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NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS 
 

 

1) Heading of the Part:  Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax 
 
2) Code Citation:  86 Ill. Adm. Code 423 
 
3) Section Numbers:   Emergency Actions: 

423.100    New Section 
423.105    New Section 
423.110    New Section 
423.115    New Section 
423.120    New Section 
423.125    New Section 
423.130    New Section 
423.135    New Section 
423.140    New Section 
423.145    New Section 
423.150    New Section 
423.155    New Section 
423.160    New Section 
423.165    New Section 
423.170    New Section 
423.175    New Section 
 

4) Statutory Authority:  410 ILCS 705/65-50 
 
5) Effective Date of Emergency Rules:    
 
6) If the Emergency Rules are to expire before the end of the 150-day period, please specify the 

date on which they are to expire:   The Emergency Rules expires 180 days after the effective 
date.  Pursuant to Section 900-5 of P.A. 101-0027, Section 5-45 of the Illinois Administrative 
Procedure Act is amended to provide that the Department of Revenue may adopt emergency 
rules to implement the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act (which includes the Cannabis 
Purchaser Excise Tax), and the rules are effective for 180 days.  5 ILCS 100/5-45(gg).     

 
7) Date filed with the Index Department:   
 
8) A copy of the emergency amendment, including any material incorporated by reference, is on 

file in the agency’s principal office and is available for public inspection. 
 
9) Reason for Emergency:  P.A. 101-0027 enacted the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act.  410 

ILCS 705/.  The Act permits the sale of adult cannabis to purchasers beginning January 1, 2020.  
The sale of adult cannabis by dispensaries is subject to the Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax.  
410 ILCS 705/65-10.  The Emergency Amendments implement the Cannabis Purchaser Excise 
Tax.  In order to provide for the expeditious and timely implementation of the Cannabis 
Regulation and Tax Act and P.A. 101-0027 (including the Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax), the 
Department of Revenue is authorized to adopt emergency rules.  The adoption of emergency 



rules authorized by P.A. 101-0027 is deemed to be necessary for the public interest, safety, and 
welfare.  See Section 900-5 of P.A. 101-0027 and 5 ILCS 100/5-45(gg).   

   
10) A Complete Description of the Subjects and Issues Involved: The rulemaking implements P.A. 

101-0027, codified at 410 ILCS 705/.  Beginning January 1, 2020, a tax is imposed upon 
purchasers for the privilege of using cannabis at the following rates: 1)  any cannabis, other than 
a cannabis-infused product, with an adjusted delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol level at or below 35% 
shall be taxed at a rate of 10% of the purchase price; 2) any cannabis, other than a cannabis-
infused product, with an adjusted delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol level above 35% shall be taxed 
at a rate of 25% of the purchase price; and 3) a cannabis-infused product shall be taxed at a 
rate of 20% of the purchase price.  

 
11) Are there any proposed rules to this Part pending?  No 
 
12) Statement of Statewide Policy Objectives:  This rulemaking neither imposes a State mandate, 

nor modifies an existing mandate. 
 
13) Information and questions regarding the Emergency Rules shall be directed to: 
 

Richard S. Wolters 
  Illinois Department of Revenue 
  101 West Jefferson 
  Springfield, Illinois  62794 
   

(217) 782-2844 
 

The full text of the Emergency Rules begins on the next page: 

 
Section 423.100  Nature of the Tax 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) Beginning January 1, 2020, the Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax Law imposes a tax on 
the privilege of using cannabis in this State based on the purchase price of cannabis sold 
by a dispensary to a purchaser for use and consumption.  [410 ILCS 705/65-10(a)].  The 
tax imposed by the Law is collected from the purchaser by the cannabis retailer.  The tax 
imposed by the Law shall be stated on the invoice as a distinct item separate and apart 
from the purchase price of the cannabis.  

 
b) The tax imposed under the Law is in addition to all other occupation, privilege, or excise 

taxes imposed by the State of Illinois or by any municipal corporation or political 
subdivision thereof [410 ILCS 705/65-10(d)].  

 
Section 423.105  Definitions 
EMERGENCY 
 

“Act” means the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act (410 ILCS 705/). 
 
“Adjusted delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol level” means, for a delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol 
dominant product, the sum of the percentage of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol plus .877 
multiplied by the percentage of tetrahydrocannabinolic acid [410 ILCS 705/65-5]. 



 
“Automated sales suppression device” or “zapper” means a software program that falsifies the 
electronic records of an electronic cash register or other point-of-sale system, including, but not 
limited to, transaction data and transaction reports. The term includes the software program, any 
device that carries the software program, or an Internet link to the software program [410 ILCS 
705/65-38]. 
 
“Cannabis” means marijuana, hashish, and other substances that are identified as including any 
parts of the plant Cannabis sativa and including derivatives or subspecies, such as indica, of all 
strains of cannabis, whether growing or not; the seeds thereof, the resin extracted from any part 
of the plant; and any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the 
plant, its seeds, or resin, including tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and all other naturally produced 
cannabinol derivatives, whether produced directly or indirectly by extraction; however, 
“cannabis” does not include the mature stalks of the plant, fiber produced from the stalks, oil or 
cake made from the seeds of the plant, any other compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, 
mixture, or preparation of the mature stalks (except the resin extracted from it), fiber, oil or cake, 
or the sterilized seed of the plant that is incapable of germination. “Cannabis” does not include 
industrial hemp as defined and authorized under the Industrial Hemp Act and cannabis that is 
subject to tax under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act. “Cannabis” also 
means cannabis flower, concentrate, and cannabis-infused products [410 ILCS 705/1-10]. 
 
