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Synopsis:

The Department of Revenue ("Department™) issued a Notice of Penalty for Motor
Fuel Violation ("Notice™) to ABC, INC. ("taxpayer™) for motor fuel use tax. The Notice
alleges that the taxpayer was operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without
appropriate credentials (i.e., valid motor fuel use tax license, Illinois single-trip permit,
IFTA temporary permit, or required decals) pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel
Tax Act (35 ILCS 505/13a.4). The Notice assesses a penalty of $1,000. The taxpayer
timely protested the Notice, and a hearing was held during which the taxpayer

participated by telephone and argued that the penalty should not be imposed because the



driver of the vehicle mistakenly entered Illinois when he was near the border of Missouri.
After reviewing the record, it is recommended that this matter be resolved in favor of the
Department.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On December 18, 2017, the taxpayer was operating a commercial motor vehicle
in Hllinois without a valid motor fuel use tax license. (Dept. EX. #1, pp. 2, 4).

2. On January 18, 2018, the Department issued a Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel
Violation to the taxpayer for motor fuel use tax showing a penalty due of $1,000
for failure to have a valid motor fuel use tax license while operating the vehicle
on December 18, 2017. The Notice was admitted into evidence under the
certification of the Director of the Department. (Dept. EX. #1).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

The Notice issued by the Department alleges that the taxpayer was found
operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax
license and decals pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (Act) (35 ILCS
505/1 et seq.), which provides, in part, as follows:

Except as provided in Section 13a.5 of this Act, no motor carrier shall

operate in Illinois without first securing a motor fuel use tax license and

decals from the Department or a motor fuel use tax license and decals

issued under the International Fuel Tax Agreement by any member

jurisdiction.... (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).

Section 13a.5 provides an exception for motor carriers holding a single trip permit. (35
ILCS 505/13a.5). A "motor carrier” is defined as any person who operates a commercial

motor vehicle in Illinois. (35 ILCS 505/1.17). The Act defines "commercial motor

vehicle" as follows:



[A] motor vehicle used, designed or maintained for the transportation of
persons or property and either having 2 axles and a gross vehicle weight or
registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds ..., or having 3

or more axles regardless of weight, or that is used in combination, when

the weight of the combination exceeds 26,000 pounds ..., except for motor

vehicles operated by this State or the United States, recreational vehicles,

school buses, and commercial motor vehicles operated solely within this

State for which all motor fuel is purchased within this State.... (35 ILCS

505/1.16).

Section 13a.4 of the Act also provides that the motor fuel use tax license shall be carried
in the cab of each vehicle. (35 ILCS 505/13a.4). Section 13a.6 of the Act states that if a
commercial motor vehicle is found operating in Illinois without registering and securing a
valid motor fuel use tax license, then the person required to obtain a license or permit
under Section 13a.4 or 13a.5 of the Act must pay a minimum of $1,000 as a penalty. (35
ILCS 505/13a.6(b)).

Section 21 of the Act incorporates by reference section 5 of the Retailers'
Occupation Tax Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.), which provides that the Department's
determination of the amount of tax owed is prima facie correct and prima facie evidence
of the correctness of the amount of tax due. 35 ILCS 505/21; 120/5. Once the

Department has established its prima facie case, the burden shifts to the taxpayer to prove

by sufficient documentary evidence that the assessment is incorrect. Mel-Park Drugs,

Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 218 Ill. App. 3d 203, 217 (1% Dist. 1991); Lakeland

Construction Co., Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 62 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1039 (2" Dist.

1978).
In this case, the Department's prima facie case was established when the
Department's certified copy of the Notice was admitted into evidence. In response, the

taxpayer argues that it does 99.9% of its work in Missouri, and it has local plates on the



truck. The taxpayer claims that the driver of the vehicle at the time of the violation was a
part-time driver, and he mistakenly drove into Illinois, right off of Interstate 64. Before
he could turn around and get back into Missouri, he was stopped by a Fairview Heights
police officer. The taxpayer’s president testified that whenever they go into Illinois, they
always get trip and fuel permits ahead of time. Subsequent to the hearing, the taxpayer
was given the opportunity to present some type of documentary evidence, such as a bill
of lading or invoice, to substantiate its claim that the driver was not supposed to be in
[llinois at the time he was stopped. The taxpayer was unable to substantiate the claim.
Unfortunately for the taxpayer, the penalty must be upheld.

It is, therefore, recommended that the Notice of Penalty for Motor Fuel Violation

be finalized as issued.

Linda Olivero
Administrative Law Judge

Enter: October 11, 2018



