purchase of a vehicle where the purchaser is contractually obligated 
to make a purchase within 9 months after the advance trade. 

 
“Dealer” means any person engaged in the business of selling vehicles at retail. 

 
“Dealer Credit” means an advance trade credit maintained on the books of the dealer 
where the purchaser is contractually obligated to make a purchase within 9 months after 
the advance trade. 

 
“Lease” means a true lease of a vehicle for a term of more than one year. 

 
“Lessee” means any person that acquires possession of a vehicle pursuant to a lease. 

 
“Lessor” means any person engaged in the business of leasing vehicles to other persons. 

 
“Purchaser” means any person, whether an individual consumer or a lessor, that 
purchases a vehicle from a dealer. 

 



b) Valuation of Traded-in Vehicles; $10,000 Limit on Credit Allowed for Traded-in Motor 
Vehicles of the First Division 

 
1) Except for traded-in motor vehicles of the first division as provided in subsection 

(b)(3), the  selling price of a vehicle does not include the value of or credit given 
for traded-in tangible personal property where the item that is traded-in is of like 
kind and character as that which is being sold.  The value of a traded-in vehicle is 
the amount of value assigned to the vehicle without regard for outstanding debt 
owed on the traded-in vehicle by any party. (Section 1 of the Act) 

 
2) Except for traded-in motor vehicles of the first division as provided in subsection 

(b)(3), the  amount of credit given for a traded-in vehicle is the value assigned to 
the vehicle, reduced by any cash payments received by the purchaser or title 
holder of the traded-in vehicle.  The reduction of the value by offsetting cash 
payments results in the actual credit given for the traded-in vehicle.  Where cash 
payment is made to the purchaser or the title holder of the traded-in vehicle, the 
trade-in credit is equal to the actual credit given for the vehicle. (Section 1 of the 
Act) 

 
Example: 

  
Value of 
Trade-In 

Credit 
Given 

Trade-
In 
Credit 

 

Trade-In 
Vehicle 

$10,000 
 

$10,000 

With 
$3,000 
Lien 

$10,000 
 

$10,000 

With 
$2,000 
Cash Back 
to 
Purchaser 

$10,000 $8,000 $8,000 

       
 

3) Notwithstanding subsections (b)(1) and (b)(2), beginning January 1, 2020, "selling 
price" includes the portion of the value of or credit given for traded-in motor 
vehicles of the First Division as defined in Section 1-146 of the Illinois Vehicle Code 
of like kind and character as that which is being sold that exceeds $10,000. 
(Section 1 of the Act)  On and after January 1, 2020, the full value of any trade-in 
may still be used to reduce the price of an item purchased; however, the trade-in 
credit taken on the return for the trade in of a first division motor vehicle is limited 
to $10,000. 

 
Example: 
 

  
Value of 
Traded-In 
First Division 

Credit 
Given 

Trade-
In 
Credit 

 
 



Motor 
Vehicle 
 

Trade-In 
Vehicle 

$20,000 $20,000 $10,000  

With 
$3,000 
Lien 

$20,000 $20,000 $10,000  

With 
$2,000 
Cash Back 
to 
Purchaser 

$20,000 $18,000 $10,000  

 
c) Use of Trade-in Credits 

 
1) Subject to the $10,000 limit on the reduction allowed for the trade in of a first 

division motor vehicle (see subsection (b)(3)), a dealer may reduce his gross 
receipts by the value of or credit given for a traded-in motor vehicle where: (Section 
1 of the Act) 

 
A) An individual trades a motor vehicle he owns on the purchase of a new or 

used motor vehicle; 
 

B) A lessor trades a motor vehicle he owns on the purchase of a new or used 
motor vehicle for subsequent lease; 

 
C) A lessor or other purchaser trades a motor vehicle owned by a prospective 

lessee or a third party where the prospective lessee or third party assigns 
the vehicle to the dealer and provides written authorization for the trade to 
the dealer, for the benefit of the lessor or other purchaser.  The written 
authorization provided by the prospective lessee or third party should be 
specific to the immediate transaction, identifying the vehicle to be 
purchased by the lessor or other purchaser.  A prospective lessee or third 
party trade-in authorization may not be used in conjunction with an advance 
trade transaction; or 

 
D) A motor vehicle is traded-in as described in subsection (c)(1)(B) or (c)(1)(C) 

of this Section, and the dealer executes the lease but assigns the lease to 
a purchasing lessor, if the following requirements are part of the transaction: 

 
i) the lease agreement states that the lease and vehicle will be 

assigned to the lessor making the trade of the motor vehicle, and 
 

ii) title is issued directly to the lessor making the trade of the motor 
vehicle and not to the dealer so that the dealer remains outside the 
chain of title. 

 
2) A dealer may not reduce his gross receipts by the value of or credit given for a 

traded-in motor vehicle where: (Section 1 of the Act) 



 
A) The dealer is the owner (meaning the dealer holds either title or certificate 

of origin) of the traded-in motor vehicle; 
 

B) The trade-in vehicle was disposed of in a sales transaction predating the 
trade but was not identified by contract or written agreement as an advance 
trade-in vehicle as required in subsection (d) of this Section; or 

 
C) The party holding title and offering the vehicle or vehicles for trade on behalf 

of another purchaser or lessor, as described in subsection (c)(1)(C) of this 
Section, would not be entitled to the isolated or occasional sale exemption 
if such vehicle or vehicles were sold by that party, rather than traded. 

 
d) Advance Trade-Ins 

A transaction may constitute an advance trade-in if, at the time the vehicle is traded to 
the dealer, the purchaser becomes contractually obligated to purchase one or more 
vehicles from the dealer within 9 months after the date of the advance trade-in transaction.  
Advance trade credits not used within the time specified expire and may not be used 
subsequent to the 9 month credit period.  Advance trade credits are non-transferable. 