“Cannabis business establishment” means a cultivation center, craft grower, infuser 
organization, processing organization, dispensing organization, or transporting organization 
[410 ILCS 705/1-10]. 
 
“Cannabis concentrate” means a product derived from cannabis that is produced by extracting 
cannabinoids, including tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), from the plant through 
the use of propylene glycol, glycerin, butter, olive oil or other typical cooking fats; water, ice, or 
dry ice; or butane, propane, CO2, ethanol, or isopropanol and with the intended use of smoking 
or making a cannabis-infused product [410 ILCS 705/1-10].  
 
“Cannabis flower” means marijuana, hashish, and other substances that are identified as 
including any parts of the plant Cannabis sativa and including derivatives or subspecies, 
such as indica, of all strains of cannabis; including raw kief leaves, and buds, but not resin that 
has been extracted from any part of such plant; nor any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, 
mixture, or preparation of such plant, its seeds, or resin [410 ILCS 705/1-10]. 
 
“Cannabis-infused product” means beverage food, oils, ointments, tincture, topical formulation, 
or another product containing cannabis that is not intended to be smoked [410 ILCS 705/65-5]. 
 
“Craft grower” means a facility operated by an organization or business that is licensed by the 
Department of Agriculture to cultivate, dry, cure, and package cannabis and perform other 
necessary activities to make cannabis available for sale at a dispensing organization or use at 
a processing organization.  A craft grower may contain up to 5,000 square feet of canopy space 
on its premises for plants in the flowering state.  The Department of Agriculture may authorize 
an increase or decrease of flowering stage cultivation space in increments of 3,000 square feet 
by rule based on market need, craft grower capacity, and the licensee’s history of compliance 
or noncompliance, with a maximum space of 14,000 square feet for cultivating plants in the 
flowering stage, which must be cultivated in all stages of growth in an enclosed and secure area.  
A craft grower may share premises with a processing organization or a dispensing organization, 
or both, provided each licensee stores currency and cannabis or cannabis-infused products in a 



separate secured vault to which the other licensee does not have access or all licensees sharing 
a vault share more than 50% of the same ownership [410 ILCS 705/1-10]. 
 
“Cannabis retailer” means a dispensing organization that sells cannabis for use and not for 
resale [410 ILCS 705/65-5]. 
 
“Department” means the Department of Revenue [410 ILCS 705/65-5]. 
 
“Dispensary” means a facility operated by a dispensing organization at which activities licensed 
by the Act may occur. [410 ILCS 705/1-10] 
 
“Dispensing organization” means a facility operated by an organization or business that is 
licensed by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to acquire cannabis from 
a cultivation center, craft grower, processing organization, infuser, or another dispensary for the 
purpose of selling or dispensing cannabis, cannabis-infused products, cannabis seeds, 
paraphernalia, or related supplies under the Act to purchasers or to qualified registered medical 
cannabis patients and caregivers.  As used in the Act, dispensing organization includes a 
registered medical cannabis organization as defined in the Compassionate Use of Medical 
Cannabis Program Act or its successor Act that has obtained an Early Approval Adult Use 
Dispensing Organization License [410 ILCS 705/1-10]. 
 
“Electronic cash register” means a device that keeps a register or supporting documents through 
the use of an electronic device or computer system designed to record transaction data for the 
purpose of computing, compiling, or processing retail sales transaction data in any manner [410 
ILCS 705/65-38]. 
 
“Infuser organization” or “infuser” means a facility operated by an organization or business that 
is licensed by the Department of Agriculture to directly incorporate cannabis or cannabis 
concentrate into a product formulation to produce a cannabis-infused product [410 ILCS 705/65-
5]. 
 
“Law” means the Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax Law (410 ILCS 705/65-1 through 65-50).  
 
“Person” means a natural individual, firm, partnership, association, joint stock company, joint 
adventure, public or private corporation, limited liability company, or a receiver, 
executor, trustee, guardian, or other representative appointed by order of any court.  [410 ILCS 
705/65-5] 
 
“Phantom-ware” means a hidden programming option embedded in the operating system of an 
electronic cash register or hardwired into an electronic cash register that can be used to create 
a second set of records or that can eliminate or manipulate transaction records in an electronic 
cash register [410 ILCS 705/65-38]. 
 
“Purchase price” means the consideration paid for a purchase of cannabis, valued in money, 
whether received in money or otherwise, including cash, gift cards, credits, and 
property and shall be determined without any deduction on account of the cost of materials used, 
labor or service costs, or any other expense whatsoever.  However, “purchase price” does not 
include consideration paid for: 
  

1) any charge for a payment that is not honored by a financial institution; 
 



2)  any finance or credit charge, penalty or charge for delayed payment, or                 
discount for prompt payment; and 

 
3) any amounts added to a purchaser's bill because of charges made under the tax 

imposed by the Law, the Municipal Cannabis Retailers' Occupation Tax Law, the 
County Cannabis Retailers' Occupation Tax Law, the Retailers' Occupation Tax 
Act, the Use Tax Act, the Service Occupation Tax Act, the Service Use Tax Act, or 
any locally imposed occupation or use tax.  [410 ILCS 705/65-5] 

 
"Purchaser" means a person who acquires cannabis for a valuable consideration. 
 
