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Revenue of the State of Illinois; JOHN DOE, appearing pro se.

Synopsis:

On July 28, 2000, the Department of Revenue ("Department") issued a Notice of Tax

Liability ("NTL") to JOHN DOE and ABC Construction, Inc. ("taxpayer") for motor fuel use

tax.  The NTL alleges that the taxpayer was operating a commercial motor vehicle in Illinois

without a valid motor fuel use tax license pursuant to section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act

(35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  The taxpayer timely protested the NTL, and a hearing was held on

December 1, 2000.  After reviewing the record, it is recommended that this matter be resolved in

favor of the Department.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1.  On June 8, 2000, the taxpayer was operating a truck in Illinois without first obtaining

a motor fuel use tax license.  (Dept. Ex. #1; Tr. p. 6)



2.  The truck and the trailer had a combined vehicle weight of over 26,000 pounds.  (Tr.

pp. 6-7)

3.  The taxpayer was unaware of the licensing requirements in Illinois.  (Tr. pp. 9-10).

4.  On July 28, 2000, the Department issued NTL number 00-000000-0 to the taxpayer

for motor fuel use tax showing a penalty due of $1000 for failure to have a valid license while

operating the vehicle on June 8, 2000.  The NTL was admitted into evidence under the

certification of the Director of the Department.  (Dept. Ex. #1).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

The NTL issued by the Department alleges that the taxpayer was found operating a

commercial motor vehicle in Illinois without a valid motor fuel use tax license pursuant to

section 13a.4 of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (Act) (35 ILCS 505/1 et seq.), which provides in part as

follows:

"Except as provided in Section 13a.5 of this Act, no motor carrier shall operate in
Illinois without first securing a motor fuel use tax license and decals from the
Department or a motor fuel use tax license and decals issued under the
International Fuel Tax Agreement by any member jurisdiction."  (35 ILCS
505/13a.4).

Section 13a.5 provides an exception for motor carriers holding a single trip permit.  (35 ILCS

505/13a.5).  A "motor carrier" is defined as any person who operates a commercial motor vehicle

in Illinois.  (35 ILCS 505/1.17).  The Act defines "commercial motor vehicle" as follows:

"[A] motor vehicle used, designed or maintained for the transportation of persons
or property and either having 2 axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered
gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds ***, or having 3 or more axles
regardless of weight, or that is used in combination, when the weight of the
combination exceeds 26,000 pounds ***, except for motor vehicles operated by
this State or the United States, recreational vehicles, school buses, and
commercial motor vehicles operated solely within this State for which all motor
fuel is purchased within this State. ***"  (35 ILCS 505/1.16).

Section 13a.4 of the Act also provides that the motor fuel use tax license shall be carried in the

cab of each vehicle.  (35 ILCS 505/13a.4).  Section 13a.6 of the Act states that if a commercial



motor vehicle is found operating in Illinois without registering and securing a valid motor fuel

use tax license, then the person required to obtain a license or permit under Section 13a.4 or

13a.5 of the Act must pay a minimum of $1,000 as a penalty.  (35 ILCS 505/13a.6(b)).

Section 21 of the Act incorporates by reference section 5 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax

Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.), which provides that the Department's determination of the amount

of tax owed is prima facie correct and prima facie evidence of the correctness of the amount of

tax due.  35 ILCS 505/21; 120/5.  Once the Department has established its prima facie case, the

burden shifts to the taxpayer to prove by sufficient documentary evidence that the assessment is

incorrect.  Mel-Park Drugs, Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 218 Ill.App.3d 203, 217 (1st Dist.

1991); Lakeland Construction Co., Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 62 Ill.App.3d 1036, 1039

(2nd Dist. 1978).

In this case, the Department's prima facie case was established when the Department's

certified copy of the NTL was admitted into evidence.  In response, the taxpayer stated that he

was not aware of the registration requirements for the truck.  The combined vehicle weight of the

truck and trailer was over 26,000 pounds.  He simply did not know of the requirements.

Unfortunately, the Act provides that no motor carrier shall operate without first securing

a license from the Department.  Nothing in the Act allows for an abatement of the penalty if a

party fails to first obtain the license before operating the vehicle.  Although the taxpayer may

have been unaware of the requirement, the fact remains that he was in violation of the law on the

day in question.  It must therefore be recommended that the Notice of Tax Liability be affirmed

in its entirety.
_________________________
Linda Olivero
Administrative Law Judge
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