
Informational Bulletin

Taxpayers
This bulletin’s purpose is to
inform Illinois taxpayers of their
use tax obligations.

What is “use” tax?
“Use” tax is a form of sales tax
designed to distribute the tax
burden fairly among Illinois
consumers and assure fair
competition between Illinois and
out-of-state businesses.

Since 1955, Illinois law has
required you to pay tax at Illi-
nois rates on purchases you
make for use or consumption in
Illinois

when you buy the items from
businesses located outside
Illinois and bring them into
Illinois or

when you have the items
delivered to you from busi-
nesses located outside
Illinois.

Credit is allowed for taxes you
pay to another state; however, if
you pay less than the Illinois
rates to another state, you must
pay Illinois the difference.

Credit is not allowed for foreign
sales taxes you may have paid,
and these purchases are sub-
ject to the full Illinois Use Tax
rates.
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Using goods purchased tax free
or at lower rates outside Illinois
is unfair to retailers, consumers,
and taxpayers in the following
ways:

Illinois retailers, who must
charge sales tax, must
compete with out-of-state
retailers, who may charge
little or no sales tax.

Illinois consumers who buy
goods in Illinois may pay
more sales tax than those
who buy outside the state.

Illinois must make up lost
revenues by increasing
other taxes or imposing new
taxes.

Why should I voluntarily
pay use tax?
Illinois is aggressively focusing
on the collection of this tax.

Illinois shares sales informa-
tion with other states and
bills Illinois residents for
unpaid tax, penalty, and
interest.

Illinois gathers information
on overseas purchases from
the U.S. Customs Service.

By voluntarily paying on time all
of the Illinois Use Tax you owe,
you will avoid being billed for
unpaid tax and additional pen-
alty and interest charges.

The Illinois Department of
Revenue can assess use tax
owed by taxpayers who do not
pay voluntarily. For taxpayers
who do not have records to
document their use tax liability,
the department will estimate
liability, and taxpayers have the
right to refute the department’s
estimate.

What are the Illinois Use
Tax rates?
Illinois Use Tax rates are
6.25 percent of the purchase
price of general merchandise
and 1 percent of the purchase
price of qualifying food, drugs,
and medical appliances. These
rates are identical to the state
sales tax rates.

The 1 percent rate applies to

food that has not been
prepared for immediate
consumption (such as most
food sold in grocery stores,
excluding hot foods, alco-
holic beverages, and soft
drinks),

prescription medicines and
nonprescription items
claimed to have medicinal
value (such as aspirin), and

prescription and nonpre-
scription medical appliances
(such as wheelchairs and
hearing aids).
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Who must pay use tax?
You owe Illinois Use Tax if you
purchase an item for use or
consumption in Illinois under the
following conditions:

for Illinois businesses :

- if the item you purchased
would normally be sub-
ject to sales tax when
bought from a retailer in
Illinois and

- if you originally pur-
chased the item tax free
for resale and later
removed the item from
your inventory for use or
consumption in your
business or

- if you purchased the item
from an out-of-state
retailer who charged no
Illinois Sales Tax or
charged sales tax at a
rate lower than the Illi-
nois rate

Examples include
- items that were originally

purchased for resale by
registered retailers or
resellers and later re-
moved from inventory for
business use or con-
sumption in Illinois (such
as cleaning products
used by a grocery store
rather than sold); and

- catalog purchases from
an out-of-state supplier
for business use or
consumption in Illinois
(such as computer equip-
ment or office supplies).

for Illinois individuals :

- if the item you purchased
would normally be sub-
ject to sales tax when
bought from a retailer in
Illinois and

- if you purchased the item
from an out-of-state
retailer who charged no
Illinois Sales Tax or
charged sales tax at a
rate lower than the Illi-
nois rate

Examples include
- catalog purchases from

an out-of-state retailer
who does not charge
Illinois Sales Tax;

- purchases through out-
of-state home shopping
television and computer
network services that do
not charge Illinois Sales
Tax;

- purchases through “value
coupons” from merchan-
disers soliciting sales for
out-of-state businesses
that do not charge Illinois
Sales Tax; and

- items purchased while
you were on vacation
outside Illinois from a
retailer who charged
sales tax at a lower rate
than the Illinois rate.

for Illinois organizations :

- if the item you purchased
would normally be sub-
ject to sales tax when
bought from a retailer in
Illinois and

- if you are not an organi-
zation that is exempt
from paying sales tax
and

- if you purchased the item
from an out-of-state
retailer who charged no
Illinois Sales Tax or
charged sales tax at a
rate lower than the Illi-
nois rate

For examples, see the
previous discussion for
individuals.

How and when must I pay
use tax?

Generally, registered busi-
nesses that file Form ST-1,
Sales and Use Tax Return,
must report any use tax due
on Lines 12b, 13b, or 14b of
the return.

Businesses that purchase
items tax free for use or
consumption  in Illinois
should use the return whose
liability period corresponds
to the purchase date of the
items for which use tax is
due. For example, for an
item purchased on February
14, a business that files
Form ST-1 monthly should
report use tax for that item
on the February return.

Businesses that purchase
items tax free for resale
and later remove these
items from inventory for use
or consumption in Illinois
should use the return whose
liability period corresponds
to the date the item was
removed from inventory. For
example, for an item re-
moved from inventory on
April 20, a business that files
Form ST-1 monthly should
report use tax for that item
on the April return.
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Generally, individuals, orga-
nizations, and businesses
that are not required to file
Form ST-1 must pay use tax
on Form ST-44, Illinois Use
Tax Return (see the sample
on Page 4). If you need this
return, write or call us.