"Taxpayer" means a cannabis retailer who is required to collect the tax imposed under the Law.  
[410 ILCS 705/65-5] 
 
"Transaction data" includes: items purchased by a purchaser; the price of each item; a taxability 
determination for each item; a segregated tax amount for each taxed item; the amount of cash 
or credit tendered; the net amount returned to the customer in change; the date and time of the 
purchase; the name, address, and identification number of the vendor; and the receipt or invoice 
number of the transaction [410 ILCS 705/65-38]. 
 
"Transaction report" means a report that documents, without limitation, the sales, taxes, or fees 
collected, media totals, and discount voids at an electronic cash register and that is printed on a 
cash register tape at the end of a day or shift, or a report that documents every action at an 
electronic cash register and is stored electronically [410 ILCS 705/65-38]. 
 

Section 423.110  Tax Imposed 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) Beginning January 1, 2020, a tax is imposed upon purchasers for the privilege of using 
cannabis at the following rates: 
 
1) Any cannabis, other than a cannabis-infused product, with an adjusted delta-9-

tetrahydrocannabinol level at or below 35% shall be taxed at a rate of 10% of the 
purchase price;  
 

2) Any cannabis, other than a cannabis-infused product, with an adjusted delta-9-
tetrahydrocannabinol level above 35% shall be taxed at a rate of 25% of the 
purchase price; and  

 
3) A cannabis-infused product shall be taxed at a rate of 20% of the purchase price. 

 
b) The purchase of any product that contains any amount of cannabis or any derivative 

thereof is subject to the tax under subsection (a) of this Section on the full purchase price 
of the product. 

 
 EXAMPLE:  A dispensary sells a cannabis-infused product that contains 1/8th ounce of 

cannabis for $80. One-eighth of an ounce of cannabis normally sells for $30.  The 
dispensary must collect $16 in privilege tax on the sales price of the infused product ($80 
x .2 = $16). 

 
c) The tax imposed under this Section is not imposed on cannabis that is subject to tax 

under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act.   



 
d) The tax imposed by this Section is not imposed with respect to any transaction in 

interstate commerce, to the extent the transaction may not, under the Constitution and 
statutes of the United States, be made the subject of taxation by this State. 
 

e) The tax imposed under the Law shall not be imposed on any purchase by a purchaser if 
the cannabis retailer is prohibited by federal or State Constitution, treaty, convention, 
statute, or court decision from collecting the tax from the purchaser.  [410 ILCS 705/65-
10] 

 
Section 423.115  Bundling of Taxable and Nontaxable Items; Prohibition; Taxation 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) The Act prohibits dispensing organizations from selling cannabis, cannabis-infused 
products and concentrates in combination or bundled with each other or any other items 
for one price.  (410 ILCS 705/15-70(n)(17))  If a cannabis retailer sells cannabis, 
concentrate, or cannabis-infused products in combination or bundled with items that are 
not subject to tax under the Law for one price in violation of the prohibition on this activity 
under Section 15-70 of the Act, then the tax under the Law is imposed on the purchase 
price of the entire bundled product [410 ILCS 705/65-11]. 

 
EXAMPLE:  A dispensary makes gift baskets that contain a quarter ounce of cannabis 
with less than with less than 35% THC that normally sells for $60, a pipe that normally 
sells for $20, 4 cannabis-infused pods that normally sell for $40, and an electronic device 
the pods can be used with that normally sells for $45.  The dispensary offers the basket 
for $135.  The tax under the Law is imposed at the rate of 20% on the purchase price of 
$135. 

 
b) Each item of cannabis, concentrate and cannabis-infused product must be separately 

identified by quantity and price on the receipt [410 ILCS 705/15-70(n)(17)]. 
 
Section 423.120.  Collection of Tax 
EMERGENCY 
  

a) The tax imposed by the Law shall be collected from the purchaser by the cannabis retailer 
at the rate stated in Section 423.110 with respect to cannabis sold by the cannabis retailer 
to the purchaser, and shall be remitted to the Department as provided in Section 423.130.  
All sales to a purchaser who is not a cardholder under the Compassionate Use of Medical 
Cannabis Program Act (410 ILCS 130/) are presumed subject to tax collection.  Cannabis 
retailers shall collect the tax from purchasers by adding the tax to the amount of the 
purchase price received from the purchaser for selling cannabis to the purchaser. 

 
b) When a cannabis retailer collects the tax from the purchaser, the cannabis retailer shall 

give the purchaser a receipt.  The receipt must show the name and address of the 
cannabis retailer, the date of the purchase, a brief description of the property sold, the 
amount of the purchase price on which the tax is based, and the amount of tax collected 
stated as a distinct item separate and apart from the purchase price of the property sold. 

