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MV 18-02 

Tax Type:  Motor Vehicle Use Tax 

Tax Issue:  Private Vehicle Use Tax – Value exceeds $15,000 

STATE OF ILLINOIS 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS 

v. Docket # 16-ST-088 

Acct ID: XXXX-XXXX 

Letter ID: CNXXXXXXXXXXXX 

JOHN DOE     

Taxpayer 

RECOMMENDATION FOR DISPOSITION 

Appearances:  Matthew Crain, Special Assistant Attorney General, for the Department of 

Revenue of the State of Illinois; John Doe, pro se 

Synopsis: 

The Department of Revenue (“Department”) issued a Notice of Tax Liability 

(“NTL”) to John Doe (“taxpayer”) for vehicle use tax relating to the purchase of a 

vehicle.  The taxpayer’s request for a late discretionary hearing was granted, and an 

evidentiary hearing was held during which the taxpayer participated via telephone.  

During the hearing, the Department argued that the value of the vehicle that the taxpayer 

purchased was greater than the amount reported on the RUT-50, Private Party Vehicle 
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Use Tax Transaction Return.  In response, the taxpayer did not dispute the value of the 

vehicle.  The taxpayer argued that he should not be liable for the additional tax because 

someone at the currency exchange where he registered the vehicle told him the incorrect 

amount of the tax.  After reviewing the record, it is recommended that this matter be 

resolved in favor of the Department.   

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. On March 31, 2013, the taxpayer purchased a 2010 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 

GSR.  The taxpayer acquired the Mitsubishi by paying $X,XXX and trading a 

Nissan 300zx.  (Dept. Ex. #1) 

2. The value of the Mitsubishi ranged between $XX,XXX and $XX,XXX.  (Dept. 

Ex. #1) 

3. At the time of the purchase, the taxpayer paid $215 for the vehicle use tax to the 

State of Illinois.  (Dept. Ex. #1) 

4. The taxpayer registered the vehicle at a currency exchange because he purchased 

the vehicle on a Sunday.  (Recording1) 

5. On April 3, 2013, the Department issued a Notice of Tax Liability to the taxpayer 

that assessed additional tax in the amount of $1,035, plus a late-payment penalty, 

for vehicle use tax on the purchase of the vehicle.  The NTL was admitted into 

evidence under the certificate of the Director of the Department. (Dept. Ex. #1) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Under the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/1-100 et seq.), Illinois imposes a tax on the 

privilege of using in Illinois any motor vehicle acquired by gift, transfer, or purchase.  

                                                 
1 The hearing was recorded using a digital recorder instead of a court reporter; the citations will be to the 

recording rather than a transcript. 
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625 ILCS 5/3-1001.  In the administration of the vehicle use tax, the Department and the 

taxpayers “have the same rights, remedies, privileges, immunities, powers and duties, and 

[are] subject to the same conditions, restrictions, limitations, penalties and definitions of 

terms, and employ the same modes of procedure, as are prescribed in the Use Tax Act.”  

625 ILCS 5/3-1003. 

Section 12 of the Use Tax Act (“Act”) (35 ILCS 105/1 et seq.) incorporates by 

reference section 5 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act (“ROTA”) (35 ILCS 120/1 et 

seq.), which provides that the certified copy of the Department’s determination of the 

amount of tax due is prima facie correct and is prima facie proof of the correctness of the 

amount of tax due, as shown therein.  35 ILCS 105/12; 120/5.  Once the Department has 

established its prima facie case by submitting the certified copy of the Department’s 

determination into evidence, the burden shifts to the taxpayer to overcome this 

presumption of validity.  Clark Oil & Refining Corp. v. Johnson, 154 Ill. App. 3d 773, 

783 (1st Dist. 1987).  To prove his case, a taxpayer must present more than his testimony 

denying the Department's assessment.  Sprague v. Johnson, 195 Ill. App. 3d 798, 804 (4th 

Dist. 1990).  The taxpayer must present sufficient documentary evidence to support his 

claim.  Id.; Balla v. Department of Revenue, 96 Ill. App. 3d 293, 295 (1st Dist. 1981) 

Under section 3-1001 of the Vehicle Code, the tax is determined based on the 

selling price of the vehicle.  If the selling price of the vehicle is less than $15,000, then 

the applicable tax is based on the number of years that have transpired after the model 

year of the vehicle.  If three years have transpired after the model year of the vehicle and 

the selling price is less than $15,000, then the tax is $215.  If the selling price is between 

$25,000 and $29,999, however, then the applicable tax is $1,250.  (625 ILCS 5/3-1001) 
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The Department argues that the taxpayer purchased the vehicle for a selling price 

that was between $25,000 and $29,999, and the amount of tax due should be $1,250.  The 

amount of tax that the taxpayer initially paid was $215, which leaves a difference of 

$1,035. 

In response, the taxpayer does not dispute the Department’s determination of the 

purchase price of the vehicle or the amount of the additional tax that the Department has 

assessed.  The taxpayer argues that he should not be held liable for the additional tax 

because the people at the currency exchange told him to pay the wrong amount.  He said 

he would have paid the correct amount if they had told him to pay it.  He contends that 

“the State” made the mistake that resulted in the additional liability, even though he 

admitted that the currency exchange is not a State agency.  The taxpayer believes that it is 

not fair to hold him responsible for the mistake of others.  The taxpayer also argues that 

the State mailed the NTL to the wrong address, and the taxpayer did not become aware of 

the liability until it was on his credit report.  He claims that this case would not have gone 

this far if it was sent to the correct address. 

The taxpayer’s arguments do not warrant dismissing the additional tax.  Mailing 

the NTL to the wrong address is not relevant to the issue of whether the taxpayer owes 

the additional tax, and the Department provided a remedy for this by granting the 

taxpayer’s request for a late discretionary hearing.  Also, the fact that someone at the 

currency exchange told him to pay the wrong amount does not relieve the taxpayer from 

his responsibility for the tax.  A taxpayer is presumed to know the law and, therefore, is 

responsible for failing to be apprised of all applicable legal obligations.  See Department 

of Revenue v. Thomas J. Anderson, 131 Ill. App. 3d 486, 488 (2nd Dist. 1986) (“The 
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defendant is presumed to know the law or, in this case, the change in the law.”).  The 

taxpayer signed the RUT-50 and is responsible for reporting and paying the correct 

amount to the Department.  Under the Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Act (20 ILCS 2520/1 et 

seq.), the Department must only abate taxes that have been assessed based upon 

erroneous written information or advice given by the Department.  20 ILCS 2520/4(c).  

The currency exchange is neither a division of the Department nor a State agency. 

Recommendation: 

 For the foregoing reasons, it is recommended that the Notice of Tax Liability be 

upheld. 

 

 

   Linda Olivero 

Enter: July 14, 2017 Administrative Law Judge 

 


