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       Acct ID:  XXXXX 

       Letter ID: XXXXX 

JOHN DOE         Letter ID: XXXXX  

         

                      Taxpayer         

 

 

 

RECOMMENDATION FOR DISPOSITION 

 

 

Appearances:  Matthew Crain, Special Assistant Attorney General, for the Department of 

Revenue of the State of Illinois; JOHN DOE, pro se 

 

Synopsis: 

 On August 31, 2017, the Department of Revenue ("Department") issued a Notice 

of Penalty for Motor Fuel Violation ("Notice") to JOHN DOE ("taxpayer") for motor fuel 

use tax relating to Citation #XXXX that was issued on June 28, 2017.1  The Notice 

alleges that the taxpayer was operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without 

appropriate credentials (i.e., valid motor fuel use tax license, Illinois single-trip permit, 

IFTA temporary permit, or required decals) pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel 

                                                 
1 The Department initially issued a Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel Violation to ABC, INC., Letter ID 

XXXXX, for the same Citation.  The taxpayer contacted the Department to inform it that ABC, INC. is his 
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Tax Act (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  The Notice assesses a penalty of $1,000.  The taxpayer 

timely protested the Notice, and a hearing was held during which the taxpayer argued that 

the combined weight of his truck and trailer did not exceed the amount required for a 

commercial motor vehicle.  After reviewing the record, it is recommended that this 

matter be resolved in favor of the Department. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. On June 28, 2017, the taxpayer was operating a Dodge 3500 pickup truck with a 

trailer in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax license.  (Dept. Ex. #1; 

Recording2) 

2. On June 28, 2017, an officer with the Illinois Commerce Commission issued an 

Administrative Citation #XXXX to the taxpayer for failing to display a motor fuel 

use tax license.  The officer completed a Motor Fuel Use Tax Violation Referral 

that indicates that the truck’s registered weight was 26,000 pounds and the 

trailer’s registered weight was 14,000 pounds.  (Dept. Ex. #1, pp. 6-7) 

3. On August 31, 2017, the Department issued a Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel 

Violation to the taxpayer for motor fuel use tax showing a penalty due of $1,000 

for failure to have a valid license while operating the truck and trailer on June 28, 

2017.  The Notice was admitted into evidence under the certification of the 

Director of the Department.  (Dept. Ex. #1) 

4. On October 30, 2017, the actual combined empty weight of the taxpayer’s truck 

and trailer was 14,660 pounds.  (Taxpayer Ex. #1, p. 1; Recording) 

                                                                                                                                                 
brother’s business, and the Citation is not related to ABC, INC.  (Dept. Ex. #1, p. 5)  The Department then 

issued the Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel Violation to the taxpayer, Letter ID XXXXX. 
2 The hearing was recorded using a digital recorder instead of a court reporter; the citations will be to the 

recording rather than a transcript. 



 3 

5. The 2018 Illinois Registration Identification Cards show a registered weight of 

16,000 pounds for the truck and 14,000 pounds for the trailer, which totals 30,000 

pounds.  (Taxpayer Ex. #1, pp. 2-3; Recording) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 The Notice issued by the Department alleges that the taxpayer was found 

operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax 

license and decals pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (Act) (35 ILCS 

505/1 et seq.), which provides, in part, as follows: 

Except as provided in Section 13a.5 of this Act, no motor carrier shall 

operate in Illinois without first securing a motor fuel use tax license and 

decals from the Department or a motor fuel use tax license and decals 

issued under the International Fuel Tax Agreement by any member 

jurisdiction….  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4). 

 

Section 13a.5 provides an exception for motor carriers holding a single trip permit.  (35 

ILCS 505/13a.5).  A "motor carrier" is defined as any person who operates a commercial 

motor vehicle in Illinois.  (35 ILCS 505/1.17).  The Act defines "commercial motor 

vehicle" as follows: 

[A] motor vehicle used, designed or maintained for the transportation of 

persons or property and either having 2 axles and a gross vehicle weight or 

registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds …, or having 3 

or more axles regardless of weight, or that is used in combination, when 

the weight of the combination exceeds 26,000 pounds or 11,793 kilograms 

gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight, except for motor 

vehicles operated by this State or the United States, recreational vehicles, 

school buses, and commercial motor vehicles operated solely within this 

State for which all motor fuel is purchased within this State….   (35 ILCS 

505/1.16). 