c) If a cannabis retailer collects Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax measured by a purchase 
price that is not subject to Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax, or if a cannabis retailer, in 
collecting Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax measured by a purchase price that is subject 
to tax under the Law, collects more from the purchaser than the required amount of the 
Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax on the transaction, the purchaser shall have a legal right 



to claim a refund of that amount from the cannabis retailer.  If, however, that amount is 
not refunded to the purchaser for any reason, the cannabis retailer is liable to pay that 
amount to the Department. 
 

d) Any person purchasing cannabis subject to tax under the Law as to which there has been 
no charge made to him or her of the tax imposed by Section 423.110 shall make payment 
of the tax imposed by Section 423.110 in the form and manner provided by the 
Department not later than the 20th day of the month following the month of purchase of 
the cannabis.  [410 ILCS 65-15] 

 
Section 423.125  Tax Collected as Debt Owed the State 
EMERGENCY 
 
Any cannabis retailer required to collect the tax imposed by the Law shall be liable to the Department 
for the tax, whether or not the tax has been collected by the cannabis retailer, and any such tax shall 
constitute a debt owed by the cannabis retailer to this State.  To the extent that a cannabis retailer 
required to collect the tax imposed by the Law has actually collected that tax, the tax is held in trust for 
the benefit of the Department [410 ILCS 705/65-25]. 
 
Section 423.130  Return and Payment of Tax by Cannabis Retailer 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) Each cannabis retailer that is required or authorized to collect the tax imposed by the Law 
shall make a return to the Department, by electronic means, on or before the 20th day of 
each month for the preceding calendar month stating the following: 
 
1) the cannabis retailer's name; 

 
2) the address of the cannabis retailer's principal place of business and the address 

of the principal place of business (if that is a different address) from which the 
cannabis retailer engaged in the business of selling cannabis subject to tax under 
the Law: 

 
3) the total purchase price received by the cannabis retailer for cannabis subject to 

tax under the Law; 
 
4) the amount of tax due at each rate; 
 
5) the signature of the cannabis retailer; and 
 
6) any other information as the Department may reasonably require. 

 
b) All returns required to be filed and payments required to be made under the Law shall be 

by electronic means.  Cannabis retailers who demonstrate hardship in paying 
electronically may petition the Department to waive the electronic payment requirement.  
Taxpayers may not petition the Department for a waiver of the requirement to file all 
returns by electronic means. 
 

c) Any amount that is required to be shown or reported on any return or other document 
under the Law shall, if the amount is not a whole-dollar amount, be increased to the 
nearest whole-dollar amount if the fractional part of a dollar is $0.50 or more and 
decreased to the nearest whole-dollar amount if the fractional part of a dollar is less than 



$0.50.  If a total amount of less than $1 is payable, refundable, or creditable, the amount 
shall be disregarded if it is less than $0.50 and shall be increased to $1 if it is $0.50 or 
more.  
 

d) The cannabis retailer making the return provided for in this Section shall also pay to the 
Department, in accordance with this Section, the amount of tax imposed by the Law, less 
a discount of 1.75%, but not to exceed $1,000 per return period, which is allowed to 
reimburse the cannabis retailer for the expenses incurred in keeping records, collecting 
tax, preparing and filing returns, remitting the tax, and supplying data to the Department 
upon request.  No discount may be claimed by a cannabis retailer on returns not timely 
filed and for taxes not timely remitted.  No discount may be claimed by a taxpayer for any 
return that is not filed electronically.  No discount may be claimed by a taxpayer for any 
payment that is not made electronically, unless a waiver has been granted under this 
Section. 
 

e) Notwithstanding any other provision of the Law concerning the time within which a 
cannabis retailer may file a return, any such cannabis retailer who ceases to engage in 
the kind of business that makes the person responsible for filing returns under the Law 
shall file a final return under the Law with the Department within one month after 
discontinuing the business. 

 
f) Each cannabis retailer shall make estimated payments to the Department on or before 

the 7th, 15th, 22nd, and last day of the month during which tax liability to the Department 
is incurred.  The payments shall be in an amount not less than the lower of either 22.5% 
of the cannabis retailer's actual tax liability for the month or 25% of the cannabis retailer's 
actual tax liability for the same calendar month of the preceding year.  The amount of the 
quarter-monthly payments shall be credited against the final tax liability of the cannabis 
retailer's return for that month.  If any such quarter-monthly payment is not paid at the 
time or in the amount required by this Section, then the cannabis retailer shall be liable 
for penalties and interest on the difference between the minimum amount due as a 
payment and the amount of the quarter-monthly payment actually and timely paid, except 
insofar as the cannabis retailer has previously made payments for that month to the 
Department in excess of the minimum payments previously due as provided in this 
Section. 

 
g) If any payment provided for in this Section exceeds the taxpayer's liabilities under the 