If you are not required  to be
registered with us to pay use
tax and your annual use tax
liability is $600 or less, you
may pay use tax annually on
or before April 15 of the year
following the year in which
you make your purchases.

If you are not registered with
us to pay use tax and your
annual use tax liability is
greater than $600, you must
pay the tax within 30 days of
the purchase date.

To pay use tax on motor
vehicles, watercraft, aircraft,
trailers, or mobile homes
you purchased from dealers
outside Illinois, you must file
Form RUT-25, Motor Vehicle
Use Tax Return, within 30
days of the date the item
was brought into Illinois. Do
not use Forms ST-1 or
ST-44 for these purchases.

To pay use tax on motor
vehicles you purchased or
acquired as a gift from
private parties, you must file
Form RUT-50, Vehicle Use
Tax Return, within 30 days
of the date you purchased or
acquired the item. Do not
use Forms ST-1 or ST-44 for
these purchases. Purchases
of watercraft, aircraft, trail-
ers, and mobile homes from
private parties are not sub-
ject to use tax.

What do I do if I find that I
owe use tax from past
purchases?
If you discover that you owe use
tax and immediately come
forward, you may qualify for the
Illinois Voluntary Disclosure
Program, which offers many
benefits for taxpayers who
discover that they should have
paid taxes or filed returns.
Informational Bulletin FY 93-26
explains the program. For a
copy of the bulletin, write or call
us.

What has the Department
of Revenue done to
inform taxpayers of their
use tax obligations?
The department has made a
continuous effort to inform
taxpayers of their use tax obli-
gations. It has

provided use tax information
in the
- IL-1040 Individual In-

come Tax booklet for tax
years 1986, 1988, and
1990 through 1994

- IL-1120 Business Income
Tax booklet for tax years
1990 through 1994

distributed a use tax bro-
chure (with return) at O’Hare
International Airport and
Illinois travel agencies

discussed use tax in our
brochure, PIO-36, Use Tax

discussed use tax in our
ST-19 Retailer’s Tax Booklet

discussed use tax in a flyer
entitled “Update on Use
Taxes”

Questions?
If you have questions or need
more information, please call or
write us. Our telephone num-
bers and address are printed at
the end of this bulletin.
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Sign
here

 (           )

Illinois Department of Revenue

ST-44  Illinois Use Tax Return  (R-11/94)

Name _______________________________________________________________________________

Address _____________________________________________________________________________
Number and street

________________________________________________        Phone  __________________________
 City                                     State   Zip

SSN ___ ___ ___ - ___ ___ - ___ ___ ___ ___  FEIN ___  ___   -   ___  ___  ___  ___  ___  ___  ___
Social Security number   Federal employer identification number

1 Write the date of your last purchase.* _____/_____/_____
(Please see the footnote in the instructions below.)    Month        Day         Year

1a Write the total cost of the general merchandise you purchased outside Illinois to use in Illinois. 1a _______________
1b Multiply Line 1a by 6.25% (.0625). 1b _______________
2a Write the total cost of the food, drugs, and medical appliances you purchased outside

Illinois to use in Illinois. 2a _______________
2b Multiply Line 2a by 1% (.01). 2b _______________
3 Add Lines 1b and 2b. This is your net tax on purchases. 3 _______________
4 Write the amount of tax you paid to another state (not to another country). 4 _______________
5 If Line 4 is greater than or equal to Line 3, you do not need to file this return. Otherwise,

subtract Line 4 from Line 3. This is your total use tax due. 5 _______________
6 Penalty (See “What if I do not file or pay on time?”) 6 _______________
7 Interest (See “What if I do not file or pay on time?”) 7 _______________
8 Add Lines 5, 6, and 7. This is your total payment due. 8 _______________

DO NOT attach your check OR this form to any other return.
DO make your check payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue.”
DO write your SSN or FEIN and “ST-44” on your check and attach it to this form.
DO mail all other returns separately.

Under penalties of perjury, I state that I have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge, it is true, correct, and complete.

 ______________________________________________________________________________________
Taxpayer signature              Date

Mail this form and your payment to: Illinois Department of Revenue, Retailers’ Occupation Tax, Springfield IL 62776-0001

FOR
INFORMATION...

1  800  732-8866     or      217  782-3336

1  800   544-5304    TDD-telecommunications device for the deaf

Illinois Department of Revenue, 101 W. Jefferson St., P.O. Box 19044, Springfield, IL 62794-9044

CALL:

WRITE:

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER - SOY-BASE INK
BY AUTHORITY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS
(9,600 copies - 04/95 - P.O. Number 51710)
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This example illustrates how you would pay Illinois Use Tax on items you bought in
another state. Your purchase price (not including tax) was $150 on stereo equipment and
$25 on vitamins. You paid 5 percent sales tax on the stereo equipment to the other state
and no tax on the vitamins. You receive credit for the tax you paid to the other state, and
you pay Illinois the difference.

Write the purchase price (excluding tax) of
the stereo equipment.

Figure the amount of tax you would have
paid if you had bought the stereo
equipment in Illinois.

Write the purchase price (excluding tax) of
the vitamins.

Figure the amount of tax you would have
paid if you had bought the vitamins in
Illinois.

Write the total amount of tax you paid to
the other state on these items. Subtract the tax you paid to the other

state.

You are paying the tax before the due
date. Therefore, you do not owe any
penalty or interest.

Joe R. Taxpayer

100 Main St.

5    24    95

9.63
7.50

Joe R. TJoe R. TJoe R. TJoe R. TJoe R. Taxpayeraxpayeraxpayeraxpayeraxpayer

0  0  0     0   0      0   0   0   0

9.38

25.00

2.13

2.13

5 /27/ 95

Anytown         IL                              00000                  000    000-0000

.25

150.00
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