 
1) In order to apply the trade-in credit to reduce the taxable selling price of a vehicle, 

the documents recording the purchaser's contractual obligation to purchase need 
not specify the make, model or purchase price of a vehicle to be purchased, only 
that the purchaser is under an obligation to purchase within the specified amount 
of time. 

 
2) Advance trade-in credit given by the dealer to the purchaser in the amount of the 

value of or credit given for a traded-in vehicle at the time of the advance trade-in 
may be in the form of dealer credit or cash, and will not affect the purchaser's ability 
to apply the advance trade credit to reduce the taxable selling price of one or more 
vehicles (subject to the $10,000 limit on the reduction allowed for the advance 
trade-in of a first division motor vehicle (see subsection (b)(3)), so long as the 
purchaser is contractually obligated to purchase a vehicle from the dealer within 
the time specified.  In completing the transaction, the purchaser may pay the dealer 
cash or other consideration for the purchase price of a vehicle or vehicles 
purchased. (Section 1 of the Act) 

 
3) Documentation evidencing an advance trade-in transaction must include the 

following:  the contract establishing the value of or credit given for a traded-in 
vehicle, the obligation to purchase a vehicle, and the date of expiration of the 
advance trade-in credit; the bill of sale for the traded-in vehicle; and the appropriate 
sales or use tax return evidencing the purchase of the new or used vehicle and 
recording the application of the advance trade-in credit.  Advance trade-in 
transactions may not be structured so that the purchaser is not the owner of the 
automobile offered for trade. (Section 1 of the Act) 

 
e) Deferred Trade-Ins 

No trade-in credit may be used in a transaction where the sales or use tax return does 
not reflect that a trade was offered at the time of the sales transaction.  The appropriate 
sales or use tax return cannot be amended to reflect the value of or credit given for a 
vehicle offered for trade subsequent to the completion of the sales transaction. (Section 
1 of the Act) 



 
f) Multiple and Split Trade-in Transactions 

 
1) Multiple Trade-In Transactions 

A purchaser may utilize a trade-in credit when trading in more than one vehicle to 
a dealer on the purchase of a single new or used vehicle.  The dealer may use the 
cumulative trade-in credits from the traded-in vehicles to reduce gross receipts 
from the sale of the newly purchased vehicle so long as the trade-ins and sale are 
recorded as a single transaction (subject to the $10,000 limit on the reduction in 
gross receipts allowed for the trade in of each first division motor vehicle (see 
subsection (b)(3)). 
 
EXAMPLE (trade-in of multiple first division motor vehicles) 
A motor vehicle retailer sells a new car for $60,000 and allows $50,000 for the 
trade-in of 2 vehicles on the transaction: $30,000 for the trade-in of one first division 
motor vehicle and $20,000 for the trade-in of another first division motor vehicle.  
The credit that the retailer may take on the return for the traded-in first division 
motor vehicles is $20,000 ($10,000 for each vehicle). 

 
2) Split Trade-In Transactions 

A purchaser may utilize a trade-in credit when trading in a single vehicle to a dealer 
on the purchase of more than one new vehicle.  The dealer may split the amount 
of the trade-in credit from the traded-in vehicle, and apply it toward the purchase 
price of one or more new vehicles so long as the trade-in and purchases are 
recorded as a single transaction. The amount of trade-in credit to be applied to 
each new vehicle will be determined by the dealer and purchaser(subject to the 
$10,000 limit on the aggregate reduction in gross receipts allowed for the trade in 
of each first division motor vehicle (see subsection (b)(3)). 
 
EXAMPLE (split trade-in of first division motor vehicle) 
A motor vehicle retailer sells 2 new cars to the same purchaser, each for $7,000, 
and allows $12,000 for the trade-in of one first division motor vehicle.  The 
aggregate credit that the retailer may take on both returns for the traded-in first 
division motor vehicle is $10,000.  The retailer may split the credit and apply it to 
each return (e.g., $5,000 to each return or $7,000 to one return and $3,000 to the 
other), but the credit may not exceed $10,000 in the aggregate for both returns. 

 
3) Combined Transactions 

A multiple trade-in transaction or split trade-in transaction may only be used in 
conjunction with an advance trade-in transaction if the transfer of all vehicles 
involved in the trade are recorded as a single transaction and the purchaser is 
contractually obligated to purchase a vehicle from the dealer within the specified 
period of time. 

 
g) Documentation of Trade-in Credits 

Documentation and records evidencing a trade-in credit utilized for a particular 
transaction must be retained by the dealer and the purchaser and shall be made available 
to the Department for inspection or audit.  With the exception of advance trade-in 
transactions, where a vehicle is offered for trade by a person other than the purchaser for 
the benefit of the purchaser, the owner of the vehicle must give written authorization that 
the vehicle is being offered for trade for the benefit of the purchaser.  The written 



authorization must be specific to the transaction and must identify the vehicle for which 
the owner's vehicle is being traded. 

 
(Source:  Emergency amendment at 44 Ill. Reg 552, effective December 23, 2019, for a maximum of 
150 days) 

 