Law, as shown on an original monthly return, the Department shall, if requested by the 
taxpayer, issue to the taxpayer a credit memorandum no later than 30 days after the date 
of payment.  The credit evidenced by the credit memorandum may be assigned by the 
taxpayer to a similar taxpayer under the Law, in accordance with reasonable rules to be 
prescribed by the Department.  If no such request is made, the taxpayer may credit the 
excess payment against tax liability subsequently to be remitted to the Department under 
the Law, in accordance with reasonable rules prescribed by the Department.  If the 
Department subsequently determines that all or any part of the credit taken was not 
actually due to the taxpayer, the taxpayer's discount shall be reduced, if necessary, to 
reflect the difference between the credit taken and that actually due, and that taxpayer 
shall be liable for penalties and interest on the difference.  If a cannabis retailer fails to 
sign a return within 30 days after the proper notice and demand for signature by the 
Department is received by the cannabis retailer, the return shall be considered valid and 
any amount shown to be due on the return shall be deemed assessed.  [410 ILCS 705/65-
30] 

 



Section 423.135  Registration of Cannabis Retailers 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) It shall be unlawful for any cannabis retailer to engage in the business of selling cannabis 
at retail in this State without a certificate of registration from the Department.  Every 
cannabis retailer subject to the tax under the Law shall apply to the Department for a 
certificate of registration under the Law.  All applications for registration under the Law 
shall be made by electronic means.  [410 ILCS 705/65-20] 

 
b) Each application shall be signed and verified and shall state:  

  
1) the name and social security number of the applicant;  
  
2) the address of the cannabis retailer’s principal place of business; 
  
3) the address of the place of business from which the cannabis retailer engages in 

the business of selling cannabis at retail in this State and the addresses of all other 
places of business, if any (enumerating such addresses, if any, in a separate list 
attached to and made a part of the application), from which the cannabis retailer 
engages in the business of selling cannabis at retail in this State;  

  
4) the name and address of the person or persons who will be responsible for filing 

returns and payment of taxes due under the Law (See 35 ILCS 735/3-7); 
  
5) in the case of a publicly traded corporation, the name and title of the Chief Financial 

Officer, Chief Operating Officer, and any other officer or employee with 
responsibility for preparing tax returns under the Law; and, in the case of all other 
corporations, the name, title and, social security number of each corporate officer; 

  
6) in the case of a limited liability company, the name, social security number, and 

FEIN of each manager and member; and 
  
7) any other information as the Department may reasonably require. 

 
c) Upon completion of the application for certificate of registration in proper form, the 

Department shall issue to the applicant a certificate of registration that shall permit the 
person to whom it is issued to engage in the business as a retailer of cannabis in this 
State.  If an applicant engages in the business of selling cannabis at retail at another 
location in this State, the Department shall furnish him or her with a sub-certificate of 
registration for that place of business, and the applicant shall display the appropriate sub-
certificate of registration at that place of business.  The sub-certificate of registration shall 
bear the same registration number as that appearing upon the certificate of registration 
to which the sub-certificate relates.   No certificate of registration shall be issued under 
the Law unless the applicant has obtained a license from the Department Financial and 
Professional Regulation under the Act [35 ILCS 705/65-20].        

 
d) A certificate of registration shall automatically be renewed, subject to revocation as 

provided by the Law, for an additional 1 year from the date of its expiration, unless 
otherwise notified by the Department as provided by this Section.  

 
e) The Department may require an applicant for a certificate of registration to furnish a bond 

at the time of filing the application.  The certificate of registration will not be issued by the 



Department until the applicant provides the Department with satisfactory security, if 
required.   

  
f)  The Department may refuse to issue, reissue, or renew a certificate of registration 

authorized to be issued by the Department if a person who is named as the owner, a 
partner, a corporate officer, or, in the case of a limited liability company, a manager or 
member, of the applicant on the application for the certificate of registration is or has been 
named as the owner, a partner, a corporate officer, or in the case of a limited liability 
company, a manager or member, on the application for the certificate of registration of a 
person that is in default for moneys due under the Law or any other tax or fee Act 
administered by the Department.  For purposes of this Section only, in determining 
whether a person is in default for moneys due, the Department shall include only amounts 
established as a final liability within the 20 years prior to the date of the Department's 
notice of refusal to issue or reissue the certificate of registration, permit, or license [20 
ILCS 2505/2505-380(b)]. 

  
g) When a taxpayer to whom a certificate of registration is issued under the Law is in default 

to the State of Illinois for delinquent returns or for moneys due under the Law or any other 
State tax law or municipal or county ordinance administered or enforced by the 
Department, the Department shall, not less than 60 days before the expiration of the 
certificate of registration, give notice to the taxpayer to whom the certificate was issued 
of the account period of the delinquent returns, the amount of tax, penalty and interest 
due and owing from the taxpayer, and that the certificate of registration shall not be 
automatically renewed upon its expiration date unless the taxpayer, on or before the date 
of expiration, has filed and paid the delinquent returns or paid the defaulted amount in 
full.  

  
h) The Department may, in its discretion, approve renewal by a taxpayer who is in default if, 

at the time of renewal, the taxpayer files all of the delinquent returns or pays to the 
Department the percentage of the defaulted amount as may be determined by the 
Department and agrees in writing to a payment plan for paying the balance of the 
defaulted amount.  

 
i) Any person aggrieved by any decision of the Department under this Section may, within 

20 days after notice of the decision, protest and request a hearing. After receipt of the 
request for a hearing, the Department shall give notice to the person of the time and place 
fixed for the hearing, shall hold a hearing, and shall issue its final administrative decision 
in the matter to the person.  In the absence of a protest within 20 days, the Department's 
decision shall become final without any further determination being made or notice given. 

 
j) The Department shall notify the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 

upon a decision not to issue, reissue or renew a certificate of registration to a cannabis 
retailer under the Law. 

