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Tax Type: Motor Fuel Tax 

Tax Issue: Failure To Have Motor Fuel Use Tax Decal/Permit 
 

 

STATE OF ILLINOIS 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 

 

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE    

OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS    

         

  v.       

       Docket # XX-ST-XXX 

         

JOHN DOE         

        

                      Taxpayer         

 

 

 

RECOMMENDATION FOR DISPOSITION 

 

 

Appearances:  Matthew Crain, Special Assistant Attorney General, for the Department of 

Revenue of the State of Illinois; JOHN DOE, pro se 

 

Synopsis: 

 The Department of Revenue ("Department") issued a Notice of Penalty for Motor 

Fuel Violation ("Notice") to JOHN DOE ("taxpayer") for motor fuel use tax.  The Notice 

alleges that the taxpayer was operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without 

appropriate credentials (i.e., valid motor fuel use tax license, Illinois single-trip permit, 

IFTA temporary permit, or required decals) pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel 

Tax Act (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  The Notice assesses a penalty of $1,000.  The taxpayer 

timely protested the Notice, and a hearing was held during which the taxpayer 
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participated by telephone argued that the penalty should not be imposed because he made 

several attempts to determine what credentials were needed, and he also believes that the 

penalty is excessive.  After reviewing the record, it is recommended that this matter be 

resolved in favor of the Department. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. On December 9, 2017, the taxpayer was operating a semi-truck with a cattle 

trailer in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax license.  The taxpayer resides 

in Kentucky.  (Dept. Ex. #1; Recording1). 

2. On December 26, 2017, the Department issued a Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel 

Violation to the taxpayer for motor fuel use tax showing a penalty due of $1,000 

for failure to have a valid motor fuel use tax license while operating the vehicle 

on December 9, 2017.  The Notice was admitted into evidence under the 

certification of the Director of the Department.  (Dept. Ex. #1). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 The Notice issued by the Department alleges that the taxpayer was found 

operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax 

license and decals pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (Act) (35 ILCS 

505/1 et seq.), which provides, in part, as follows: 

Except as provided in Section 13a.5 of this Act, no motor carrier shall 

operate in Illinois without first securing a motor fuel use tax license and 

decals from the Department or a motor fuel use tax license and decals 

issued under the International Fuel Tax Agreement by any member 

jurisdiction….  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4). 

 

                                                 
1 The hearing was recorded using a digital recorder instead of a court reporter; the citations will be to the 

recording rather than a transcript. 
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Section 13a.5 provides an exception for motor carriers holding a single trip permit.  (35 

ILCS 505/13a.5).  A "motor carrier" is defined as any person who operates a commercial 

motor vehicle in Illinois.  (35 ILCS 505/1.17).  The Act defines "commercial motor 

vehicle" as follows: 

[A] motor vehicle used, designed or maintained for the transportation of 

persons or property and either having 2 axles and a gross vehicle weight or 

registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds …, or having 3 

or more axles regardless of weight, or that is used in combination, when 

the weight of the combination exceeds 26,000 pounds …, except for motor 

vehicles operated by this State or the United States, recreational vehicles, 

school buses, and commercial motor vehicles operated solely within this 

State for which all motor fuel is purchased within this State….   (35 ILCS 

505/1.16). 

 

Section 13a.4 of the Act also provides that the motor fuel use tax license shall be carried 

in the cab of each vehicle.  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  Section 13a.6 of the Act states that if a 

commercial motor vehicle is found operating in Illinois without registering and securing a 

valid motor fuel use tax license, then the person required to obtain a license or permit 

under Section 13a.4 or 13a.5 of the Act must pay a minimum of $1,000 as a penalty.  (35 

ILCS 505/13a.6(b)). 

 Section 21 of the Act incorporates by reference section 5 of the Retailers' 

Occupation Tax Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.), which provides that the Department's 

determination of the amount of tax owed is prima facie correct and prima facie evidence 

of the correctness of the amount of tax due.  35 ILCS 505/21; 120/5.  Once the 

Department has established its prima facie case, the burden shifts to the taxpayer to prove 

by sufficient documentary evidence that the assessment is incorrect.  Mel-Park Drugs, 

Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 218 Ill. App. 3d 203, 217 (1st Dist. 1991); Lakeland 
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Construction Co., Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 62 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1039 (2nd Dist. 

1978).  

 In this case, the Department's prima facie case was established when the 

Department's certified copy of the Notice was admitted into evidence.  In response, the 

taxpayer argues that the penalty should not be imposed because he made several attempts 

to determine whether he needed the motor fuel use tax license and he received different 

answers.  He said that he “made an honest effort” to determine his responsibilities.  He 

also said that he has only one truck and does not travel into Illinois very much.  He 

currently has the IFTA decals even though he is not travelling into Illinois.  The taxpayer 

explained that the whole process has been very frustrating, and if he is required to have 

the motor fuel use tax license, then he asks that the fine be reduced because he believes it 

is excessive. 

 While I sympathize with the taxpayer, the statute unfortunately does not include a 

provision that allows for the abatement or the reduction of the penalty.  The taxpayer did 

not have the appropriate credentials at the time when the vehicle was stopped, and 

without a provision in the statute allowing an abatement or reduction, the penalty must be 

upheld. 

 It is, therefore, recommended that the Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel Violation 

be finalized as issued. 

 

   Linda Olivero 

   Administrative Law Judge 

Enter:  July 10, 2018 

 

 


