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TITLE 86:  REVENUE 

CHAPTER I:  DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

 

 

PART 500 

MOTOR FUEL TAX 
 
 
 

Section 500.310  Display of License and Decals  
 

a) Motor fuel use tax licenses, or copies of the licenses, shall be carried in the cab of each 
commercial motor vehicle operating in Illinois. Failure to carry a copy of the license in 
the commercial motor vehicle may subject the operator to the purchase of a single trip 
permit and/or a citation.  

 
b) The Department will not issue multiple licenses to an applicant. If the applicant requires 

multiple licenses, he or she may make legible copies of his or her license and carry 
them in his or her vehicles.  

 
c) One decal must be placed on the exterior portion of each side of the cab of the 

commercial motor vehicle. In the case of transporters, manufacturers, dealers, or 
driveaway operations, the decals need not be permanently affixed, but may be 
temporarily displayed in a visible manner on both sides of the cab. Failure to display 
decals in the required manner may subject the vehicle operator to the purchase of a 
single trip permit and/or a citation.  

 
d) Decals are not vehicle specific. Licensees may purchase additional decals at a cost of 

$3.75 per set throughout the license year. If decals are destroyed, lost or stolen, 
replacements may be obtained from the Department at a cost of $2 per set. Licensees 
shall provide the Department with the serial number of the decals being replaced under 
this subsection (d).  

 
e) Decals are valid only for the vehicle of the person to whom they are issued. The 

transfer of decals between commercial motor vehicles or from one motor carrier to 
another is prohibited.  

 
f) Provided that a renewal application for a license and decals has been submitted to the 

Department or to another base jurisdiction on or before December 31
 
of

  
each year, all 

IFTA carriers shall be allowed a two-month grace period to display the current year 
IFTA license and decals. They may display a decal and license from the previous year 
issued by any member jurisdiction until March 1. IFTA carriers that have not submitted 
timely renewal applications are not eligible for the grace period and will be subject to all 
civil and criminal penalties applicable to persons operating in Illinois without a valid 



license and decals.  Carriers from new member jurisdictions shall be allowed a two-
month grace period from the date of the new member's IFTA program implementation 
to display the IFTA license and decals. However, to operate in Illinois, these carriers 
must either display a decal and license issued by Illinois for the previous year, a single 
trip permit, or the current year IFTA license issued by their base state.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. 14728_, effective  October 23, 2015) 
 