 
Section 423.140  Revocation of Certificate of Registration 
EMERGENCY 
 

a)  The Department has the power, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, to revoke 
a certificate of registration issued by the Department if the holder of the certificate of 
registration fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, fee, penalty, or interest shown in a filed 
return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, fee, penalty, or interest, as required by the 



Law or any other tax or fee Act administered by the Department [20 ILCS 2505/2505-
380(a)]. 

 
b) The Department, after notice and hearing, shall revoke the certificate of registration 

(including all sub-certificates of registration, if any, issued hereunder) of any cannabis 
retailer who violates any of the provisions of the Law.  Before revocation of a certificate 
of registration the Department shall, within 90 days after non-compliance and at least 7 
days prior to the date of the hearing, give the cannabis retailer notice in writing of the 
charge against him or her, and on the date designated shall conduct a hearing upon this 
matter.  The lapse of such 90- day period shall not preclude the Department from 
conducting revocation proceedings at a later date if necessary.  

  
c) The Department shall notify the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 

upon revocation of a certificate of registration issued to a cannabis retailer. 
 

Section 423.145  Books and Records 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) Every retailer of cannabis, whether or not the retailer has obtained a certificate of 
registration under Section 423.135, shall keep complete and accurate records of cannabis 
held, purchased, sold, or otherwise disposed of, and shall preserve and keep all invoices, 
bills of lading, sales records, and copies of bills of sale, returns, and other pertinent papers 
and documents relating to the purchase, sale, or disposition of cannabis.  Such records 
need not be maintained on the licensed premises but must be maintained in the State of 
Illinois.  However, all original invoices or copies thereof covering purchases of cannabis 
must be retained on the licensed premises for a period of 90 days after such purchase, 
unless the Department has granted a waiver in response to a written request in cases 
where records are kept at a central business location within the State of Illinois [410 ILCS 
705/65-36(a)].  If a waiver is granted, the taxpayer must, within a reasonable time after 
notification by the Department, make all pertinent books, records, papers and documents 
available at a location within Illinois for the purpose of inspection or audit as the 
Department may deem necessary. 

 
b) The Department will grant a written waiver under subsection (a) when the cannabis 

retailer submits a letter to the Department containing: 
 

1) the cannabis retailer's license number and FEIN; 
 
2) the address or addresses of the licensed premises where records are currently 

maintained; 
 
3) the address of the central location where the cannabis retailer intends to maintain 

the records; and 
 
4) an acknowledgement by the cannabis retailer that the Department, upon 30 days 

written notice, may revoke the waiver of the cannabis retailer for one or more 
licensed premises if the retailer: 

 
A) fails to make records available in accordance with the requirements of this 

Section and the written waiver; or 
 
B) transfers or sells the licensed premises to another person. 



 
c) Books, records, papers, and documents that are required by the Law to be kept, shall be 

kept in the English language and shall, at all times during the usual business hours of the 
day, be subject to inspection by the Department or its duly authorized agents and 
employees.  The books, records, papers, and documents for any period with respect to 
which the Department is authorized to issue a notice of tax liability shall be preserved 
until the expiration of that period.  [410 ILCS 705/65-36(b)].   

 
d) All books and records kept by a cannabis retailer pursuant to rules adopted by the 

Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to implement the Act shall, at all 
times during business hours of the day, be subject to inspection by the Department or its 
duly authorized agents and employees.  The Department shall also have access to the 
cannabis retailer’s automated data processing and/or point of sale system. 

Section 423.150  Arrest; Search and Seizure Without a Warrant 
EMERGENCY 
 
Any duly authorized employee of the Department: (i) may arrest without warrant any person committing 
in his or her presence a violation of any of the provisions of the Law; (ii) may without a search warrant 
inspect all cannabis located in any place of business; (iii) may seize any cannabis in the possession of 
the cannabis retailer in violation of the Act or the Law; and (iv) may seize any cannabis on which the 
tax imposed by Section 423.110 this Section has not been paid.  The cannabis so seized is subject to 
confiscation and forfeiture as provided in Sections 423.155 and 423.160.  [410 ILCS 705/65-41] 
 
Section 423.155  Seizure and Forfeiture 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) After seizing any cannabis as provided in Section 423.150, the Department must hold a 
hearing and determine whether the retailer was properly registered to sell the cannabis 
at the time of its seizure by the Department.  The Department shall give not less than 20 
days' notice of the time and place of the hearing to the owner of the cannabis, if the owner 
is known, and also to the person in whose possession the cannabis was found, if that 
person is known and if the person in possession is not the owner of the cannabis.  If 
neither the owner nor the person in possession of the cannabis is known, the Department 
must cause publication of the time and place of the hearing to be made at least once in 
each week for 3 weeks successively in a newspaper of general circulation in the county 
where the hearing is to be held. 
 