 

Section 13a.4 of the Act also provides that the motor fuel use tax license shall be carried 

in the cab of each vehicle.  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  Section 13a.6 of the Act states that if a 

commercial motor vehicle is found operating in Illinois without registering and securing a 
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valid motor fuel use tax license, then the person required to obtain a license or permit 

under Section 13a.4 or 13a.5 of the Act must pay a minimum of $1,000 as a penalty.  (35 

ILCS 505/13a.6(b)). 

 Section 21 of the Act incorporates by reference section 5 of the Retailers' 

Occupation Tax Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.), which provides that the Department's 

determination of the amount of tax owed is prima facie correct and prima facie evidence 

of the correctness of the amount of tax due.  35 ILCS 505/21; 120/5.  Once the 

Department has established its prima facie case, the burden shifts to the taxpayer to prove 

by sufficient documentary evidence that the assessment is incorrect.  Mel-Park Drugs, 

Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 218 Ill. App. 3d 203, 217 (1st Dist. 1991); Lakeland 

Construction Co., Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 62 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1039 (2nd Dist. 

1978).  

 In this case, the Department's prima facie case was established when the 

Department's certified copy of the Notice was admitted into evidence.  In response, the 

taxpayer argues that his understanding is that as long as the actual empty weight of his 

vehicles totals less than 16,001 pounds, he is not required to have a motor fuel use tax 

license.  The actual combined empty weight of the taxpayer’s truck and trailer is 14,660 

pounds, so the taxpayer believes that he does not need a motor fuel use tax license. 

 With respect to the registered weight, the taxpayer stated that when he purchased 

the truck, the dealership put the wrong plates on it, which is why the truck’s plates were 

registered for 26,000 pounds as the officer indicated on the Citation.  The taxpayer 

testified that the sticker on the door to the truck shows that the registered weight for the 
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truck is 14,000 pounds.  At the time of the hearing, the taxpayer did not provide a photo 

of the sticker on the truck’s door. 

 The taxpayer admitted that the 2018 Illinois Registration Identification Cards 

show a registered weight of 16,000 pounds for the truck and 14,000 pounds for the trailer, 

which exceeds the 26,000 pound requirement for the motor fuel use tax license.  The 

taxpayer testified that the registered weight should be 14,000 pounds for the truck and 

12,000 pounds for the trailer, which equals 26,000 pounds and would exempt the vehicles 

from the motor fuel use tax license requirement.  He said that when he registered the 

vehicles, they were put in a group weight of 14,000 to 16,000 for the truck and 12,000 to 

14,000 for the trailer.  The taxpayer said that he went to the driver’s license facility to see 

if he could have these amounts changed, and he was told he could not.  The taxpayer 

contends that if he could have the vehicles registered for the correct amounts of 14,000 

and 12,000 pounds, then he would not need the motor fuel use tax license. 

 Subsequent to the hearing, the taxpayer was given the opportunity to present 

documentary evidence to show that the combined registered weight of the vehicles does 

not exceed 26,000 pounds.  The taxpayer submitted two photographs that were not 

identified.  The first photograph shows a metal plate on a vehicle, but the VIN on the 

plate does not match the VIN for either the truck or the trailer as shown on the Illinois 

Registration Identification Cards.  The GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating) on this first 

photograph is not exactly clear, and it appears to be either 16,000 or 14,000 pounds.  The 

second photograph appears to be the sticker on a truck door, which shows a GVWR of 

14,000 pounds. 
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 The taxpayer’s photographs and arguments do not support abating the penalty.  

Under the Act, a “commercial motor vehicle” includes a vehicle “that is used in 

combination, when the weight of the combination exceeds 26,000 pounds … gross 

vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight.”  (emphasis added; 35 ILCS 505/1.16)  

The taxpayer provided evidence that the actual combined gross weight of the truck and 

trailer did not exceed 26,000 pounds.  (Taxpayer Ex. #1, p. 1)  The taxpayer did not, 

however, provide documentary evidence to overcome the Department’s evidence to show 

that the registered combined gross weight of the truck and trailer does not exceed 26,000 

pounds.  The 2018 Illinois Registration Identification Cards show a registered weight that 

exceeds the 26,000 pound requirement.  The unidentified photographs submitted by the 

taxpayer after the hearing show registered weights that, when combined, exceed 26,000 

pounds, and the VIN on one of the photographs does not match the VIN on the vehicles 

at issue.  Nevertheless, the combined registered weight of the vehicles exceeds 26,000 

pounds, which requires the penalty to be upheld. 

 It is therefore recommended that the Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel Violation 

be affirmed in its entirety. 

 

   Linda Olivero 

Enter:  October 5, 2018 Administrative Law Judge 