b) If, as the result of the hearing, the Department determines that the retailer was not 
properly registered at the time the cannabis was seized, the Department must enter an 
order declaring the cannabis confiscated and forfeited to the State, to be held by the 
Department for disposal by it as provided in Section 423.160.  The Department must give 
notice of the order to the owner of the cannabis, if the owner is known, and also to the 
person in whose possession the cannabis was found, if that person is known and if the 
person in possession is not the owner of the cannabis.  If neither the owner nor the person 
in possession of the cannabis is known, the Department must cause publication of the 
order to be made at least once in each week for 3 weeks successively in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the county where the hearing was held.  [410 ILCS 705/65-42] 

 
Section 423.160.  Search Warrant; Issuance and Return; Process; Confiscation of Cannabis; 
Forfeitures 
EMERGENCY 
 



a) If a peace officer of this State or any duly authorized officer or employee of the 
Department has reason to believe that any violation of the Law or this Part has occurred 
and that the person violating the law or this Part has in that person's possession any 
cannabis in violation of the Law or this Part, that peace officer or officer or employee of 
the Department may file or cause to be filed his or her complaint in writing, verified by 
affidavit, with any court within whose jurisdiction the premises to be searched are situated, 
stating the facts upon which the belief is founded, the premises to be searched, and the 
property to be seized, and procure a search warrant and execute that warrant.  

 
b) Upon the execution of the search warrant, the peace officer, or officer or employee of the 

Department executing the search warrant shall make due return of the warrant to the 
court issuing the warrant, together with an inventory of the property taken under the 
warrant.  The court must then issue process against the owner of the property if the owner 
is known; otherwise, process must be issued against the person in whose possession the 
property is found, if that person is known.  In case of inability to serve process upon the 
owner or the person in possession of the property at the time of its seizure, notice of the 
proceedings before the court must be given in the same manner as required by the law 
governing cases of attachment.  Upon the return of the process duly served or upon the 
posting or publishing of notice made, as appropriate, the court or jury, if a jury is 
demanded, shall proceed to determine whether the property so seized was held or 
possessed in violation of the Law or this Part.  If a violation is found, judgment shall be 
entered confiscating the property and forfeiting it to the State and ordering its delivery to 
the Department.  In addition, the court may tax and assess the costs of the proceedings. 
 

c) When any cannabis has been declared forfeited to the State by the Department, as 
provided in Section 423.155 and this Section, and when all proceedings for the judicial 
review of the Department's decision have terminated, the Department shall, to the extent 
that its decision is sustained on review, destroy or maintain and use such cannabis in an 
undercover capacity. 
 

d) The Department may, before any destruction of cannabis, permit the true holder of 
trademark rights in the cannabis to inspect such cannabis in order to assist the 
Department in any investigation regarding such cannabis.  [410 ILCS 705/65-43]  

 
Section 423.165.  Violations and Penalties; Interest 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) When the amount due is under $300, any retailer of cannabis who fails to file a return, 
willfully fails or refuses to make any payment to the Department of the tax imposed by the 
Law, or files a fraudulent return, or any officer or agent of a corporation engaged in the 
business of selling cannabis to purchasers located in this State who signs a fraudulent 
return filed on behalf of the corporation, or any accountant or other agent who knowingly 
enters false information on the return of any taxpayer under the Law is guilty of a Class 4 
felony. 
 

b) When the amount due is $300 or more, any retailer of cannabis who files, or causes to 
be filed, a fraudulent return, or any officer or agent of a corporation engaged in the 
business of selling cannabis to purchasers located in this State who files or causes to be 
filed or signs or causes to be signed a fraudulent return filed on behalf of the corporation, 
or any accountant or other agent who knowingly enters false information on the return of 
any taxpayer under this Article is guilty of a Class 3 felony. 



c) Any person who violates any provision of Section 423.135, fails to keep books and 
records as required under the Law and this Part, or willfully violates this Part is guilty of a 
Class 4 felony. A person commits a separate offense on each day that he or she engages 
in business in violation of Section 423.135. If a person fails to produce the books and 
records for inspection by the Department upon request, a prima facie presumption shall 
arise that the person has failed to keep books and records as required under the Law and 
this Part. A person who is unable to rebut this presumption is in violation of the Article 
and this Part and is subject to the penalties provided in this Section. 
 

d) Any person who violates any provision of Section 423.135, fails to keep books and 
records as required under the Law, or willfully violates a rule of the Department for the 
administration and enforcement of the Law, is guilty of a business offense and may be 
fined up to $5,000.  If a person fails to produce books and records for inspection by the 
Department upon request, a prima facie presumption shall arise that the person has failed 
to keep books and records as required under the Law and this Part.  A person who is 
unable to rebut this presumption is in violation of the Law and this Part and is subject to 
the penalties provided in this Section.  A person commits a separate offense on each day 
that he or she engages in business in violation of Section 423.135. 
 

e) Any taxpayer or agent of a taxpayer who with the intent to defraud purports to make a 
payment due to the Department by issuing or delivering a check or other order upon a 
real or fictitious depository for the payment of money, knowing that it will not be paid by 
the depository, is guilty of a deceptive practice in violation of Section 17-1 of the Criminal 
Code of 2012. 
 

f) Any person who fails to keep books and records or fails to produce books and records for 
inspection, as required by Section 423.145, is liable to pay to the Department, for deposit 
in the Tax Compliance and Administration Fund, a penalty of $1,000 for the first failure to 
keep books and records or failure to produce books and records for inspection, as 
required by Section 423.145, and $3,000 for each subsequent failure to keep books and 
records or failure to produce books and records for inspection, as required by Section 
423.145. 
 

g) Any person who knowingly acts as a retailer of cannabis in this State without first having 
obtained a certificate of registration to do so in compliance with Section 423.135 shall be 
guilty of a Class 4 felony 

 
h) A person commits the offense of tax evasion under the Law when he or she knowingly 

attempts in any manner to evade or defeat the tax imposed on him or her or on any other 
person, or the payment thereof, and he or she commits an affirmative act in furtherance 
of the evasion.  As used in this Section, "affirmative act in furtherance of the evasion" 
means an act designed in whole or in part to (i) conceal, misrepresent, falsify, or 
manipulate any material fact or (ii) tamper with or destroy documents or materials related 
to a person's tax liability under the Law. Two or more acts of tax evasion may be charged 
as a single count in any indictment, information, or complaint and the amount of tax 
deficiency may be aggregated for purposes of determining the amount of tax that is 
attempted to be or is evaded and the period between the first and last acts may be alleged 
as the date of the offense. 

 
1) When the amount of tax, the assessment or payment of which is attempted to be 

or is evaded is less than $500, a person is guilty of a Class 4 felony. 
 



2) When the amount of tax, the assessment or payment of which is attempted to be 
or is evaded is $500 or more but less than $10,000, a person is guilty of a Class 3 
felony. 

 
3) When the amount of tax, the assessment or payment of which is attempted to be 

or is evaded is $10,000 or more but less than $100,000, a person is guilty of a 
Class 2 felony. 

 
4) When the amount of tax, the assessment or payment of which is attempted to be 

or is evaded is $100,000 or more, a person is guilty of a Class 1 felony. 
 
i) Any person who knowingly sells, purchases, installs, transfers, possesses, uses, or 

accesses any automated sales suppression device, zapper, or phantom-ware in this State 
is guilty of a Class 3 felony 
 

j) A prosecution for any act in violation of subsection (h) may be commenced at any time 
within 5 years of the commission of that act. 

 
k) Any person whose principal place of business is in this State and who is charged with a 

violation under this Section shall be tried in the county where his or her principal place of 
business is located unless he or she asserts a right to be tried in another venue. 

 
l) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (h), a prosecution for a violation described in 

this Section may be commenced within 3 years after the commission of the act 
constituting the violation.  [410 ILCS 705/65-38] 

 
m) All provisions of the Uniform Penalty and Interest Act [35 ILCS 735] that are not 

inconsistent with the Law shall apply. 
 

Section 423.170  Cannabis Retailers; Purchase and Possession of Cannabis 
EMERGENCY 
 
Cannabis retailers shall purchase cannabis for resale only from cannabis business establishments [410 
ILCS 705/65-45]. 
 
Section 423.175  Administration and Enforcement; Incorporation by Reference 
EMERGENCY 
 

a) The Department shall have full power to administer and enforce the Law, to collect all 
taxes and penalties due hereunder, to dispose of taxes and penalties so collected in the 
manner hereinafter provided, and to determine all rights to credit memoranda, arising on 
account of the erroneous payment of tax or penalty hereunder. 
 

b) In the administration of, and compliance with, the Law, the Department and persons who 
are subject to the Law shall have the same rights, remedies, privileges, immunities, 
powers, and duties, and be subject to the same conditions, restrictions, limitations, 
penalties, and definitions of terms, and employ the same modes of procedure, as are 
prescribed in Sections 2, 3-55, 3a, 4, 5, 7, 10a, 11, 12a, 12b, 14, 15, 19, 20, 21, and 22 
of the Use Tax Act and Sections 1, 2-12, 2b, 4 (except that the time limitation provisions 
shall run from the date when the tax is due rather than from the date when gross receipts 
are received), 5 (except that the time limitation provisions on the issuance of notices of 
tax liability shall run from the date when the tax is due rather than from the date when 



gross receipts are received and except that in the case of a failure to file a return required 
by this Act, no notice of tax liability shall be issued on and after each July 1 and January 
1 covering tax due with that return during any month or period more than 6 years before 
that July 1 or January 1, respectively), 5a, 5b, 5c, 5d, 5e, 5f, 5g, 5h, 5j, 6d, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 
and 12 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act and all of the provisions of the Uniform 
Penalty and Interest Act, which are not inconsistent with the Law, as fully as if those 
provisions were set forth herein.  References in the incorporated Sections of the Retailers' 
Occupation Tax Act and the Use Tax Act to retailers, to sellers, or to persons engaged in 
the business of selling tangible personal property mean cannabis retailers when used in 
the Law. References in the incorporated Sections to sales of tangible personal property 
mean sales of cannabis subject to tax under the Law when used in the Law.  [410 ILCS 
705/65-40] 

 
c) To avoid needless repetition, the substance and provisions of all Use Tax Regulations 

(86 Ill. Adm. Code 150) and all Retailers' Occupation Tax Regulations (86 Ill. Adm. Code 
130) which are not incompatible with the Cannabis Purchaser Excise Tax Law or any 
special rules that may be promulgated by the Department under the Law, are incorporated 
herein by reference and made a part hereof  

 
 
 

 
 


